WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer to Direct "X-Men: First Class," "Wolverine 2" and "X-Men 4"?

Posted: March 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer to Direct "X-Men: First Class," "Wolverine 2" and "X-Men 4"?Submit Comment
LA Times sat down with director Bryan Singer (X-Men, Superman Returns) and producer Laura Shuler Donner to talk about the future of the X-Men franchise, which includes the "X-Men: First Class" prequel, and possible "X-Men 4."

Singer said that "First Class" will focus on the relationship between Professor X and Magneto and the point where their friendship soured. It will also detail the beginning of the school for mutants and have younger incarnations of some characters with new actors in roles of Cyclops, Jean Grey, the Beast, etc.

"Just doing younger mutants is not enough. The story needs to be more than that," he explained. "I love the relationship between Magneto and Xavier, these two men who have diametrically opposite points of view but still manage to be friends -- to a point. They are the ultimate frenemies."

When asked if Hugh Jackman might appear as Wolverine, the one character who doesn't age at the same rate as humans, Singer shrugged and then said: "I had lunch with Hugh Jackman today."

Apparently Jackman met with Singer to coax him into directing the "Wolverine" sequel and Donner's "X-Men 4.". Singer told Donner: "Hold that one off for just a little, I'm fixated on the other one right now." She replied: "I will, I will ... I'm holding it open with high hopes. It's totally different [from 'First Class'] and it will be so interesting for you."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:44:02 PM

Singer must be munching Donner's box. Only way they'd hire him. Will not see any of these guaranteed sh*t bombs.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:44:15 PM

"They are the ultimate frenemies."

Really? Frenemies? Reall

WTF!! is that like bromance or something?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:10:34 PM

do you guys agree that after the 3rd X-men we can all say

f*ck X-MEN 4


synthetic1985 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:29:49 PM

my point in the beginning was always this: why wasn't x-men 4 made FIRST, BEFORE all this prequel crap was made????...even a animated film would've done way better than the realistic films...everybody in my generation grew up watching the 90s cartoon...that's all that should've been focused on because it was the only cartoon ever made at the time, and then they ruined the films...making magneto the main enemy in all films was a bad move...they should've shown apocalypse and mr. sinister...but what does it matter now?...it's not like studios would read this and change that...because now we'll have to see certain actors replaced
Kurskij writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:31:07 PM

^Yep, they're the ultimate f*ckmehardlyintheasswithajackhammerdandy-mies. Or something similar.

On topic (meh): X-men IV with Singer could be good if they don't rush it. After all, this universe and story is bigger than anything Brett Ratner could f*ck up.
Kurskij writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:33:39 PM

BUT(T) I don't think they should let him direct Wolverine II. Hire him as a producer to supervise them not to f*ck up the screenplay - go ahead, but I think it should be a bit more action oriented than Singer's work.
wonderBOY writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:35:24 PM

@ HideousSecretion
singer is gay dude

just make x4 and nothing else
Rodan writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:38:27 PM

Maybe Singer will get his groove back. I liked the first two, then Ratner came along and f*cked it all up.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:46:56 PM

Encore said it best. f*ck X Men 4! They made Iceman a p*ssy and they made Colossus useless, in my opinion Halle Berry was a sh*t Storm and Rogue was just a little bitch.. I loved the cartoons as a kid! These movies could of been massive! The only way in my opinion to save this franchise is to bring in Cable!! Make Sinister the bad guy, give back Magneto his powers and make it lead to a massive battle with Apocalypse in a sequel!
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:43:25 PM

Straight or gay... when it comes to a multi-million dollar paycheck I'm sure Singer eats bearded clam with the best of them.
nope.com writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:45:15 PM

excellent make some more brilliant Xmen features Singer it's what you do best, just stay away from Supes

no need for another emo kid bearing Clark Kent
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:52:31 PM

"The only way in my opinion to save this franchise is to bring in Cable!! Make Sinister the bad guy, give back Magneto his powers and make it lead to a massive battle with Apocalypse in a sequel!"

sounds good to me @Ari!
CCBlev writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:09:30 PM

@ari
Im with you on that one, that does sound awesome
Ari Gold writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:38:08 PM

Cable would be good, because of all that time travel crap I'm sure they could bring back Cyclops and fix the story up a little. Apocalypse would be sick to see onscreen!

Official Predators teaser is online.

http://shocktillyoudrop.com/news/topnews.php?id=14531

Looks bland..
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:58:32 PM

"Apocalypse would be sick to see onscreen!"

amen to that! Apocalypse is one of my favorite characters ...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:11:19 PM

@encoreyour face
I totally disagree. X-Men: The Last Stand (Which was the dumbest name for a movie) was directed by Brett Ratner who brought in his stupid comedy/actions style to a dark and moody film series. It didn't nearly have the power of the story telling Singer had in the first two films. I welcome back Bryan Singer and believe he will return X-Men back to it's intense, awesome self. Besides, at least he is trying to fix the series instead of frikkin rebooting it. I think we can all agree this is a step up from the Spider-Man reboot and crap like that. At least Singer is taking the challenge of working with the issue the last X-Men gave instead of rebooting. Give the dude a chance. I'd rather have one director with an overall vision who maintains a constant style in all of these X-Men branch offs then a bunch of directors who make one completely separate from the other and not related. At least with Singer we get a bunch of stories, good stories I'm sure with his track record, that all combine together to form a brilliant anthology of the X-Men's journey. Go for it Singer! You got screwed out of Superman Returns, now show them what they're going to miss not having you! Man I missed this long posts of mine. They just define my commitment.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:46:52 PM

@sleuth-

don't get me wrong, i hope it'll be great, and with the same director as the first two it may be great, however the 3rd f*cked it up pretty bad, no Jean Grey? no Mystique?No damn Rogue(as a mutant, just the same as her being gone though)?No f*cking Cyclops? he's a douche but an important character still.And where the f*ck was Nightcrawler?

and although i did kinda like the way Pyro was portrayed, pretty much all of the villains where not all that cool, Juggernaut was cool, but he was a mutant, so they f*cked that up. they didn't even need to say it was magic, just say they don't what he is.

"I'm the Juggernaut Bitch!" was possibly the best part.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 11:17:37 PM

@encoreyourface
I totally agree it's going to be hard, but you have to admit it's exciting. Besides, I assume you know the rule of comic books - No one stays dead. I mean seriously. Every character in comics has died like three times at least and they come back. Hopefully Singer will be able to translate that rebirth of the characters somehow. Oh, and Nightcrawler AKA Alan c*mmings, wasn;t in the third one because the makeup took like frikkin 4 hours to apply and they already had Beast to worry about. You ahev to admit, Kelsey Grammar was perfect for the character. Frikkin tall, intellectual, but a good actor to play the beast side too. But you're right, a lot will be on the line and Singer will have to utilize the best of everything he's got to pull it off. But I have faith in him. He's a strong director and I think he still has the passion to make the series great. Sam Raimi would have done the same thing I'm sure, but with all the creative crap Sony was throwing at him I get why he left to pursue Warcraft, which I think in his own geeky way he is perfect for.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 11:20:20 PM

@encoreyourface
And you're right that if Singer makes a new triology following th other one it should end with the battle against Apocalypse. It's the only natural way to end the series. I'm pretty sure like every X-Men animated series ended with a battle against him or near the end of the series. He is like the King of baddies in the X-Men universe.
telur writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 11:51:54 PM

is it just me who still love X-Men 3? The box office number proof it wasn't bad. Maybe you hate that X3 just because Ratner, or too much dead character
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:02:29 AM

sounds good to me although i do not like donner much
the_dude writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:33:20 AM

I'd prefer a reboot done by a director like Ridley Scott for example. I would prefer something along the lines of Saving Private Ryan in the world of Blade Runner. I never felt the threat that humanity was absolutely terrified of who they were and the threat they were. I understand his interpretation of being a mutant was the same as being born diffrent, such as being born as a human who was attracted to the same sex and just want to be treated as normal people. That is perfect for the real world and I truly hope that acceptance is something everyone
can appreciate that each of us are unique and that humanity is one and the same... However, Mutants should represent the extermination of humanity in the most violent and excrutiating way once those who can control others and are litterally gods among men. I would hope that a reboot would make Magneto ruthlessly
evil and one of the greatest villians of all time. At the
same time you need the X-Men be part of something so unbelieveably amazing where each one would literally die a million times over to protect their brother since they know that they're fighting a never ending impossible battle with only the slightest chance of fighting a war against your own and those who want you dead because of the fact that our species has lost all hope for survival unless
the mutant population is wiped off the earth. Bryan Singer
has never proven to me in either film that he can show that true conflict with the right execution and dignity
that X-Men truly deserves.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:45:21 AM

Singer totally f*cked us fans over. He has alot of nerve. He's like that girlfriend that dumps you for someone else but has alot a nerve to come back in the picture when it doesn't work out.
BrandoFresh writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:38:48 AM

Ooooooh I hope he does get a chance to direct the next Wolverine. God knows the franchise needs him back.
BrandoFresh writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:40:03 AM

VERY Well said @johnny_boy
johnny_boy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:03:59 AM

Thanks, brandofresh
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:36:26 AM

I think Singer has what it takes to make a great X-Men film. the very first one he did was really a huge experiment to see if they could sell the idea of a superhero team to a general audience. Part 2 expanded but was still stuck using the same formula the first had set up.
X3 and Wolverine opened up the entire mutant world to where it needed to be to do the wild destructive story arcs like the comics pull off. There's so much setup, so many directions they could take it.
In the meantime, the Ultimate X-Men comics set up a really decent plan for how the characters from First Class can evolve.

The biggest snag is that sadly it's time to recast both Xavier and Magneto. Both actors are too old to play their parts.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:57:02 AM

@rapid
Dude, you frikkin' rock for having faith in Bryan Singer. Way to not be a downer.

@telur
It was definitely the killing of characters that did it for me. I mean, seriously, Professor X, Cyclops, AND Jean Grey. I mean I thought Professor X and jean Grey went out appropriately, but James Marsden totally got screwed over in the third one. Also, it just seemed all over the place and the movie ended way too happy even with all three characters dying. It was too neat. I don't know much about X-Men, but wasn't there like a years long war between mutant haters and humans and stuff like that. In fact, didn't Wolverine and Storm even get together at one point?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:00:03 AM

@rapid
But I do disagree about recasting the characters. I mean Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen were perfect and it's not like they can look any older than they do now and how they did five years ago. Plus, the 4th one would definitely be a year or two later so you can compensate for age a little. I mean really, name anyone better for the role of Xavier or Magneto. They were like the perfect actors for the roles next to Hugh Jackman for Wolverine.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:45:22 AM

@ Sleuth1989...you may be right about them compensating a few years age difference...but there's just one problem, by the time they do x-men 4, it might be 10 or 20 years from now...i don't think any fan can wait that long
VDODSON writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:23:25 AM

Thats great f*cking news, I have high hopes for the next Wolverine flick.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 7:30:25 AM

Thank GOD, maybe this sh*t will work now. If X-Men hadn't been what it was, all these superhero movies we're seeing now might not be on the way like they are, he set the bar for the resurrection of the genre after Schumacher buried it.
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:49:42 AM

im so sick of Hollycrap, all is remade, reboot, remakes, f*cking Gayvatard, i think i gonna change and wacht only porn films or some asian crap!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:39:48 PM

@synthetic1985
I don't think it will be that long. Say Bryan Singer gets on it soon. Now Wolverine is already slated to begin, and First Class is next so that's 2-3 years of filming and post-production for both. Then X-Men 4 would follow after. I give all these 4-7 years in filming tops.
JohnZee writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:47:26 PM

Bryan Singer abandoned the X-Men franchise with a quickness that made the entire X-Men production crew heads spin, the exact second that DC hired him to direct a Superman sequel. Marvel had to scramble just to find a director to replace him. But then the Superman sequel he made was utter crap, and is now compared to Superman IV as the worst Superman movie ever filmed. The fact that Marvel would even take him back speaks volumes about how desperate they are. But personally I would have made Singer grovel for a couple of weeks for his old job back.
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 1:17:14 PM

Ok, Professor X and Cyclops did not die in X3. Xavier hopped into a coma patients body just as his own was destroyed. Cyclops is hidden away somewhere without his visor. When Wolverine accused Jean of killing Scott , she said "I haven't killed anyone yet." Cyclops is somewhere out there wondering around blind and unable to open his eyes.
Phoenix did die, but then she's supposed to. X-Men die every other month and come back just as fast. Xavier is on his 3rd body now (clones) and they've faked Cyclop's death ten times at least.

Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellan were great for their roles (I still don't like casting a British guy as Xavier who is a New Yorker), but they're both very old men now. They can't airbrush their wrinkles forever, it looks horrible. They need a bald guy around age 40 for First Class.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:04:57 PM

Phoenix Died, but was it Jean Grey, or the clone of her that the Phoenix force made, whilst leaving the real Jean Grey in a come at the bottom of the ocean??? and Where does Madeleine Prior fit into all this???
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:42:03 PM

@John - 'But personally I would have made Singer grovel for a couple of weeks for his old job back.'

And that vindictive behavior is productive?

Would it get the job done?

Smooth over relations?

Sounds pretty unprofessional.

I'll suspect that's why you're not in that level of business... petty.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 8:56:25 PM

Telur, you f*ckin' idiot..
telur writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 8:58:23 AM

nope, i just minority with different opinion, you should look box office number all xmen franhcise
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 20th, 2010 at 7:01:12 PM

And you, good sir, should not use VDod's avatar. And while you're out there not doing it, go suck a c*ck. Hell, make it C.O.C's.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 7:29:10 PM

uhhh ... Telur's a chick, so if she sucks c*ck it's not a gay thing ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved