WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Students Think Buzz Lightyear was First Man on the Moon

Posted: March 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Students Think Buzz Lightyear was First Man on the MoonSubmit Comment
The Telegraph is reporting that 10% of UK students believe that the Buzz Lightyear, the animated character from the "Toy Story" franchise, was the first man on the moon.

Of course the correct answer is Neil Armstrong, but besides incorrectly choosing Buzz Lightyear, some students also picked billionaire Richard Branson, cyclist Lance Armstrong and even "Star Wars" hero Luke Skywalker.

It's no surprise that Buzz Lightyear was a popular answer. The character is an astronaut toy, plus his name sounds like Buzz Aldrine, the second man on the moon.

"While some findings raise a smile, it suggests that school children aren't tuned into our scientific heroes in the same way that they might be to sporting or music legends," said Dr. Pam Waddell, who examined the answers.

Other findings showed that 1/3 of boys thought Isaac Newton discovered fire, while others thought it was DNA, the internet or the United States.

Source: The Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:46:28 AM

Slow News day today i take it ....
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:47:26 AM

These kids our the future !!! oh sh*t..
johnny_boy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:48:10 AM

Wow? That stupid. These kids are the future and we are screwed.
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:48:15 AM

^are, i'm not tuned in yet
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:49:03 AM

maybe one of them will captian america ????
johnny_boy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:49:18 AM

@ trailer... I swear to god before I commented you only had your first post up. Talk about weird timing
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:54:27 AM

@ johnny lol , i did that the other day , i always thought isaac newton was in south park !!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:59:51 AM

Stupid ass children! However, which grades did the survey cover? If it's the first grade, the answers is pretty expected. If it's all of the grades, it's embarassing but not really a problem. If it's any grades higher than the 4th, it's f*cked up.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:09:44 AM

And this just in, those students also think Miley cyrus and her character Hanna Montana are two different people in real life
masht7 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:13:09 AM

@Johnny

So true.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:49:16 AM

Hey its England. What the hell do they know about the space program?
barley_cat writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:16:49 AM

There was another statistic like this, something like 15% of school kids thought Adolf Hitler was captain of Germany's football team!
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:19:41 AM

first toy who went in my rectum and hasnt been seen till this very day
@nchorman writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:27:12 AM

IM BACK GUYS!!
and wow...this is..uhh...great news..... -.-
barley_cat writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:29:19 AM

That's lovely FriendWithBigd*ck!
Welcome back @nchorman, where you been!?
Foxyllama5 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:31:43 AM

Stupid UK... Hahahaha! wow... and people thought the U.S. was dumb...
Kurskij writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:38:20 AM

Buzz Lightyear! Stupid kids.

Everyone knows it's Dr. Manhattan.

But, seriously, what did they expect? Lots of people in America don't know who Hemingway was (not knowing such a badass - fail).

I even saw one video where a guy is asked how many angles does a triangle have? He thinks for a minute then answers: "Hm... Four?"
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:40:18 AM

Bullsh*t story. Its not 10% of UK students.

They asked 1,000 students from 9-15 in some sh*tty school that is not even on the list of top schools in England. Might as well compare it with everytime I go to Texas and get asked by people if Im friends with the Queen by most of the adults there hehe

And we all know the Russians were 1st on the moon :p
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:44:30 AM

Bottom line is the media paints a picture for you to believe in.

I know for a fact most Americans are smart and so are most EU people and people like Dr. Pam Waddell talk sh*t.
Sonic writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:53:28 AM

We Brit's are Dumb:-)
barley_cat writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 8:02:04 AM

Screw you sonic! :(
CCBlev writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 8:19:43 AM

wow I can know sleep at night now, knowing that the future of this great world is in great hands in the future.
Sonic writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 8:48:08 AM

@barley for most of brit's IT'S true:-)
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:24:56 AM

lol eat my sh*t CAMERON!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:39:10 AM

Knowing how kids act, why would they take a test seriously if it meant nothing to them?

Universally we know that blondes are dumb though :)
Busche writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:46:58 AM

if we didnt have parents at the age of 16-18 then our next generation wouldnt be such dumb f*cks... when was it cool to have a baby in your arms at graduation?!
Bovice009 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:47:22 AM

Man, ol' Buzz set his sights low if beyond infinite is only the moon
Matiax writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 10:42:04 AM

Dumb kids. Next will be that Pandora is part of the solar system.
Matiax writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 10:43:09 AM

Wait, one of the moons of Saturn is Pandora. Ah, f*ck it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 11:27:17 AM

You gotta luv Britain eh?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 11:39:22 AM

First of all, this "10%" of students are probably, what, 5-10 years old? This is a stupid survey, if you asked a bunch of kids that are under 11 something specific (and quite old, about 40 years old) like who was the first person to land on the moon, they couldn't f*cking tell you, I know I wouldn't have known or even cared about that sh*t at their age.

So yea, f*ck this article and dont post stupid sh*t, Alex.
FBO writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 11:55:43 AM

Sounds to me like some these kids were just being smartasses. I know I woulda answered Luke Skywalker too, if it were a choice.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 11:56:54 AM

If we have right now a war with aliens, and we send this kids to battle, I believe we already lose the war!!!! OMG
Anymorepie? writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:04:52 PM

These survey's are bullsh*t, most likely multiple choice, we used to get them at school and answer the most ridiculous option..because it's fun.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:19:00 PM

@Foxyllama5 - 'Stupid UK... Hahahaha! wow... and people thought the U.S. was dumb...' --- don't worry, most people still do.

Sorry 'The Telegraph' his last name is spelled: 'Aldrin' (less finger-pointing as kids knowing 41 year-old history and a bit more of your own proof-reading I'd say).

And both men landed on the moon at the same time. Neil was the first one to set foot on it (another distinction these educators should take the time to teach these kids to think outside of the box). Maybe Dr. Pam Waddell should 'smile' less and get the pickle out of her c*nt and do some educating as she felt this moon landing information was important enough to ask kids.

Hopefully these kids were educated as to the moon landing (the point of the survey, I trust?) and not just told they were wrong and headed out for lunch.
warlord writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:33:00 PM

bunch of moorons every one knows it was a guy named tang
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 12:49:26 PM

And his twin: Poon.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:14:29 PM

Well these kids are pretty f*cking stupid, they must be related to COC.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:20:36 PM

When I didn't know a question in school my reply was always that same:

'Yo Momma!'

Yeah... I spent a lot of time in detention.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:22:09 PM

Ranger... what were you doing that was so important you couldn't make it to class on time?

'Yo Momma!'

What were you doing in bathroom all this time?

'Yo Momma!'

Yep... I knew how to live.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:44:18 PM

"Other findings showed that 1/3 of boys thought Isaac Newton discovered fire, while others thought it was DNA, the internet or the United States."

OH GOD NO, PEOPLE GOT SOMETHING WRONG?!?!?! OH JESUS THATS LIKE, NEVER EVER HAPPENED BEFORE!
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:06:54 PM

Exactly.

Like I say... I hope they bothered to educate these kids instead of just saying: 'Nope... you got it wrong... move along.'
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:14:50 PM

Random Though of the Day:

Is it just me or do high school girls get sluttier & sluttier every year?
the_dude writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:48:21 PM

haha, this story is about as funny as a screen door on a battleship....

Issac Newton discovered FIRE? I wonder if little Larry was part of this study...
Kurskij writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:58:23 PM

Damn! Those are huge nipples!

Whoops, sorry, I was in stalker mode.

More action, Dwayne, less flying around with a magic wand (in a bad way... which means by magic wand I do not mean d*ck. c*ck. DOC)
Kurskij writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:59:21 PM

^ Wrong topic, aye?...

No more drugs until breakfast...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:15:02 PM

"our scientific heroes"

yes because those are much more interesting ...

this poll is hilarious, no offense people from the UK but your kids are retarded, just chop them up and use them as food and maybe they'll seem useful ...

"Other findings showed that 1/3 of boys thought Isaac Newton discovered fire, while others thought it was DNA, the internet or the United States."

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! HILARIOUS!!!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:16:22 PM

but don't feel bad, the kids in the US probably aren't much brighter ...
Osiris3eagle writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:34:13 PM

and the UK thinks our kids are idiots, ha
vwkombi writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:12:15 PM

I hear that when Neil got to the moon, he found some Shaolin monks meditating up there after teleporting themselves with the power of their mind.

And Issac Newton wasn't a science hero, his the lead bassist of Nickelback. See, i learned a lut in skool!
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:46:08 PM

"Dr Pam Waddell, of Birmingham Science City looked at answers given by 1,000 primary and secondary school children in the tests"

Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 6:48:22 PM

Having read the article from The Telegraph... I didn't the reference to Buzz 'Aldrine' as shown here... unless someone is embellishing.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:00:21 PM

These results aren't a slight towards the kids. It's a shot to the educational system. Do they think kids are born with this information?
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:02:17 PM

@ranger-hahahahah when i was a kid i did that too, i also did "Cause your gay"

"why didn't you do your homework"

Cause your gay

those where the days, i think ima start it again
johnny_boy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:39:28 PM

I've read some of the posts and agree that yeah people get things wrong all the time. The point some of us are saying their dumb is cuz these kids actually believe that a cartoon character was first on the moon. If they didn't know the name of who was the first, it's fine, they'll learn. But it's weird when they think a f*ckin chartoon was the first on the moon, in real life.

Other countries have their own type of stupidity, like americans, adult Americans, who pay for over priced tickets to hear a whore name Britney spears lip sync when they could just hear the album at home. That's just one example, would love to hear others
encoreyourface writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:20:11 PM

"to hear a whore name Britney spears lip sync when they could just hear the album at home."

i don't know which is worse, actually seeing her face live, or helping her get more albums by actually buying an album ...

i'd have to die after either ...
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 10:38:36 PM

@Kirk - loooooonnngg ago I started a saying within my school. Whenever someone would get in trouble they'd yell out (as if the punishment to follow was unjust): 'THAT'S K-MART!'

Yeah... we were insulting K-Mart long before Tom Cruise got to do it in RainMan.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 10:59:41 PM

f*ck
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:14:20 AM

"But it's weird when they think a f*ckin chartoon was the first on the moon, in real life."

When I was young, I used to think that Santa Clause, a pedophile that breaks into my house 1 night of the year, delivered presents to my house, but I learned that he didn't actually exist. So what's the difference here? Jack. I don't know what you guys have against a child's imagination, but this seems like pretty standard sh*t to me. They'll learn, they'll understand, then they will be shocked and butthurt when they see a similar article 20 years from now.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:24:10 AM

Spooky-i never thought Buzz Lightyear was real, i knew from the beginning he was just a cartoon.

however that's only if i remember right ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:32:31 AM

It's a child's imagination, and children who grew up watching those movies could probably believe that Buzz Lightyear exists, it's not that hard for them.

Why is this such a big ordeal anyways? I didn't know Neil Armstrong's name until I was 12, why? Because I didn't really care that, I was too busy watching cartoons and movies and eating junk food. Also, I probably didn't know about it because I don't live in the USA, where it's more than likely to be shoved down your throat. Just because some little kids don't know an Americans name who went to the moon 40 years ago doesn't make them stupid, it makes them KIDS.
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 2:24:13 AM

@ ranger-that's so bad ass hahaha ima start using it when something bad happens or if somethings really gay
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 7:38:40 AM

im surprised the article didn't say anything about the teachers of these kids, they are all now blowing ever member of the school council to keep their jobs. seriously - teacher fail
Dre-EL writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 10:24:31 AM

All over the world people marvel at the lack of intelligence in american kids.

On tv there is a trailer for the amazing race where some stupid blonde refers to Joan of Arc as the one who saved all the animals.

Funny as it is hope u people realise this should not be treated as a joke.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 1:26:52 PM

dre, it says "UK" kids ... you were talking about lack of intelligence?
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 2:37:26 PM

@Kirk - via WP we have:

1. Re-introduced: 'That's K-Mart!' for anything that sucks.

2. Introduced: 'That's Lohan!' for anything that's self-sabotaging, or refers to a cutting instrument (is: those scissors are really Lohan!).
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 2:40:37 PM

I think this survey is foolish.

Like I posted above... it's like they expect the kids to already have known this info. Kids know f*ck-all until they're taught. If this survey was of any value, tell these kids who the first man to set foot on the moon was, then give them a test and post the results, not a survey. I'd like to poll the author of that survey on things I know that I'd suspect they don't know. If they get much wrong I could look at them and say: 'What... are you stupid?!' If they author of this survey thinks kids should know this stuff, how about informing the teachers?
LuvCake69 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:31:32 AM

hehe british people
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 2:18:20 PM

of course the correct answer is we didnt go to the moon
johnthemon writes:
on March 21st, 2010 at 5:04:05 PM

wow, that's just sad.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved