WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Phillippe Considered for "Captain America"?

Posted: March 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Phillippe Considered for "Captain America"?Submit Comment
It was recently reported that Marvel expanded its search for the actor to play the lead in "The First Avenger: Captain America." And apparently, the studio keeps expanding.

At this point, actors Mike Vogel (Cloverfield), Garret Hedlund (Tron Legacy, Troy), Chris Evans (Fantastic Four), and Wilson Bethel ("The Young and the Restless") are all being considered. And HitFix has now learned that Ryan Phillippe (Flags of Our Fathers, Crash) has been added to the list as well.

While Phillippe may have the all-American look, the actor is already 35-years-old and is only 5'9 feet tall. Stay tuned for Marvel's final decision, which hopefully will come before the film hits theaters on July 22nd, 2011.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: HitFix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 72 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KoJay writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:25:21 PM

Ok now this is Captain America!!! No doubt the best of the crop.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:58:51 PM

f*ck u KoJay
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:58:53 PM

f*ck u KoJay
Kurskij writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:01:17 PM

Hedlung or Evans. Philippe is a decent actor, and he got to bang Reese Witherspoon at her prime... most likely mouthass... but he is not Cap.

Kudos for wrecking that chick before Jake got there though.
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:06:40 PM

Thought the list for the part was meant to be getting shorter......
Whitta writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:17:20 PM

why is every man and his dog up for the part of Captain America?!? pick a guy and make the f*ckin thing already
Montana writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:21:00 PM

Ewww no thanks. Ever seen him act? GASH!
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:22:36 PM

no
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:26:08 PM

@Kursk - you're priceless my friend.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:38:57 PM

Stay tuned for Marvel's final decision, which hopefully will come before the film hits theaters on July 22nd, 2011.

No sh*t!
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:40:35 PM

I've said it before folks, that $300K pay cap and worse yet... that 9 movie forced, time/career consuming, fixed-pay 'option' they're trying to contract a lead under is screwing up this project as bad as the Director's resume.
AshTrey writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:51:44 PM

I'm actually being considered for Captain america movie... so is my sister. I HATE THIS MOVIE ALREADY. PICK SOMEONE. THMAKE UP YOUR MIND... THIS STUDIO IS WORSE THAN BRETT FAVRE WHEN IT COMES TO MAKIN DECESIONS.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:58:29 PM

well they started with as list of six that was supposed to be decided on the f*cking 1st, it is now the 15th. what the f*ck Marvel, stop adding new people and put on Mike Vogel already, he's the best choice ...
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:10:03 PM

Pick someone before Coleman throws his hat into the ring!
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:10:28 PM

Wat'cho talkn' 'bout Red Skull?!
KoJay writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:21:31 PM

@ kidmerchantfourth5665

Ok now this is Captain America!!! No doubt the best of the crop.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:26:57 PM

Ok can we just quit it with these f*cking casting assumptions, sh*t.

And just tell us whose the cap...

This crap is getting about as annoying as James Cameron's ego and the hype for his blooming films.

FYI to marvel, make Captain America, blue and 3D and F it LMAO
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:32:04 PM

4 bids thus far on Haim's used toothbrush on eBay.

WTF?!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:41:13 PM

Marvel seems to be cheap and I don't think they'll caugh up the money for this f*cker. It's funny how Marvel bought robert Downey jr a bently as a gift, but, according to rumors, are only gonna pay whoever plays CA 300 grand
D.O.C. writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:41:35 PM

I would go with Ryan Phillippe or Garrett Hedlund.
D.O.C. writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:42:37 PM

Matter fact Tobey Maguire is only 5'7 and played Spiderman.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:43:12 PM

Idk about this I'm just gonna sit in idle cause everything is speculation and nothing is set in stone
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:43:33 PM

@ Johnny_Boy

"It's all part of the plan"

Get cheap arse actors (Who ever the f*ck play Cap & whoever replaces Hulk) & some top class A actors (RDJ, dude playing Thor) for when they shoot the Avengers movie
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:44:12 PM

Idk about this I'm just gonna sit in idle cause everything is speculation and nothing is set in stone but kudos for keeping us guessing...we all complain but that's just the nature of the beast...we all love it
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:04:29 PM

@ JA.... Yeah your right, I was thinking that as well. My point is they spend bunch of unnecessary money like a $200,000 car as a gift. I'm glad they are helping unknowns become big. They need to save up money and stop wasting cuz the avengers movie ain't gonna be cheap
the_dude writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:14:28 PM

Considering an aborted fetus has better acting chops than this guy, I really hope that they could do better than this. I know this casting has a lotta ins and a lotta outs... But I have a feeling after Marvel had Tom Cruise for Iron Man at one point the longer we wait the better... By the way didn't Clint Eastwood kick this guys ass on the set of Flags of Our Fathers for gaying up his version of Saving Private Ryan? Too bad he never banged the ditz out of Reese otherwise I'd say Jake and her had a real shot...
CCBlev writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:25:46 PM

My hopes are now way down for this movie, Hugo Weaving is the only good I've seen so far, I have no faith in Johnston directing and they can't even choose Cap America yet.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:31:40 PM

It takes time ccblev. You don't want them pulling a Brett ratner and rushing this thing f*cking it up. I'm sure marvel has this guy in check. Hell, they made him take a pay cut
CCBlev writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:45:26 PM

@johnnyboy
very true, but I'm just starting to lose hope thats all, I'm figuring they'll cast Cap America at the last second now half-assed
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:00:14 PM

@Johnny Boy

Well its, production budget logic, but that's just in my sense.
But look at this way, Marvel is making the carving stone for tomorrow's talent because the way these actors & actresses are dropping off like flies on sh*t, were gonna need some new talent soon.
Oh and you so now know that budget is gonna be massive.
How many bet wanna take place the first production news we hear about The Avengers, before they confirm the official cast is...

AVENGERS TO BE FILMED IN 3D.

J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:02:48 PM

@CCBlev

I actually agree with you on your topic, so far Hugo Weaving is the best thing going for this movie so far.

And all be fair, i starting losing faith for this film once that announced Joe Johnston is directing, his like Ratner's protege.

And to note and clairify the fact i am a comic book fan, but just not a Captain America fan
johnny_boy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:05:43 PM

@ JA.... Ah man, why you gotta say 3d? Now you got me more worried.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:11:08 PM

To stay on topic with Hugo Weaving....

"It is inevitable."

We all know its gonna happen eventually...After all Avengers is the biggest comic cash-cow movie in history.

That is until Batman 3 which i pray to God, doesn't have a D in it.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:17:08 PM

I think if there still looking for cap. And haven't cast him yet its because they want the right actor for the job..witch I applaud..as the rest of you I am a comic fan and I want this too do well(but done correctly)

Or this could all be like ranger said there looking for a better director
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:20:31 PM

It depends on if 3d is still big in two years I pray it isn't
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:21:58 PM

@ Skatemaster
I doubt a better director, i mean majority of directors are superior than Johnston.

And for your actor theory...It's just the one that will write their name on a contract for 300 grand, to play one of the biggest comic heroes in comic book history.
But here is the flaw, no actor's that stupid enough, because they know the prices of these jobs
Matiax writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:34:31 PM

AH f*ck! Just pick somebody!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:38:46 PM

Yes but if its 300 grand for each film pluss lickness rights for action figures, video games, and so on, he'll make a nice chunk of change, I highly doudt there gonna say 300 grand for nine films...its probably 300 grand per film with possibility of re renegotiations depending on how well the film does
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:47:01 PM

Since when was Captain America contracted to be in 9 films?
I know apparently Sam Jackson is as Nick Fury...

I doubt they will give him profit and gross of the merchandise, that stuff makes bundles of cash.
Although re-negotiations do sound reasonable, Since Avengers will be the biggest Superhero film alongside TDK.

I just have this bad feeling and i see The Avengers Movie falling flat on its face in pre-production or production hell...
Justice League hit the same stone and it seems like its happening to Avengers, but maybe that's just me...
Let hope i am wrong
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:55:11 PM

You know I might have been mistaken on the 9 films part, and its still the actors likness so I would expect they get some profit from merchandice

As for The Avengers...I don't see that happening justice league as you know is dc and they had been walking around with there heads up there asses when it came to transporting there properties to films(hence why we only got sup's and bats films) but there starting to come around. But if IM2 Thor and CA do well avengers will be epic
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:02:45 PM

Couldn't agree more Skatemaster.

Although to the contary, i though it would have taken DC quicker to realise they own a company called Vertigo, one of the best comic companies out there.

I see Iron Man 2, doing extremely well.

Thor and C.A i see being filmed or converted in 3D to grasp more money, since Thor is not that well of a mainstream comic character.

I guess were have to wait and see for Avengers
CCBlev writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:04:02 PM

@Ja
I'm glad I'm not the only one, they got this huge plan laid out for an Avengers movie, Awesome if it happens, I'll be there to see it but something tells me it won't happen, something will go wrong and it'l;l be stuck in development hell, by the time its gets around to being made all the movies will be in the process of being rebooted.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:05:03 PM

I agree j.a.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:05:40 PM

@J.A. - yeah, that 9-movie, tie-up the actor to be at their disposal was posted a while ago. Between that stifling contract, the crap $300K, I'd be hard pressed for they to offer-up any merchandising $'s. That is sometimes their biggest source of income (as it was for Star Wars - nice that income isn't predictable nor out of the Producer's pocket if it is being offered).

Hugo Weaving is the only good thing about this movie so far. The rest they're shopping around to bits and pieces at Walmart it seems.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:12:14 PM

@ CCBlev

That will be when i feel its due time to reboot everything, alongside my veteran fans...

And if Avengers does happen and you see someone slapping people with a Captain America shield to get a ticket...That will be me :)

But i know how you feel, on it...The same kind of plan was laid out for JLA, and look where that is, same went for Freddy Vs Jason, and kind of for World's Finest (Batman Vs Superman)

Despite its a completely different genre its a example of what happens when you attempt to merge franchises together.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:14:09 PM

@ Ranger

Couldn't agree more, merchandise is a massive source of income, which is why i don't see any actor getting some gross/profit out of it.

Last actor that did that got more cash than he was contracted to do the job for, lol.
If i remember correctly i think it was Tobey Macguire for Spiderman
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:31:13 PM

Thanks ranger I knew I was right about the 9 picture deal
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:48:08 PM

Yeah... it's killing their choices it seems. The only reason they're even getting any actors to read for this is because of the iconic stature of playing 'Captain America.'

Unless (I go back to) we're being smoke-screened on all this news and they're still just bullsh*tting us.

They're using the casting agents that cast the movie 'Crash'.

And I'd be the least surprised if Joe Johnston gets pulled from this.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 12:09:43 AM

Better actor than ll the other options...but still all wrong for the role. I could've bought him as like Bruce Banner or Matt Murdock, though.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:31:04 AM

@J.A- Yes Toby got a good deal on the Spider-Man gig but Jack Nicholson got the best deal on Batman.

Robin Williams was considered for the role of The Joker; he would later be considered for The Riddler as well. Jack Nicholson got the role of The Joker but demanded top-billing and a lucrative deal that gave him royalties on all merchandise.

Jack Nicholson received a percentage of the gross on the film, and due to its massive box-office took home around $60 million. As of 2003 it is still the single-movie record for actor's salary.

Also in his contract it said that if they made a sequel he would get paid $25mil.

not bad eh?
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 1:59:59 AM

@dave
Not bad at all brother...not bad at all...saw this hot chick tomight was wearing a low cut dress she bent over a bit and I was seeing panty city...best night ever
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:08:21 AM

@trailer- did she give you a vertical smile? or did you get to see fur and early morning dew? maybe just a glance of her whispiring eye?
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:11:13 AM

Nah she was wearing panties so I didn't get to see anny of the goods. That just doesn't happen very often
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:13:02 AM

sorry above comment for skate not trailer

DAMN I GOT TO STOP DOING CHRYSTAL METH!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:15:09 AM

shame damn shame, did she have the kind of curves you want to suck on for a day?
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:17:29 AM

It just doesn't happen where a girls dress as low as it was rides up just enough to show her panty coverd ass
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:21:13 AM

Its cool dave as long as you don't disgrace me by putting coc vindandy neo(nazi) or any other then were cool brother...and to answer your question yes yes she did I almost took her right there and then
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:29:00 AM

@skate, cheers mate honest mistake eh, don't worry never will put you in that bracket, been reading your posts and you have made some good points and arguments.

well sometimes it is better to conceal than reveal, I've seen girls in an outfit that made them look so god damn sexy it was unreal.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:29:13 AM

I couldve sucked them tities for days my friend
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:35:54 AM

@dave
Honestly bro don't even sweat about it you would know if I was pissed I've read your post and you make well thought points and ideas....cheers mate....I would agree its better to conceal that little mystery some girls today just have everything out in the open(where it is hot and sexy and would get any man going) the mystery is better...gives us guys something to strive for all I'm saying not always a good idea to look like a slut
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:38:00 AM

If she was your mother you would'nt stop breast feeding till you were 17 eh?
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:40:38 AM

17? Try 30 bro haha I'd suck em dry hot little hispanic/white chick
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:42:26 AM

Then bend her over and make her deserve
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:44:17 AM

@skater hahahahahahahhahaha

Incest, don't knock it till you've tried it.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:46:10 AM

@dave hahahahahahahaahahaaha

Amen brother
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:47:50 AM

Haha how about incest threesome
Mother and your hot ass older or younger sister
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:20:19 AM

mmmmmm let's think about that for a moment....

could you imagine tho if you did have some really fit sister haha

damn these fuddy duddys and their stuck up ways.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:07:49 AM

Just reading some old info on Superman Returns and saw this- Will Smith was offered the role of Superman/Clark Kent but declined, saying: "You mess up white peoples' heroes in Hollywood, you'll never work in this town again!"- Just hope not only Hollywood but Will Smith himself heeds this advice.
ChadRo writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:30:16 AM

Worst so far
ChadRo writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 10:38:07 AM

@Dave - Will Smith learned that lesson quick after he took on the role for his worst movie to date in Wild, Wild, West.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:40:22 PM

That he gave playing Neo in The Matrix to do.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:27:10 AM

Got other news on Superman Returns, if Rtner had directed it Beyonce would have been Lois Lane, so just think guys no matter how bad Supes was at least it did'nt have Boyonce in it!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved