WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Alice in Wonderland" Has Now Grossed $566 Million

Posted: March 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Alice in Wonderland" Has Now Grossed $566 MillionSubmit Comment
"Alice in Wonderland" took first place at the domestic box office this weekend by grossing another $34 million. The film has now earned $266 million at home and $566 million in worldwide ticket sales.

The family/comedy "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" outperformed every projection by bringing in a whopping $21.8 million and taking second place. The new movie cost only $15 million to make.

"The Bounty Hunter, starring Gerard Butler and Jennifer Aniston, also opened strongly with $21 million. That was good for third place during the weekend and roughly in line with expectations. The action/comedy will likely make back its $40 million budget.

The only new release that underperformed was Jude Law's sci-fi thriller "Repo Men." The new film took fourth place with $6.2 million and will likely fall short of making back its $32 million budget domestically.

And unfortunately for Matt Damon and director Paul Greengrass, their "Green Zone" movie keeps doing worse and worse. The Iraq war thriller has only brought in a total of $24.7 million over two weeks, which is way off from its $100 million budget.

Click here to read our "Alice in Wonderland" review.

Check out the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:21:54 PM

never seen 'Wonderland', i get the "I'll rent it on DVD sometime" feel from it.

and 'Green Zone' doesn't surprise me, that looked retarded.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:49:30 PM

I'd rather get mouth cancer than watch Alice again.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:53:18 PM

Thanks hot topic crowd
Bigcheese writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:55:15 PM

Green Zone was sh*t. End of story.
gobolog writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:19:42 PM

paul greengrass is not a director. There is no talent in shaking the camera about like you are on a fairground ride and then having loads of crash zooms randomly in conversation scenes.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:22:19 PM

3 things going for this movie.

1. It's scheduling bumped Avatar out of IMAX.
2. 3D (sorry folks... I know what most of you think of that).
3. Depp.

As for Green Zone... holy sh*t! Ouch!
KalVicious writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:28:34 PM

Good, I really loved this Film, and Johnny Depp is my favorite Actor. :)
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:29:59 PM

Well said ^^.

Repo Men and Green Zone always looked a little iffy. I guess Repo Men was on the shelf for 2 years for a reason.
BigUnit writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:36:01 PM

yeah Green Zone did look pretty dumb, and whaat 100 million budget wtf
BigUnit writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:38:33 PM

i dont get how a film like the Green Zone can cost 100 million dollars to make, than there is a film like Repo Man and it only costs 32 million.
nope.com writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:43:02 PM

lol bet Matt Damon is sure thinking twice about quitting Bourne now
Dark writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:06:09 PM

AIW FTW!!!
LeeMaca writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:06:24 PM

anybody else wish tim burton would go back to comic book movies? you know johnny depps in with a shout for the lead and burton/depp movies are usually hits just watched batman the other day and twenty years of watching proves how good it is (and you guys know you'll watch it if it's on even if it is in the dvd collection) now i'm not saying give him back the batman franchise because i think the nolans direction is fantastic but there are so many great bad guys out there 'that just aint done right' dr doom anyone ?? or even the crow remake! i'd genuinely rather see him take the spidey reboot than mark webb give us an older spidey taking on carnage.... sorry to rant but joe johnston, mark webb f*cking joel silver how do these people get to take part in these movies
lost_addict writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:18:00 PM

another flop for jude law.this guy is a box office poison.
jdl107 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:44:07 PM

Has anyone heard of this movie?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUSgrvpkejE

If so is it any good? Cuz f*ck, I am looking forward to this. Don't know if any of you guys are familiar with Omar Rodriguez-Lopez though.
jdl107 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:46:47 PM

I like how everyone was like f*ck yeah when the Green Zone trailer came out and now everyone's trying to say it looked stupid. Wicked.
jdl107 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:50:42 PM

How is it IMDB has an official (looking) Predators poster and these guys don't?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:32:28 PM

WOW!!! did'nt realise there were that many Johnny Depp fans lol, I agree with ranger on the Avatar comment, good on Alice thank you so very much.

Gonna try and see The Bounty Hunter Roeper gave it a C-, when I was watching this it was like seeing a PG romantic version of Midnight Run.

Shame about Repo Men it looks quite good.

fairgrove writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:58:03 PM

I have to wait till may 13th to watch it because of the earthquake here in Chile.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:08:52 PM

Is that how they get 3D in Chile... play it during an earthquake?
jdl107 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:45:28 PM

Damn Ranger. . . I love the sardonicness. You're far out bro.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:04:57 AM

I don't know why but I liked Alice(probably cause I was hi as a kite) and the crackhead rabbit from the tea party was priceless, but as for Green zone it was meh it probably wouldve done better with the fake Iraq bullsh*t had it come out 2 or 3 years ago
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:07:06 AM

@ranger hilarious, and MMMMMAAATTTT DDDDAAAMMOONNN....never gets old
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:24:11 AM

Earthquake humor is always good (unless you're under a building from one).
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:30:06 AM

Yeah if you aren't going to do Bourne 4 don't feed us second rate Bourne 4 in Iraq and call it The Green Zone. Huge miss by Greengrass and Damon. Dated subject matter tells us nothing new. Haven't seen Alice-- not a huge Burton fan and know nothing of the original tale-- but it has got some lashing by folks on the 3D and the film itself. Slapped on 3D doesn't work, sadly there are something like 30 films coming this year that won't be shot in 3D. Face meet PALM.
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:41:06 AM

lol... well said.
telur writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:46:48 AM

i am not surprise if there is Alice in Wonderland 2... in 3D off course
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 3:40:04 AM

@dave

I thought that repo man looked ok as well .. maybe more of a renter than seeing it on the big screen..

Earthquake humor sex with fat chick's .....
Kurskij writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 5:49:49 AM

I wonder if anyone have actuallty seen The Green Zone, cause I hear some strange things from respected people here:

Q: 100 mil budget.
A: Reshoots. And I can honestly say I saw that budget on screen. Those last 20 minutes - and helicopter crash - wow!

Q: WTF is with the shaky cam? That's retarded.
A: The camerawork was waaaay better than, say, in Bourne Ultimatum. It was both "live" and not "D.P. getting f*cked from behind" shaky. Opening sequence with people running out of the building, cars driving, than zoom out and those explosions on the horizont, city on fire, complete with great sound - talk about brilliant work. And I, for one, hated the way the car chase in Bourne 3 was shot except for the final crash.

Q: Why f*cking with us making "Bourne in Iraq" instead of making the fourth one?
A: In no f*cking way it was "Bourne in Iraq". And that's the problem - Uni marketing department f*cked up big time pushing it like that. Audience gets angry when they get not what they were promised to.
A:
lost_addict writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:24:31 AM

MATT DAMON!
drshakalou writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:54:54 AM

saw Repo Men last night, not what i expected at all and at the end i was like WHAAAAAAAAA!?!?!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 7:53:43 AM

@Kurskij: So is it worth seeing or not? I hear shaky cam and I throw up a little in my mouth. Greengrass has been trying to ruin Bourne for 2 films now so when I saw he directed this I decided to hold off for word of mouth. So far all of that has been pretty bad.
Kid_A writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 7:56:06 AM

Wow, this should be Burton's great strike, as his last two movies couldn't get well on the box office; "9" with $30 million budget only got $41 million back, and "Corpse Bride" with $40 million budget only got $117 million back. Well, Corpse did a better job than 9, for which he was just a producer. "Sweeney Todd" did much better job with $50 million budget and $152 million back, and that was only Burton fans that made it back for him. Although "Alice in Wonderland" is still two times gross than its budget, it seems the movie will get to the three times of gross within next weeks, and it is globally received better viewer (not critics, only viewer). So it's sad that Burton does not want to make "Addams" in 3D- three dimension is twice expensive than two dimension.
darkraven28 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:12:44 AM

:( for Green Zone. I wanted that to do well. And I'm still gonna see it too. At some point. In the theatre.
Kurskij writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:21:38 AM

@SAC

Everything I say is purely IMHO, primarily cause I'm not from US, and this movie is, though rather cheaply, but very politicized in extremely obvious anti-Bush "f*ck we need this war" way.

So, I saw it in spanking new theatre here in Moscow. And that's condition number one: you need to see this movie in a good theatre, with good projector and sound.

It's not "bourne in Iraq" - this movie doesn't have as much action and, frankly, the character development is worse. All the actors do the best they can with what they're given though.

The camerawork is a lot more stable and focused than in Bourne movies. Still I recommend you not to sit too close to the screen. 2 or 3 rows up from the middle will be allright. Barry Ackroyd did a better job than Oliver Wood. You can see and understand what's happening on screen, be it a conversation of a firefight. No sickness whatsoever. It looks "live", but in the right way, not in the way like the operator just got a tank shell in the ass. If you saw The Hurt Locker - that's how it looks, same D.P.

The only thing i'm not sure about is the topic. For me it's just a politicized entertainment, also I know that in my country it would raise a devil if a movie like that was released concerning Chechnya. For you it may be something more, cause it's your war, and themes this movie raises (though rather clumsily) are quite uncomfortable.

Bottom line:

Pros: expertly made, the action is rather rare but outstanding, the tension never lets you down, outstanding "grainy" night cinematography.

Cons: not enough character development (completely badass jason isaacs), the story feels rushed, the ending is, IMO, almost ruins the movie.


SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:34:20 AM

Thx Kurskij! All this coming from someone in Moscow has got me interested again. If anything I'll see it just to bounce some ideas off on you in the future. Did you ever see The Beast with Jason Patrick as a Russian Tank officer in the Afghan War? I always wondered what Russians thought of that film. Anyway, I'll check it sometime this week and get back to you.
Kurskij writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:53:02 AM

You're welcome! )

Nope, but I've heard of it. I think it's time to find it and check it out.

It's always interestng to hear from the other side.



KirkLazerus writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:55:38 AM

@lost addict-jude laws last film wasn't a flop Sherlock Holmes did goo, btw Repo Mem was a pretty good film I enjoyed it
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 10:11:11 AM

I hate to pat myself on the back, but I stated a long time ago on this site that Alice would be Burton's big comeback film. He's probably been wanting to make that movie since he ate his first tab of acid. Good for him. Now maybe he can get back to making real films like Batman and Beetlejuise.
johnthemon writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 10:19:15 AM

Repo Men bombed because those kinds of movies just don't make money. Blame Jude Law if you want.

Kurskij writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 10:43:45 AM

Repo Men - 32mil? I've heard the approved budget was 50 and balooned to about 70. This movie looks really good for a 32mil. sci-fi.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:44:14 PM

I saw Alice with my kids and it actually wasn't a bad movie for its intended purpose, there have been worse by far.
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:51:40 PM

Like VinDandy vs. Daddy's Friday Night Rape videos?
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 2:16:27 PM

Yes those are worse. But odly entertaining as well just because you get to see vindy in agonizing pain.
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 3:53:39 PM

I think the scene of Vin getting his vag. caught in the bear trap is my fav!
GIST writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 5:19:34 PM

I felt bad for the die-hard fans who dressed up as the characters from Alice's Wonderland and were solely disappointed by the film.
Actually, I was laughing.
GIST writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 5:19:35 PM

I felt bad for the die-hard fans who dressed up as the characters from Alice's Wonderland and were solely disappointed by the film.
Actually, I was laughing.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:44:40 PM

Only two solid parts of Alice: Alice actress (forget her name) and Johnny Depp. Fill in the space between them with sh*tty cgi and even sh*ttier post-pro 3d and we're looking at a guarantee for more 3d rendered sh*te. God dammit.
Eggmcmuffin writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 1:18:46 AM

Man, I just watched this movie... it was complete sh*t.. No idea how it has made any money. The trailer was good, and that was all right there.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved