WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Studio Wants Ivan Reitman Off "Ghostbusters 3"

Posted: March 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Studio Wants Ivan Reitman Off "Ghostbusters 3"Submit Comment
Columbia Pictures has put together a new strategy for "Ghostbusters 3," with a new young cast and a new director to bring the film to the big screen. But Ivan Reitman's contract from teh 1980s is keeping the studio from proceeding with the plan.

The contract was put together during the making of the first two installment and gave Reitman exceptional creative control over the series, including director approval. "Those deals were made in the eighties,” explained NY Magazine. “So his rights in this circumstance have a great deal of teeth.”

Dan Aykroyd, Bill Murray and Harold Ramis have similar contracts (not Ernie Hudson). This means that if any of the four men are unhappy with the direction of "Ghostbusters 3," Columbia Pictures will not be able to move forward.

At this point, it is pretty certain that the studio will proceed with the movie. It is also certain that Reitman will not step aside. The script is due in May, which is when we will learn who will helm the film.

Source: NY Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
burman writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:36:19 AM

Let's just hope the script is a good one.....
Supersweetguy writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:36:47 AM

Oh yeah? What are these turds thinking of by taking Director Reitman of Ghostbusters 3? Yeah, as if they're saying " Were so bright were gonna do GB3 ourselves"!! Smart move idiots!!!
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:40:14 AM

Just got this feeling this is not going to happen...
pH0u57 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:41:33 AM

good thing they have the contracts. i wouldn't have watched another reboot crap movie..
johnny_boy writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:43:56 AM

Kinda glad. I can't think of much movies lately he has done that were good. Like year one and evolution. Just put Judd apatow in it since he seems to be Ivan reitmans butch, and then apatow will stuff Leslie Mann down our throats. Just hope it's done right
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:47:08 AM

#Dan Aykroyd, Bill Murray and Harold Ramis have similar contracts (not Ernie Hudson). Not Ernie !!! hope this is not a black thing ......


eViL.kEv2 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:50:46 AM

WINNNNNNNSSSSSSSTON...
eddie499 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:56:39 AM

He has been on a skid in the past 15 or so years. I did like Evolution though and have not see My Super Ex-Girlfriend.

I really have high hopes for this. hopefully returning to the franchise that made him will re-ignite his Ghostbusters, Stripes, Meatballs, and Dave level of skill. He never seems to fail when he teams with Bill Murray.
VDODSON writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:57:19 AM

Ernie Hudson is the man, its a shame he's not offered more roles. Telur tongued my nut sack yesterday.
CCBlev writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:04:58 AM

God damn my childhoods about to be raped again!! Why do these studios think they know what they're doing, STOP RUINING MOVIES, god I'm pissed now!!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:06:04 AM

An Evolution sequel is a great idea come to think of it.

That man is the human form of Droopy Dog.

'Im happy'
Bigcheese writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:17:58 AM

No Winston, No Movie!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:00:10 AM

"At this point, it is pretty certain that the studio will proceed with the movie. It is also certain that Reitman will not step aside."

Then what's the point of this article, just to tell us the studio already has an issue? Wow slow down there WP! Next thing you know you'll be telling me the Earth is round and Santa Claus doesn't exist.
darthraige writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:18:18 AM

Without Reitman, there is no Ghostbusters. Who is head of the Studio making these smart decisions? Must be a c*nt. Cause c*ntS no NOTHING about good films back then.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:11:34 AM

Ghostbusters without Dan, Bill, Harold and Ernie wouldnt be Ghostbusters.

sh*t they want to do a reboot.
billofill writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:52:08 AM

ahhhhhhhhh so the Studio saw My Super Exgirlfriend finally. But they're contractually obligated cause of contracts they grandfathered in from 27 years ago. Meh
KindredMac writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 11:37:18 AM

I firmly believe that the world is starting to run low on new ideas and afraid to realize this. Look at every facet of life. What has come out in the last decade that was truly a BRAND NEW idea? The iPod is a new design of the walkman, the iPhone is a new cell phone that has touch capabilities that have been on ATM machines for 25+ years, Blu-ray is the same disc as a CD, cars still have 4 tires 2 headlights and a steering wheel on the left side and Hollywood is trying to cash in on the same old stuff (reboots) that most of us remember going to the theaters to see with friends when we were growing up.

I think we are at the beginning of the end for society as a whole.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 12:08:02 PM

Evolution was the sh*t, very under-rated. Super Ex-Girlfriend was good too. The jealousy reminded me of my wife.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:06:47 PM

The 'Studio' wants Ivan off the project?

These the same people f*cking up the Captain America movie too?

Studio... just stick to counting beans, leave the creative stuff to the artist. If you job is that boring and you feel the need to stick your nose into other departments, QUIT the Studio (IF you HAD ANY balls) and go become a director or actor.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:07:21 PM

evolution is underated. the movie was great
rocketman writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:15:59 PM

Bonny f*cker that Harold.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:39:40 PM

“So his rights in this circ*mstance have a great deal of teeth.”

Wow the 80s were so old school. They traded with teeth.
rocketman writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:47:44 PM

From that photo Harolds has teeth to spare,they are trying to escape from his mouth.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:54:47 PM

u spelled THE wrong....
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:57:04 PM

@Bloody - lol... good catch.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 2:27:11 PM

@ SAC

Oh sh*t, Santa doesn't exist? :(
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 2:55:11 PM

he looks like a completly baked dumbsh*t in the picture, how much crack does this guy snort in a day?

rabid writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 3:00:15 PM

Leave it to the crew that made the last two so successful. The new kids will just f*ck it up with formulaic horsesh*t and fart jokes.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 3:32:47 PM

f*ck sony
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 3:36:04 PM

and make it more the the 1st the 2nd kinda sucked bad. switch from sony to one thats doesnt f*ck sh*t up.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 4:43:17 PM

Hey SAC the earth is round and Santa Clause does not exist.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 4:54:34 PM

YOU TAKE THAT BACK (pout!)!
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:20:10 PM

Sorry I can't, but I will let you believe that the Easter Bunny and Leprechauns are real.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 6:31:53 PM

Thank you. Next beer is on me.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:59:25 PM

Note to studio* Stallone was heard to be hiring 50Cent for the Expendables movie internet sites all sreamed NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!, if you need anyone hire Terry Crewes so what do you think he did* you get what I'm saying Columbia Pictures.

But if you're too retarded to understand then how about this, DON'T GET RID OF ANYONE THAT WAS INVOLVED WITH THE FIRST GHOSTBUSTERS!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 3:53:57 AM

@dave , well said
darkraven28 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:21:55 PM

Maybe the studio would just rather have Ivan's son Jason do it instead, since Jason Reitman is the one who is 'hot' in Hollywood right now. While I don't necessarily agree with their thinking, I do understand it if that is the person they probably want to go with. Plus, shouldn't they have made this film a dozen years ago and just have been done with Ghostbusters anyway? I mean, Ramis and Aykroyd are the sizes of freight trains, Hudson has been doing drama forever, and Murray can't be found most of the time. It probably should have been done before they were all past gray!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 7:58:38 PM

@trailer= thank you

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved