WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder Reveals Plan for "300" Prequel

Posted: March 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder Reveals Plan for "300" PrequelSubmit Comment
Back in December Frank Miller revealed that he completed the plot for "Xerxes," the graphic novel that will serve as a prequel to "300." The story will begin about ten years before the events of "300" and will be set during the battle of Marathon.

Now, ComingSoon caught up with director Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) to find out if he will return to helm a movie based on "Xerxes." "I'm waiting on Frank for the sequel to '300,' and there's a really good chance that will be the thing [I direct next]," he said.

Snyder went on to explain that the reason he called the new film a sequel rather than a prequel is because he has no idea what the new graphic novel is about. "I didn't tell Frank what to write the first time, and I'm not telling him what to write this time," he states. "I'll take it and I'll adapt it and make it into a movie and I'll write a screenplay, but I want him to do whatever he thinks."

Apparently Snyder and Miller are already planning to get together to discuss the prequel. "[Miller is] supposed to show me something really soon, actually in the next few months," revealed Snyder.

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:05:47 AM

Marathon was just as epic as Thermoplaye! Except it wasn't Xerxes, it was his Dad Darius.

And the Spartans showed up at the last minute, missing the battle. This one was basically the Athenians!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:30:36 AM

At least Frank has ticked off 'directing' on his list so we will not have to endure another film from him.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 7:35:36 AM

Good call Skippy. It would be strange to name the movie after a person who wasn't even involved in the battle. This is too big of a mistake to actually be one. If anything Miller might use the defeat at Marathon as a staging ground for the creation of the monster that Xerxes becomes after the death of his father. By all accounts Darius was hellbent on returning to Greece and crushing it before he became ill and died fighting an Egyptian revolt. Maybe Miller will show Darius' anger and vengeance passing down to his son and close the the film with a shot of Xerxes rallying his massive invading force for the return to Greece.

The only question I have is will the film look and feel the same as 300. Marathon is a completely different kind of battle than Thermopylae. The Athenians were very different kind of people than the Spartans. 300 was cool mostly because the Spartans were such badasses. Can the new movie still maintain that edge while focusing on people who aren't born and bred to fight like the them?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:16:35 AM

What Ricky said.

Now I can't get the memories of "The Spirit" out of my head.


*goes looking for booze*
VDODSON writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:17:52 AM

The Spirit was one of the worst flicks of the year.
lebowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:30:12 AM

a 300 prequel about xerxes.does anybody cares about how he became a really tall and bad gayman.i dont.300 is just fine without a prequel
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:32:31 AM

SAC sed it best.
How will it look n feel compared to 300 since the athenians and spartans are raised and bred 100% differently....to fight and defend to the death.

Only way to make it work is to show Xerxes taking names and kickin major ass. But we all know ppl who fight for revenge like that have daddy issues. Haha...better off callin it "I miss my daddy" then xerxes.

This might just blow cuz its hollyweird tryin to produce another fast track sequel/prequel. but it will make the money cuz they'll slap frank millars name on it.

Ill hold out til they adapt god of war into a movie series. That's sumthin that would actually be good for frank millar to direct
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:40:29 AM

@SAC: What I've heard, your right on the money, that this will will show why Xerxes became a tyrann.

And I think this will not be testosterone-fest, like 300, but a movie that only share similarity in the visuals.
ZenShark writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:33:07 AM

frank miller lost his sh*t a while back...only good thing hes done since the dark knight returns is sin city. he should be shot for what he did to the spirit. and the funny thing is, before that came out, he was all like 'i knew eisner, i know what he wanted'. bull sh*t. eisner turned in his grave.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:48:25 AM

Im surprised Snyder has not been picked up for a Marvel or another DC film. He seems to be making comic book films his 'thing'.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:51:06 AM

If they follow history, Xerxes shouldn't be involved in most of the film at all. Like Skippy said the majority of the film should focus on his father Darius. There's not a lot of info out there about what Xerxes was doing while his father was invading Greece the first time, so Miller can get pretty creative with his story. All I know is that he was old enough to know what was going on and bare the shame of losing to the Greeks. Marathon was a major defeat for the mighty Persian Empire and a turning point for Greece, especially Athens. Athens becomes the first major city and the heart of Greece after this and begins the popular era of Greek history we all know. Needless to say, there's a lot of material surrounding this battle for Miller to run with. I can't wait :)

You guy are right though. They should keep Miller away from the camera. The Spirit is one of the worst movies I've evr seen.
lost_addict writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 10:46:03 AM

this article is the best news Gerrard Butler has heard in the last 3 years....
warlord writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 10:56:15 AM

forget that move on!! what about army of the dead snyder was playing around with??
makingcircles writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 11:03:15 AM

"Scissor me Xerxes!!!"
Salvador writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:08:50 PM

This is great.

God for Snyder, (and please, no one else to direct the new film).
Salvador writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:11:34 PM

SACdaddy: Good point.

About the last comment, sorry:

god=good.
VDODSON writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:55:54 PM

Snyder can do no wrong, even the Watchmen in my mind was amazing. Could of done without seeing a blue d*ck, but we all have to make sacrifices.
nope.com writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:12:05 PM

post 80s Frank Miller is garbage
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:35:17 PM

Isn't that COC's dead mom in the picture?
Absolution writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 2:04:28 PM

80's frank miller was the best i dont know what the hell your thinking about without "the dark knight returns" we would probably have d*ck sprang batman still and not saying i dont like it but the comix for batman are getting really respected now, until the failure of a write "grant morrison" had to kill him off or at least bruce and frank miller now is horrible and has been for the past years sin city was his last great
takai writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 2:12:04 PM

I think you guys missed the post a while back when Miller discussed the plot for Xerxes.

He knows the history. He knows it wasn't the Spartans. He knows how different they were. (Athenians and Spartans), and he know that it was Darius (even though Darius never actually set foot on the battlefield).

He said that by the end of the film, Darius would be dead, and Xerxes would be taking over his daddy's wishes. So really, it makes sense to name the film 'Xerxes'.

Also, the Athenian soldier's armor was basically the Spartan's, but not as naked.

The battle of Marathon is an amazing story, and really, more of a milestone than Thermopylae.

I can only imagine that the Marathon run will be dragged out for the last half hour of the movie, and completely in slow motion. And you know for damn sure, Gerard Butler is going to grace the screen in the end, and right before the credits roll, he along with all of us in the theater will scream "SPARTAAANS! PREPARE FOR BATTLE!!!!!"

(what can I say, my entire family is from Greece. I get pumped on how badass {most of} my heritage is. hahaha)
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 3:25:33 PM

@Takai: 2 things

1. I really hope they don't concentrate on the messenger legend of Marathon too much. That's more myth than fact and has no baring on the rest of the film.

2. Wouldn't "Marathon" be a more appropriate title for the film? Why name an film after a minor character? The whole legend surrounding the battle at Marathon is based upon in its name not any one person involved. From a marketing standpoint the name is the most recognizable thing about the battle and the myth. The story of Thermopylae lasted through history because of the courage shown by so few against so many. That's why you name the film/graphic novel 300. I guess its just my opinion.
PulpAddiction writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 4:03:34 PM

Someone probably said this, but the only good part in Spirit was Eva Mendes's ass.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 5:03:45 PM

good for Snyder, let Miller do his thing and you'll end up with a successful film.

the first 300 kicked ass, and the way they're doing it now the second may be just as cool.

TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:14:02 PM

Hey Snyder I have a radical concept... make your own film! WHOA *SHOCK AND AWE* use that thing inside your skull called a brain and stop living off of other men and womens imaginations.
vwkombi writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 7:10:15 PM

Why does everyone think the Spartans were so badass. They were nothing but a bunch of violent, child f*ckers.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:03:39 PM

Not really bothered about this, 300 was a good visual film but again to it was boring, I only watched it because it was raining outside and I had two hours to kill before a mate turned up.
BuddyBoy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:48:53 PM

move the f*ck on..i say. i'd rather see the incredible story of how the Ottoman Empire took Istanbul on the 7th siege off the coast of Bospherous! Now that would be a great movie to watch on the big screen!!!! plus 300 had 0% truth in it! it was yet another over the top hollywood bullsh*t!!
masht7 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:27:51 AM

Battle of Marathon, EPIC! I have faith with anything Snyder does, all his films his done a great.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 5:04:24 AM

so what's the prequel called? '299'?
takai writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:07:14 AM

@SAC - The marathon run wasn't a legend, it actually happened. Having said that, there IS a myth that spawned from the actual historical run.

What actually happened - A Greek runner runs from Athens to Sparta to ask for assistance before the battle, covering the distance of 140 miles in two days.

What the myth says - A Greek runner runs from Marathon to Athens to announce the Greek victory, and then dies after delivering said message.

The Greeks didn't know they had won until they got back to Athens and saw the Persian ships leaving.

To be honest, I totally see Miller butchering history (again) just to make it more epic, and I'll probably enjoy it. haha

And yes, I think 'Marathon' would be a far greater title. Mainly because it makes sense.

Who knows how twisted Miller is going to present the history. Maybe by the time he's done with it, 'Xerxes' as the title will make more sense!


@Dark Knight - Why would he stop doing what he's good at? He is insanely good at adapting, so let him do what he does!

I just can't wait until he does 'Dark Knight Returns'! *elbow in the ribs*

@ vwkombi - First, what actually happened in Greek history is far more complicated, and a lot less sexual that "child f*ckers"

Also, out of all the Greeks, the Spartans are known to have practiced chaste pederasty, which means NO f*cking.


Aaaaand @ Buddy boy - There is actually a great deal of truth in '300'. Just so happens that there's just as much twisted truth.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:34:29 AM

"The marathon run wasn't a legend, it actually happened. Having said that, there IS a myth that spawned from the actual historical run"

I never said what did or didn't happen. I just said it was more myth than fact. We hardly ever hear the truth that you brought up. Instead, we only hear about the guy running with the good news and then dying upon delivery, because the olympic games supposedly grew out of it. I was just pointing out that it has little relevance to most of the story and doesn't deserve very much screentime. Although that might be the only way to incorporated Butler back in the film.
takai writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 1:57:48 PM

Oh ok. Gotcha. Sorry, I misread.
johnnybigguns writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:30:55 PM

Around the time of the Persian wars, think of the Athenians as a citizen militia lead by cunning and intelligent generals (Generals who made use of deception as a tactic like Miltiades and Themistocles). Just imagine the American Revolution, would any of you think of the American colonialists as not brave and heroic? Ok maybe not "badass" but it's still an inspiring story! The battle of marathon more impressive than the Spartans who only spent their entire time training as a professional army while their slaves tended to everything else, the Athenian soldier was also a tradesman.

As far as the armor goes, the way 300 depicts the Spartan panalopy (war dress) is very inaccurate. They wore chest armor and a tunic, so they weren't quite as naked as that. The Athenians dressed very similarly, with probably the same battle helmet (a Corinthian helmet) and a "linothorax" or bronze armor "cuirass" (chest armor). Both Athenians and Spartans would've worn greaves, round shields made of bronze, and used the same battle technique (phalanx).
millicentjill writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:42:38 PM

I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.I am impressed.I was looking for crucial information on this subject. Good post Thank for sharing !!!
millicentjill writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:45:03 PM

I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.I am impressed.I was looking for crucial information on this subject. Good post Thank for sharing !!!
rc electric boats
millicentjill writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:46:46 PM

I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.I am impressed.I was looking for crucial information on this subject. Good post Thank for sharing !!!
[url=http://www.handcraftedmodelships.com/remote-control-boats.php]rc electric boats[/url]
allenpaul007 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:06:43 PM

It is very nice to such a nice and entertaining post. I really enjoy the way writer has presented it. I hope to see more articles in future.
Refinance Mortgage

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved