WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer May Not Direct "X-Men: First Class"

Posted: March 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer May Not Direct "X-Men: First Class"Submit Comment
LA Times recently reported that Bryan Singer will direct "X-Men: First Class" unless he runs into a conflict with his other project, Warner Bros' "Jack the Giant Killer." The paper added that 20th Century Fox might not want to wait for Singer to become free to move forward.

Now, HitFix has learned that the studio is actively looking for directors to replace Singer and already has three helmers on their shortlist. The site says that each one has either experience with comic book movies or has credibility with fans.

At this point, we have to wait to find out whether Singer will available for "First Class." But if he's not, Fox would love for him to return for either the "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" sequel and/or the fourth "X-Men" installment.

Source: HitFix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:10:08 AM

Well... they didn't wait for Singer to finish Supes Returns and went ahead with X3 without him...

Does Fox have a learning disability and/or a short memory?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:29:37 AM

So, he might not be able to direct "Wolverine 5" but he might still do 6 and 7?
gobolog writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:33:11 AM

Ranger you took the words right out of my mouth. Singer told fox that if they were patient and wait for him to do superman returns he WOULD have returned to do x men 3. Do fox spend all their time with their fingers in their ears and their eyes closed so they can't hear or read the reviews for the later x men films.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:34:45 AM

'Experience with comic book movies' oh cool, Brett Ratner might come back in full retard tree f*ckng glory. Why wouldn't they just stick to 'credibility with fans' and make this short list shorter than Gary Coleman.
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:55:42 AM

Needs shooting for what he did to Superman.And his Xmen film f*cking SUCKED!Too much leather and a 6foot plus Wolvie that was a p*ssy.
RE-f*ckING-BOOT.
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:55:49 AM

Needs shooting for what he did to Superman.And his Xmen film f*cking SUCKED!Too much leather and a 6foot plus Wolvie that was a p*ssy.
RE-f*ckING-BOOT.
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:56:15 AM

wtf double,soz chaps.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:07:38 AM

Lol chaps!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:26:40 AM

@Rocket: Singer's X films were probably 2 of the best superhero movies ever made IMO and SR wasn't terrible, it was just too long. Jackman is great as Wolverine with Singer directing him. And if you don't like characters in leather and spandex you probably should steer clear of all superhero movies :)

Singer is a good director if the studio leaves him the f*ck alone. Fox is the problem.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:38:42 AM

ranger said it best, I bow to your wisdom lol
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:10:24 AM

@SAC
It was the fact that none of the characters looked anything at all like their comic book counterparts.Just a bunch of guys in biker leathers.Lazy,safe boring.Like Superman.i just find every film Singer does as bland as dishwater(except Suspects natch).Half of X2 was ok,the middle bit mansion scrap.The rest,not my thing.Fox like you say could well be the problem,but the end result is what i take note of,that fails then i'm out.I will give him ac nod for doing the film in a 'realistic' way as opposed to Batman and Robins campness though.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:29:59 AM

@Rocket:

You found Valkyrie "bland"? Say what you want to say about Cruise, but that film was intense and moved like Ferrari.

What did you want from the character in X-Men? Its funny that you have the same problem with their uniforms that Wolverine had when he donned the black X suit for the first time. It just makes Cyclops "prefer yellow spandex" comment even funnier and more relevant in a way. Did you really want some 5'5" actor with the Alec Baldwin furry pelt rockin the bright yellow spandex and the Monarch mask as Wolverine? What Storm look did you want, the one with the spiked 80s punk Mohawk or the one with the white hair that was just slightly longer than Halle's in the film? Magneto, Summers, Professor X, and Sabertooth are all almost mirror images of the comic counterparts. Where's your issue?

I apppreciated Singer's ablitiy to make the subject matter more realistic too (especially showing Magento beginnings), but I was even more impressed with his ability to merge Wolverine and Rogue's stories into Magneto's plot to destroy humanity. The plot was so neatly woven with twists and turns and layered with subtext that I would hardly call it "bland". Singer managed to give you everything you needed to know about the X-Men and Xavier while still moving the bigger plot foward. Frankly, the first film is nearly perfect in every aspect.

X2 was just more of the same only with better effect. The Nightcrawler opening might have been the best in the genre's history (well maybe not better than the first 10 minutes of Blade). Its the perfect combination of CGI and live action. Singer even slowed it down for us just to show off. I have no complaints about those 2 films. I only hope Singer can recapture the magic he had making them so the franchise can get back on track. X3 and Wolverine were embarrassments to the genre.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:57:16 AM

X1 was ok. The opening was awesome, but then it was too many mutants in too little time. The movie should've been longer than 90 min.

X2 was the best superhero-movie, until TDK came along. I really wanted to see his Singer finish the trilogy.


With that being said, I must say I'm a bit on the fence with these projects. Making a X4 with too many important players being dead, seems odd. A Wolverine-sequel may be the way to go. The first one really sucked, despite all the good things it had going for it. Making a "First Class" is just a big no-no.
darkraven28 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:02:07 AM

This is what happens when you set a release date before you even have a f*cking movie. Learn from your mistakes, Fox. Case in point: X3. Singer directed the two best of the four X films so far so wait for him, you bastards!!!
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:18:13 AM

@SAC
Not seen Valkyrie(Cruise and Singer..shudder) or Apt Pupil,done the rest though.The guys like Marmite i guess,you either like his stuff or don't.Don't let my opinion bother you or anyone though,i liked Gi Joe so,well..you know what do i know. :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:50:59 AM

@sac- your right about Valkyrie, very good film, I was suprised actually considering all the bad press it got.

@rocket- I can understand what your saying I don't mind Singer just rotten luck he has one blemish "SR", GI JOE- I thought as a popcorn movie it was good, but the story it self for the fans left me wanting.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:53:56 AM

God I liked GI JOE too. Now what does that say about the both of us :(

Apt Pupil was pretty stupid, but lots of directors have brain farts when trying to follow a hit.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:01:51 AM

@sac- I think it means ranger might mind f*ck us lol, it's been years since I've seen Apt Pupil but when I did thought it was ok, I think Singer needs to do another X-Men movie to get the cred he had before Superman Returns.
lost_addict writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:05:23 AM

what about 'superman comes out of the closet' sequel to 'superman returns'?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:11:39 AM

@lost- at least it could'nt be gayer than Superman Returns!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:10:56 PM

I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care I dont care
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:12:37 PM

Rocket, I agree with about 90% of your comments, but I can't Singer bash. Xmen revived the genre and proved that these movies were still viable after Schumacher tOok the big sh*t. The only problem I have with Hughs wolverine is height, and I'd rather see him be too tall and otherwise awesome than the right height and sh*tty. We think its tough to cast Captain America? Try finding a guy who is an intimidating 5'3" badass AND is also a good enough actor to pull off the situation.

SAC I'm not gonna lie, the yellow cpstume night suck, but I think they could have gotten away with a variation on the brown one. I actually hope they come up with one for the Japan story. It would fit with him sneaking around and sh*t.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:12:37 PM

Rocket, I agree with about 90% of your comments, but I can't Singer bash. Xmen revived the genre and proved that these movies were still viable after Schumacher tOok the big sh*t. The only problem I have with Hughs wolverine is height, and I'd rather see him be too tall and otherwise awesome than the right height and sh*tty. We think its tough to cast Captain America? Try finding a guy who is an intimidating 5'3" badass AND is also a good enough actor to pull off the situation.

SAC I'm not gonna lie, the yellow cpstume night suck, but I think they could have gotten away with a variation on the brown one. I actually hope they come up with one for the Japan story. It would fit with him sneaking around and sh*t.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:13:42 PM

Oh and I have GI Joe on BRAY
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:13:52 PM

Singer is gayer in real life right? each to his own,whatever but his Superman was gay to right,and it sucked soooo why not have the maniest man on earth direct Superman,ladies and gents i give you....
Stallone directing a Supes movie!
Right of the back of the Expendables,Supes vs Doomsday via Stallone'o'vison.No f*cking stupid Lois Lane bullsh*t,no Superkid crap just 2 hours of dirty awesome.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:15:04 PM

Stupid double post... Stupid phone!
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:19:28 PM

@Eben
The costume could have worked and it would have done,because Wolvie done right is that f*cking hard and scary that he could get away with wearing the most garish costume in the Xmen.Thats the point.The mans a jack russell,crazy little bastard not a 6 foot male f*cking model.The Wolverine film was like a Loreal advert with all the slowmo and tight vests.Gayer than a wasp costume i think,and where is the mask?
rabid writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:52:25 PM

They could make a cool motorcycle suit out of it and have him zipping around the streets of Japan in yellow and brown leathers.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:58:09 PM

Cmon, WASP was the sh*t in the 80's. And it comes back to finding the Jack Russell crazy little bastard actor to pull it off. You'd need a guy that looked like Franco Columbo and acted like Clint Eastwood. That guy might be out there, but I don't know who it is. I can live with Jackman.

Speaking of people reminiscent of Eastwood, there was a story waaaaayyyyyyyyyy back about a Dark Tower movie... I say Timothy Olyphant for Roland. Ok it's off topic, but if I don't say it when I think it it goes away forever.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:00:25 PM

@Gobo & Dave - thank you.

@Rocket - really... you didn't like X1 & X2?!

And to all the Supes Ret. haters (fair opinions to be sure), but I'm such a Supes fan (saw Reeve in person playing Supes... pretty neat), and from being a old comic collector from way back... maybe my love for the character is blind. Singer did a lot of great things in Supes Returns.

1. The rescue scenes of the 747 was spectacular.
2. Lifting that Mustang in the same pose as his first appearance on the cover of Action Comics #1 (1938).
3. Keeping John Williams music.
4. Routh had big shoes to fill (literally), he played Supes and Clark to a tee (modest, strong but silent type).
5. The scenes with the bank robbers (flying in at the speed of light)... taking a bullet to the eye.
6. Supes lifting that entire continent created by Luthor while even weakened by the Kryptonite (image what he could do if he weren't).

Things that sucked:
1. His wet spot for Lois... so tiring.
2. His bastard son... WTF?!

But I honestly think the pros outweigh the cons.

On the Valkyrie note... despite some bashing it's taken (I suspect more from jealous critics of Cruise's wealth and life, and his coming back into movies), I liked it. I also liked Apt Pupil (Ian McKellen - how could anyone not?).

I didn't mind GI Joe... it was was it was. Like Transformers 2. Mindless visual sh*t for 90 minutes to take our minds away for a little bit.

@Freudian - there are a lot less 'dead' in the X-Men world than I think you realize.

Prof. X isn't dead (watch past the credits of X3).
Jean Gray isn't dead (Prof. X 'sensed her').
Cyclops - The Dark Phoenix admitted to Wolverine that she hadn't killed anyone... yet.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:04:13 PM

Rocketman right on about Stallone directing Superman... Stallone actually could probably have played Wolverine, the character's supposed to be 200 years old right? Not dogging Stallone either, but looking 50 something (Stallone don't look his age) is good enough for me when we're talking about a 200 year old that ages slowly. Good actor too, people dog him, but he's better than he gets credit for.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:09:37 PM

Ranger my only problem with SR was the more of the same aspect of it. You're dead on with all the things they got right. And I'd like to see Routh take up the role again if they make another, I he channeled CR perfectly, and there could never be a better Superman than CR.

As far as the dead characters from X#... c'mon, comic book movie. Clones, alien abductions, cosmically induced coma's anything is possible. Isn't the real Jean Grey in a cocoon at the bottom of the ocean or whatever?
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:23:54 PM

The Dark Phoenix was just coming in when I was getting out of comics (early X-Men #140's+), so I don't know what happened to her. I don't believe she's an entity that can really die.

Glad to see you saw in Supes Ret. as I did.

I thought both Singer and Routh were very respectful of the world's greatest Supes ever... Christopher Reeve. And they made (together) a subtle, yet powerful return to the big screen.

That sh*t about Lois is way past tiring, and their kid... WTF?! And do a Supes movie for a change WITHOUT his origin or Luthor... MOVE ON ALREADY!!! There are so many (much) better Supes stories already out there or... they could try using their imagination and creating something totally new. I like that trilogy story out there about the world ending by the end of the 3rd. with Supes being Earth's last inhabitant (not counting Lohan's 'Blue Waffle').
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:00:00 PM

@Ranger: Never been bothered to look beyond the credits, but if those things are there, a sequel might be do-able. However, The Last Stand and Wolverine have left me with a bitter taste, so Singer has a lot of work to do if he's going to pull off anymore X-Men-movies.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:05:09 PM

Yep... there's a scene after the credits on X3.

And as for X3 and Wolverine... I didn't mind them... but won't watch them again. Once was enough.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:55:52 PM

f*ck. Singer seems to have the best ability to do X-men films,but if they're gonna give some other X-men movies, i'm not as mad.

Ranger- i agree. though i didn't like many things that where done in X3, it wasn't necessarily an absolutely terrible film. and i thought Wolverine was okay ... except they f*cked Dead Pool over in the end battle ...
Dark writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:19:29 PM

Seriously f*ck this, I don't care about these X-Men movies anymore. The comics are awesome but the movies suck donkey balls except for the first two ones i guess. Anyways I think this franchise needs a f*cking REBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!! YES A REEEEEEEBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTT!!!!
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:03:34 PM

@Ranger

What did Xavier say to that redhead? "Hello Myra"? I didn't hear it that well
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:15:55 PM

@rasnger- excelent points on Superman Returns but the 2 bad points for me out way the good ones, jesus Superman get over Lois already!!!
and just because they had sex in Superman 2 does'nt mean she got pregnant, as bad as they were I don't think Singer should have ignored Superman 3 & 4, Routh did have big shoes to fill and he filled them well, but anyone can play Superman it's wether you can play Clark, nail the Clark Kent part and you're Superman.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:17:25 PM

@ranger- sorry for the miss spell, got to stop watching porn whilst writing on here.
Vin12 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:34:13 PM

They should rename this site ranger's ignorance.com
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:24:58 PM

Bwwwahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahaaaa!!!

WOW! U iz funneh!

(what a douche bag).
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:26:58 PM

You can't use an apostrophe or spaces in a website address you dumb sh*t.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:33:57 PM

@ranger- go and have a look at the Bond thread, VIN & COC have made some opinions.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:09:32 PM

Yeah... they're as sharp as ever those two.

Thank God stupidity isn't contagious.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:33:24 PM

@ranger- I knw, when vin wrote that I just thought "does he get off on this abuse" that's why I wrote what I wrote.
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:18:33 AM

He does (get off on the abuse). That and stalking playgrounds and old folks homes.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 2:20:07 AM

Stalking Playgrounds??? reminds me of a man I knew.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 2:33:46 AM

Isn't the worst thing that could happen to the franchise, Singer is pretty bland to me. I've ranted enough on his Superman flick (boring, baggy, and unimaginative). I find his X-MEN flicks to be slow, his pacing isn't great, and his eye and mine don't jive well.

I think a lot of his sets are bland and don't bring much life to his world. His DP needs to be fired; everything looks so dead and ordinary, a lot of flat lighting too-- though this could be intentional to offset the nature of the characters and story. His scripts aren't bad though and he seems to work well with his actors, but I don't think he's that great.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved