WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" Begins Filming Today, Expands Cast

Posted: March 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" Begins Filming Today, Expands CastSubmit Comment
"Green Lantern" is set to begin filming this week in New Orleans, with Ryan Reynolds starring as Hal Jordan, the test pilot who comes to wear the super-powered ring of the interplanetary police force known as the Green Lantern Corps.

THR is now reporting that New Zealand Taika Waititi (Eagle vs Shark) and Temuera Morrison (Jango Fett in "Star Wars") have joined the cast, which also includes Blake Lively, Peter Sarsgaard, Mark Strong and Tim Robbins. Waititi will play the best friend of Hal Jordan, while Morrison will play Abin Sur, a member fo the Corps who is instrumental in Jordan becoming the superhero.

The new 3D film is being directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) and is scheduled to hit theaters on June 17th, 2011.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:48:51 AM

Captain Planet was more badass than Ryan in that mock up picture.
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:18:37 AM

van lantern
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:25:34 AM

I say why don't they just all STFU and bring me World's Finest written by Christopher Nolan.

The JLA build-up could be so epic, but off all people why the blooming heck would you cast Reynolds as GL, when he is more suited for the Flash
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:37:46 AM

All I want is Blake Lively looking hot as f*ck as she always does.

Oh and I like Ryan Reynolds.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:52:02 AM

a few comic book movies go well and hollywood goes nuts. in the last few years i've heard of plans to make almost every comic book i can remember a movie, i think this has gone too far. am i the only one that feels this way or am i just f*cked in the head?? second thought, dont answer that.
VDODSON writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:17:50 AM

If anything, we need more comic book movies. Now if they can make Lobo/Dr Strange/Black Panther/Bouncing Lad/Archie, I can rest happily.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:21:36 AM

Can't wait to on set pictures/clips... keep it coming WP! I've been excited for Green Latern for awhile now!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:26:49 AM

Your not the only one Vlad.

Not all comics or games should be adapted to screen, but they should be carefully planned, and the people creating the film should be fans of the source material, and stop changing stuff, the big thing to remember is the auidence is the fan-base.
And well if your not pleasing them then where is your auidence, but then again fans are bitches to please
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:27:20 AM

can't wait to SEE*
johncarter writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:01:45 AM

Green Lantern is filming at Old Point Bar in New Orleans starting on Mon:
http://www.onlocationvacations.com/2010/03/14/green-lantern-filming-location-for-3-15-10-in-new-orleans/
VDODSON writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:49:42 AM

I thought New Orleans was still flooded, what the hells going on?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:02:55 AM

I'll wait for the trailer to give my opinion of Mr. Reynolds in this role. So far the picture above isn't swaying me.
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:34:10 AM

i just CAN'T eat this gay/actor of Ryan R. he is the same d*ckhead in all his movies he could be a good flash but GL no way put some color bring a black actor i like more the john stuart character!
tcu21 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:37:40 AM

Ryan Reynolds has obviously been touched by God. Evidence:

He's playing two superheroes
He's played Van Wilder
Married to Scarlett Johanssen

Need I say more?

I am looking forward to this movie, but probably looking forward to "Buried" more.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:37:29 AM

I think Reynolds does a great job with what he is given , and I am really looking forward to this one.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:40:00 AM

Hope this becomes DC'S "IRON MAN"...without RDJ, who knows.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:42:36 AM

Did someone drain New Atlantis yet? It's good they shootin' it there. Give the city some dollars and help some folks out. Good Call, WB.
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:50:57 AM

Since we're talking about superheroes and comic book adaptations, whatever happened to Megan Fox's Fathom? I hate that bitch, but this picture from the comic book makes me want to see the movie - http://www.worstpreviews.com/images/headlines/headline13442.jpg
SACdaddy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:11:02 PM

@Trueman: I'm with you. If Reynolds didn't have the 8 Minute Abs he would never be cast for anything somewhat serious. He's just another Hollywood flavor of the month with ok talent being force fed to the public. But that's the great thing about the Green Lantern character. There's like 4 or 5 GLs so you can change the star whenever you want. When RRs flame fizzles out (shortly after the Deadpool bombs) they'll have no problem replacing him with a real actor like Will Smith, John Hamm, Idris Elba, or Timothy Olyphant.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:30:51 PM

Random Thought of the day:

I wish Google Maps had an "Avoid Ghetto" routing option.

billofill writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:49:44 PM

I thought Ironman was Marvel's Batman Begins you know cause it was almost beat for beat a rip off of that and Robocop 2.
Matiax writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:53:56 PM

Great news!

@Barney: Megan Fox Fathom? Where did you read that?
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:07:38 PM

@AF - well said (as usual), if done right this would be DC's - Iron Man.

GL was always one of my favorite characters. I hope they go OVERBOARD and show off his abilities (as compared to a certain planet-moving capable Krypton that basically guards one city and has a boner for a game-playing, bitchy reporter).
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:10:05 PM

@Matiax - It was news here like a year ago. Nothing has happened since.

Here's the link - http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=14464
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:11:47 PM

Another Random thought (my theme for the day)
More often than not, when someone is telling me a story all I can think about is that I can't wait for them to finish so that I can tell my own story
that's not only better, but also more directly involves me.
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:22:54 PM

Offtopic - I just took all the Twilight quizzes that WP has and even completing them makes my head hurt and wants me to kill Stephanie Meyer.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:25:37 PM

Since I'm not very familiar with the character, I'm not that psyched for this yet. But I like the casting and the director, so it might change when I see some footage.

@SAC: Nice to see someone else showing some love for Timothy Olyphant.
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:30:21 PM

I'm psyched for the new FX show starring Timothy Olyphant that's gonna start soon. It's called Justified and so far it's gotten great advanced reviews.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:02:49 PM

The letters T and G are very close to each other on a keyboard. This recently became all too apparent to me and consequently I will never be ending a work email with the phrase "Regards" again.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:15:21 PM

The only 'expansion' I'm up for seeing on this film is me inside of Scarlett Jo.
Fettmanuno writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:20:48 PM

I'm still not buying RR as GL Hal Jordan.
I think he would've made a better Wally West (Flash)if DC had decided to go in that direction...as I thought they once were.
I'll hold my reservations about this one until more production details are revealed.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:43:09 PM

A bit off topic: Apparently Ryan Philippe is in the run for Captain America.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:44:55 PM

@Freud I hope that is just rumor.
eddie499 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:00:51 PM

@ Jeff and Freudian - I hope that's a rumor. A Phillippe and Johnston CA might make this CA worse than the 1990 version. Didn't think that would be possible.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:05:34 PM

The CA news has quietened down quite a bit lately.

I wonder if they really are punting Joe Johnston?

And as for their $ saving tactics offering only $300K for the lead role... we all know Hugo Weaving wasn't cheap to get. Granted he won't be in all the CA/Avengers (most likely only in the first CA movie)... but we're either being mislead... or this thing is being screwed up as bad as it's looking.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:14:55 PM

Is it just me, or are 80% of the people in the "people you may know" feature on Facebook people that I do know, but I deliberately choose not to be friends with?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:43:26 PM

Yeah, it's starting to look really bad. Johnston had to the 1st of May to choose a CA, it's now more than two weeks ago. And there's no way they can hide the their chosen for so long. There aren't even any rumors who it is, just who's in the race. I think Johnston is moving away, but at the same time it's hard tp replace a director with such short notice for a very complex vehicle.

@Jeff. Only 80%? Well, that's the reason I don't have Facebook (the fact that no one wants to be friend with me has nothing to do with it)
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:50:51 PM

There is a great need for sarcasm font.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:51:41 PM

I think part of a best friend's job should be to immediately clear your computer history if you die.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 4:14:15 PM

I thought Morrison died or something. He looks like he was old enough keel over in Star Wars- what's he playing, a galactic janitor?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 4:40:12 PM

i'm really pumped for this ... please don't f*ck this up ...

never saw Csino Royale so i can't speak for the guys directing myself (never saw any of his films really ...)

also whoever it was that did the photo-shop job on the pic in the article ... nice job.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:14:30 PM

LOL... ok Jeff... in case you run out of ideas:

http://thinkexist.com/quotes/jack_handy/
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:21:43 PM

My brother's Municipal League baseball team is named the Stepdads. Seeing as none of the guys on the team are actual stepdads, I inquired about the name. He explained, "Cuz we beat you, and you hate us." Classy, bro.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:22:10 PM

Whenever someone says "I'm not book smart, but I'm street smart", all I hear is "I'm not real smart, but I'm imaginary smart".
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:25:17 PM

Thanks Ranger I will remember that one.

Here is my favorite so far:
"I hope that someday we will be able to put away our fears and prejudices and just laugh at people"
SACdaddy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:31:11 PM

Losing Johnston might be the best thing to happen to the CA production. I'm sure he wasn't the only one up for the job. There had to be a backup plan based on the quality and returns of The Wolfman. That film is proof that there's always someone ready to step in if some d*ckhead isn't cutting it. If the rumours are true, its good that its happening now before they start filming and spending money.

jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:33:52 PM

Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong.

Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:46:18 PM

@jeff - my fav. Jack Handy maybe the first one I heard on SNL:

'If you ever drop your keys in a pool of molten lava... let them go, because man... they're gone.'

Priceless.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:01:20 PM

That is a good one.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:42:03 PM

It's a great one! It saved my hand on a few occasions!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 5:07:04 PM

"The letters T and G are very close to each other on a keyboard. This recently became all too apparent to me and consequently I will never be ending a work email with the phrase "Regards" again."

LOL!!!!!



Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 11:45:33 PM

lol.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 4:03:40 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved