WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christian Bale Almost Played Superman in "Batman vs Superman"

Posted: March 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christian Bale Almost Played Superman in "Batman vs Superman"Submit Comment
Back in 2003, before Bryan Singer's "Superman Returns" and Christopher Nolan's "Batman Begins," director Wolfgang Petersen (Perfect Storm, Outbreak) was set to helm "Batman vs Superman," a big-budget film that set two of the biggest DC Comics' superheroes against each other.

Now, MTV News has caught up with Petersen who revealed that Christian Bale (The Dark Knight) was among the two actors he met for the role of Superman, with Josh Harnett being the second candidate.

“It was pretty close,” Petersen said about the movie. “And then the studio got a single Superman script I think from JJ Abrams at that time, and [Warner Bros chief] Alan Horn was so torn – because it’s such a fascinating concept to do a Batman versus Superman film. But the studio decided to try separate version of Superman and Batman, and then maybe think about down the road if you want to bring them together in one film.”

The director added that the studio wanted to keep him on board and thus offered him another project, "Troy."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KoJay writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:24:34 PM

WOW
Ari Gold writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:31:31 PM

What ever happened to Josh Hartnett his whole 5mins in Sin City was pretty decent. I didn't mind Lucky Number Slevin either.
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:21:04 PM

it would be funny if bale play superman as well using the same funny voice from batman...
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:24:50 PM

Yeah...

'Well go ahead Zod... make my day!'
thedotsays writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:25:01 PM

The world wasn't and never will be ready for a Batman vs Superman film. This would have failed.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:31:50 PM

I think so too.

They haven't gotten Supes right on film (like they have Batman).

So, this is a story about an almost director talking about his almost casting huh?

Zzzzzz...

I almost f*cked Megan Fox in the butt this am before coffee... butt, didn't.
AshTrey writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:47:30 PM

I've been saying it. This is gonna happen before 2015. I dont think they will be versus each other, but as soon as Avengers comes out.. this won't be far behind.
BigUnit writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:51:03 PM

does anyone know what ever happend to the movie the was sappose to come out starring christain bale called the assassination of pablo escobar?
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:56:34 PM

Oh they killed that idea (see what I did there?).

Nothing on IMDB about Pablo.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:01:10 PM

for one thing it is good that this film didn't wash, it would have been to soon in '03, you'd probably need plenty of tech for a film like this ...

also they need to to do a decent Superman movie first ...

and my personal opinion is they should never do this film almost any way you cut it it'll be corny even for a super-hero movie ...
OneTime writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:05:37 PM

are they f*ckin stupid...who the hell do you think is going to win this fight...hmmmm i wonder..a rich kid in a mask ..or an alien from another planet.....

add some kryptonite and u have just another stupid and predictable superman movie...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:07:43 PM

@Onetime-i believe Batman has beaten Superman on several occasions, he always has kryptonite on him.

in fact he has a plan to take the whole f*cking JLA down ...
thedotsays writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:21:02 PM

Lol Ranger, man I hate "almost" stories...

Oh and a gift sir.

http://nymag.com/fashion/08/spring/lindsay-as-marilyn/index1.html

J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:32:48 PM

Erm inaccuracies WP

The film was called 'World's Finest' written by Andrew Walker with revisions by Akiva Goldsman, and Synder was helm to direct, about Wolfgang Peterson my arse.

Screenplay was off the chain though, shame it never got made.

And for the information World's Finest is not a verseus between Batman & Superman but a team-up, although throught the comic franchise they have had the one or 2 odd scuffles which involves kyrptonite.

:)
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:33:45 PM

@Dot - thx. Bro. (I've seen them before... but thx. anyway).

Ques: did she sell her tits for crack?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:34:16 PM

I agree with TheDotSays...

Getting a World's Finest screenplay perfect could be a spectacular set-up for a JLA movie
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:34:59 PM

For clarity: not in the Marilyn Monroe shoot... she looks fine there. I mean nowadays... where'd her tits go?! I know about losing body fat and all will suckage up the boobage... but criminey!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:36:55 PM

And I almost played Green Lantern til they discovered I was Mexican.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:37:59 PM

@ Big Unit

It got cancelled, the producer somehow went bankrupt which led to Joe Carnahan dropping the projecting and pursuing other ones
But you can find the screenplay online
the_dude writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:03:34 PM

That's interesting man, that's f*cking intresting... I remember when they mentioned Josh Hartnett turned down like a 60 million dollar deal for a Superman trilogy... And that Christian Bale was supposed to be Robin in Batman Forever... Funny how things turn out. I think someone's nuts were cut off for casting Hartnett in Hollywood Homicide and they panicked ever hiring him again... I really hope Christopher Nolan picks Jon Hamm to play Superman, there is no substitute...
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:58:40 PM

More details here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Superman_(film_series)#Batman_vs._Superman
oklahomaer writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:39:16 PM

sweet im winning corey haim's used toothbrush. it has his dna on it. so what im going to do is create a whole army of washed up corey haim's i need a general for the troops so im working on getting something with val kilmer's dna on it.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:45:05 PM

Extra notes on the toothbrush (no joke) - the ad goes on to say: "seller added the following information:

There is still a little bit of old toothpaste stuck in the ridges above the handle."

Oi!
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:46:27 PM

Q: Will his toothbrush infact have his DNA on it? Did he use it?
A: Yes, This is his personal used toothbrush that he autographed there is still old toothpaste stuck in the ridges above the handle
Mar 14, 2010

Q: hey there im a big corey fan. so big i was even on the tv show with both of em! is this the same company that once tried selling his tooth? if so, do you still have it cause ill buy it off ya! thanks j
A: I Purchased this toothbrush from the company Startifacts They were the company that owned the tooth. I bid on the tooth but the auction was removed due to ebay violation cant sell body parts.



Like... come on people!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:56:52 PM

@Oklahomer

I got an idea, to create an army, just gather together all of the allegations and confirmations for the amounts of times Nicholas Cage has been sued.
Your be ready to take on a nation :D
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:57:51 PM

@ Ranger

Does the toothbrush come with drugs?

:D
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:00:27 PM

I don't think the morons bidding on it need any.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:05:42 PM

Well that's because they are all Lost Boys, Ranger

Next Up
Wesley Snipes takes it up the pipe :D
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:07:44 PM

"Blade sells-off his kitchen knives to pay off cutting back-taxes!"
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:17:45 PM

And to further news while it has been confirmed George does lick Bush.

It has been notified that Nicholas Cage is now homeless as his Rolls Royce Home was removed and clamp yesterday in the early hours of the morning and he has been fined yet again
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:43:42 PM

LOL! Get this - now someone registered a domain 'COREYHAIMRIP.COM' and is asking $30K for it on eBay.

1. What does someone think anyone would use that domain for? It's not Elvis died (no offense to Haim fans - but even an ElvisRIP domain would be stupid!).

2. Domains cost about $10. a year to maintain.

Meanwhile...re: Batman vs. Superman - of course the story is of Supes being reduced to human power. Bats would win hands down... duh!
rabid writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:02:02 AM

Batman has repeatedly kicked Superman's ass many times over in the comics. Batman will always win that fight because brawn is no match for a tactical brain.
I hope to see this on the screen someday, but I'm fine with the World's Finest movie that just came out. It was excellent, and Lex Luthor works so much better as the President of the USA.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:43:36 AM

Bale was going to be Supes that's nothing check out IDBM Superman Returns and see who was going to be Superman, I garuntee you will all be like "what the f***!!!!!"
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:09:36 AM

Thought they both good guys anyway so why do they need to fight each other ????????
Did batman say superman had a small d*ck or something ??? (joke) ;)
BrandoFresh writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:36:39 AM

Whatever, just cast SOMEONE. I thought this was supposed to be done by March 1st, Joe!!??
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:17:05 AM

would be a short movie kryptonite punch and superman would run back home like a sissy
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:58:23 PM

... with his cape between his legs.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved