WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Developing "Spy Hunter" Video Game Movie

Posted: March 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Developing "Spy Hunter" Video Game MovieSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is developing a feature version of the "Spy Hunter" video game, already hiring Chad St John (Motor City) to write the screenplay. The story follows a highly trained spy hunter whose job it is to eliminate rogue spies when they become liabilities to their governments.

"Spy Hunter" had recently been in development at Universal, where John Woo and Paul W.S. Anderson were attached to direct at various points and Dwayne Johnson attached to star. Writers including Michael Brandt, Derek Haas, Zak Penn and Stuart Beattie had all worked on "Spy Hunter" scripts.

Warner Bros picked up most of Midway's assets in bankruptcy court last summer for the fire-sale price of $33 million, giving the studio rights to "Mortal Kombat," "Spy Hunter," "Joust" and several other game franchises -- with the intention of continuing them as games and extending the brands to the big screen.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:03:14 AM

Enough with these f*cking budget-games!

This is really quite simple: You pick a game and see if it has a good story. If "yes", then see if it's possible to adapt the story in to a feature film without losing the greatness of the game. If "yes", you can go and make a movie. If you answered "no" on any of the questions above, you will only make a sh*tty movie and give more bad rep for movies adapted from videogames.

How's that Bioshock-movie going?
telur writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:18:39 AM

gimme Kratos with God of Wars
Taco writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:44:04 AM

The only way to make this idea work is to make it like Bourne or James Bond, better not be like Fast and furious.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:14:01 AM

Call of Duty: World at World starring Kiefer Sutherland

Modern Warfare starring the cast of Dog Soldiers

WTF Hwood?!?! They've already got scripts, great characters, and plenty of material for sequels. Why the f*ck are you giving us this lameass Prince of Persia/Spy Hunter bullsh*t when you've got great material in CoD, GoW, and Dante's Inferno that would make awesome movies?

Here's a few more that should see the big screen:

Halo (Blumkamp come back!!!)

Dead Space (great game and anime)

Perfect Dark (just because I want to see a laptop gun on screen)

Tekken (done the right way for christsake!)

Assassin's Creed (just because its 10x better than that PoP crap)

Silent Hill 2 (the original movie is a highly underrated and pretty f*cked up horror flick. I need another one :)

Metal Gear (Snake is a great character for film)
LastActionHero writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:06:51 AM

Elevator Action FTW
darkknight1985 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:07:02 AM

@SACdaddy

Completely agree with you on some of your suggestions.

Games that I would like to be made into movies.
Assassin's Creed
Halo
Gears of War
Dead Space(Yet to finish it though)

But I am really concerned about how the converting the story in the game into a movie script tends to mess it up. I was so hoping for a Prince of Persia movie when I first played it. But now I am having severe concerns about how POP: Sands of Time will fare. I am still hoping that it will turn out good.
In all of these games there was an amazing story that got us hooked. That was one of the reasons they turned out to be cool games. Just hope they don't f*ck it up trying to make it more intriguing for the movie. If its not broken don't fix it. Plus please make some good casting choices as well.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:14:50 AM

@SAC couldnt agree more, been playing alot of COD, mainly MW2 and the stories kick the ass of most war and action movies coming out lately, tekken will never be done right though, huge shame there! as for silent hill, i loved the first movie, mainly thanks to its balls and quality director! with the sales of MW2 i dont think it will be long before cod hits the big screen though......you on PS3?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:25:42 AM

I want to see another Mario just for a laugh.

And get Kurt Russell back to play Snake.

TwoTakez writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:51:56 AM

Does Hollywood not get the irony that most decent game stories pay homage to movies? Talk about re-cycle, why not just make a movie about someone making a movie of a game, that way they can kill two birds with one stone.....What's next? Froger 3D?
SACdaddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:02:00 AM

I want a COD World at War movie just to see Kiefer play a badass sergent. He's got the perfect voice and command for the part and was probably the most entertaining part of the game. MW series might be better for the big screen though.

Tekken could have been so good with the right cast and dierctor:

Tony Jaa as Law

Jackie Chan as Det. Lei

the black guy from the Protector as Eddie Gordo

Huge guy from Troy and the Protector as Jack

Maggie Q as Jun

Rain as Jin

Batista as King

and Ken Watanabe as Heihachi Mishima
japaninmotion writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:03:47 AM

oooo Joust.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:35:08 AM

f*ck this sh*t, I want a motherf*cking Zelda game, and she better give up the goods to Link, that f*cking prude.
Vin12 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:44:38 AM

shut up freudian you know nothing wannabe
Vin12 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:46:14 AM

Matthew fox for mitch rapp, that is all
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:11:06 AM

@vin

you really are a fool , why bother coming on here and just making a d*ck of youself every time and change your avatar it's sweet that you love ranger so much but it's not healthy ok ......

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:21:27 AM

@Vin: "Wannabe"? Really? And your avatar is what exactly? And if you are going to insult me by claiming I don't know anything, please, specify where in my post I got it wrong. Only so I won't make the same error again and make you look like a c*ntfaced whore who like to act like a spunkbucket in public restrooms.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:47:18 AM

Vin definitely makes even less of a positive contribution here than DOC
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:59:08 AM

@eben lol..thats pretty f*cking bad since DOC (COC) is worthless.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:27:17 AM

@SAC, the day a Metal Gear movie comes out, I will run naked in the streets with Joy!
And a Modern Warfare movie would be awesome!!
It has a multi-tiered story like Crash and if done the same way as the game, I would pee myself. Just think of all the names that fit those characters. I would so love to see all the Brazilian Favela scenes played out too. roof top running to the choppa!!

As for Spy Hunter, if the rock's not in it, I won't care about it. It would suck for him to not get this after he's been attached to star in for so long.
And if they do cast him. PLEASE do not make it an action comedy!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:40:16 AM

Is it just me, or is Vin getting more and more moody now when COC is getting more and more absent. I think the poor sap is heartbroken.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:07:20 PM

i kept hearing this rumor like 5 or more years ago...did they decide to just rumor it again or are they serious this time?...hollywood needs to cut projects like asteroids....i mean seriously, space invaders has more story depth than asteroids does
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:52:34 PM

Yeah same here synthetic.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:54:16 PM

@sac any COD games turned movies(if done right) would be great, I love those games. As for the cast, I vote dog soldiers too, that movie was priceless
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:09:05 PM

@Vin - so you only read the first post on here (your limit for the day, I suspect) only to post a personal attack (and as usual, off-topic, in your usual non-contributing, big-mouthed, anonymous, internet toughie-wannabe) against a poster?

You are one pathetic moron.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:49:32 PM

@Bunny: I don't know about the Rock in Spy Hunter. It looks like some more PG-13 bullsh*t that wont advance his career any further. He and Gerard Butler's careers are stuck in quicksand, and they're both one or two bombs away from going under for good. The Rock needs to come hard or not come at all. He needs to get R rated (and not for some stupid VG movie, he already tried that and failed) or do The Rundown 2. Everything else is unacceptable.

I don't know who the Rock's agent is but he needs to be fired for not getting him on The Losers, The Expendables, the Conan reboot, or any of the upcoming Marvel or DC comic films. He could have been the muscle the new Predator film was missing. You're telling me the Rock can't drive a CGI car and match wits with Vin Diesel in a Fast and Furious movie? Michael Bay has know roles for a yoked up Samoan badass from Miami? sh*t, Bay makes half his films there! As an old WWF fan its embarrassing to see the Rock miss so many opportunities. Maybe he should just go back to wrestling and let Vince make all his decisions for him again.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:08:11 PM

Vin is an unbelievably more retarded then DOC moron, he has no idea what he's talking about ever.

but that's a d*ck sucking fagot for ya'
shayhiri writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:56:46 PM

Assassins Creed, eh?

Well, I can't give you a movie (yet), but how would you like six very cinematic action novels about the Assassins of Persia? First one should be coming next year by a big American publisher. :)) There could even be a movie eventually.

And let's see if the seven assassins in Prince of Persia do as well as expected.
drshakalou writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:57:49 PM

is this sh*t f*ckin serious
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:37:27 PM

If they were going to rape RE Howards memory by casting an Hawaiian as Conan, they could have at least had the decency to cast The Rock instead of a fag.
matternm58 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:37:37 AM

Weren't they suppose to come out with a movie when the game starring the Rock came out. When that game came out I thought it was a game based on a movie that was about to come out. They've been talking about this movie forever i know that.
matternm58 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:40:20 AM

And I am obssessed with the Assassin Creed storyline and games, I would kill to see that movie. If they ever do make one I just pray to god they get a good actor to play Desmond and keep Kristen Bell as Lucy. she is hot. just had to throw that in there.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved