WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "MacGruber" Reviews Appear Online

Posted: March 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "MacGruber" Reviews Appear OnlineSubmit Comment
The "MacGruber" movie, based on the popular "SNL" skit that parodies "MacGyver," premiered at the SXSW film festival on Monday and the reviews are now hitting the web. The general consensus is that the movie is silly and full of dumb jokes, but not necessarily in a bad way. Maybe a Richard Dean Anderson cameo could have helped.

Film School Rejects: "I donít have a lot of nice things to say about 'MacGruber,' itís exactly as juvenile and brainless as it looks."

CinemaBlend: "'MacGruber' is not, even for a second, half as clever as the 'SNL' sketches itís based upon."

THR: "Utterly disposable but diverting, 'MacGruber' manages to spin feature-length product out of an idea that few would try expanding beyond a 'Saturday Night Live' skit."

HitFix: "It's meant to be a brisk and silly ride, and it totally accomplishes its goals."

LA Weekly: "Transparently aimed at the middle school-aged boy in all of us, particularly those of us who were middle-school-aged during the late 80s-early 90s."

The Vertex Blog: "You might not believe me when I tell you this, but thereís no doubt: MacGruber was amazing."

The Daily Beast: "The only thing that feels off about 'MacGruber' is its staggeringly high body countóstrange for a comedy, the movie has as many killings as any Gibson or Willis movie."

IFC: "'MacGruber' is in fact the funniest 'Saturday Night Live' spinoff since 'Wayne's World' in 1992."

Click here to read more about "MacGruber."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:58:56 AM

MacGruber is s perfect movie to make you sleep
SACdaddy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:59:03 AM

my friend said it was lame
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:16:16 AM

vertex blog and ifc r a bunch of lieing c*ck suckers, better d*ck eaters than ill ever be :,(
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:17:58 AM

yeahhhh... I love Will Forte so regardless I will see this.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:30:48 AM

Seems like a mix of critics who either...

a) Get stoned.
b) Have no sense of humor and take their job too seriously.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:09:23 PM

I don't know what to expect of this.

I'll save it for rental night with friends (I never planned on seeing it in the theater)... but do want to see it.

What I don't like about 'critics' is they'll slam a movie if it's just not 'their type' of movie to watch (like: Film School Rejects and LA Weekly). Hey critics... don't try to tell us what age we'd have to be to find this kind of humor funny. As for the movie being 'juvenile and brainless' - that's the only reason I'd watch this movie... that's what I'm expecting it to be. Every movie doesn't have to be Gladiator or Shawshank.

So critics, how about telling us what the movie is like, and not tell us you just didn't like it. Give us specifics. Take some responsibility and write a better review than you claim is movie is. It's like talking to a 3 year old.

Why don't you like it? --- 'cause!

'Cause why?

Just 'cause!

rocketman writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:28:06 PM

I doubt this will get released in Britain,but i will be getting the Blu and laughing my tits off if the trailer was anything to go by.
nope.com writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:59:27 PM

Val Kilmer is the only thing that looks decent about this film
Burdman writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:20:09 PM

Sorry I just got done taking an Upper decker....
Vin12 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:35:16 PM

haha, oh...my...gosh... Ranger has friends!! Hahaha! Ah, thanks for that, I haven't laughed that hard since I tried to f*ck ranger's mom and petey's mom at the same time. Petey's mom's a f*ckin monkey and ranger's mom is too stupid to know what a vagina is!!
tcu21 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:54:17 PM

Critics will dislike a movie just because the "I'm supposed to be too smart for this" part of their brain convinces them that it's too juvenile even though they want to laugh. When I saw the trailers I was reminded of spy spoofs like "Top Secret" and "Hot Shots" which were both a kind of slapstick/stupid funny. Plus Will Forte is hilarious.

Why do people on this site take the time to rip someones avatar and go around insulting them just for the sake of trying to annoy them? I think that says more about someone's life than anything.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:04:48 PM

ranger's mom is too stupid to know what a vagina is!!

Ugh! That's clever? My God you're simple and dull VinDandy. Dulllllll!

Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:14:25 PM

@tcu - thx. But I (honestly) take any copying of anything I say or do on here (especially the avatar) as a compliment. VinDandy is admitting (clearly) that I'm worth copying as he's jealous of the attention I get on here. He's looking to try and 'trade up' from his own dull, uncharismatic existence... but at his core, he just doesn't have it on his own, thus being a copy-cat is the best he can shoot for. It's funny (in a pathetic way), that he's unwilling to push himself to evolve into something better instead of riding the coat-tail of another (pretty sure he's the type to do that in all aspects of his life... follow others).
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 3:33:47 PM

The cyber stalker strikes again...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:03:27 PM

Vin-i will respond to your 'insult' with something equally dull:

that was so funny i forgot to laugh.

that's how gay you sound Vin ...
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 11:36:35 PM

@KoJay - what's with the spamming Bro?
TGDirector writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:24:24 AM

Hmm, I was kinda looking forward to brainless comedy. But SNL hasn't been doing too good on its own, so I was thinking if they can't do good on their own, how do they expect to make a full good movie out of their skits?

I'm hoping I am still wrong about this movie.

Vin12 - Are you serious dude? Are you really truly serious? You went for the most obvious over-done low-blow in history using people's moms as an insult? You must be pretty desperate for attention and revenge on all the smart people here. We'll just pat you on the head and then you can go hug a tree or a d*ck. Whichever one you feel like.

Be careful of the d*cks that have tree worts though VinDandy!
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 2:00:06 PM

@TG - good post. I'm old school, so the 'Your Mother jokes' still work for me. Just... Vin's so bad at them... ugh!
japaninmotion writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 9:06:19 PM

The Daily Beast: "The only thing that feels off about 'MacGruber' is its staggeringly high body countóstrange for a comedy, the movie has as many killings as any Gibson or Willis movie."


this one sold me

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved