WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hollywood Asks Theater Owners to Offer Healthier Snacks

Posted: March 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hollywood Asks Theater Owners to Offer Healthier SnacksSubmit Comment
In a speech at ShoWest, the nation's theater owners were asked by the head of major Hollywood studios to provide healthier snacks at their concession stands in addition to candy, popcorn and soda.

Sony Pictures held a poll and found out that 2/3 of moviegoers and 3/4 of parents are more likely to buy healthy snacks at theaters if they are offered; 42% of parents said they would buy concessions more often if healthy options were available; 60% of parents said having healthier snacks in theaters would enhance their overall moviegoing experience.

The poll also revealed which items moviegoers would like to see added to the menu. On the list were fresh fruit, fruit cups, apples with dip, veggies with dip, yogurt, granola bars and trail mix, baked chips, apples chips, and unbuttered air-popped popcorn.

Sony Pictures CEO Michael Lynton said: "Adding healthier options to your existing menu is the right thing to do for our industry, for audiences and for our country."

Source: Sony Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:31:38 AM

I can see it now, $56.00 for a pound of grapes.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:51:33 AM

Apples and dip? Who the f*ck would want to dip an apple in chilli salsa?
johnny_boy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:56:41 AM

If they were really concern about peoples health, the theathers would just allow people to bring their own healthy foods from home instead of charging prices thats bannanas
VDODSON writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:06:39 AM

I would dip an apple into Carla Gugino's butt cheese and still eat it...dont judge me.
cokecan writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:13:53 AM

The parents and moviegoers say they'll buy the healthier stuff but when it becomes available straight for the popcorn they'll go. Not that hard to sneak in an apple or granola bar.
bale01289 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:37:20 AM

Theaters should ask Hollywood for better movies, if this is really goin down. Its only fair....
lost_addict writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:51:37 AM

@vodson

well said.
deepnshit writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:05:20 AM

popcorn rhymes with a c*ckporn... nuff said
Rush66 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:22:24 AM

@bale01289 Good movies and James Cameron's head would be a fairer deal, I think
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:49:28 AM

The stuff they mentioned you could bring from home and it would be cheaper.
FBO writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:13:45 PM

Over ripped produce for five bucks a pop... no thank you. But they should allow you to bring your own without having to hide it, so any fruit or vegetable gets a free pass. Bu hey, maybe the theaters can start offering triscuts or something
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:19:23 PM

This is one for the ladies , Blow Jobs all round it's full of protein and low on calories !!!!

f*ck it i will work for free on the food stand if this helps the movie going public eat healthier ......
Randal Graves writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:54:06 PM

cleaning up popcorn is bad enough, but now theater clerks are gonna have to pick up half eaten apples.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:19:38 PM

So... the people that already take 5 (open-mouthed) bites of one f*cking piece of popcorn... they want to feed these people crunchy apples now?!

KISS MY ASS!!!!

At least the ladies could use the bananas during a Twilight movie.

"60% of parents said having healthier snacks in theaters would enhance their overall movie-going experience." --- after that interview those 60% had their survey-taking experienced f*cked up by the other 40% that kicked their p*ssy-asses all around the parking lot!

Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:43:40 PM

@VDODSON

"...dont judge me" - show me who would, I'll kick him in the nads. With a bat.

On topic: so what, now instead of a motherf*cker with two baskets of popcorn and a gallon of coke a motherf*cker with a fruitbasket wearing a "GO VEGAN" t-shirt will sit next to me?

Girl: Can I have a banana please?

Clerk: 2.50$ please.

Boyfriend: f*ck it, she'll eat my banana. Free of Charge... except for one I'll give her in the head.
lawman writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:50:47 PM

I have to be honest. If some ASSHAT was sitting behind me grinding away on a f*cking apple I might just shatter his jaw for him! The popcorn is annoying enough! And a big NO THANKS to slipping on a rotten banana peel left on the floor! They should allow you to bring your own sh*t! There have been times I have wanted to pound down a hero or some doritos (noisy I know, but good luck stopping me) but couldnt because there was no way to get them past the ticket c*nt!
lawman writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:52:03 PM

I hear VIN smuggles in full pepperonies, IN HIS *sshole!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:10:07 PM

healthier snacks for outrageous prices?...i'll pass...this is why i always eat before watching a movie and just sneak in the candy...child size cup of milk would probably cost 3 dollars...on the other hand, an apple would be one dollar for a pound whereas one pound at the theater would be 5 dollars or more
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:50:44 PM

healtheier snacks? so they're gonna bleach the ass-holes now?

VDOD-(first post) lol!

thank you no, i'll stick to fake butter and the already over-priced candy then pay 50% more for a bucket of f*cking fruit ...
TeemSelami writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:55:32 PM

this is just a survey. if these options were actually given at a real theatre and if the sales reflected these numbers maybe. but these are the same fat f*cks that say they would diet if it was easy. said they would exercise if they only had a home gym. well fat ass save your money and get a treadmill to take up space in your garage.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:13:50 PM

Isn't going to sh*t movies to eat sh*t food what the whole outing is about?

We had a family of 4 eating burgers out of their foil wrappers behind us. I looked at my friend and asked: 'Are we on Candid Camera?!'

Then... at Syriana... a 200 year-old f*cker spent 15 God-damned minutes digging for that last Skittle out of the bottom of the bag!

f*ck OLD MAN... POUR THE LAST f*ckING CANDY INTO YOUR HAND! JESUS... FOR THE LAST FEW DAYS YOU HAVE ON EARTH DO YOU HAVE TO PISS PEOPLE OFF!?!?!?
vwkombi writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:15:00 PM

f*ck it, i'm sticking to popcorn (for the odd occasion i actually buy any snacks at the theatre). I ain't paying an arm and a leg for sh*t i can smuggle in from home or the supermarket across the road.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:31:48 PM

Some funny posts on this thread.

@bale - "Theaters should ask Hollywood for better movies." --- lol.

encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:20:01 PM

"f*ck OLD MAN... POUR THE LAST f*ckING CANDY INTO YOUR HAND! JESUS... FOR THE LAST FEW DAYS YOU HAVE ON EARTH DO YOU HAVE TO PISS PEOPLE OFF!?!?!?"

LOL!


Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:23:44 PM

I'm pretty sure that old guy is dead by now. That was a few years ago, and he was on borrowed time then. The only reason I didn't snap his neck then was it looked like he was in either the Civil War or WWI. Either way I respect the Veterans.
bacci40 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 4:29:04 AM

i have a better idea

let them all have liquor licenses and then i can finally enjoy the whole theater experience
encoreyourface writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 5:57:08 PM

where i live some theaters serve beer at certian times during films ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved