WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Pictures to Remake "The Monster Squad"

Posted: March 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Pictures to Remake "The Monster Squad"Submit Comment
Deadline is reporting that Paramount Pictures is set to remake the 1987 film "Monster Squad," with Rob Cohen (The Fast and the Furious, xXx) in talks to direct the new film. Cohen, who produced the original movie, is teaming up with Platinum Dunes partners Michael Bay, Brad Fuller and Andrew Form to find a writer.

Plot: Young kids form a club that is devoted to monsters, but soon get more than they bargained for when Count Dracula adjourns to Earth, accompanied by Frankenstein's Monster, the Wolfman, the Mummy, and the Gillman. The creatures are in search of a powerful amulet that will grant them power to rule the world. Our heroes - the Monster Squad are the only ones daring to stand in their way.

Check out "The Monster Squad" DVD trailer below.

Trailer:


Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:34:21 AM

Wolfman's got nards!!!!
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:49:42 AM

NO! NO NO!!!!! NOOOO!! they wouldn't!! This was THE movie of my childhood... i waited YEARS for this to come out on DVD in the summer of 2007 (yeah I'm that much of a loser to remember)... This movie is too much of a classic to remake... f*ck you BAY!
VDODSON writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:29:38 AM

''Wolfman has nards?''
VDODSON writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:30:14 AM

Sorry Trailer trash, didnt look at the remarks until afterwards.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:41:25 AM

"hey fat kid, good job!"

"MY NAME... IS HORACE!!" *c*cks shot gun*

shame the kid died 10 years after the movie...
RIP Horace...
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:55:00 AM

come on dont be shocked its the decade of remakes relax
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:04:00 AM

Lindsay Lohan as Scary German Guy!
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 7:16:25 AM

"what do you mean he doesn't count?!"
SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 8:00:43 AM

I'm not surprised. I just wish I was a producer in Hwood right now. It must be the easiest job in the world. Just make a list of all your favorite 80s movies, pitch them for remakes, and laugh all the way to the bank. Hellen Keller could do that job.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 8:13:09 AM

Isn't it funny that an 80s kids movie about monsters and vampires still has more balls than all of the Twilight films put together. Dracula and the Wolfman were some pretty intimidating characters in the original. They f*cked a lot of cops up at the end of that movie. Even blowing Wolfman's guts all over the place didn't stop that hairy f*cker. No f*cking way they have the balls to remake this film that tough, that is unless they get Matthew Vaughn to direct. I would love to see this remake have a Kick-Ass amount of violence.
eddie499 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 8:46:12 AM

@ SAC - Agreed with you on all counts there. I think this would work if the writers/director did this in the vein of Zombieland, Shaun of the Dead, Dead Snow, etc. I'm not a huge fan of Cohen as a director, but with his connection to the original, there might be a chance for this. I'd like to see this done with more than a PG-13 rating. Vaughn could do it. I would love to see what he could do with the story.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:32:15 AM

lol yep!! well said, f*ck twiglet! and f*ck remaking this movie
SACdaddy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:38:47 AM

@Eddie: Do you think Hwood will ever take a chance and make another hard R rated horror movie like Lost Boys or Let the Right One In that stars kids or pre-teens? Everything is so PC now that I don't think they have the guts to do it. Thats why I liked Kick-Ass, it doesn't give a flying f*ck! I don't even think they'll go all out on this Let Me In remake even though it stars the girl from Kick-Ass.
CCBlev writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:15:49 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! f*ck you Hollywood ! I just watched this the other day, cmon Hollywood stop raping our childhoods!!
Id rather see a Groundhog Day 12 movie come out than this reamke!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:37:07 AM

f*ck a remake.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:23:10 AM

Ok time to catch hell but I would really like a remake of this. I absolutely love the original. Right up there with Goonies from my childhood. But for some reason, an update/remake of Monster Squad would be great. Look, I'm the biggest mark yelling at this whole remake / 3D trend but I really wouldn't mind this one to be honest.
Remakes will never go away. Everything nowadays is borrowing from something. Some remakes have shown to be better than the original. I personally love the remade Cape Fear with DeNiro vs the original. Although Robert Mitchum was tremendous in the original.
And I do still very much adore the original
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:40:16 AM

Great Idea: Take a cult film with a small devoted following and remake it thus losing that devoted fan base. So now you have no built in nostalgia box office, which is the sole reason for remakes. Add in teen stars no one has heard about and make it a PG-13 piece of garbage directed by some failed music video director. I smell success.
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:53:46 AM

Remakes will especaially never go away in a tanked economy. Times like these, studios want projects that are low-risk so they'll use or reuse anything that already has a fanbase.
Lordchristo writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:22:09 PM

I officially f*cking hate Hollywood.
Electro Rock writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:24:40 PM

Scary German Guy for Captain America.

Tom Atkins FTFW
JohnZee writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:32:37 PM

Shane Black had a hand in writing the original screenplay, but now the studios thinks they can reproduce a worthy remake without paying the high dollar that Black would rightfully demand this time around. Do you really think that some guy that was last credited as a Production Assistant for the studio involved is going to write memorable lines that'll stick with us for decades? Good luck with that...
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:17:18 PM

@TrailerTrash - Yes, great quote.

Must have watched this movie about 100 times growing up. They better not ruin it.
ligas writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:38:38 PM

I agree, some movies shouldn't be touched...

But do you know how to get studios to stop remaking movies? Stop paying to see them.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:43:26 PM

WOW WHO DIDNT SEE THIS COMING FROM MILES AWAY?!?!?!
Blank x2 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:30:34 PM

What a great f*cking movie. Period. End of story.

Proud to say I have loved this film since it came out.

"I'm in the goddamn club, aren't I?"
encoreyourface writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:12:09 PM

never saw, sounds pretty corny though.

a rated 'R' would improve if it's not all ready ... (the remake i mean)
encoreyourface writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 5:12:28 PM

never saw=never saw it
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:45:05 PM

Damn. I loved this movie and nearly pissed myself when I found it on DVD.
Won't be seeing this one.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 11:50:12 PM

@encore
Yeah it was a bit corny, but that's the great part about it.
Check it out if you get the chance. Watch it in the dark with a big bowl of popcorn. It's what I like to call a popcorn movie. Lots of fun.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 2:26:50 AM

well fun movies are okay with me, that's kinda how i felt about Nightmare on Elm street 3, just a fun movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved