WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Evans is Offered "Captain America" Lead

Posted: March 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Evans is Offered "Captain America" LeadSubmit Comment
Just hours ago IESB learned that Marvel has narrowed down their choices for the "Captain America" lead to Chris Evans, Sebastian Stan and Channing Tatum. And now, THR is reporting that Marvel has officially offered the role to Evans, which means that its his if he wants it.

Evans' offer would include starring in up to three "America" movies plus "The Avengers" movies and appearances in several other Marvel movies. While an offer to star in "America" may seem like something you don't have to mull over too long, one possible complication is that Evans is committed to co-starring in the Anna Faris romantic comedy "What's Your Number?" Both are scheduled to shoot this summer.

Evans wasn't in the initial round of actors being considered, which for the most part leaned to the newcomer side. Michael Cassidy, Patrick Flueger, Scott Porter, Wilson Blethel and Mike Vogel, on top of John Krasinski and Chace Crawford, were those testing and reading. Garrett Hedlund was also someone Marvel was interested in.

Evans, who did not screen test, already has a relationship with Marvel, having starred as Johnny Storm in two “Fantastic Four" movies.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: THR, IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 86 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
abhisal writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 3:41:47 AM

oye f*ck off!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 3:45:17 AM

This situation reminds me of how they elect a pope. Marvel should just discuss who to pick letting black smoke come out their chimeney and then once they decide who to pick, they'll release red smoke to let us know they FINALLY made their decision
trailertrash writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 3:47:17 AM

Would be better with a more unknown actor surly and someone who has not already played a super hero ??!!
Ari Gold writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:07:50 AM

I think this is a sh*tty choice, but whatever, good luck to him! Massive opportunity for him.
Wallace writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:18:06 AM

@ johnny: in conclave, white smoke signals that a new Pope was chosen.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:22:01 AM

@ Wallace.... I know but we're talking about a comic character. Black smoke symbolizes the dark times we went through being screwed with on who's playing CA. And the red is just a cool color for smoke, plus it's CA color
Wallace writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:36:01 AM

ok, get it.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:53:40 AM

Not the worst choice. I thought he did pretty good in Sunshine.

Still think Joe Johnston has the power to single-handedly sink this one though, no matter who plays the part.
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:01:37 AM

Evans was suprisingly(sp?) good in Sunshine. Anyone who thinks this guy can't act needs to go see it.

rose byrne is in that movie too.(boner)
johnny_boy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:03:32 AM

Let's look on the bright side, least it's not Channing Tatum. Probaly dodged a bullet there.

I say f*ck it, just do this film already
Bigcheese writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:10:49 AM

Take the role Chris! Please! You are the best choice by far!
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:44:26 AM

Guess Marvel decided not to do any more FF movies.
"f*cking dust cloud." -my friend Tim.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:49:11 AM

Ill wait till I hear this from Marvel. I've lost interest in all the different media reports.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 6:34:35 AM

Who ever they pick, the movie better reach the levels of The Dark Knight in terms of the movie. I'm getting sick and tired of hearing all these reports of who is currently in the running to play Captain America.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 7:03:39 AM

I thin anyone is f*cking better than Channing Tatum!
Kurskij writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 7:59:29 AM

If... if this is true... Than it's a great f*cking narrow, Marvel!

Choosing from:

a) Evans - good actor, established, pretty charismatic. Good choice if they won't do his usual aping routine.

b) Some guy who looks like a heroin addict (he's not bad though - he was the best part of steaming pile of sh*t that was The Covenant. He and Laura Ramsey's ass)

c) Channing... akhem Tatum. Captain f*cking Channing. No offense to the guy, but having seen ""Fighting" I can say he can be as brutal as a pile of fluffy puppies hugging each other. Like that:

http://bit.ly/akyGaq

Pretty damn hardcore for Cap.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:02:24 AM

I am suprisingly ok with this......He is fun to watch and actually can act.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:28:22 AM

@The Skippy Spartan- that's the phrase right there.
side_effects writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:28:59 AM

I thought he played a good Johnny Storm. Does this mean the FF franchise will be rebooted with different actors and director? I hope so.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:43:44 AM

@side- I think they will, they are actting as tho the two "FF" never happend.

and you are right he was good as Johnny Storm, I also think the guy who played Thing was good.
BigUnit writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:54:45 AM

considering the three choices i would pick chris evans over Sebastian Stan and Channing Tatum ALL DAY.
BigUnit writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:56:45 AM

@HorrorJunky4Life - unless captain america is going to be directed by christopher nolan... lol i dnt think thats gonna happen.
telur writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 9:07:49 AM

if ryan can do deadpool and GL, so does chris
Burdman writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 9:36:44 AM

Wait I get it its a joke this isnt the Captain America cast list its the Captain Planet cast list. Flame On....
Burdman writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 10:03:14 AM

This just in. Marvel has rescinded the offer to Evans. Its now being reported that the new canidates are Extreme Makeover Home Edition star Ty Pennington, The Situation from Jersey Shore and the Sham WoW guy... In related news Christopher Nolan has announced that the Joker will appear in the third Batman installment. They have decided to go the same way as the Doctor Parnassus movie so the Joker will be played by Johnny Depp, Robert Pattinson, and Michael Chiklis. When asked about the role of the Joker and if the shoes might be to big to fill. Nolan replied " you cant top the performance by Brittany Murphy you can only hope to equal it".


In more related news TMZ is reporting that Heath Ledger played the Joker in the Dark Knight and not Brittany Murphy. Yea sure I wounder what source that bullsh*t came from...
charmed23 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 10:03:41 AM

noooo :( I like Chris a lot but he is not up to the par. Please Marvel pick unknown actors
lokopr writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 11:05:45 AM

so many people and yet, this is the choice?? ryan gosling was perfect for this and they never even mention him =/
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 11:56:54 AM

There has already been talk of a ff reboot so this doesn't suprise me and out of all three of them evens is the best pick he was great in ff franchise(and the only reason I watched it) so chris go for it
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 12:07:44 PM

Good.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 12:33:21 PM

You know, I was watching Push last night and thought Evans wouldn't be half bad as Captain America. Didn't even realize he was up for the part. Is he perfect? No. Is he better than the teeny bopper WB stars? Hell Yes. Better than Dane Cook? Motherf*cking Hell Yes!!! Lets hope it is a good film that leads to an amazing Avengers film.
rabid writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 12:38:41 PM

This guy is not exactly the best guy for the role. I have a hard time believing that Marvel could cast him, so I'm going to wait for the official announcement before I believe it. He's a decent actor, but he's certainly no Captain America.
otis writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 1:29:43 PM

Considering Marvel went through all this rigorous auditioning, it pisses me off that they picked someone who wasn't even screen-tested.

That's like if I were dating around for a year to find "the one" when my ex-girlfriend from, like, high school calls me up and asks me out to dinner, and we blindly decide to tie the knot before I even see her, when unbeknownst to me she has a serious boyfriend on the side and she's now officially a hermaphrodite.

Goes to show relationships in this biz will get you places.. Would've liked to see more of an unknown actor, but I'm hoping Evans will do the part justice...
rabid writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 1:42:32 PM

From what I understand, Krasinski went through screen-testing for weeks and did a crazy number of auditions from the script. It strikes me as odd that they'd just hand it over to someone like Evans. Could just be a red herring.
nope.com writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 1:56:25 PM

If it's not Jon Hamm or Mark Valley then this isn't Captain America
joshmihaly writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 2:07:42 PM

Eh, not too bad. Way better than some of the other choices, I'm talking to you Chace Crawford. f*ck Gossip Girl.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 2:20:10 PM

Good pick. He's definitely the best of the worst. He's a Ryan Reynolds clone and should be up for very similar roles. The casting of RR as GL probably finally sunk in with the right people at Marvel and led to the Evans choice. He was great as Johnny Storm, so why not?

I watched Not Another Teen Movie yesterday and never realized that Evans was the lead. I loved that f*cking movie, so it seemed like a sign from above that a few hours later he was offered the CA part. I'm just glad they didn't get a total idiot like Tatum or that joke from The Office for the role. Now lets get this show on the road!

Wait a minute, he thinking about it? sh*t!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 2:53:48 PM

@sac
I agree with you I think evens would do great in the role...he has the "all american" look and looks young but not 16 to 18 young

He is a very talented actor and would work for this role
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 3:37:30 PM

I don't mind this guy for playing CA.

What's not being considered here much (a bit in the article... less by the posters) is:

@Ari - it's not a massive opportunity for him. He already has a working career. The Marvel offer is sh*t pay, with a time-consuming obligatory contract for future installments. He doesn't need this... he's already working.

@Horror - I can't see CA reading TDK level. Mainly because of the director. Mainly because LOT of actors could have played Batman... the suit makes up for hiding even an average body. CA is all muscle.

I think this Evans is more 'man' than the pencil necks than have usually been making their 'short (long) lists.'

Also, his taking this would (should) effectively remove him from any future FF movies (he and Alba's body/eyes, etc.) were the only good things about the movies.

Plus Evan's already has filming commitments this year... so WTF is he even on the consideration table for other than the casting folk now have learned that there is NO ONE in the Biz (at least that's a 'known' actor) that CA is near impossible to cast.

Plus Evans isn't the 'unknown' as they said that is the route they always wanted to go with. So they're off mission on that as well.

Look up 'Clusterf*ck!' in the dictionary... pretty sure the definition is: 'The Making of The First Avenger: Captain America.'
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 3:57:09 PM

@ranger
couldnt have said it better myself.....

no one knows whats really going on with the flick because theres just too much conflicting information coming out....its almost as if there perpously doing that to throw us off or maybe im just hoping thats the case....anyway evens seems right for the role maybe they can work something out with the other project
NeilsonREPORTER writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:16:46 PM

Biggest Mistake! They should of went with a new comer. Evans was a super hero. Stop recycling super hero's and get someone new!!!!! Trevor Donovan or Mike Vogel would of been fine.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:40:07 PM

I like Evans, I'm not sure about the choice for this movie, but whatever.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:18:23 PM

well at least he doesn't look like a fag.

and let's just hope they ignore the FF movies, forever.

i guess he's ... okay fir the role.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:18:34 PM

fir=for of course
Ari Gold writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:24:26 PM

@Ranger

Really? See I'm only really aware of him as the Human Torch. Personally I just felt this will boost his status and get him all over the tabloids. Even if the pay is sh*t, I just thought this could open more doors for him for other bigger roles.
iamironman writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:31:04 PM

He's not a bad choice since he has history with working with marvel. he's young enough to do the sequels nd the cameo's that are needed, nd doesnt talk like a total douche... yes channing tatum i am talking to you
TheHundreds writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:32:26 PM

@ranger

you saved me the trouble of reading everyone elses
TheHundreds writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:34:13 PM

this guy though.... if he does get picked... it could be worse
CCBlev writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:45:04 PM

it doesnt matter to me anymore, my hopes for this film are now at all an time low, cast Evans, o hell cast Justin Timberlake while your at it, I don't give 2 sh*ts. Hugo Weaving is the only redeeming factor so far. Johnston can go suck a d*ck. If they were really caring about this film from the start, they would'nt put this bumbling imbecil as the director
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 6:09:17 PM

@iamironman
exactly...this(if its true)is good news, hes talented and would work, never mind the ff franchise they have already talked about rebooting the ff franchise. i acctually hope they rebot the franchise, but marvel should do it...not fox!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 6:17:31 PM

Ranger: I'm pretty sure that if they hire an adverage body actor, the CA suit they fit him with will have "muscles". Kinda like the suit that O'Connell had when he played Robin in the Batman movies.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 6:34:47 PM

Been putting more thought in on this.
Didn't Evans just recently finish work on The Losers? I've seen the preview on here.
Guess Reynolds isn't the only one doing movies for both Marvel and DC properties.
Mark Valley? Hmmmmmmm. Yeah, I can see that.
I hope they can at least nail down Weaving for Red Skull.
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 6:45:38 PM

@Horror - oh, agreed. His costume would buff him up. But there's still scenes in the lab and such... tank-top, no shirt (maybe) - Steve Rogers is all muscle after the SSS treatment.

@Ari - Evans already has a flourishing career. 10 projects in the past 3 years since his last appearance as The Human Torch.

RE: the Fantastic Four... yeah, let that franchise do. Silver Surfer losing his board and taking on Galactic (his creator) had me all but shaking my head.

@TheHundreds & Skate - thank you.

@CC - well said (as always). Just cast this and get filming. It'll be what it'll be.

I don't know enough about Vogel to have an opinion (I see a lot of you here are fans), but only from the lists I've seen (and not knowing Vogel) Evans is their best pick yet.

My (most of our's) biggest concern is the Director's ability to pull this off.

And to Marvel - you and your Disney in the ass, short-sheeting, low pay offerings for such an important movie... f*ck YOU!
CCBlev writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 7:29:36 PM

@ranger
I know they wanna do it right but c'mon now. Have they ever taken this long to cast someone in movie like this? If it's this hard to get this movie up and running, imagine how hard The Avengers movie will be when it comes time to make it.
By the time they get around to doing this and get all of the other movies made to set up the story of The Avengers whoever they cast as CA will bo too old to play him and they'll be forced to recast him and once again
CCBlev writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 7:30:21 PM

@ranger
I know they wanna do it right but c'mon now. Have they ever taken this long to cast someone in movie like this? If it's this hard to get this movie up and running, imagine how hard The Avengers movie will be when it comes time to make it.
By the time they get around to doing this and get all of the other movies made to set up the story of The Avengers whoever they cast as CA will be too old to play him and they'll be forced to recast him and once again we'll be playing this same sh*t game.
CCBlev writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 7:33:30 PM

thats weird how that came out twice. But hell Sam Jackson as Nick Fury will be have to be recast soon he's over 60 isnt he?
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:06:44 PM

@CC - yep... I agree.

And yes... Sam is 61 already.

I'd hoped they just cast an older, unknown for CA. Explain by the 2nd or 3rd (tops) Avengers movie that his 'real' age is catching up to him. The on mission he sacrifices himself to save the team. Big world-wide funeral for an icon that saved the world... etc. Good way to explain an older actor (with some meat on his bones) than these skinny guys (Evans included) they've been looking at.
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:10:14 PM

And before anyone comments on my comment that Evans isn't skinny... he's built. Yes... he's the closest (in build - again... don't known anything about Vogel) that they've tested thus far. I just go back to what CA SHOULD look like from the comics to the big screen.

He's (supposed to be) huge!

lebowski writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:24:32 PM

all i know about this movie is that if they dont change director soon evans will be the least of their problems
j-man writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 9:04:42 PM

does anybody no how i can do a new profile, i just noticed i hadnt anything written in my current one and wud like to update it...thanks
encoreyourface writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 10:21:06 PM

"My (most of our's) biggest concern is the Director's ability to pull this off."

true, however i must have been the only one who liked Wolfman.

encoreyourface writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 10:22:15 PM

j-man-when you look at your post and it says "change avatar"? click on that and on that link you can also change your info.
xCaptainAmerica_ writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 10:57:52 PM

For eveyone who is bashing the pay offers from marvel common dont you think the less they spend on the cast the more they can spend on the actual movie yea 300,000 grand is'nt alot for an actor but it comes with alot more than that it comes with the stardom that this movie will bring them if they actully act like captain america how can eveyone say F**k Marvel when they actully gave us movies like iron man and the incredible hulk and in a feel months iron man 2 in a year thor and in a year and 3 months captain america the first avenger so please just chill out i do think with my inner geek(lol) that they do know what they are doing........even though we started on a bumpy ass road
johnny_boy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:02:54 AM

@ xcaptain.... If whatever actor gets this role, how serious will he take this project if he's getting paid sh*t for being the lead/title character
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:10:40 AM

@x - Sure... Marvel has done a good job. Iron Man was idiot proof. The character is so strong, they could have almost cast John Goodman to play Stark and it still would have done well. RDJ has been amazing... but the main interest lay in Iron Man himself.

Iron Man 2 will be great. That's because of Jon Favreau, not Marvel.

And what about the brainstorm bankrupt Marvel had to license out all those tons of Marvel Characters to OTHER studios to make billions on before Marvel started believing in their own characters enough to self-produce (Iron Man being their first outing)?

And they gave us 'The Hulk!' Yeah... that only took TWO tries. Marvel is so smart, they reboot a movie after only 1 movie... impressive.

What makes you think they saving $'s on low-balling the lead for the CA movie is seeing them spend more on the movie. Do you know what the total budget is to prove that? I myself haven't heard how much the budget is, but if you know... I'd love to hear it. Then... THEN we could surmise that on let's say on a $150mil. movie that by paying the lead only $300K instead of $2mil (for example), that this $150mil. movie would get another $1.7mil. in special effects? Would that even be noticeable within such a budget?

We haven't seen Thor yet. Don't get a wet-spot in your pants or it yet. I too hope it'll be spectacular and not craptacular... who wouldn't. But how about you not grasp at straws by giving Marvel credit for everything under the sun... some stuff not even hatched yes, 'tay?

If we're not be lead down the path and they really STILL haven't cast the lead when Joe himself said March 1st was the deadline... ummm 3 weeks later, and they go into production rather quickly, how would one not define this as a clusterf*ck to date? But if all the dozen+ names we have heard they've considered... if they're actually that lost, that misdirected... that's not a great sign, is it?

As for the actor looking for 'stardom'... look, they said they WERE going to cast an unknown. To date... ALL have been KNOWN actors with flourishing careers. They're ALL over the $300K per job rate. And that confining additional 9 movie contract could CRUSH such a career. And 'unknown' would only benefit by taking this role. So, of all the names 'leaked'... how many have been that?

I hope like everyone this is a great movie. But as a free, public, freedom of speech (that you have exercised with your post), and as fans of cinema, and most here of comics... I think we're allowed to voice concern... don't you think?

I wonder who they consider for CA tomorrow?
LuvCake69 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:13:15 AM

Why does anyone really care, captain america is lame anyway. I love america dont get me wrong....Apple Pie Is Awesome...but i digress. Captain America is not as entertaining as Deadpool or Other SuperHeros cause hes always Mr. DoGood. BORING!
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:20:32 AM

@Luv - fair opinion... good post.

But were CA done RIGHT (like Favreau - Iron Man entertaining), as CA IS the hub for The Avengers - his origin - Wolverine senses and reflexes, Starks mind - etc. It would be an amazing movie.

Joe Johnston has his hands full (as does the casting agency trying to fill that role).
Flav writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:39:58 AM

The best choice would have been, Scott Porter, but Evans is a solid actor and charismatic. Will he take it though?? Not sure.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 12:50:27 AM

@-luv-well that's your opinion. and Cap is there because he is what all of America-super heroes included-aspire to. he is an amazing speech giver, freedom fighter and will die for what he believes in. he is a natural leader.

haven't you ever read Civil War? Captain America defies the law for what he believes, not exactly mr.dogood.

and although Dead Pool is a great character, comparing him and Cap is just stupid(no offense intended bud) because they are not even close to alike, completely different in almost every way.
darthraige writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 1:19:05 AM

You would have thought his sh*tty performance in FF4 would ban him from Marvel movies forever. Nope. Studios like to f*ck us in the ass.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:06:16 AM

FF4?

also before this comment the comment number was 69 ... uh huh huh huh ...
LuvCake69 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:28:21 AM

@Ranger - Touche Well Played. If it is done right then I absolutly agree. It will be a decent super Hero movie.

@encore - im not going to take anyone serious that takes star wars serious. lol jus playing...but seriously....cmon Captain America? it always seemed like a lame excuse for patriotism for nerds. We have alot of Captain Americas, Its called US Military. Read That.
pnkntndr writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 3:42:00 AM

@Encore
I believe he meant F4...

@Darth
Really? I do believe he was one of the only good things about the Fantastic Four movies. As Ranger said, him and Alba's body/eyes etc.
masht7 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 4:01:36 AM

As long as he dosen't act like a total douche-c*ck I'm fine with this.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:39:43 AM

@Ranger and others: I bet Marvel proposed the same type of deal to Evans as they did RDJ. He didn't get paid d*ck for Iron Man but he's making bank for the sequel and his career has gone supernova ever since. This is a HUGE step for Evans. Every actor with the opportunity to play a superhero or an icon has to decide pretty quickly where he wants his career to go after. Will he be typecast? Does he want to be owned by one particular studio for a big part of his career? Will anyone take him seriously anymore? If it fails will peolpe blame him and lose confidence in him for future projects (like Daredevil Affleck). If it succeeds can he handle the fame that comes with the part (making appearances on red carpets and at Com conventions). It isn't an easy choice if you're a serious actor. RDJ saw an opportunity to resurrect his dying career and took it. Tobey MaGuire was still pretty young when Spidey fell in his lap, so the choice to take the role may have easier for him. But Evans career is arguably pretty steady right now, although he hasn't had the breakout role that would making him a megastar. He might see the same opportunity with CA to become a bankable leading man for the rest of his career, BUT with the "clusterf*ck" surrounding the film he definitely doesn't need to blindly jump on board. I have great confidence in his abilty to master the role, but like many of you said the film's success might be out of his hands. He probably hasn't slept a minute since they offered him the part. I hope he takes the part, everyone esle up for the role sucks donkey d*ck.
KoJay writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 8:10:39 AM

Very good news. Awesome.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:07:03 PM

@SAC - good post. Agree 100% (even that Evans... should he choose this, could pull this off).

The only 'wildcard' is not knowing the full(er) details into the pay for the sequels. Marvel seems bent on self-sabotage. WHY only $300K when they KNOW CA will make HUGE bank... why?! And when they TELL the CA lead that they the $300K pay comes with a 9 movie option deal UPFRONT - it's not sounding anything as lucrative as what Marvel seems to be feeling now that RDJ is getting paid. They seem hell-bent on keeping this latest Marvel lead in their stable under lock and key.

Do I think this would be an amazing role for anyone that gets/takes it... yes.

Do I think Marvel is wrongly trying to get blood from a turnip... yes.

For a MERE $10. more on budget, they could get an actor (base pay and even 5% of the ticket sales - not 20% like Harrison Ford or Kneau Reeves could command (The Matrix sequels) AND director of their choosing.

To me... so far, it's smelling like K-Mart.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:11:49 PM

This is all bullsh*t. The movie is wrapping up post production and this whole casting fiasco is a smokescreen publicity stunt
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:32:24 PM

That wouldn't surprise me for a second (other than anyone being able to keep such a thing a secret).

moosebuddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:38:41 PM

do a captain america check list and see if this guy matches it
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2227414/
SACdaddy writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:38:50 PM

No doubt they're going cheap on this but I'm sure Evans agent wouldn't let him take on a franchise without insuring that he will eventually get paid. The movie won't take more than 3 months to shoot, so Evans should be able to get by the first film on a $100,000/month allowance without starving. They've got food on the set. I'm sure they'll be feeding him a healthy diet of eggs, chicken, and HGH so he can fill out the uniform.

Hopefully Marvel is saving the big bucks for the film, although there is no reason why a CA movie should cost all that much to make. Its not like the guy flys and shoot lasers out of his eyes. There should be a minimal amount of CGI used and there is NO reason to make it 3D. They should be able to pull it off for $70-80 mill ($100 mill tops). Remember, they've got another movie filming right now that should have a very similar if not more expensive budget.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:49:59 PM

@SAC - I suspect the WWII scenes and equipment would cost a bit.

That $100K a month... sure. 30 - 50% taxes - Agent - Publicist - others. I too don't think the $300K is as confining as much as that unknown 9 movie option they're trying to shove along with it. Another studio making a Marvel movie was more than fair to Tobey in Spidey. But I KNEW Tobey was going to rape them for Spidey 4 (as his 3 Spidey contract was up)... something like $27mil. But why not... I would, and he already made that studio billions with the first 3.

And again Iron Man has been good because of Favreau and RDJ (even though Marvel produced it)... and Iron Man was always a great stand-alone character. But this CA thing... and this director... who knows?
iamironman writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:55:27 PM

i think that Chris Evans is a good pick. he knows the marvel world nd is young enough to play Cap for the sequels nd the cameos that come with the contract. better him than channing tatum.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 6:19:47 PM

Way better than Channing... agreed.

I'm not only happy they've made a choice... and Evans is in. I'm eager to see this movie.
the_dude writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 9:07:04 PM

I've been a Ryan McPartlin supporter since the first season of Chuck, but I really feel like Marvel wasted an opportunity not signing Garrett Hedlund considering he'll be one of the biggest stars on the planet after TRON Legacy comes out.
HOCK writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 1:31:26 AM

I usually like Chris, but he's NOT Cap! I've never seen him play anything but a smart ass.
j-man writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:15:52 AM

@encoreyourface
thanks

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved