WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Road" is Finally Heading to DVD/Blu-ray on May 25th

Posted: March 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Road" is Finally Heading to DVD/Blu-ray on May 25thSubmit Comment
Viggo Mortensen's "The Road" was one of the best films of 2009 (in my opinion), but not only was it ignored by the Academy Awards, but it also didn't get much of a release in the US.

Sony Pictures Home Entertainment has now announced that the film will be coming to DVD and Blu-ray on May 25th and will include such bonus material as a director's commentary, deleted and extended scenes, the making of 'The Road,' and two theatrical trailers.

Plot: A father (Mortensen) and his son (Kodi Smit-McPhee) walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food and each other.

Click here to read our "The Road" review.

Source: Blu-ray


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lemus869 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:23:17 PM

I want to see this movie
HOPE ITS GOOD
c-prime writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:23:47 PM

I find it really hilarious that this film, which they kept repeatedly pushing back and pushing back and pushing back just to score some awards nominations, wound up getting absolutely nothing at all. Deservedly so, I believe. It's just a lousy and downright aimless flick - the acting was aces, but there was really no plot at all. Some may argue that wandering through a barren wasteland in search of absolutely nothing was kind of the point, but that's too weak a premise for me. I had such high hopes for it, but now, I just pray Viggo Mortensen doesn't finish his career on this bleak note.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:11:23 PM

@c-prime
On the contrary, Viggo Mortensen is already signed on for another film. Besides, I heard he "semi-retired". I even heard he was doing another Eastern promises flick. I think he jsut needed a break. I mean, from what I hear, like every movie he does is an award magnet and critically acclaimed. Seriously, "Lord of the Rings", "History of Violence", "Eastern Promises", "The Road", and even "Appaloosa" which was a little stale but not bad considering westerns have been out of the eyes of people for like 15 years since "Tombstone".
joshmihaly writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:22:24 PM

Personally, it's one of my favorite movies. This might be part to that I read the book as well, but I don't know I just really got into it. To each their own I suppose though.
c-prime writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 10:13:45 PM

@ Sleuth1989: Thanks for the scoop, man. (Damn, you chose the right username.) I guess I haven't checked the guy's IMDb page in a while. I didn't become a real Mortensen fan until "A History of Violence" came out. To me, that flick was a wake-up call to keep an eye out on him more often. Since then, he's done nothing but wow me in everything he's starred in (even "The Road", though I didn't care that much for it overall). I think David Cronenberg brings out the best in him, but Mortensen has, no doubt, given his all in other films as well, I've come to realize. I just think it would be a real shame for him to call it quits after this disappointing film ( la Sean Connery in "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen"). Glad to know the talks of his retirement were just premature. Time for Viggo to finish resting up and jump back on the saddle (and by that, I don't mean a sequel to "Hidalgo").
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:29:05 AM

Well, if you guys are fans of Mortensen's collaborations with David Cronenberg, I can't imagine how excited ya'll are for The Talking Cure.
moods_001 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 12:42:45 AM

Excellent Film, excellent atmosphere, and excellent performances.... the hell with the academy; this is one of the best depressing films I've ever seen.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:36:05 AM

i've been wanting to see this, so good news for me.
deepnshit writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 4:35:05 AM

really good flick, but dont watch it with your girlfriend, cause she might throw up. its so depressing.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:38:16 AM

I loved this film too. It show, at least to me, a more realistic way to portray a post-apocalyptic way. No zombies, no religious mumbo-jambo, political or nuclear issues. Just people trying to survive.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:15:39 AM

This was one the most realistic postapoc movies ever made. I f*cking loved it! Sure it doesn't dazzle you with huge action sequences, but it does give you a great view of humanity on the brink of social and moral annihilation. You can't help but feel for Viggo with all of the completely f*cked up sh*t goin down around him.

If you haven't seen this film, jump on it when it finally hits DVD. The Academy completely goofed on not nominating it this year.
darkraven28 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:14:59 AM

You mean a nuclear holocaust can't finish off Robert Duvall? f*ck!
BigUnit writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:24:55 AM

i agree with worstpreviews for once, this movie was one of the better films of 09'
rabid writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:29:07 AM

Good film, great actors... but boooooooring!
I had to fight to stay awake watching it. There's virtually no plot.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:20:53 AM

Robert Duvall is immortal. Even if we wanted to kill him, he just wont keel over.

And The Road was amazing. You guys have pretty much stated the reasons why- but the realism hurts alot more than any zombie chewing on Will Smith's ankle.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:37:26 AM

@C-Prime, VM was even cool playing the douchebag in Daylight.
I'm a huge VM fan and loved this movie. It's about time this is hitting DVD.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 11:41:35 AM

The only thing that can end Robert Duvall is Chuck Norris
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:13:34 PM

I really wanted to see this but it was bullsh*t because they weren't showing this in any theater near me, I'll have to go pick this up when it comes out
BigFoot writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:10:41 PM

Finnaly! I can't wait to get this when it comes out...oh wait, I already have it. Thank you Mexican bootleg movies!
manichispanic writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:21:43 PM

i liked the movie a lot. i'm reading the book now.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved