WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Adrien Brody Put on Muscle and Quit Sex for "Predators"

Posted: March 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Adrien Brody Put on Muscle and Quit Sex for "Predators"Submit Comment
During a press conference at SXSW for the upcoming "Predators" remake, Adrien Brody talked about the changes he had to make to play Royce, a block-ops soldier brought to an alien planet to be hunted.

"I put on 25 pounds for this role," said Brody. "That wasn't the point. They didn't hire me to be a bodybuilder. I'm not a bodybuilder, but I felt in order to be playful with it as well I shouldn't be strapped. It's not the physical strength that outsmarts an alien with energy-based weapons and high tracking skills and a culture of hunting and trophy hunting. You have to outsmart them."

He also talked about his preparation methods. "My nightly ritual was like poring over survival manuals and military and paramilitary training books," said Brody. "I was reading Sun Tzu, I was studying meditation, I was on a very strict diet, I wasn't drinking, I wasn't eating sugar, I wasn't having sex. I was very focused. I had to kind of go there, for me, because this is a tremendous opportunity for me."

Click here to read more about "Predators."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:26:39 PM

And after all that he still looks like an average bloke with a massive nose.

I'll still probably watch this, but just imagine having a cast like in The Expendables for this.
SeWerin writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:46:14 PM

Agree, with you ari.

On the other hand, like anyone would want to have sex with Brody...
Kurskij writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:05:28 PM

What the f*ck is with that "no sex" thing?

Ok, Adrien, I understand you for not having sex while filming The Pianist - it was worth it, it was understandable. But not to have sex while filming Predators?

Have you seen Jesse Ventura in the original? Have you seen Arnie?

Each looked like he had 10 chicks on a d*ck while wrecking sh*t and playing billiard with other peoples heads and still called it a boring weekday.
Chewbacca writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:19:02 PM

Adrien Brody is a skilled actor in my opinion. Yeah he has a big nose and he might not seem to fit the role as a mercenary but I respect him as an actor for taking the role seriously. He's a great actor, and it might not seem like Predators is such a good career choice lol but if he's working hard and not just for the paycheck then I think he deserves some credit.
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:25:44 PM

dylen!!!you son of a bitch!!!

Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:27:08 PM

Get to da Chop-pa!!!!
Montana writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:27:39 PM

i quite like him....
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:28:46 PM

Put on muscle? What... he didn't blow his nose for 3 days?

And the 'Semen Retention Plan' doesn't work (as Robert Blake called it years ago on The Tonight Show with Carson) - at least I don't believe it works, I won't try it.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:30:20 PM

And making the nose joke doesn't mean I'm not a fan of his acting. I like the guy a lot.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:55:35 PM

see this why Heath Ledger ruled as the Joker, study and hard work on your own time without anybody asking it of you, that's the way to go.

i'm starting to like this guy ...

let's hope he doesn't O.D. ...
AshTrey writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:58:17 PM

relax brody... its just the predator.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:06:16 PM

@encore - I like Brody. He doesn't have the 'classical good-looks' or bod, so he has to make it on talent. I liked him in Hollywoodland.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:16:44 PM

"so he has to make it on talent"

if only more people became actors because of talent ... not because they can rap/suck d*ck/'sing' or otherwise ...


nope.com writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:19:50 PM

maybe it's time the Academy starts taking away awards if you continue to have a crap career after you win one... amirite Adrien Brody? Halle Berry?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:24:07 PM

Well his gonna be disappointed if people hail him with a sh*tload of criticism for this role...

Shoulda had nailed the chick IMO
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:44:19 PM

So this fag quit sex? All those poor guys who went unpenetrated.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:10:18 PM

"We're a rescue team not assasins"

Good on the man to do this, he knew when RR asked him to do it he was setting himself up to be ripped apart, so I'm going to give him a go because just as Ranger and Encore saying the has got talent and is at least making an effort.
borat writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:51:00 PM

sh*t i practiced this method all through high school
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:38:49 PM

Brody looks like the low end of muscle mass in real world operators. Someone with some skill that makes up for not being big. That being said, this is a MOVIE!!! I want juiced up wrecking machines zinging out one liners as they march towards failed careers as governor. But he's a good actor so I'll give this film a chance.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:27:01 AM

If not having sex makes you bad-ass, then Half the people on this site could kick the entire cast of The Expendables asses at once.
moods_001 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:53:18 AM

Brody was having sex in first place? From my knowledge you should have sex before you can quit it.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:27:55 AM

He was counting his hand.
lost_addict writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:56:55 AM

whats the matter?The CIA got you pushing too many pencils?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:33:18 AM

"This makes Cambodia look like Kansas"

"If you lose it here you're in a world of hurt"
VDODSON writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:22:25 AM

Unlike most on this site, I'm a fan of Brody. He killed it in The Pianist/Cadillac records.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:49:06 AM

Thought he did ok in King Kong too , bit of action a few monsters in that and this does look pretty good sofar..

"Jeez you got a big p*ssy. Jeez you got a big p*ssy." She said, "Why did you say that twice ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 5:21:32 AM

"Stick around"
SACdaddy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:22:30 AM

You gotta like Brody. Great actor, cool person (training with RZA to become a hip hop producer), and not just another pretty face. I hated him for a minute after he molested Halle at the Oscars, but then I realized I would have done the same thing (probably worse). He's always gone all out for his craft (you should hear his routine for The Jacket), but always seems to maintain his sanity and charm when the job's done unlike many other method actors.

@Encoreface: "see this why Heath Ledger ruled as the Joker, study and hard work on your own time without anybody asking it of you, that's the way to go."

Its called Method acting. Heath was good at it, but he didn't know his own limits and he paid the price. "Becoming" a character can be very dangerous and damaging to an actor's real persona. Guys like DeNiro, Kilmer, Warren Beatty, and Bale are widely recognized as Method actors, but its no coincidence that they're also widely known for their radical mood swings, eccentric nature, and difficulties on the set. That's why I respect guys like Brody who can attack a role with the same dedication as these others but never lose site of who they really are. Did I mention Brody does all of this while only getting paid like $2-4 mill a movie (yes even after his Oscar)?
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:37:29 AM

hes gonna stick his big nose in the predators p*ssy mouth ;}
lost_addict writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:48:54 AM

Take it easy on yourself,dutch...
ChadRo writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:42:10 AM

Dumbass - the more sex you have the more testostorone your body produces. The exact opposite of "No Sex before the big fight" old wive's tale is actually true.

No matter what this guy does he is a nancy boy with a big nose.
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:30:39 AM

@sac-damn only 2-4 million, julia roberts gets that for just sneezing and she was in that terrible duplicity movie
lawman writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:38:42 AM

Brody looks more like special forces than ANYONE in the first predator movie or most movies where a huge guy is a S.E.A.L. or Ranger or Delta. The real deal operators are NOT huge balls of c*mbersome muscle. Granted, there are some that are bug. but NEVER close to Arnie or Ventura! They stay lean, quick, and maintain high stamina. In a fight on the mats, size matters. When youre running, gunning, climbing, dragging, lifting, and on top of this might have to fight another at least semi trained individual for your life, YOU WANT TO BE LEAN AND LONG WINDED! Not JACKED! I work with some ex SF guys and they are built EXACTLY like Brody!
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:18:15 PM

@lawman - well said.

In addition... a post above said it well. Predator fans want to see beef-cakes like Arnie, and Ventura dish out some mano-a-alien sh*t on the big screen.

Brody is understated... I like that about him, and have no worries he can pull anything off.

I think we're all just having Arnie withdrawals!
lawman writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:43:48 PM

Ranger>>>> I know what you mean. There was something very MANLY MAN about Arnie blasting away with the M16 on Predator or Venture with the Mini-gun.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:52:55 PM

"i think we're all just having Arnie withdrawals!"

i've been that way since he quit acting ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:53:56 PM

although it is smarts that beats the Predator, Arnie couldn't have done it without being ripped.

if he was Brody (whom i do not care if he's ripped or not) it would be 'game over' ("game over man!game over"!) because he probably wouldn't be able to lift that huge log to crush the Predator in the end ... of course he could have done it some other way ...

i just have my fingers crossed that this will stay true to Predator 1 & 2 and not end up all AVP-ish (you all know what i mean ...)
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:52:14 PM

@Lawman - yeah... the mini-gun. Hollywood counting on most of the audience that it takes the generating power of a jet turbine (Huey, or fighter jets) to power one. I guess Ventura had the turbine jammed up his ass because he wasn't a 'Slack-jaw'd faggot!' lol.
ardentious writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:01:50 AM

block-ops soldier? Don't you mean Black-Ops? There's a lot of grammatical errors on this site that have me questioning the calibre of this site!
darkraven28 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 4:07:03 PM

Flick is gonna rooooooooooooooockk!!!

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved