WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Crispin Glover Opens Up About "Back to the Future" Controversy

Posted: March 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Crispin Glover Opens Up About "Back to the Future" ControversySubmit Comment
During the press junket for "Hot Tub Time Machine," actor Crispin Glover opened up about the problems he encountered on the "Back to the Future" set that caused him not to return.

"On the DVD to the 'Back to the Future' trilogy, [co-writer, producer] Bob Gale has said something that's totally fabricated," said Glover. "He said I asked for twice the amount of money that Michael J. Fox asked for in the first film. In the negotiation for the second film, they offered me less than half of what any of the actors that were being asked to come back in the film Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson and Tom Wilson. They had all done studio films, and they'd made a lot more money. I was being penalized."

Negotiations fell apart and Glover didn't return for the rest of the trilogy. As a result the studio hired Jeffrey Weissman and made him look like Glover in order to bring back George McFly. Glover sued and won a settlement, leading to a new set of rules for the Screen Actors Guild in regard to illicit use of actors.

Glover continued: "I just feel like I can be totally quiet about it and people [can] think that I've done this kind of wrong thing or I can tell the truth of what has happened. [Gale] did not address that what they did was totally immoral and illegal and just wrong. [They] put another actor into false nose, chin and cheekbones in order to fool people into believing that I was in the film."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ronsauce writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:42:22 PM

" [Gale] did not address that what they did was totally immoral and illegal and just wrong."
Illegal? Drama queen.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:46:44 PM

Whiny bitch!
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:52:45 PM

pretty sure people just wanted to see george mcfly not crispin glover , dont think we were being fooled the movie wouldn't have worked with say danny glover taking over your role he had to look something like george mcfly , you didn't take money for pt 2 and 3 thats up to you someone else did end of the story.... think how young eric must feel about back to the future ... changed his career for ever i think...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:12:13 PM

who gives a sh*t, get over it ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:12:27 PM

same goes for you Kirby's kids ...
nope.com writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:44:14 PM

where's Letterman when you need him
OneTime writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:47:29 PM

i thought he was in the rest of the trilogy...
Salvador writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:20:42 PM

Only in the U.S. an actor can do that.

Abroad is another history.
Lowryder writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:22:37 PM

omg seriously this was 20 years ago, and like encoreyourface said...GET OVER IT!
AshTrey writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:59:22 PM

hahaha why do we care. its 2010. this was in 1988. I didnt even know that they used a different dude for george mcfly, and I love these movies.

BTW... Marty McFly will be a dope rap name, just saying.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:55:43 PM

who the f*ck in their right mind names their kids 'Crispin'?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:55:55 PM

kids=kid
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:57:35 PM

I'm sure the person interviewing him asked about it, and thats the only reason he's talking about it. So its not much of a "get over it" or "whiny bitch" situation. Why its being posted is still beyond me though.

Then again I'm a bit bias. I had a chance to meet Crispin and talk with him for a couple minutes, and he is the most unbelievably nice person. Plus I think it is pretty badass that someone got away with suing Spielberg. And the running joke with him in Hot Tub Time Machine is easily one of the funniest things in the movie.
blinkbomber writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 11:01:02 PM

i'm pretty sure he said this because for the past twenty-something years he's been hearing that he asked for more money then he did... which would get on anyone's nerves when all you wanted was to be compensated fairly along with your cast-mates. but yeah. old news.

now back to that blu ray release... what's up with that!?
GIST writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 12:00:34 AM

Crispin Glover is still one of my fave actors to this day.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:26:34 AM

"You are....my density."
takai writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:31:00 AM

@GIST - Same here.

He comes off really weird and whiny, but if you watch a legit interview with him, you find that he is very intelligent and down to Earth. He's awesome.

More than likely, he was asked about this, that's why he proceeded to tell this story. It's not like he, out of the blue, started rambling about it.

Also, @nope, the Letterman thing wasn't real. At least, not on Crispin's part. He was in character from a film called 'Rubin and Ed'.

What's amazing about that interview, is that it was the first time Letterman ever walked off his own show. He legit walked off.

Glover is the man.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:50:44 AM

'hey you, get your damn hands off her'...back to the future part 1 is probably one of the best movies ever made...it doesn't matter how hard hollywood tries to remake it, if they tried that is...some films are just not better as remakes...trying to remake back to the future is like trying to remake beetlejuice...it'll be like the new nightmare on elm street...entertaining probably, but still not better than its original
lost_addict writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:09:42 AM

stop bitching crispin..you know you made a mistake...
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 9:47:51 AM

Cut the crap defenders of the guilty. As much as I LOVE that movie serious, it's my childhood fave with Time Bandits, it doesn't excuse such bullsh*t and he has a point. I would be more than pissed if I were him and they pulled that sh*t on me.
bluemeenie writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:50:28 AM

Jeffrey Weissman was better since he wasn't a freaky idiot. Glover is a weirdo even for Hollywood standards. Wonder why you got treated bad?- ask your mamma.
bluemeenie writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 10:56:25 AM

So put the two stories together- you get the truth. He's a weirdo who thought he was a big shot - he originally asked for double the amount- (or too much money for his role). They responded by offering less than their previous offer. (yes- they do that) To sucker punch him into reality. He refused....and is still bitter about it- hoping he'll influence the blu-ray audio track. You're only making it worse for yourself Crispy. How much money did you get for Wilbur? Did they let you keep a rat?
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 7:26:36 PM

@bluemeenie

You really don't know sh*t about Crispin.

The only reason he even stars in movies these days is so he can make money to direct his own independent films. And he doesn't push for big releases on those either, he just travels around the country with them. If you ever speak to the dude, he is ridiculously humble. He'll openly talk about this ordeal or his Letterman appearance if you ask him about it, and he isn't bitter about either.

And the title of the movie is Willard.
ZenShark writes:
on March 22nd, 2010 at 9:39:11 AM

im with crispy
justincase writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:14:19 PM

Bob Gale is the person who is whiny about this. I have heard him talking about it on a radio show. I though Bob Gale sounded like a whiny irritating guy. The fact is that what Bob Gale did was illegal and Crispin's Lawsuit proved it. It is completely fair for Crispin to make comments about this since his side is not on the Back to the Future DVDs and Bob Gale has badmouthed Crispin in a very un-classy way. Crispin did a great job in Back to the Future and even if he was not in the other films they should not say anything bad about Crispin. I'm with Crispin Glover all the way!
jweissman writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:54:03 PM

Crispin is a great actor, and a quirky man. I worked with him at AFI a year before the first BttF film. He is a nice guy, Bob Gale is a nice guy. Hollywood drives good people to do crummy things though.
I thought it was a huge loss that he didn't return to the BttF franchise. He got caught up in the egomania and business hell that Hollywood lawyers like to generate.
I was blessed to get the job to fill his big shoes, but it was not right for the producers to try to pull a fast one on him and the fans. (And they may have learned not to do it again.)
At the time I was told I was to be his photo double/stand in, and then a few days before shooting, I was told I was playing the role. I thought I may have a chance to create some new George McFly moments in the films, but other than the "re-created" footage from '55, and the little scene in 2015, there wasn't much a chance to rock and roll..of the few moments I did have some fun in the films, some ended up in the bonus material for which actors aren't even paid residuals.
alison w writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:42:39 PM

Wow. Whatever the case that producer/writer of Back to the Future Bob Gale is seriously classless. No matter what Crispin Glover negotiated for the producers did something illegal and Crispin did not. Crispin did a good job in Back tot the Future and Bob Gale should be ashamed of himself for placing another actor in prosthetics and inter-splicing a small amount of footage of Crispin from the first film in order to fool audiences. It is no wonder Bob Gale no longer works in the film industry. Go Crispin!
billofill writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:31:08 PM

20 Years after Bttf 2. 8 years after said dvd box set came out um what.
dimesforever0 writes:
on December 1st, 2010 at 5:35:21 PM

@Ronsauce,jeffw1978,trailertrash, encoreyourface,Lowryder and AshTrey are are bunch of ignorant pr*cks! Don't contribute if you've got nothing to say. The Back To The Future sequels sucked eggs. No one ever mentions the sequels as classics and they were destroyed as a rtesult of glover and Claudia Wells leaving. If you ddin't even notice they weren't in the sequels, you're a bunch of retards. I'll go further and say to you that Crispin is the only one in the movie who could act!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved