WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros to Release New DC Comics Movie Every Summer

Posted: March 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros to Release New DC Comics Movie Every SummerSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been promising to unveil their big plan for DC Comics superheroes for a while now. At this point, a few bits of information have leaked, but nothing solid.

Now during Showest, Warners head Alan Horn has revealed that starting in 2012, each summer will have at least one feature film based on a DC Comics heroes. "As we ease out of Harry Potter, we hope to bring you the excitement of the DC [Comics] Library," he said.

The last installment of "Harry Potter" is set to hit theaters in July of 2011, which means that Warners will likely begin developing comic book moving on a regular basis.

The studio is currently working on "Green Lantern," but is also planning a third "Batman" movie and a "Superman" reboot. After that, fans will likely see films based on The Flash, Wonder Woman, Justice League of America, etc... (not sure about "Wonder Woman").

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WhoisKyle? writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:12:07 AM

Why don't they do what Marvel is doing and make a Justice League movie?
that would be pretty awesome.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:39:22 AM

When has saturating the market with the same concept been a good idea and work long than 5 years?
masht7 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:01:45 AM

I like this, DC Superheroes are more believable than Marvels, so I'm fine with this.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:00:37 AM

On what planet are DC heroes more believable?
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:03:02 AM

It's inevitable. They're smart to build up their filmverse the way Marvel has done. DC lacks the celebrated and well-planned origin of the Avengers though.
In the comics they banded together to fight off Martians and then Appelaxians, none too memorable. In a later origin, they banded together just for the hell of it. In the cartoons, they united to fight government corruption (and the martians).
If WB wants to link all the films together, they'll need a common threat, the way Marvel uses the Hulk. They could use Darkseid or maybe Starro. But I don't see any of that working as well as Marvel's plan. Hopefully they can come up with something, because DC's mythology is much richer.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:05:09 AM

wonder women sucks my d*ck so hard i have invisible c*m smack her in the face. leaves her with side effects.
BrandoFresh writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:15:10 AM

Finally. Now let's see who does this super hero thing better. Marvel or DC?
shayhiri writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 6:35:26 AM

f*ck comix!!

Batman&Ironman aside, it's all nerdy bullsh*t.
Kurskij writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 6:45:00 AM

"I'm 20, I'm hot, I wanna f*ck you senseless and I've got place to make out" - that's a Wonder Woman.

Chick flying in an invisible plane - not.

As Batman once put it: "I keep her around only on account of her huge tits. Seriously, those things are amazing. Bang-bada-boom between those too. Better than watching porn in a batcave"
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 6:58:53 AM

@shayhiri: Says the guy who took the 'Watchmen' quiz and has a picture of the girl from Smallville :)

@masht7: Your right, Green Latern is based on a true story :p

This is pretty cool news. DC have alot of catching up to do in terms of film/tv production with Marvel and they do have a good rooster of characters to compete with.
shayhiri writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 6:59:28 AM

No, really, F!U!C!K! American comix!
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 7:01:51 AM

DC definitely doesn't have the same level of cultural saturation as Marvel, other than their biggies, who are all completely Iconic. Batman, Superman, Flash, Wonder Woman, everyone knows them. But even Green Lantern isn't as well known, and outside of that little group he's one of their most famous. Then there's the name factor. Green Lantern is about as famous as Iron Man was before his movie, but which name has more mass appeal? I think across the board it's pretty much like that. Except I can't think of too many DC guys right now, so I can't make actual comparison's. Although I'd go see a f*cking Blue Devil movie without hesitation.
shayhiri writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 7:03:09 AM

@Ricky: If all the American comics were as good as Watchmen, I wouldn't hate them so much. Watchmen is more like an intelligent parody of all the other sh*t.

And I don't know or care who the bitch in my av is. I've never watched TV. I just like banging tiny teen Asians, that's all.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:07:15 AM

@Eben: Actually GL is one of the longest running comics out there and has generations of fans. My dad used to rant about how much he loved the GL comics when he was a kid. Kids nowadays don't read comics as much as they used to so all they know of most comic characters is what they see on tv and at the movies. GL has seen a recent boost in popularity because of the Justice League cartoon and dvds. Hopefully the film will be good enough to remind older fans why GL is such a badass legend of the comic universe and reintroduce him to a generation that only knows him as the "black" leader of the Justice League.

It sounds like DC has there sh*t together far better than Marvel, and Warner Bros. seems to be the only studio out there that has a f*cking clue. They didn't d*ck around for several months trying to find some noname who works for peanuts to be GL. They found a guy who fit the part (in appearance at least), paid him his usual salary, backed him with great writers and a good director, and started filming. Batman is cleaning up at the BO and the future is bright for the Man of Steel now that a real directing team is behind it.

I can't believe I'm saying this but, its too bad Wonder Woman is so hard to cast. I'm usually the biggest female asskicker hater out there, but Kick-Ass has given me a new outlook on the matter. From what I've seen in these Justice League straight to dvd movies, they've turned WW into a pretty tough no nonsense bitch that can almost hang with Supes in the strength department and is a much better fighter. She's f*cking HUGE, and she kind of pimps Batman like her little human sex slave. I know 6'6" bombshell brunettes don't exactly grow on trees, but I have to admit I wish they did just for a WW movie done the right way.
billofill writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:14:44 AM

What year is this? 2005?
aioros writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:55:55 AM

@ cd_smith "When has saturating the market with the same concept been a good idea and work long than 5 years?"

It has worked like the last ten years, so i donĀ“t see the problem.
i think comic book movies are they own genre right now, like action movie, comedy, etc.




SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:07:36 AM

Comic book characters are a natural fit for the film industry. They already have pre-established narratives and backgrounds. They are visual stimulating, and they are highly creative. Plus, they have established, loyal audiences that nearly guarantees returns if you can manage not to piss too many of them off (like with Capt. America).
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:14:59 AM

@shayhiri: Fairplay dude :)

Alan Moore is an amazing writer indeed.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:45:41 AM

I'd like to see a "Golden Age" movie, set during WWII, featuring all the lesser-known heroes. Johnny Thunder, Robotman, Mr. Terrific, etc.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:51:14 AM

@shayhiri - if comics are 'nerdy sh*t' - do you have another pool of ideas from which to draw so many potential movies, the likes of which have already proved to make billions of $'s for Hollywood? If you do, I'd love to hear it.

And The Watchman isn't a parody of comics... it an homage to comics of yesteryear. There's a difference (that you're clearly missing).
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:10:51 AM

As for WB having their sh*t together enough to meet this 1 DC movie a year schedule (because Harry Potter has been tying them up? I call bullsh*t), I hope they do... and will believe it when I see it (not before).
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:16:09 AM

@SAC, you are 100% on point sir.
DC is almost allowing me to forgive for the cluster f*ck that has been the Superman franchise. They've been really succesful in the straight to DVD animated movie department. A lot of that has to do with them using the same groups from the days of Batman/Superman animated series and the Justice League tv series. I swear their animated movies can run neck and neck with any big screen live actioner marvel puts out. The stories are so good and expertly crafted, I don't see why they aren't using these guys to handle the live action films. But this would be a great opportunity for that.
The GL animated film, the WW, Crisis on Two Earths (or whatever) were all awesome. Sure the voice talent was so so (Love me some Kevin Connroy) but the storylines are superb.
If they want to go ahead and drop a DC film each summer, then give it that group and let them transition from the animated films over to live actioners. They can continue with the big name directors and all but let these folks write the stories and have a HUGE say in the direction of the film. I garauntee it will be a success.
nope.com writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:23:20 AM

sounds good

lol @ a wonder woman movie

it'll flop big time
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:24:19 AM

'Kids nowadays don't read comics as much' --- cripes SAC, they hardly read at all!
telur writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:32:48 AM

OK, at least we can hope TEEN TITANS
telur writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:33:03 AM

OK, at least we can hope TEEN TITANS
SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:10:50 PM

@BunnyFooFoo: Right on girl, I used to love the Batman toon when I was a teenagers. I'll go to my grave saying Mark Hamill is actually the best Joker of alltime. That show was full of storylines that easily could translate into good BM movies as well. The Superman toon that came from the same team was great too! I loved the series they did when Supes filled in as Batman in Gotham. Even Batman Beyond wasn't that bad.

Having that team writing and storyboarding for the DC films might be the bast idea I heard in a long time. Good Call. I thought a Wonder Woman movie would be ridiculous too, until I saw her straight to dvd toon movie. That was the sh*t! If they could make WW that entertaining then they might be able to do great things for live action films too.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:13:46 PM

My typing sucks today.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:31:22 PM

Warner Bros is slowly going down the 20th Century Fox route...

Soon Paramount will be the only respected widely known film company.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:54:17 PM

They and VIVID!

BA-BOING!!!
lost_addict writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:57:14 PM

just make a proper superman reboot with no lex luthor,homo director and actor...
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:01:51 PM

Like with Supes getting over Lois, his bastard kid, saving the planet - or solar system, flying through the sun (to clean his costume), actually doing Super stuff?! Yeah... good luck with that.
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:08:45 PM

Even the reboot will have Lex Luthor in it. It's as if they are afraid to make a Superman movie without him.
SACDaddy, that Wonder Woman cartoon was horrible, but it would make one hell of a live action film if someone had the money to pull it off.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:44:43 PM

I already have more respect for VIVID than any movie company, at least they don't do remakes!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:46:45 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debbie_Does_Dallas_..._Again

Never mind :(
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:59:01 PM

SAC: I'll admit when I used to read comics I sort of lived under a Marvel rock so to speak, so it would appear I stand corrected, and, btw, I always thought GL's ring was the coolist sh*t around. And I hope you're right about DC pullin this off. I agree about the Batman cartoon, and Mark Hamill as the Joker, also i had a big crush on Harley Quinn (SP?).

I believe someone mentioned on here at one point there was a sequel to the Dark Knight Returns, would you know if there's any truth to that?? If there is I would love to read it, Dark Knight Returns is definitely my favorite graphic novel, which says something because I'm really more of a Marvel guy. I also liked the Marvel/DC Crossover they did with Darkseid f*cking up the X-Men and the Teen Titans, which I believe had Wolverine tangling with my favorite DC character, Deathstroke. I'm getting off movie topic here, but I'll admit I tend to ramble.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:00:52 PM

Oh, and she might not be quite big enough, but Julie Strain would have been my WW choice, at least back in the day.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:32:29 PM

I'll believe it when I see it. Till then this all just talk.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:36:47 PM

How the hell are dc characters more believable marvel is soooo much more believable. Thank god I love batman and superman as much as the next guy but I'm glad were finally gonna see more characters make it to the big screen
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:41:20 PM

Hold on Skate... we haven't seen much from them other than Batman. I'm sure all will be great (GL, more Bats... more Supes, etc.), but I'm just sitting back to see.

Hey... no new CA casting news today? WTF?!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:00:18 PM

hey @shay, just because you don't anything unless it's Picasso or something about yourself, doesn't mean it's a bad thing.

comic books are cartoons. not like the Sunday funnies, but it is referred to as 'cartooning'. and they are aimed at teenage audiences usually nowadays, so the story isn't always good. the older comics like in the eighties and even in the nineties i think had great stories.

the more adult audience intended graphic novels are usually better, but i myself really enjoy Punisher or Moon knight or whoever kicking the crap out of people.

and if more comics where like watchmen, there would be no war.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:00:23 PM

@Telur - Teen Titans? WTF!
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 8:03:02 PM

wonder woman , ahhhhhhhh my first crush was on lynda carter, she was a babe back then , wow that was 1975 !!!
shayhiri writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 8:31:14 PM

Ranger, encore, I don't know... My main gripe with Am. comix is they feature worlds and characters highly unbelievable.

So I'd prefer more period movies instead: like Holmes, Gladiator, Prince of Persia, Pirates and the likes. That's also the type of stories I'm writing.

So it pains me greatly even good period movies/historicals have a very hard time in the States.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:20:40 PM

@Shay-"they feature worlds and characters highly unbelievable."

uhh .... that is what most people like about 'em.
and it's not for everybody so if you don't like comiCS then don't read them.

if i wanted Sherlock Holmes i'd read one of the books, but i like the idea of people with awesome powers kicking the crap out of each other. it's fantasy, deal with it. about %90 of modern entertainment is like this.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:22:41 PM

okay 90% is a bit off. probably more like 50% or 60%.

it's comics that's over 90%, actually comics probably have about 95% of unbelievable characters in them.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:49:08 PM

On a related note, about 90% of WP posters are unbelievable
masht7 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 12:32:03 AM

@Scrooge

Say for example, Spider-man, he was a cool superhero with cool powers but say Wonder Woman with power of super-strength its more simple and more realistic if you know what I'm saying.
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 2:44:58 AM

@Eben - you flatterer you .
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 2:45:53 AM

@trailer - I hear ya. Lynda Carter would give gay guys a boner back when!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 5:58:30 AM

@Eben: LOL!!! Julia Strain?!?! At 6'1" (6'4" in her f*ck me boots) that sexy softcore porn star definitely had the look to pull it. Actually she 49 now and she still looks great. If they could find a clone of her they might have a film.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3554/3368339927_50f7fda0b9_o.jpg

An Andy Sidaris Wonder Woman movie would have been the sh*t! Get Julia Strain, Dona Speir, and a bunch of has been Playmates with huge tits and big guns and shoot it in Hawaii (on Savage Beach)so Batman and Wonder Woman can wonder off at some point and f*ck in the ocean or the jungle. Eric Estrada could be the bad guy :)
rabid writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 12:42:13 PM

Yes, there was a sequel to Dark Knight Returns... but be wary. It's very very weak. Nowhere near as atmospheric and balls out wicked as DKR. Instead check out Frank Miller's All-Star Batman and Robin. It's a bit better.
4Faith6 writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 4:12:58 PM

Awesome!!! I am a huge fan of comic book superheroes!!! The more the better and now we can get from both marvel & DC comics
ian_918 writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 2:15:21 PM

I guess it really is true that hollywood is running out of ideas. So there basically stalling with ever little movie based on a superhero that will probably have 2 movies after it for each. So that will buy em some time.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved