WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Incredible Hulk" Director in Talks for "The Avengers"

Posted: March 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Incredible Hulk" Director in Talks for "The Avengers"Submit Comment
Director Louis Leterrier (The Incredible Hulk) has been very vocal about wanting to direct "The Avengers" and has always felt that The Hulk would make a great villain.

Now, while promoting his "Clash of the Titans" remake, Leterrier revealed to AICN that actually in talks with Marvel to helm the film that will unite Captain America, Thor and Iron Man.

"I am on the shortlist," he said. "I don't know who the other guys are, but I have a great relationship with [Marvel], and I've been very vocal to them and everyone else that I am the one to direct it."

Only time will tell who else Marvel is considering for the job, but we already know it's not Jon Favreau (Iron Man).

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:08:01 AM

Has anyone broken the news to Skippy here that there will be no Avengers movie until they actually cast Captain America and film it?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:47:37 AM

What about me Ranger?
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:49:45 AM

I can't see Marvel giving him the gig after the underperformance of the Hulk,i mean,thats not even getting a sequel? So for them to trust all the big boys to his 'talents' as director seems like wishfull thinking on his part.Or Marvel are f*cking dumb.He is an OK director not IMO an outstanding one,go for the best,a biggie like Spielberg,get the best you can.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:03:08 AM

Has anyone broken the news to him that his Hulk movie would have been a lot better if Ed Norton directed it? That film was nothing to hang your hat on. Clash of the Titans is looking promising but the jury is still out. Slow down LL, Favreau is still the #1 guy for this job.

"but I have a great relationship with [Marvel]"

No sh*t! You let them edit your Hulk movie for you and pretty much did whatever they told you. You film CoT and then let the studio convert it to 3D without a fight. You have the artistic integrity of a hat wearing monkey dancing for nickels on a corner. The studio says jump and you say how high and off of what bridge. f*ck off loser!
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:07:42 AM

The guys a laughing stock in France due to his lack of talent.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:48:53 AM

Anyone who ever directed a "Transporter" movie should get shot in the mouth.
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:38:30 AM

This guy sucks. I gotta agree with SAC on this, artistic intergrity of a hat wearing monkey on the corner... sum people just want to "direct" "action" films so they end up doing a comic book movie and f*cking it up. This would be as bad a mark webb directing the spiderman reboot.

And I can't remember y for sum reason, how come Favreau isn't available to driect avengers?? Is it Cowboys Vs Aliens? That's comin out 'round 2011. They could prob hold out until post production is done on it if they really wanted to "keep it in the family."
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:48:37 AM

I think we all have learned that being on a shortlist with Marvel, means f*ck all.
j-man writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:15:49 AM

well if theyre letting joe johnston make captain america.....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 10:57:09 AM

Marvel, Disney or whoever is funding The Avengers movie, hold of production until Faverau is free to do it or if you really want to make it a monster clusterf*ck give Faverau CA and Johnston The Avengers movie, you bunch of testicle sh*tting rectal warts.

You can't have it both ways.
tanaka writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 11:05:32 AM

Jesus H. Christ if this *sshole directs another movie associated with a happier time in my life and ruins it, i swear I'm going to castrate him with a Chainsaw.
This f*ck nut can't direct sh*t successfully. The Hulk was horrible.
lost_addict writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:02:11 PM

blah blah blah...thor and captain america will suck then you can sink this whole crap to the toilet...
djmike247 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:10:52 PM

I don't know if people are getting "The Incredible Hulk" confused with the "Hulk".
Agreed it may have underperformed at the box office, but it's rating is one of the higher ratings on IMDB of modern day marvel films. For the studio money talks but for the viewer it is the story being told.

Iron Man
8.0/10 158,455 votes
Hulk
5.7/10 67,773 votes
The Incredible Hulk
7.1/10 77,130 votes
Spider-Man
7.4/10 161,103 votes
Spider-Man 2
7.7/10 135,988 votes
Spider-Man 3
6.4/10 135,940 votes
Fantastic Four
5.7/10 68,197 votes
Fantastic Four 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer
5.8/10 54,245 votes

The film was a good version of the character and managed to be fairly true to the comic and also the classic TV series.
As for a director, they aren't god no mater what James Cameron may think. Sometimes studios have an idea that is different to the director, and at the end of the day, they are paying the bills.
I agree with rocket man about being an OK director, but his films are all entertaining. Isn't that what we want in a film?
rabid writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:38:17 PM

loved Incredible Hulk. Clash of the Titans looks fantastic. And Transporter 2 was fun and proved he can do action heroes.
I think he's a decent fit for the job.
kmccarney88 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:11:54 PM

@rocketman

You forgot to mention how they will NEVER give Avengers to him after how badly he f*cked up The Clash of the Titans. Have you seen the 12 or so clips they have released? If you haven't, trust me he f*cked it up royally! Louis Leterrier sucks and the studio needs to stop giving him lucrative properties!
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:30:11 PM

Yeah,saw a Clash clip,the one with the blind witches.Not good.
rabid writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:39:15 PM

The eleven clips that I watched were all really well done. The changes made to Kalibos were kind of unsettling, but I didn't see anything I thought was bad. And it should be even more astounding in 3D.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:44:56 PM

@Skippy - I'll bet you're better to play CA then any others that have been named thus far. You should go apply... I hear they're (STILL) looking!

And making Marvel's 'Short List' I'll gather means you either like washing cars and/or time on your knees.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:09:59 PM

All the guts were cut out of TIH. The characters were retarted (even Norton looked like a deer in headlights), the acting was horrible, and the end was so cartoonish I thought I was watching Who Framed Roger Rabbit. All that being said I still liked it more the Ang Lee's Hulk. I just can't get with giant poddles and whatever the f*ck Nick Nolte turned into at the end.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:18:22 PM

@SAC - thx. for the reminder. A thing I didn't like about Norton's Hulk... was the fight with The Beast at the end. What? The Hulk just knocks him out... give a final, triumphant shove with his foot as if to say... I kicked his ass... you puny humans can handle him now (riiigghhhttt!).

The ONLY way the Abomination would have been stopped would be if The Hulk tore him into pieces (snapping his spine... it only would have healed).

Nice to see they used Hulk's sonic boom by slapping his hands to extinguish the heli fire (I remember that in the comics), except... it also would have collapsed everyone's mucous membranes that were inside said heli... lol.
LeeMaca writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:23:24 PM

DONT MAKE ME ANG LEE, YOU WOULDN'T LIKE IT WHEN I'M ANG LEE
BobMcBob writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:35:27 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOO!
LeeMaca writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:39:01 PM

A couple of sites are saying chris evans has taken it
BigUnit writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:49:44 PM

i would love for this to happen, Incredible Hulk is prolly the best marvel movie out there right now.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:57:00 PM

@Leemaca: If that's true, that's fine. But I won't believe anything until the studio makes the official announcement by themself.
LeeMaca writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:14:51 PM

yeah I wouldn't mind him as cap and he's now on the imdb page as playing him (not that they dont get sh*t wrong now and then lol)
vaodsi writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:18:26 PM

Jon favruea
hands dwon
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:35:28 PM

@Lee - yeah... I see that. Looks like Evans has taken the role. Good for him... CA is a prestigious character to play. I just hope Joe doesn't drop the ball.
LeeMaca writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:46:48 PM

@ Ranger I think we're all thinking that but I cant get by how f*cked The Wolfman is. You said a while back they were thinking of switching it up at the helm anything else on that????
encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:48:14 PM

well i'd rather have Vogel only for the sole purpose i think he looks more like CA, but i suppose i'm okay Evans.

and Leterrier (weird name) did a good job on Incredible Hulk i thought, so if he's gonna direct The Avengers i'm okay with that as well.
LeeMaca writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:50:51 PM

oh and FN finally caught Shutter Island yeah....... might have gave you a hard time for nothing (apologies your way!) very obvious from maybe 20 mins in!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:12:05 PM

Seriously, off all the directors of the Avnger movies they choose Louis Letterier?! I mean Incredible Hulk was pretty awesome, but I kept hearing, and I thought it said it one imdb, Jon Favreau would direct the Avengers.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:14:23 PM

@Lee - I just thought with the time they were taking for cast CA may have also given them time to lose Joe J. as Director... if they wanted to.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:31:04 PM

that was a bit harsh ranger, where did that come from
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:46:07 PM

Tanaka give my baby back mt babyyyy back golum is mine my precius and leterrier sucks balls
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:16:57 PM

@Skippy - what about you playing CA?

I was serious! You'd be better than any of the past choices.

I'm happier with Evans now cast though (and again didn't know anything about Vogel or one other guy).
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:17:00 PM

The Incredible Hulk with Ed Norton was actually pretty good. I mean, you don't have a lot to work with when you're making a Hulk movie. It was entertaining, pretty faithful to the character and even had someone taking a super soldier serum. I wouldn't say he's the best director for it, but compared to the nightmares that could be directing the Avengers film straight into the toilet Leterrier would be a welcome choice.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:17:40 PM

@Skippy - I suspect you have misinterpreted my tone in the written word here my good man.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:26:50 PM

'...you don't have a lot to work with when you're making a Hulk movie.' --- exactly!

I was a huge comic fan back when... and was amazed that The Hulk's book ran for that many decades. I mean 'HULK SMASH!!!' is novel for maybe the first 200 or 300 times max.

encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:23:44 PM

i'm actually glad in comics nowadays that Hulk isn't just a bumbling savage, i mean sure it was cool to see him rip the sh*t outa people/things and go "Hulk Smash"! a lot, but i think he is much cooler in his Mr.Fixit-like persona.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:53:25 PM

@encore - I'll bet. The Hulk getting control of himself was after my days in comics. I could see that being a natural evolution of the character. Like I say... he was getting pretty boring back in the day.
ZenShark writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:35:11 PM

the incredible hulk was not a good film. it did nothing for the character. in fact, it made me almost miss the gamma pooches from the first one. i seriously doubt he has the chops to pull off avengers. however the script is the real key here.
rabid writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:03:32 AM

I can sort of understand why the Hulk had such a weak ending. They give us this grim and realistic portrayal of the Hulk and I'm so drawn into it that I imagine Hulk would realistically dispatch his enemy. But this is still a cartoon character. Marvel will never let the Hulk murder his enemy on film because then they'd be criticized for marketing him to children. I can understand that. But Hulk walking away and leaving Abomination wounded with some human soldiers... that was sloppy.
I just hope a decade from now someone will decide to film Planet Hulk in live action and unleash some real brutality.
rabid writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:05:01 AM

Watch the animated Planet Hulk for a Hulk that's tough as nails, Banner-free and willing to maim.
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 12:17:55 AM

@rabid - sloppy is a good was to put it.

I've heard of Planet Hulk from posters on here. It does sound like a good story.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:38:54 AM

'The Incredible Hulk' done the job it was meant to do which was banish the memories of 'The Hulk' film and re-introduce the character to a newer generation. They needed a film that touched on the origins so that it can be put alongside Ironman, CA and Thor in the run up to The Avengers film. It was a good film in my opinion and it had accomplished what was required of it to appeal to a mass audience, which is needed to do as this was the first film completely done by Marvel Studios and it needed to bring in some money.

Marvel were looking to produce a team of directors/producers for the Avengers film so seeing this guy on board along Favreau (Who is producer) is not a problem for me. It looks as though the film will be a joint effort of the people involved on the upcoming films.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 8:33:15 AM

"Marvel will never let the Hulk murder his enemy on film because then they'd be criticized for marketing him to children."

I think that's why I always liked Burton's Batman. He had NO problem with murder :-) Even Nolan's BM doesn't seem to have the guts for killing. He pulls up on the Batcycle when he has the Joker dead to rights, while Burton's BM fires everything he has in the Batwing's arsenal trying to kill him. Nolan leaves the Joker hanging around to be arrested, Burton drops him into a vat of acid and off a building. Yep, I like the murderous heroes better. Hulk should have ripped that big f*cker in two.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:50:28 AM

Its the whole 'If I kill them, I become them' approach of comic heroes.

Which is why we need The Punisher :)
encoreyourface writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 5:15:56 PM

Ranger-watch Planet Hulk sometime,it was great movie.

"Its the whole 'If I kill them, I become them' approach of comic heroes."

that's why The Joker in Batman comics is able to run free on a killing spree. if Batman did his job, he could prevent hundreds of deaths.
don't get me wrong Batman is probably the best hero ever, but with an extra push all his problems with super villains would be gone.

that's why The Punisher is one of my other favorites, he kills everybody end of story.
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 6:48:27 PM

I will watch it... thank you. And good post, I agree (re: The Punisher, and Bats bumping off the bad guys).
Vin12 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:53:46 AM

to all the ll haters- shut the f*ck up. the guy has a style all his own

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved