WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 1st, 2014
Why Joaquin Phoenix May Pass on "Doctor Strange" Offer
Sep 1st, 2014
Video: Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Sep 1st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Remains First at Box Office, New Releases Underperform
Aug 31st, 2014
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014
Aug 31st, 2014
Michael Bay Developing "Cosmic Motors" Futuristic Car Film, Based on Art Book
Aug 31st, 2014
Trailer for "Exists" Bigfoot Horror Film, From "The Blair Witch Project" Director
Aug 31st, 2014
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Adrien Brody Put on Muscle and Quit Sex for "Predators"

Posted: March 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Adrien Brody Put on Muscle and Quit Sex for "Predators"Submit Comment
During a press conference at SXSW for the upcoming "Predators" remake, Adrien Brody talked about the changes he had to make to play Royce, a block-ops soldier brought to an alien planet to be hunted.

"I put on 25 pounds for this role," said Brody. "That wasn't the point. They didn't hire me to be a bodybuilder. I'm not a bodybuilder, but I felt in order to be playful with it as well I shouldn't be strapped. It's not the physical strength that outsmarts an alien with energy-based weapons and high tracking skills and a culture of hunting and trophy hunting. You have to outsmart them."

He also talked about his preparation methods. "My nightly ritual was like poring over survival manuals and military and paramilitary training books," said Brody. "I was reading Sun Tzu, I was studying meditation, I was on a very strict diet, I wasn't drinking, I wasn't eating sugar, I wasn't having sex. I was very focused. I had to kind of go there, for me, because this is a tremendous opportunity for me."

Click here to read more about "Predators."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:26:39 PM

And after all that he still looks like an average bloke with a massive nose.

I'll still probably watch this, but just imagine having a cast like in The Expendables for this.
SeWerin writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:46:14 PM

Agree, with you ari.

On the other hand, like anyone would want to have sex with Brody...
Kurskij writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:05:28 PM

What the f*ck is with that "no sex" thing?

Ok, Adrien, I understand you for not having sex while filming The Pianist - it was worth it, it was understandable. But not to have sex while filming Predators?

Have you seen Jesse Ventura in the original? Have you seen Arnie?

Each looked like he had 10 chicks on a d*ck while wrecking sh*t and playing billiard with other peoples heads and still called it a boring weekday.
Chewbacca writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:19:02 PM

Adrien Brody is a skilled actor in my opinion. Yeah he has a big nose and he might not seem to fit the role as a mercenary but I respect him as an actor for taking the role seriously. He's a great actor, and it might not seem like Predators is such a good career choice lol but if he's working hard and not just for the paycheck then I think he deserves some credit.
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:25:44 PM

dylen!!!you son of a bitch!!!

Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:27:08 PM

Get to da Chop-pa!!!!
Montana writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:27:39 PM

i quite like him....
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:28:46 PM

Put on muscle? What... he didn't blow his nose for 3 days?

And the 'Semen Retention Plan' doesn't work (as Robert Blake called it years ago on The Tonight Show with Carson) - at least I don't believe it works, I won't try it.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:30:20 PM

And making the nose joke doesn't mean I'm not a fan of his acting. I like the guy a lot.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:55:35 PM

see this why Heath Ledger ruled as the Joker, study and hard work on your own time without anybody asking it of you, that's the way to go.

i'm starting to like this guy ...

let's hope he doesn't O.D. ...
AshTrey writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:58:17 PM

relax brody... its just the predator.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:06:16 PM

@encore - I like Brody. He doesn't have the 'classical good-looks' or bod, so he has to make it on talent. I liked him in Hollywoodland.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:16:44 PM

"so he has to make it on talent"

if only more people became actors because of talent ... not because they can rap/suck d*ck/'sing' or otherwise ...


nope.com writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:19:50 PM

maybe it's time the Academy starts taking away awards if you continue to have a crap career after you win one... amirite Adrien Brody? Halle Berry?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:24:07 PM

Well his gonna be disappointed if people hail him with a sh*tload of criticism for this role...

Shoulda had nailed the chick IMO
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:44:19 PM

So this fag quit sex? All those poor guys who went unpenetrated.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:10:18 PM

"We're a rescue team not assasins"

Good on the man to do this, he knew when RR asked him to do it he was setting himself up to be ripped apart, so I'm going to give him a go because just as Ranger and Encore saying the has got talent and is at least making an effort.
borat writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:51:00 PM

sh*t i practiced this method all through high school
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:38:49 PM

Brody looks like the low end of muscle mass in real world operators. Someone with some skill that makes up for not being big. That being said, this is a MOVIE!!! I want juiced up wrecking machines zinging out one liners as they march towards failed careers as governor. But he's a good actor so I'll give this film a chance.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:27:01 AM

If not having sex makes you bad-ass, then Half the people on this site could kick the entire cast of The Expendables asses at once.
moods_001 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:53:18 AM

Brody was having sex in first place? From my knowledge you should have sex before you can quit it.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:27:55 AM

He was counting his hand.
lost_addict writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:56:55 AM

whats the matter?The CIA got you pushing too many pencils?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:33:18 AM

"This makes Cambodia look like Kansas"

"If you lose it here you're in a world of hurt"
VDODSON writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:22:25 AM

Unlike most on this site, I'm a fan of Brody. He killed it in The Pianist/Cadillac records.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:49:06 AM

Thought he did ok in King Kong too , bit of action a few monsters in that and this does look pretty good sofar..

"Jeez you got a big p*ssy. Jeez you got a big p*ssy." She said, "Why did you say that twice ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 5:21:32 AM

"Stick around"
SACdaddy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:22:30 AM

You gotta like Brody. Great actor, cool person (training with RZA to become a hip hop producer), and not just another pretty face. I hated him for a minute after he molested Halle at the Oscars, but then I realized I would have done the same thing (probably worse). He's always gone all out for his craft (you should hear his routine for The Jacket), but always seems to maintain his sanity and charm when the job's done unlike many other method actors.

@Encoreface: "see this why Heath Ledger ruled as the Joker, study and hard work on your own time without anybody asking it of you, that's the way to go."

Its called Method acting. Heath was good at it, but he didn't know his own limits and he paid the price. "Becoming" a character can be very dangerous and damaging to an actor's real persona. Guys like DeNiro, Kilmer, Warren Beatty, and Bale are widely recognized as Method actors, but its no coincidence that they're also widely known for their radical mood swings, eccentric nature, and difficulties on the set. That's why I respect guys like Brody who can attack a role with the same dedication as these others but never lose site of who they really are. Did I mention Brody does all of this while only getting paid like $2-4 mill a movie (yes even after his Oscar)?
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 7:37:29 AM

hes gonna stick his big nose in the predators p*ssy mouth ;}
lost_addict writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:48:54 AM

Take it easy on yourself,dutch...
ChadRo writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:42:10 AM

Dumbass - the more sex you have the more testostorone your body produces. The exact opposite of "No Sex before the big fight" old wive's tale is actually true.

No matter what this guy does he is a nancy boy with a big nose.
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:30:39 AM

@sac-damn only 2-4 million, julia roberts gets that for just sneezing and she was in that terrible duplicity movie
lawman writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:38:42 AM

Brody looks more like special forces than ANYONE in the first predator movie or most movies where a huge guy is a S.E.A.L. or Ranger or Delta. The real deal operators are NOT huge balls of c*mbersome muscle. Granted, there are some that are bug. but NEVER close to Arnie or Ventura! They stay lean, quick, and maintain high stamina. In a fight on the mats, size matters. When youre running, gunning, climbing, dragging, lifting, and on top of this might have to fight another at least semi trained individual for your life, YOU WANT TO BE LEAN AND LONG WINDED! Not JACKED! I work with some ex SF guys and they are built EXACTLY like Brody!
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:18:15 PM

@lawman - well said.

In addition... a post above said it well. Predator fans want to see beef-cakes like Arnie, and Ventura dish out some mano-a-alien sh*t on the big screen.

Brody is understated... I like that about him, and have no worries he can pull anything off.

I think we're all just having Arnie withdrawals!
lawman writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:43:48 PM

Ranger>>>> I know what you mean. There was something very MANLY MAN about Arnie blasting away with the M16 on Predator or Venture with the Mini-gun.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:52:55 PM

"i think we're all just having Arnie withdrawals!"

i've been that way since he quit acting ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 6:53:56 PM

although it is smarts that beats the Predator, Arnie couldn't have done it without being ripped.

if he was Brody (whom i do not care if he's ripped or not) it would be 'game over' ("game over man!game over"!) because he probably wouldn't be able to lift that huge log to crush the Predator in the end ... of course he could have done it some other way ...

i just have my fingers crossed that this will stay true to Predator 1 & 2 and not end up all AVP-ish (you all know what i mean ...)
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 9:52:14 PM

@Lawman - yeah... the mini-gun. Hollywood counting on most of the audience that it takes the generating power of a jet turbine (Huey, or fighter jets) to power one. I guess Ventura had the turbine jammed up his ass because he wasn't a 'Slack-jaw'd faggot!' lol.
ardentious writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:01:50 AM

block-ops soldier? Don't you mean Black-Ops? There's a lot of grammatical errors on this site that have me questioning the calibre of this site!
darkraven28 writes:
on March 18th, 2010 at 4:07:03 PM

Flick is gonna rooooooooooooooockk!!!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved