WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Evans Confirmed for "Captain America"!

Posted: March 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Evans Confirmed for "Captain America"!Submit Comment
It has now been confirmed that Chris Evans (Fantastic Four) will play Steve Rogers, also known as Captain America, in the upcoming Marvel superhero film "The First Avenger: Captain America."

It was previously reported that the actor would get only $300,000 for the film and would have to sign for another nine options for future films, sequels, and spin-offs. Part of the deal is that Evans must reprise the role in "The Avengers," in which Captain America will team with Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr), Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and The Incredible Hulk (Edward Norton).

Director Joe Johnston (The Wolfman) is directing "Captain America" and Hugo Weaving has already signed on to play the villain, Red Skull. The new film is scheduled to hit theaters on July 22nd, 2011.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: THR, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 144 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:49:10 PM

I wonder if Vin the retard knows about this already?!

Oh... of course he does... he's been spamming all the other threads about it (off topic, as usual... because he had the attention span of a kitten playing with a piece of dangling yarn) already.

f*cking moron!
stevethemoviehater writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:49:51 PM

f*ck,TERRIBLE .... HE WILL ALWAYS BE HUMAN TORCH TO ME
Movieman188 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:50:10 PM

Human Torch as Cap. America for the win!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:54:14 PM

@ranger- yep vin & kojay are doing that as we speak, but on topic of all the actors up for the role this choice is the best, and can definetly see him as the leader of The Avengers.

Only little problem Johnson- but hay stranger things have happened.

OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:54:58 PM

Don't blame him for the sh*tty Fantastic Four movies.
lebowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:55:26 PM

great now the only thing left to do is change the director and maybe they can do a descent movie.if they let johnston f*ck this up avengers will have to start looking for a new leader.
Last Acting Hero writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:57:56 PM

Wonderful! Now this movie is hopeless. Thank you Mr. Johnston and Human Torch! Faggots! Your mothers are whores!
nope.com writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:02:48 AM

lol Human Torch is Steve Rogers... way to f*ck up Marvel

DC can get away with Reynolds as GL since Origins was a sh*t film and Marvel property... BUT HOW DO YOU CROSS OVER THE SAME BRAND DUMB f*ckS?
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:02:49 AM

@Last Acting Hero - LOL!

@Dave and others... yep, if they lose the Director... all will be great in CA-Land!
rabid writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:06:43 AM

they could've done so much better. oh well.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:15:20 AM

its crazy how his career took off, i still remember him in Not Another Teen Movie hah, i bet hes sh*tting his pants now!
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:16:39 AM

Captain Torch
Flaming America
captain inferno
America in Hell
f*ck theres soo much...
this has to be the most horrible choice by far, not because he is a terrible actor, but because everyone knows him as the torch...and as the torch..he CANNOT be CA....this is just stupid.
tcu21 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:17:44 AM

Obviously not my first pick, but I feel a pretty good choice nonetheless. Prove to us that your worth it Evans!
KalVicious writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:18:36 AM

I like this choice. :) Lol. :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:19:11 AM

I'm starting a rally guys "Channing Tatum for Captain America" do you think I'm too late??
gorgoroth writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:19:56 AM

well hes better then channing "f*ck head" tatum. at least this guy can act, you got to admit they could have done alot worse.
Ronald Regan writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:20:31 AM

Super Solider Serum on!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:34:52 AM

Just looking at Johnston resume and here is my ten cents.

The Rocketeer,"The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles", Jumanji, Jurassic Park III- these films are aimed at the family market so the scripts are really that deep or emotional.

October Sky, Hidalgo- I'm guessing these movies are quite emotional and deep, but have not seen them so can't comment that much, so guys help me out.

The Wolfman- well we knw all about the original and this remake.

So I guess what I'm trying to say is that maybe he is better when the script does'nt ask too much, and due to how IronMan and even The Dark Knight scripts and performance they need a director who can handle script, yes it is a comic book but so are IronMan &Dark Knight.

Considering they are going to reboot Fantastic Four it is ok to have Evans as Captain America.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:35:16 AM

I'm acctually happy about this chris evens was one of the only good things about the ff movies....I think this as good choice he has the look and the chops..loved him in "not another teen movie" and second of all he's american witch was a pluss in my book(not a stipulation)
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:36:35 AM

@dave I'm with you man chris is the best pick out of em all
ollitsacBaLlSaC. writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:38:11 AM

id rather see liam neeson be cap than this guy. Push: worst 90 minutes ever. Silver Surfer: sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:41:52 AM

I haven't see 'Push' (other than what's on YouTube with VinDandy having his colon punctured by his Father), and FF - Silver Surfer wasn't Chris Evans fault. He and Alba (Mmmm... Alba) were the 2 best things of the FF movies.

I'm happy with this choice.
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:42:00 AM

well im happy for u guys thinking that hes a good choice....coz i honestly do NOT THINK SO
f*cking stupid CA crew is retarded!
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:45:17 AM

lol... at least you're pleasant about some of us liking the choice.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:49:39 AM

@gor & dave & tcu
I think You guys are right evens is a great actor and I agree with you with ff being reboted its deffinetly fine for him to be cap
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:53:44 AM

Exactly you can disagree just be civil about it
c-prime writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:54:29 AM

I detest Captain America, so I'm pretty ambivalent about anything that's related to this flick. Still, I'll probably be bored on the day it comes out and see it despite my better judgment. And that being said, Chris Evans might do alright. However, like everybody else has said already, Joe Johnston doesn't inspire much faith. And I never had faith in this to begin with, so...

All this hate for "Fantastic 4". Don't get me wrong, I think those movies sucked c*ck, too, but nobody ever has anything good to say about Michael Chiklis. Just Chris Evans. He was, in my opinion, the best actor in the cast (yes, even with the retarded latex suit). Dammit, people, show some for Vic Mackey! Ha ha.
Matiax writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:58:18 AM

So, all that... for this?

I just realized something. This will be a hell more confusing if the Invaders are in the movie... with the original Torch (The android)
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:58:55 AM

@c-prime
I agree with you micheal did good as well as the guy who played mr. Fantastic the only I didn't like was alba(just didn't look the part, not white enough) and the dude who played doom
m5dmb28 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:00:24 AM

once an actor portrays a superhero, he should never appear as another!!! WTF marvel?!?! chris evans sucks balls anyway. yeah, he was a descent torch, but other than that he blows. joe "i directed the sh*t show jurassic park 3" johnston at the helm?? this movie better surprise me. the only bright spot is hugo weaving as red skull. he'll be awesome.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:00:42 AM

@c-prime I have always said on here and to my friends the only good things about "FF" was Evans & Chiklis, was never convinced with Albas' portral as Invisible Girl to me she was too young to play the older sister of Evans.
GIST writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:03:22 AM

*shrug shoulders while I'm on the toilet.

Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:03:34 AM

But Alba has those big doe eyes, and those full no-spill lips... and an ass you could bounce a silver dollar off of and get change.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:06:57 AM

@ranger- I get what you mean, but I just don't find her attractive at all.
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:08:26 AM

That's ok.

I'd handcuff her to the boiler for a weekend.
c-prime writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:13:00 AM

@ skatemaster62 and DaveThePhotoGuy: My bad. Thought I was the only person on here who commends Chiklis in those movies. I was wrong, thankfully.

"the only [one] I didn't like was alba (just didn't look the part, not white enough)..."

Ha ha. My erection said the exact same thing.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:14:46 AM

Does it even matter any more? We all knew for awhile now in the end we'd be diappointed with the pick. Least we can stop with who's in the run to play CA. I'm sure were all gonna see it anyways, so let's see how it turns out.

On one more note, thank god it wasn't Channing Tatum, otherwise vindandy would be the only one watching the film, jerking off
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:16:20 AM

They should have had Sue Storm straddling the gauze in one scene. When she goes invisible... you'd only see this half-bloodied tampon running around in mid-air.

That would be kinda HAWT!
ollitsacBaLlSaC. writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:17:17 AM

They should make a spin off for Invisible Woman: Rise of the Titts
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:18:18 AM

@c-prime, that's cool man lol, I remember when I heard they were making "FF" my mfriends and I all agreed that the two most dificult parts to cast were Thing and Human Torch & they nailed those briliantly.
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:20:20 AM

lol well if the series is rebooted then it will be fine..but lets not forget...FF had a pretty good cast, i liked evans as torch and that guy who played the thing was fantastic.
well lets just hope for the best for CA
plus i reckon he needs to bulk it up abit more.
chris hemsworth is seen bulking up for his role as thor. im sure evans can do the same, but not to that extent lol
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:22:57 AM

ok with him but not the director he blows. he is fine as CA it coulda be better sure or worseeee.
johndillinger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:25:47 AM

i said it once, i'll say it again... everybody and i mean everybody doubted heath ledger when he was cast as the joker. look how that movie turned out, and he won the oscar.

yeah he died too but lets hop chris evans stays alive
johndillinger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:26:10 AM

hope*
johndillinger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:27:14 AM

and for the guy who hasn't seen October Sky... really good movie.
masht7 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:30:16 AM

Good God, I was pointing a gun at my nuts until this came up. I'm fine with this choice.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:31:07 AM

@john- that would be me, but what I'm asking is that maybe Johnston can't handle a good script??
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:31:24 AM

eh .... i'm okay with this. STILL think Vogel would have been better.

all i really gotta say is good luck Chris and Hugo, and Johnson do the best you can .. and if you don't, i know where you live.

let's all keep are fingers crossed ...
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:32:59 AM

yeh but heath ledger didnt play someone like lex luther and then jump into the role of the joker...thats wat im trying to get at...i mean...you dont wana see christian bale play as clark kent...or someone like tobey macguire playing the phantom
johndillinger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:34:32 AM

guys guys guys... he made Honey, I Shrunk The Kids.


I'm in!!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:35:08 AM

@ranger
Its not that she's unatractive she just wasn't right for the role
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:37:23 AM

@skate- exactly right about Alba
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:39:27 AM

trust an internet blog site to transform something about an actor playing a role into the sexual eploitation of women...
ME LIKEY
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:45:53 AM

@prime
Thanks bro
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:53:42 AM

@dave
Thanks for the support
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:57:12 AM

@skate- cool man
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:16:49 AM

I can't wait for the red skull halloween mask
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:19:12 AM

Scare the sh*t out of kids with that
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:21:08 AM

@skate- round the palyground lol
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:26:08 AM

I scare kids every halloween for fun and then they get candy and all that but they get the crap scared out of them first...its fun
telur writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:28:35 AM

c'mon, just give Chris Evans a chance
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:29:50 AM

@skate- I scare the kids by hiding in the vegtable patch, if you get my meaning??
AshTrey writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:37:09 AM

HOW IS THE VILLAIN A BIGGER NAME ACTOR THAT CA.. this guys isnt an unknown hes just a douche who thinks hes funny. At least it isnt dane cook.

I have a feeling CA is gonna be up there with Electra and Catwoman as one of my most hated comic book movies yet.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:38:37 AM

@ash- as long as the replace or put pressure on the director.
rocketman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:42:58 AM

He's a poor mans Ryan Reynolds.Marvel have just dropped the ball with their impatience to get this film going.
@nchorman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:43:44 AM

exactly right, by putting pressure on the directors, it can give off a positive consequence
elektra and catwoman had absolutely no hype and no pressure for the directors, and look how great (cough) they turned out.
plus CA is the leader of the avengers...well not entirely, but he is the major man. there is a tonne of pressure from just that sentence there.
rocketman writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:47:08 AM

I'm going to piss myself laughing seeing this guy trying to do heroic.He does not look like a Soilder at all,Cap should have the f*cking SEALS staring up in awe at him,not the MTV teen crowd.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:56:33 AM

So I'm just throwing this out there... has anyone seen "London" with Chris in it? I thought he was great in it... Statham was in it too... anyone?
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:57:10 AM

@dave
Lol you know it brother
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:00:25 AM

@ted- no I have'nt will check it out, saw him in Sunshine and that was good.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:13:23 AM

If this guy is captain America... we already had lost WW II !!!!!
:(
masht7 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:14:12 AM

@Dave

He was actually quite good in Sunshine, he did not act like a rat's small *sshole in COC's icecream. Also TMNT, Street Kings and Cellular.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:18:16 AM

@mash- yep he was very good in Sunshine, have'nt seen Street Kings yet, seen some of Cellular and he seem to carry the film quite well.
dougieperzo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:22:22 AM

I didnt read every comment because there's so many of them, but I dont think anyone has mentioned his finest role in my opinon, Sunshine. I think its a great film and he does a very solid performance in it so I have faith in him and as mentioned I think he is a better choice than the other options
lost_addict writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:24:48 AM

captain america?I can fart on this guy and kill him...
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:25:28 AM

Could be worse, It could have been chris evans the ginger radio DJ from the Uk , now that would have been bad news.... in his defence he did nail bille piper for a while !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:28:14 AM

@trailer- too true and niccccccccce
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:33:51 AM

@dave
Have you seen diary of a call girl , very underatted and funny show ....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:37:25 AM

@trailer- yep I've heard of it, not a fan.
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:42:50 AM

hes soo f*ckin hot, good choice, id f*ck the ass off him, look at that sexy smile, i think hes looking at :p
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:01:35 AM

@ dave

On subject good point on joe johnston i always think he's made loads of movies but its only about 10 or so and he's better with something like honey i shrunk the kids , maybe this might be a step to far for him and i know they run out of money but JP 3 had one of the worst endings ive ever seen shocking !!!

I would be a little worried with him at the helm of Captain America.....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:17:10 AM

@trailer- cheers mate, yeah does'nt bode well for CA does it.

So here is a question, if Marvel get rid of Johnston who could take over???
Kurskij writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:20:15 AM

@Rocketman

"He's a poor mans Ryan Reynolds... Cap should have the f*cking SEALS staring up in awe at him,not the MTV teen crowd".

Not so long ago Reynolds was poor man's Chris Evans. Both had their start in comedies, but Evans is younger, had a chance to work with Danny Boyle and Paul McGuigan and doesn't have Blade:Trinity to his resume. Also, he got a chance to bang Jessica Biel.

Agreed, Cap is the baddest MF. But Clint Eastwood is 78.
Can you see a better option? Especially if you had to choose from those percy boys they've shortlisted for the role?
Dark writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:21:22 AM

I don't know how this will work out. But I just don't see him as CA. He will always be HT.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:22:51 AM

Hopefully he will be good enough that we will be able to think of him as Cap. He is actually a good actor, he's just in bad movies. I didn't think I'd be able to distance myself when Edward Norton was Hulk but he was great. As long as they do it right. Now, whether or not they CAN do it right with the current director is an entirely different story.

PS How to Train Your Dragon may end up being the best movie of the year, it was f*cking FANTASTIC. This may be the year Dreamworks takes the Oscar.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:34:19 AM

@ Ranger

Dam, i could have gotten the role, i think i still can though, i am 6ft 6 and with exercise i can look fit as f*ck! Come on ranger, we go together yo Hollywood and tell them who should play CAP!!

PS, sorry about before, thought you were taking a stab at me!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:48:04 AM

@scrooge- I hope so, I'm sick of Pixar getting it, but remember Toy Story 3 is coming out so it looks like Tory Story 3 is shoe in for that Oscar.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:00:10 AM

not the worst choice...after all, the role could've went to chase crawford...just imagine all the negative feedback it would've gotten if that happened
dissident187 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:09:01 AM

If you can live with Ryan Reynolds being Deadpool and Green Lantern, I'm sure Chris Evans can be given a chance as Captain America. He was very good in Cellular, Sunshine, Push and Street Kings.

And this also goes to show that a studio would never bank on an unknown actor to lead a $100 million pic. Sam Worthington had Christian Bale as Salvation's anchor and Avatar was more about Cameron and "revolutionary" 3D.
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:24:45 AM

@Skippy - I'd never do that (take a stab at you).

@Ash - it's not unheard of for the co-star to be a bigger name than the lead here (Hugo then Evans), anymore than Brando taking top billing in Superman over Reeves.

@skate - No Red Skull mask required. Vin scares children at Halloween with his vagina. I'm just surprised that spamming retard didn't post in this thread that Evans is CA.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:28:39 AM

@ dave

the million dollar question

1st, i don't think they will let joe off this project can you imagine how long it would take for them to pick a new director, the film might never be made.

2nd I don't know too much about CA but they have to get this character right 1st time so they can then move him on to the Avengers last thing they want is a sh*t CA movie then they have to reboot the whole thing again. Got this feeling it will have that same feel about it as his movie The Rocketeer ( which is not a good thing)

3rd i would go for Alfonso Cuaron i like him he made the best harry potter by a mile i think he could handle the story and the action with equal measure, if not him maybe sam raimi , Francis Lawrence and didn't spielberg want a crack at a super hero movie at one time he would be good too...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:57:08 AM

Well, of all the actors attached to play CA, Evans is by far the best option. Does he look like the epitome of badassery? No, he doesn't. On the other hand, which of these beast-looking badasses can truly act? Evans can bulk up, and given the right script, he can be believable as a super soldier.

And Evans can match Downey Jr. Sure, RDJ is still the bigger man of them, but Evans won't be outshined by him, which in turn, can make Evans believable as the leader of the Avengers.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:40:23 AM

The guy's in great shape, can act, and is white. Cast him. Now why was that so f*cking hard? There wasn't another actor being considered that met those basic requirements, so this should have been kind of a no-brainer.

The FF movies weren't that great but they weren't that bad either. I liked Evans as HT but not enough to care if he plays another (more serious) Marvel character. Anybody who does have a problem with it must give way more of a sh*t about the FF films than I did.

@C-Prime: I liked Chiklis as Thing, but Doctor Doom stole the movies. He was the only thing half way interesting about both films. Was that one of the Nip/Tuck guys playing DD?
LastActionHero writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:03:40 AM

Not who I wanted, but unquestionably better than Matthew McCanagay or the guy from The Office.
Sonic writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:08:35 AM

Human Torch as Cap, the Invaders in Cap, first Human Torch in the Invaders
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:27:32 AM

I dont think this is a bad choice.

Who else in Hollywood would suck d*ck for so little money :)
darkraven28 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:56:25 AM

Another superhero film. (Biiiiiiiig yawn). Good cast, though, so far. *ssholes.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:18:14 AM

@darkraven28
*ssholes ??????
BigUnit writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:28:46 AM

Hugo Weaving and Anthony Hopkins are signed on to be in this movie, why isnt benicio del toro captain america? lol
Vin12 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:30:56 AM

Fanboy gods have smiled on us
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:31:13 AM

SAC: That is correct, nip/tuck guy did indeed play Dr.Doom, and very well I might add. In fact all the lead actors in those movies were good (well except alba, but she looks good), it was a bad script, and bad direction that sunk those movies. There could be no reason at all to change Doom's origin, in fact keeping his real origin and powers (no super powers that is, only his armor, and to some extent, gypsy magic) would have worked well to foreshadow Iron Man and potentially Dr Strange. A different studio does FF though right? So maybe I'm just talking out my ass here. Anyway, original origin for Doom was much better than the cosmic ray origin in the movie.
makingcircles writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:40:35 AM

I am less worried about this casting choice as I am in the director's ability to produce a quality superhero film. I think Evan can pull off this role and the FF film weren't very good so it's good to see Evans get a shot at a decent Marvel character. I've never been a Cap fan per say but I think the character has tons of potential to get some respect. I mean...he is the leader of Avengers. That's some pretty big boots to fill bossing all those other Superheros around.
Lined Paper writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:30:57 AM

f*ckING NOOOOOOO!!!! f*ckf*ckf*ckf*ck!!!!! WHAT THE BULLsh*t IS THIS?!

Johnny Storm...go f*ck yourself.
SmokeyDesperado writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:33:55 AM

I don't mind chris evans. I liked him in ff4. I trust in chris..now joe johnston I don't trust in
rabid writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:34:32 AM

It wasn't that Fantastic Four was a bad film, it's the concept that's bad. I'm not sure a good FF movie can be made for adults. The comic has always been the cheesiest, most family-friendly book Marvel puts out, but the movies were a pretty accurate portrayal of the books. Galactus would have been great if they had the balls to finish the story. As they left it, audiences were really confused as to how the story ended, because there was never a Silver Surfer movie to finish it off and show the full threat of Galactus.
rabid writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:36:50 AM

Johnston is a pretty decent director. I haven't seen him make a poor film yet. It's Evans that I don't think has the emotional range to play Captain America. Cap isn't c*cky or smarmy, he's shy and mopey. There can't be too much wisecracking or lady-flirting.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:56:45 AM

See, that's why I had a problem with him in F4- he's too 'built' to be Johnny Storm. Look at that chest of his- Johnny is some annoying teenage brat that the Thing should have clobbered years ago into hot sauce. Evans has the build for CA... but I agree Rabid, his emotional range has yet to be tested. He'll either fly or die with this role- the same risk everyone's taking on this film. :P
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:00:54 AM

This announcement sucks as much d*ck as Vin.
CCBlev writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:09:54 AM

um yay? We'll see when the movie comes out, f*ck Johnston
Blank x2 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:16:20 AM

I'll give the filmmakers credit. They are following the "How to f*ck up a movie" guidelines to the letter.

Captain America is going to be awful. I hope I'm wrong, but Hugo Weaving is the ONLY good thing about this film so far.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:33:47 AM

Minus the fact that he's the Human Torch. (Perfect casting there) I'm ok with this.
I still say Steve Burton from General Hospital would have been an excellent Captain america. The guy is a serious blonde with an amazing build and THE jawline for Cap.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:43:30 AM

Thought Evans showed some decent emotional range in Sunshine.
triggax writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:31:24 PM

Its about f*cking time.. My god... Evans is a good choice... who f*cking cares if he played the human torch... I think he's a great choice... Joe Johnston I have faith in because of October Sky.. Caps supposedly set back during world war 2? for quite a bit of it? I think Johnston, regardless of how you feel about the wolfman and JP3... Did an amazing job of capturing the time in October Sky.. And ever since Sunshine, Chris Evans is A-OK in my books...

borat writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:39:48 PM

he looks american i think thats all you need for the role
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:57:12 PM

And he's male.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:57:20 PM

I had high hopes for Gary Sinise for CA and Joe Johnston can burn in hell for all I care, he is going to destroy one my favorite heroes....
atn5022 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:05:38 PM

i really like chris evans, he was the only part of the fantastic four that didnt blow. I think he'll be a good captain america
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:41:25 PM

Hahaha, well I thought he was awesome in Sunshine, though his character was a little 1 dimensional. He carried Cellular pretty well too. And yeah, he's definitely got that stereotypical 'wholesome american' look, so I can't complain too much.

Of course, after Johnston's sh*tshow Wolfman I dunno how the movie itself will play out...
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 2:45:18 PM

@Dave
YES completely forgot about Sunshine very under recent sci fi movie!!
Blade12322 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:20:15 PM

I wouldn't have minded an unknown person
but if they were going to pick someone more mainstream, even though he's not the MOST famous, he's a good pick
give him a chance, at least they've announced it now
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:30:12 PM

*under rated
god damnit, Alex can we PLEASE get an edit button soon!? lol
Bigcheese writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 3:44:55 PM

I'm super happy with this. Besides Channing (urghh) all the others fitted cap BEFORE the Super Soldier, but none would really fit him after. Also, Chris is the better actor hands down.
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:19:55 PM

I don't have a complaint, he's competent and looks the part. Beast of luck to him and the director of getting right.

P.s. I hope Cap gets the Captain America Costume from Ultimate Avengers past and new.

As for the FF, they were ruined the moment they went cheap and strayed from of what the comic really is like and about. A reboot is in order...Way down the road.

Strike 1: Tim Story as director
Strike 2: sh*tty generic suit driven scripts
Strike 2: Alba cast as Susan Storm
Strike 3: Horrible oatmeal Thing costume.
Strike 4: Badly scripted Dr. Doom
Strike 5: Insulting Galactus who should have looked like this...
www.manifestdensity.net/2007/06/18/galactus_head.jpg
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:31:12 PM

hopefull he cud torch up the cap ;P
Hollywood1086 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:04:49 PM

he's hot. i'll go see it.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:09:32 PM

@kid
is your avatar jesus wearing a golie mask? if so thats f*cking awsome!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:11:30 PM

i hope they make him dye his hair more blonde and i hope they use the usual comstume with the wing tips on the mask
Eben1277 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:35:33 PM

I just hope the f*ckin movie doesn't suck, I can't really take too many more sh*tty comic book movies. I liked Push, and can't think of anything I didn't like him in, so the choice seems like a good one to me, definitely by far the best choice out of the options they were considering
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:49:04 PM

Not my first choice for the role of Captain America, but Evans has enough charisma and talent I think to overcome his association with the Fantastic Four films.

With Hugo Weaving playing the Red Skull, this movie could actually be a pretty damn good superhero flick.
lokopr writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:16:52 PM

im cool with the choice, he has potential but to be honest i didn't tought of him in the character...this guy here (Mark Valley) should be CA, I know he's old but with muscle and a haircut he can be like RDJ to Iron Man

http://www.fringebloggers.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/bfringepromo15.jpg
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:40:48 PM

@phantom
I agree this looks like it could be good my only worry is johnston
Aingx writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:41:41 PM

Weeeeeelp, told you it'll suck either way, now it's CONFIRMED.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:52:17 PM

@trailertrash

1- That's true, if they get rid of him now the film will be stuck in development hell.

2-Yep they do need to make sure this is right first time, and The Rocketeer just had too much cheese, it was an ok movie but not one that holds up to repeated viewing.

3- Alfonso Cuaron, just had a look at his resume and yes he would be a great choice he can definetly handle good sripts.
Francis Lawrence, same answer abover for him.
Not sure about Speilberg only because it's set during WW2 and don't really what there to be too much about saving Jews, I mean that's a back story in a weird way, the main story is CA.
japaninmotion writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:58:19 PM

he was the only good thing in the ff movies. but he is kind of stiffler lite
Ranger writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:57:23 PM

'Stiffler Lite'... lol. Good call.
Duffman writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:44:17 AM

seems I was right, no matter who they cast its gonna be split on love and hate. I think the guy will do a great job as cap and will take it seriously, already has the superhero experience under his belt. He will be known as Cap especially after they reboot the FF series and they pass the torch (pun intended lol). JJ does worry me, but after taking so long to decide who should get the role, I'm convinced Marvel will be keeping a very close eye on this movie. He's got Huge Weaving there anyways to give him some pointers and I'm sure the two will do great together. Have faith guys, I said the same bad stuff about RDJ as Iron Man and Heath as The Joker and boy was I eating sh*t for saying that.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 1:45:31 AM

@duffman
Well said my friend well siad I agree with you 100% chris evens will do great and with how long it took to cast cap I'm sure there keeping a close eye
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:30:47 AM

I actually think he is a good choice. He kind of has that American symbol look to him and, you have to admit, he was like the only one who did a good job in Fantastic Four. If I had to keep one member of that horrible cast it would have been him and I would have replaced all the others. I think he can play the role of Captain America just as good.
matternm58 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:47:22 AM

God Damnit he was already a super hero. No seconds you flamer torch!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 2:56:42 PM

this gonna be good now the wait to the official announcment from Marvel
Wallace writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:10:23 PM

Captain America is just not popular enough outside the States, and this is why it can't become a franchise like Spider oder Iron Man.
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 11:52:58 PM

who care Hugo Weaving is all they need
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 2:39:53 PM

@wallace
Iron man was not a big household name until the movie hit and blew up if done correctly captain americsa could do the same
bloodybeefcurtain writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:44:54 AM

This Guy should be the f*cking water boy for Captain America.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved