WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Hits DVD/Blu-ray on April 22nd, No Bonus Material

Posted: March 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Hits DVD/Blu-ray on April 22nd, No Bonus MaterialSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has just announced that it will release James Cameron's "Avatar" on Blu-ray and DVD in the United States and Canada on Earth Day (Thursday, April 22nd). Click on the image below to see the cover art.

The film has now grossed $2.64 billion in worldwide ticket sales. It has broken just about every record, including having the highest domestic, international and worldwide grosses, the highest IMAX grosses, etc...

In the UK and possibly the US, there will also be a limited edition Steelbook Blu-ray release containing a T-shirt, art cards, and a book. All the different packages will come with zero bonus material.

See below for addition release dates around the world:

* FRANCE April 21
* BELGIUM April 21
* NETHERLANDS April 21
* SPAIN April 21
* CHINA April 22
* BRAZIL April 22
* RUSSIA April 22
* NORTH AMERICA April 22
* GERMANY April 23
* JAPAN April 23
* SWITZERLAND April 23
* MEXICO April 23
* UK April 26
* DENMARK April 27
* NORWAY April 28
* SWEDEN April 28
* NEW ZEALAND April 28
* AUSTRALIA April 29
* FINLAND April 30
* ITALY May 6

Cover Art: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:49:27 PM

Big avatar fan, but i never liked that poster and now its on the dvd/blu ray cover.... gay
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:55:23 PM

NO DELETED SEX SCENE NO DEAL
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:58:13 PM

I agree with OmgArbysAgain.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:59:29 PM

I think they should delay the release at least six months to try and get more avatards to commit suicide.
gimple writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:12:47 PM

What a dumb movie...
004forever writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:20:00 PM

I understand why there are no bonus features on the disc with the movie. It's to make sure the movie is the highest quality possible. It's a bare minimum DVD without any menus or even any studio cards. But how about a disc 2? If there's any movie I'd like to see a making of doc*mentary for, it's this one.
wonderBOY writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:37:29 PM

would it still be in the cinemas when the dvd comes out
japaninmotion writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:59:46 PM

no bonus material for this one. so fox can keep releasing dvds every other year with new bonus material. how many star wars box sets have been released since the original?
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:03:15 PM

I liked Avatar (no secret on here) for the VISUALS.

I've seen clips of it on entertainment shows in 2D... GAG! It's a 3D movie ONLY!

Smart Cameron... milk the $'s (I... WE would ALL do the same... don't bother posting saying you wouldn't).

Ship out the crap first... next DVD a little better... next better yet. Smart guy... DUMB buying audience (because we all KNOW there are Avaturds out there that'll buy each and every release).

Damn thing is going to top $4bil. by the time the dust settles at this rate.

And if I spent 5 years making a movie and I had this opportunity... damn rights I'd soak every penny out of the world for it (again... so would you).

Don't blame Cameron folks. If you must... blame the people opening their wallets... repeatedly.
vwkombi writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:09:10 PM

Really, the only reason i would consider owning this film is for the behind the scenes and making of features. There is ZERO reason to own Avatar beyond that.

@ Ranger

Agree completely.
ta5tEtheP0i5oN writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:40:35 PM

Which character is that on the cover? Is that supposed to be Zoe Saldana?
pH0u57 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:42:07 PM

so, this is a 2d-disc then? or will it have both versions?
the_dude writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:47:06 PM

Well I'll definitely pass on the FITA version of this on blu-ray from 20th Century Fox, especially after Cameron himself said that this is coming back out in theaters.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:48:51 PM

@ta5tEtheP0i5oN - yep... pretty sure that's Zoe.
TheCount writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:03:47 PM

Due to its success, Earth Day wll be re-named Pandora Day...and no one will work...but we still get paid
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:12:53 PM

"NO DELETED SEX SCENE NO DEAL"

sir, is there a greater sentence to be written?

if you can't watch it on a 3-D format, they should have loaded it up to ass with bonus material. i doubt the sales will be that high ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:17:43 PM

I'm with all you guys on here, dumb movie so no intrested in buying BlueRay, if you could only buy the extras,

@ranger with you on that as you know.
CCBlev writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:35:37 PM

@jeff
I agree with you, but I'll pass until a dvd with extras is out, f*ck you Cameron, you ain't getting my money twice.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:39:37 PM

"i doubt the sales will be that high ..."

Really? I mean seriously, really? After what happened the last time you still think like that? C'mon. There's a lot of dumb people out there. $2.64 billions, remember? And it wasn't as awesome as Robocop, for god's sake.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:46:35 PM

Nothing is as awesome as the first RoboCop!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:47:06 PM

@cold-i believe over %70 of the ticket sales where 3-D, and with no bonus features all the Avatards d*cks won't be as hard for it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:54:51 PM

@ranger & coldplay- not even Robocop 3!!??
Jamall316 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:03:48 PM

I need bonus materials in my dvds. I guess ill be hitting the Red Box on this one
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:07:20 PM

What the f*ck is the 'Activist Survival Guide' for?

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:10:25 PM

@ricky- with any luck it is advice on how to commit suicide so you can go to Pandora.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:11:37 PM

@ricky- not you personally, I mean the Avarturds who want to got to Pandora
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:15:27 PM

@Dave: Haha, i know you didn't mean me.

I guess it is aimed at the members of Naviblue.com
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:19:05 PM

@Dave - the best moment of RoboCop 3 was when he took off with his jet pack and you could see the wires lifting him. I suspect the budget for 'special effects' for that movie was the price of dinner for 4 at McDonalds.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:19:38 PM

@ricky-thanx mate, after I wrote it I realised what I said might be taken the wrong way lol.

well here's hoping everyone at naviblue does as requested.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:22:44 PM

@ranger haha, don't think the budget was that high.

you could see it was a TV Movie, setting up the TV Series.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:23:01 PM

Robocop 3 was bad. To me, the series ended after the 1st film.
FBO writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:25:34 PM

Why would anyone own this movie? The whole point is to watch it in 3D. I think it'll be sweet justice when DVD sales are minimal because the movie sucks to watch at home!
FBO writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:27:21 PM

@RickyGabrielBird - That's the way I feel about the Matrix
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:28:54 PM

@ricky & fbo- with you on that one
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:51:53 PM

@Dave - oh yes... the TV series. Whereby Robo NEVER shot anyone. He'd just shoot large chandliers to crush people or the legs from under large pieces of heavy furniture to fall on people (like all those choices were better than shooting people directly).

@Ricky - no worries. Robo DID end it for everyone after the first movie. I have never in my life seen worse sequels or a TV show follow such a good movie.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:53:08 PM

@FBO - same. The first 'The Matrix' was magic. The rest were just more (but over the top) of the same. Even the 2nd. made sense. But I'd like to have some of what the Whacko-Bros. were smoking when they wrote the 3rd.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:02:19 PM

@ranger no argument here on that one.

any more news on Robocop remake/reboot/sequel?
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:36:11 PM

I know Darren Aronofsky (Director) wants a new RoboCop out by 2011... but haven't heard anything about it (I think last I heard, the project was stalled for some reason). It would be great were they to incorporated some 'Matrix-like' effects.

And stay away (obviously) from the crap that were those sequels.

Question... if a joint if made of titanium, how can a simple street construction jack-hammer split that joint? That's the kind of stupid sh*t that really ruined the sequels (along with the piss-poor story-lines).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:20:52 AM

@ranger, thanx for the info, hread about it myself but then it all went cold, yeah would be good to have "Matrix special effects" but not too much eh??

As long as it's 18 rated (R in america) then I'll be as happy as a Naviblue.comer who gets load blown on their face from a Navi
rocketman writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:10:09 AM

Don't care.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:40:16 AM

Ahh... Corey Haim is #1 this week on IMDB.

Oh, and his used toothbrush is at $275. on eBay.

Oi.
masht7 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 2:48:22 AM

This movie is overated although not too overated so I'll pick up the Blu-ray. The quility should LEGENDARY!
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:39:00 AM

still will not watch plus it will be re released but still dont give f*ck
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:41:49 AM

I agree with Ranger, that this is a smart move by Cameron and the company (I would probably do the same), but it's still a d*ckish move.

And all the avatards will buy this like crazy and many other people will buy it just to own it (I usually do that, but I won't do it for this). Then they will release 2-disc special edition, and that too will sell.

Then it will play the "waiting game" until the 3D-television hits the general market. I know they released some in Japan for a couple of months ago, so it might be ready for western audience around the summertime (I think I heard rumors about the World Cup airing in 3D)
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:11:56 AM

And crap fest continues, and i continue my work f*ck CAMERON LOVERS! f*ck SAM W. ALL THE AVATARDS THAT BUY THIS sh*t CAN SUCK MY BALLS!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:49:19 AM

I'd by this dvd just so I can sh*t on it
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 9:56:07 AM

@Freudian, yeah I heard the world cup will be in 3-d and I think the 3-d tv is supposed to come out in the fall here in the U.S but it'll probably cost an ass load of money, and it's not fair that all the japs get the cool toys like the 3-d tv first.....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 10:25:07 AM

A 54-inch 3D TV would cost around 40 000 Swedish crowns. I think that would, roughly, translate to 5000-6000 US dollars
Dre-EL writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 3:52:03 PM

He did the same sh*t with TITANIC.

No bonus materials till the special or anniversary edition.

Well f*ck it. unless somebody gives me a copy, i'll wait for the bonus materials.
ZeusReit writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:55:58 PM

No bonus material, no cash from me.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 8:24:18 AM

this move is showing camerons greed a little too well. its no coincidence that this film came out when it did. this film was marketed and pushed towards everyone who is suffering from the economy issues as well as global conflicts plaguing the world - and not because it sends a "good message". this movie was made for all those that are needing to run away from their real world lives, and the timing with the world how it is made this film a mulit billion dollar hit. and now that summer is coming, and the economy is showing signs of an upswing, they decide to release a version of this dvd in order to keep people paying, and keep them inside thinking of "pandora". god forbid we spend our money on something truly life changing. and to all those thinking of suicide because you dont live on pandora ... take a walk outside mother f*ckers, the world you live in is way more beautiful than anything someone can make on a computer, if your gonna off yourself you might as well take a cross country trip first.
darkraven28 writes:
on March 19th, 2010 at 4:36:34 PM

So, now Cameron is FORCING double dipping on DVDs? Do you really need more money after 2.64 billion in ticket sales, Cameron? Not to mention what you made on your PREVIOUS billion plus grosser? I mean seriously James. I love your films, warts and all, but this is pushing it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved