WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony Developing 3D "Popeye" Film

Posted: March 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony Developing 3D "Popeye" FilmSubmit Comment
Sony is bringing an all-CGI "Popeye" film to the big screen, and is planning to do so in 3D. Writer Mike Jones (The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break) is currently in negotiations to adapt the movie.

The plot is being kept under wraps, but Popeye's love interest Olive Oyl, nemesis Bluto and adopted child Swee'Pea will be part of the adventure. The new version is said to cover the themes of friendship, love, greed and life, and focus on human strengths and human frailties.

"I'm an unabashed, lifelong Popeye fan," said Jones. "Introducing this squinty-eyed sailor to a new generation also means reintroducing him to those who, like me, grew up with him."

It's not surprising that Sony would want to tackle "Popeye" considering that "The Smurfs" is also set up at the studio.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:53:56 AM

But fellas why ruin the original Popeye staring Robin Williams? That movie was f*cking awful and this one will be too. Do a movie based on something relevant. Old people who like Popeye have heart attacks while watching 3D and little kids could straight give a f*ck.

This reminds me, where the hell is my Pirates of Dark Water movie? That sh*t needs to happen.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:12:04 AM

"The new version is said to cover the themes of friendship, love, greed and life, and focus on human strengths and human frailties."

For the love of God! It's a Popeye-movie, not Oscar-bait. Popeye is about watching a sailor, who had a stroke, beat up a bunch of people after he eat some spinage. Nothing more.
masht7 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:43:51 AM

When I read the title I thought it was a mistake and was ment to say Popeyes, I sware.
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:44:17 AM

hahaha i love the idea of this
i hope they have the lines
"some gass for me ass"
"fuel for me muel"
hahaahha gotta love simpsons
Kurskij writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:50:16 AM

"The end of my lineage cause AIDS beats out spinage" - that's how is should end if they want to focus on humna frailties.

Also banging Olive Oyl with, ya know, olive oil.

Hold out your stockings, kids!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:44:12 AM

I actually enjoyed the original Popeye but then I like the film Hook too.

Maybe I should be quiet now...
Kurskij writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:02:34 AM

Whatcha talkin'bout, Ricky?

Hook was an ok family movie. Not among Spielberg's best, but it was fun and entertaining.
VDODSON writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:02:56 AM

Hook was just good old fashioned fun, Popeye will do worse than Astro Boy.How about a Shazam movie?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:11:03 AM

Agreed Hook was fun. Where are those kind of films nowadays?

Poor Popeye never recovered from that stroke and the tumors in his arms.

Actually looking at wiki, there already was a CGI Popeye film in 2004 so nothing new here.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:44:03 AM

Stallone would be the ultimate popeye
makingcircles writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:48:56 AM

@Ricky - I'll back you up on Hook. That's a great movie!
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:20:20 AM

Hook was good.

Popeye..ummm yeah, I don't think so unless he is railing olive oyl as Kurskij suggested.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:17:16 AM

@Scrooge, to invoke Pirates of Dark Water, I could just marry you!!! I LOVE that show!!

Ehh I'm not keen on all these 80's-ish or older CGI films getting done. I mean fine, I guess try to introduce a new generation to an old franchise in a new medium but it's starting to head into the realm of 3D and remakes and be the SOLE platform these Hollywood dipsh*ts are using.
and I don't want to hear a word of any new CGI film until Gatchaman comes out.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:00:47 PM

why doesn't sony just do the smart thing by re-releasing the original robin williams film, in 3D?...that way fans don't get so pissed off and studios save money...i mean they actually think a remake of this movie is going to make them rich?...man do i feel sorry for them...unless they get robin williams to voice popeye, it might be good but it would only be good, and not groundbreaking great
barley_cat writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:29:17 PM

Popeye always made spinach look apetising.
I agree with ya Synthetic, that film was a fav of mine when I was a kiddy. Only Mr Williams coulda pulled off that Popeye voice!
borat writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:38:46 PM

christian bale should play popeye
triggax writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:39:28 PM

HE LIVES IN A PINEAPPLE UNDER THE SEA!!!!!
triggax writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:40:22 PM

Anyone ever notice he eats his "spinach" through a "pipe" thats cause its drugs... thats why i love popeye..
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:58:09 PM

That's pot in a spinach can!

Popeye (his eye's pop on pot) is hooked on weed.
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:16:11 PM

Hey... where's Peter Parker these days?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:26:12 PM

I will gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today.

@Ranger: Not sure. Whatever happened to Mink?
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:28:03 PM

I think Mink's job here was done. I believe he visits another site now (not sure which one). He was entertaining too.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:33:40 PM

I think somebody may have finally had enough and killed him. Which makes me wonder if I am next.
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:41:20 PM

Naw...

Vin's AIDS will worsen...
rocketman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:44:47 PM

@Eben
Would Stallone actually be psysically able to say 'Popeye the sailor man'? Whats that sound like?
triggax writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:44:37 PM

OPOY DUH AILOY MAN... Is probably what stallone would bring to the table...
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:48:42 PM

not many people know this but the buldges in popeyes arms are actually tumors and the speach impediment is actually from a stroke he sufferd 4 years ago
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:51:00 PM

heheh, i'm reminded of that one Family Guy episode where Popeye has terminal illnesses ....

and Popeye was always kind of stupid, obvious propaganda with the "if you eat spinach you'll be super strong!" ... what a load of bullsh*t. he's really eating marijuana! that's what gets you strong!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:52:07 PM

gotta love family guy and simpsons
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:06:55 PM

Hook is the sh*t!! least that had Spielberg lol

@Ranger
I was beginning to wonder the same thing... where are you Pete! i was watching Spidey 1 earlier on HBO n thought damn PP hasn't been around what gives?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:11:47 PM

@Ted-you know you're right, i hope PP doesn't pull the vanishing act like Mink did ...
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:22:28 PM

It's frightening how we all think alike, I was wondering where the f*ck PP went, but I was waiting for a spiderman thread so I could stay on topic... just kidding, I was wondering though.

Rocket, Stallone looks like Popeye, being a fellow stroke victim, and while HGH isn't exactly spinach, I'm sure he eats spinach as well. He could just lip sync and RW could voice.
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:46:53 PM

@Ted (and others) - nice to see I'm not the only 'Hook' fan out there.

As for Spielberg's 'Top 3' (excluding: Schlinder's and Pvt. Ryan of course) - in no particular order:

1. Hook.
2. The Color Purple (Glover... what an *sshole!).
3. Poltergeist (Spielberg did such a great job on the screenplay it even looked like his directing - credit to Tobey for that though).
Ari Gold writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:06:54 PM

Popeye needs to get some action off his lady, those forearms are a cry for attention. This guy must be the worlds advocate for wanking.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:28:22 PM

HILARIOUS!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:11:07 PM

speaking of 'Hook', it was on abc family a couple nights ago...rufio rufio ru...fi..OOOOHHH!!...yea i think anybody who grows up watching that movie never gets tired of it...it's a lesson hollywood seems to forget when the idea of family films are actually watchable with substance in it...especially when you have a big name like steven spielberg attached to it...but transformers doesn't count
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:19:33 PM

My top three Speilberg films

AI-Artifical Inteligence
War Of The Worlds
The Terminal













and if you actually believe that hahahahaha
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:50:14 PM

@Dave - honestly... you had me wondering, 'til I scrolled down... lol.

@Ari - re: forearms... nice!

@synthetic - yep... fun movie. Rufio... damn... I forgot about that. You're the Pan!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:01:04 AM

@ranger- cheers thought you'd like it, had to do it really because not really a fan of Hook. But Popeye could be good only because the original isn't really all that so at least they can see what they did wrong and correct it.
BlueMobius writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 2:39:50 AM

Oh for the love of all that's holy...WHY?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
Eben1277 writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 8:34:15 AM

dave I know u were kidding, But I rEAlly liked gthe teRminal. And I think Ladykillers is my fav Cohen movie after Lebowski OK everyone bashh me now

seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 3:30:13 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved