WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

More Details on "The Thing" Prequel

Posted: March 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
More Details on "The Thing" PrequelSubmit Comment
LA Times caught up with producers Marc Abraham and Eric Newman to talk about "The Thing" prequel, which stars Mary Elizabeth Winstead and is directed by Matthijs Van Heijningen Jr. Universal Pictures is aiming to release the $38 million film in theaters during the first half of 2011.

"I'd be the first to say no one should ever try to do 'Jaws' again and I certainly wouldn't want to see anyone remake 'The Exorcist,'" said Newman. "And we really felt the same way about 'The Thing.' It's a great film. But once we realized there was a new story to tell, with the same characters and the same world, but from a very different point of view, we took it as a challenge. It's the story about the guys who are just ghosts in Carpenter's movie - they're already dead. But having Universal give us a chance to tell their story was irresistible."

Early in "The Thing" (1982 version), trying to understand why a Norwegian helicopter had been chasing a runaway husky before it crashed, Kurt Russell returns to the Norwegian base camp where he finds evidence that its research team -- now all dead -- had dug something out of the ice, apparently awakening an extraterrestrial creature that had been buried for thousands of years.

"That's the story we tell in this film," said Abraham. "We go back to that original Norwegian camp and try to figure out what happened. It's like a crime scene, with an ax in the door, and the audience gets to be the detective, trying to piece together what horrible things have occurred."

The producers also talked about hiring Heijningen, who is a Dutch commercial filmmaker known for creating ads that play like mini movies, crammed with action sequences, humor and special effects. "That's exactly why we hired Matthijs," said Newman. "Commercial directors make good film directors not just because they've shot millions of feet of film, but because they know how to convey emotion in 30 seconds."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gobolog writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:55:44 PM

i have hope. commercial directors usually have good track records. just look at ridley scott and david fincher, alien and fight club.
Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:58:00 PM

but because they know how to convey emotion in 30 seconds.

Yeah, but the problem with most of them is that they don't know what the f*ck should they do after the first 30 seconds are over.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:58:59 PM

love the Thing old skool horror no cgi , good characters simple plot tones of tension, just hope they dont c*ck this up...
commercial directors make good film directors didn't do ridley any harm i guess.. fingers crossed all round
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:20:33 PM

Extraterrestrial Creature - played by Lohan's vag.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:58:37 PM

High hopes for this one. The original was great, Capenter's version was even better. Hopefully this trend will continue. Just happy to not hear the words "3D", "Reboot" and "Darker" anywhere in the article.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:16:02 PM

the original 'The Thing' was great, and i'm glad it's a prequel not a reboot. i have hopes it will be good, but i wouldn't bet any money on it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:29:19 PM

thank the lord this aint a sequel/remake/reboot, at least they know not to screw around with Carpenter's Thing.
CCBlev writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:42:28 PM

@Ranger
That would be scary yes, but I dread Lady Gaga's man d*ck/vag creature way more, so much more that now I'll have night terrors thinking about it. I'l have to cuddle with Coc's dead mom now just to feel safe to sleep lol
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:17:46 PM

I hope they stick with the original and dont go the CGI route (Even though it wasn't about then anyhow).

The special effects MADE that film, scary as sh*t.
Vendetta150 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:32:14 PM

I'm pretty sure the location is Lohags Vag, and Gary Coleman is going to explore it searching for the creature. Good luck with that one, there's lots of thing in there!
Vendetta150 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:37:17 PM

Things* God damn the lack of an edit button. Yeah, Lohags vag would be the cheap way to find a locale...
Telly like it is writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:53:18 PM

@Ranger's quote "Extraterrestrial Creature - played by Lohan's vag."

That would be one funky p*ssy. Dog heads and limbs all over the place. >shudder!<
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:01:05 PM

ATTACK OF THE BLUE WAFFLE!!!

RUUUUUUUUUNNNNN!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:05:26 PM

@ranger- thanx for giving me nightmares
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:00:23 AM

@ranger lol. most def.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:44:48 AM

better just make it look like the original by effects and deff hard R
bacci40 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 4:27:09 AM

so we need to know what happened to the Norwegian team?????

no we f*ckin dont

THEY ALL GOT KILLED BY THE ALIEN

THE f*ckIN END
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:30:04 AM

I'm for one is stoked for this. That they don't want to tinker with Carpenter's version, show us that they are not idiots. But the main selling point is that we get to some Norwegian douchebags get slaughtered by Lohan's vag.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved