WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Theater Owners Name Jaden Smith as Breakthrough Male Star of 2010

Posted: March 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Theater Owners Name Jaden Smith as Breakthrough Male Star of 2010Submit Comment
Theater owners, distributors and other businessmen are already in Las Vegas for the 2010 ShoWest. Part of the event, attendees were asked to vote for the 2010 Breakthrough Male Star of the Year.

The honor went to Jaden Smith, the son of Will Smith and the star of the upcoming "Karate Kid" remake. "Jaden Smith is an exceptional young actor who has delivered a true breakout performance with his portrayal of Dre Parker in 'The Karate Kid,'" ShoWest managing director Robert Sunshine said.

Jaden made his feature film debut back in 2006 by co-starring with his father in "Pursuit of Happyness." Then in 2008 he starred in "The Day the Earth Stood Still" remake. At this point, the actor has very little planned for the next few years.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 74 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TheHundreds writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:37:31 PM

by actor do you mean lucky son of a bitch
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:47:26 PM

No, I think they mean theater owners having their tongue buried so far will Will's ass they can taste what he had for lunch.
the_dude writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:49:48 PM

Ah, f*ck it... It's not even worth my time to expain my hatred for this kid...
Lowryder writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:05:08 PM

Q. What is 4 feet tall, and looks like a burnt marshmellow?
A. Jaden Smith
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:11:24 PM

Jaden... this is Mr. Coleman.

Gary... this is Jaden. Show him the ropes won't you?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:15:07 PM

Ranger-lol

he sucked in "Pursuit of Happiness" (whole damn movie was crap)

i don't even remember him in "The Day The Earth Stood Still" ...

and let's not speak of "Karate Kid" ...

i like Will Smith but i don't really care for his son a whole lot ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:17:53 PM

@range % the hundreds- never a truer word spoken.

Are any of these voters on somekind of kiddy fiddler site, or are they trying to tell us something??
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:22:36 PM

I still can't believe they want to remake Karate Kid so bad they're not willing to chance losing any fans of the original movie as Jackie Chan is training him in Kung-Fu... yes?

So, was there a problem with The Kung-Fu Kid (or does that mean: 'You f*ck farm animals' in another language?!).

Well Jaden. Stay off the Haim Program and take 'er easy Bud. You have a hefty inheritance coming anyway.
OneTime writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:27:30 PM

^^couldnt of said it better....
CCBlev writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:28:26 PM

U yea, that annoyance in the Day the earth stood still is the next big thing? If he is I'll even go down on Coc's dead mom. What gets me is why Will had to marry Jada Pinkett, wtf is he smoking? Then to reproduce with that, well we all see what happened when they did that.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:29:33 PM

Ranger-the reason they don't care about the fans is the same reason they are doing all the remakes: money. they ran out out of good ideas so they decided to re-open "The Big Book of Box Office Hits" and re-deploy them to the public for an extra buck or two.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:31:17 PM

@ranger- they probly kept the name coz if it came out as "Kung Fu Kid" they would have been ripped apart for ripping of the "The Karate Kid" so blatantly.

and hopefully when he does get that inherintance he will then do a Haim.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:37:09 PM

I'll bet if they called it 'The Kung-Fu Kid' Lohan would sue them because she ate some Kung-Pow Chicken once.

That f*cking litigious whore!

Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:53:15 PM

Hey... who here posts in the 'Urban Dictionary'?

How about: 'Blue Waffle (see Lindsay Lohan).
Shank (see Lindsay Lohan).
Whore (see Lindsay Lohan).
c*nt (not the good kinds so, see Lindsay Lohan).

etc.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:54:36 PM

@the_dude - still laughing at your post.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:56:11 PM

Wow. Must be nice to have a parent that can make the bean counters of Hollywood give you your own movie.

I won't lie. I'm f*cking jealous. The only thing I got from my parents are their used and empty beer cans.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:06:22 PM

You're lucky!

When I was growing up... a string tied around a rock was a toy!
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:10:05 PM

@the_dude
couldn't agree more!! lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:19:54 PM

I only had etnic minoritys to make fun of, I feel left out guys.
lost_addict writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:42:57 PM

Jaden Smith just died in a car accident.RIP Jaden.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:08:47 PM

lol... Jesus!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:14:39 PM

@lost_addict- don't get my hopes like thast man.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:20:36 PM

@lost - IS THE CAR OK?!?!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:21:49 PM

Dam the owners must really wanna pull a train on this kid. Are they vindandy and COC?
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:44:40 AM

Ranger-the car is okay and celebrating...
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:50:19 AM

Whew!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:53:57 AM

Is he doing what Channing Tatum is doing and sucking some serious d*ck for this?!!
Rosalie writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:55:50 AM

According to ShoWest.com:

"ShoWest is the most prestigious and longest running event exclusively for the cinema exhibition and distribution community."

I think they just lost a little prestige with this selection.

(BTW, they named Amanda Seyfried as Breakthrough Female Star.)

lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:01:56 AM

@Dave

I think he's sucking his father's d*ck
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:21:29 AM

@lost, more than likely, damn that kid must deep throat like a mofo!!



Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:54:49 AM

Some loser has actually put a bid for Haim's used autographed (with certificate of authenticity) toothbrush.

If it's anyone from this site and I find out... I'll set your pets on fire!
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:02:15 AM

10 bucks says it's Nickolas Cage!
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:04:04 AM

Nicolas... oi!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:05:24 AM

@ranger, really??

reminds of Michael Jackson, when he was going throught he tial his stuff was up for sale no one wanted it, then he dies and all of a sudden people actually give a sh*t.

I would love some of Jackos stuff but don't have the money, and if I did have the money would've have been buying his stuff when he was alive.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:09:01 AM

@Dave - agreed... MJ was the man!

Ever see his '92 Bucharest Concert?

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:14:05 AM

@ranger- not the Bucharest gig but saw the Stokholm one blinding, I saw him live Wembley Stadium 1989 Bad Tour the best gig I've ever seen in my life, had tikets for one of his gigs in London Aug last year, was really excited and well then of course he passes away. I was flying from China to go to gig.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:24:01 AM

WOW! MJ AND Wembley! My closest bragging right for that Stadium is the surviving Members of Queen have all personally autographed their 8x10's to me (of which I'm still grateful).

Queen - Wembley '86. Another amazing show!

Congrats on seeing MJ live!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:32:07 AM

Thanks, I'm glad I did see him, hands the best showman ever.

Queen eh?, never saw them live myself like the music just not fan enough to see live, but my friends who have seen them say they are the best band to see live.

If you're Queen fan you must like Flash Gordon or at least the soundtrack, posibly one the best film soundtracks out.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:41:58 AM

i think the karate kid remake will be comparable to nightmare on elm street remake...both probably entertaining, but not better than their original
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:45:41 AM

@Dave - exactly... the soundtrack... less of the movie (I mean... Hawkmen with wings that need machines to fly...WTF?!).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:50:13 AM

@ranger- I knw totaly weird about the Hawkmen, trouble is caught in two minds heard there might be remake, could be good with today's effects but the original has a charm I like.

never het tired of that soundtrack.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:52:02 AM

het=get

god damn you english written word
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:58:32 AM

I'm such a fan of the Band... back in the day I had to track down Flash Gordon on VHS via mail order (just to say I had it... and yes, admittedly watched it).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:09:35 AM

yeah I guess Flash Gordon is a guilty pleasure

Queen done some good tunes tho.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:14:12 AM

Yep from: Rock, Pop, Folk, Funk, Jazz...

They sure didn't like to get bored.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 3:17:01 AM

Hallmark of a good band, so what you think about them with Paul Rogers, I hear from pepople it's ok but you never knw do you?
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 4:04:48 AM

@ dave , ranger

love flash gordon , of all the films i have ever seen i think ive seen this one the most !! It's not my favourite but as you say its a guilty pleasure with a wicked s/t

Also saw micheal jackson at wembley back in 1992 awesome, truly a great showman just a shame his personal life became bigger than him in the end, never really made my mind up about all of that stuff??!!.....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 4:10:47 AM

@trailer- too true my friend about "FLASH AHHHHH SAVIOUR OF THE UNIVERSE" lol.

MJ- yep dogdy one that, whenever you pay someone off it never looks good, if he was inocent of that he should have fought it, regarding the latter case, well the jury said it all "there was no evidence at all".
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 4:29:42 AM

@dave
i agree with you , if you pay someone off then you always have that element of doubt hanging over you , which is what MJ has had ever since that 1st case (which came out just after he left the uk in 1992 if i remember right)He should have gone to court then and if he had won, i dont think you would have ever heard anything else from any of these other alleged incidents, he became a target from then on......

That said if he had been found guilty he should have to spend the rest of his life in jail, which means he could still been alive today !!!
dddarne writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 4:49:22 AM

For once I actually agree with Ranger. How can he breakout star of 2010 when the year isnt over yet. He hasnt been in a movie since 2008 and any movie with Jackie Chan the past couple years sucks.
masht7 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:36:53 AM

The theater owner ment to say Most Overated Breakthough Actor Male Actor of 2010. Will Smith is so proud his going to do another reamke from Hitchock.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:15:33 AM

Ranger-the reason they don't care about the "fans is the same reason they are doing all the remakes: money. they ran out out of good ideas so they decided to re-open "The Big Book of Box Office Hits" and re-deploy them to the public for an extra buck or two." - encore
i agree, also i'll take it a step further and say this is also the reason for board game movies in the works as well as old toys getting their own movies.

back on the subject, the kid made one movie - how the hell does that get him "breakthrough star", i think their d*cks got so hard at the idea they forgot to think "maybe we should wait til the movie comes out ... to see if he is any good in it"

moods_001 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:22:02 AM

Since when do the f_ucking theater owners name the f_ucking breakthrough male star of the year?

They definitely deserve a breakthrough impalement to the a_ss for choosing this kid.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:28:48 AM

Flesh Gordon was a good reboot, but the soundtrack wasn't as good
lost_addict writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:32:21 AM

How much time will I get for murdering this son of a bitch?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:59:31 AM

Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:54:49 AM

Some loser has actually put a bid for Haim's used autographed (with certificate of authenticity) toothbrush.

If it's anyone from this site and I find out... I'll set your pets on fire!
----------------------------------
No worry about it being me. I wasn't a fan of either Corys when they were both alive and I was a young(er) girl.

How sweet that his home town is paying for the funeral but I think that in this recession the money could be used for something else. They better not pay something in the range of a million for this.

rocketman writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:03:50 AM

Great so now we get mediocre Hollywood actors foisting their spawn upon us.This Jaden going to be one note like his parents?
rocketman writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 10:10:43 AM

And Urban Dicyonary f*cking rules,get my daily update on Facebook.If it wasn't for that website i still would not know about the joys of a Cleaveland steamer followed by a Chilli dog and a Brown tie not to mention the glorious Brown Mushroom tattoo.
warlord writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 11:38:28 AM

i own a theater and i was NOT ONE WHO THOUGHT HE WAS
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:59:36 PM

@warlord - thank you!

@rocketman - of the 'Alabama Hot Pocket!'

@Horror - a company called Starifacts (sp?) is putting up $20K to ship Haim home (nice of them).

@trailer - MJ in '92... amazing. I just re-watched a bit of his '92 Bucharest Concert again last night... amazing.

@dave - I saw Queen with Paul Rodgers. He did an OK job (NO one is a Freddie... with his near 4 octave voice range). Nice part of the concert was when Paul actually left the stage and it was just Brian and Roger playing Bo-Rhap to Freddie's singing on the BIG screen above Roger's drums, and Brian was higher yet on a platform above Roger.

I don't think MJ paying anyone off proved anything other than it was a mistake to do so (which is what you're both saying). That money was lunch money to him back then ($23mil.). But he was a 'kid' basically with a fortune (with more $ looking like they were on their way). He had bad advisers and staff. I'm sure some of the very same people that advise he pay also received a kick-back for the family getting the money. MJ had no one in his life his could trust. The kids he was really good to were the only one's that didn't want a thing from him (I could do the obvious joke here and say, 'except for some candy and a train ride'... but that's another can of worms).
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:23:02 PM

I would have though Sam Worthington had that in the bag if anyone. This is retarded.
rocketman writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:43:55 PM

@Ranger,cheers i just had an anurysm laughing at that.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:01:42 PM

Thx. I have to give my education of the 'Alabama Hot Pocket' to one of our friends here on WP and not the Urban Dictionary.

Whoever says WP isn't educational is full of sh*t.
rocketman writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:27:54 PM

And thats why this site rules.


as does my recent discovery of the Alamama flapjack.
thedudeman69 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:55:35 PM

or maybe he can go to his daddy for film roles when he's a horrible actor.
Fettmanuno writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:18:50 PM

WhAt ThE -- *Psshhhhhhtttt!!!!!!!
(*Eyes bug out and spews coffee all over monitor upon reading article.)

Naming the son of Will Smith as the 2010 Breakthrough Male Star of the Year based on his "breakout" performance in a friggin' 'Karate Kid' remake of all things?
Really?!?
Guess I shouldn't be THAT alarmed considering the ShoWest Breakout Performer of the Year
for 2009 was Zac Efron.

trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:59:44 PM

@ranger, Kid with a fortune that is a good way describe him and i think the kids were the only ones he thought he could trust 100%, never having any sort of normal life had a very negative affect on his life, We were all looking forward to his concerts at the 02 in london there would have been spectaculer..

On Queen which ive never seen live wish i had some of the concert videos look awesome, My brother inlaw worked with brian may and roger taylor and they released "we will rock you" , which wasn't really that great a version (it was for the teenagers not the queen fans) but working with them was a great experienc for him..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVlAitzhNQc&feature=related
pomme writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:34:20 PM

they need glass ,stop drugs and stop to blow job for his dad(every one knows Smith loves blow job)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:42:20 PM

@ranger- regarding MJ money & life, all true on that one no argument here, Queen- you'll never be able to replace Freddie but Paul does do a good job and he knws himself he is no Freddie and kbws his limits and shows respect to the memory of Freddie and Queen.

@trailer-MJ yeah was really looking forward to those gigs, when I saw the concert movie "This Is It" I left the movie theatre a little bit annoyed and sad, annoyed because these shows would have ended all shows other artists would've had to rethink their shows, sad because of the dancers and other musicians who were part of it you could see they were so happy to be part of it.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 4:02:12 AM

@dave too true he is a little more crazy (in a fun way) than i thought..

on sky here in the uk they have had his personal home videos (no joke)showing, they have had some great footage of his life and the people he knew. Its been very good tv and a good insight in to what his life was like off camera.....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 5:16:44 AM

@trailer- yeah saw some of those movies, really good, see him as a normal person, which in itself is weird.
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:21:46 PM

@Dave - well said.

And I could tell at the concert Rodgers knows his place on the Queen stage. He was no where to be seen when Brian and Roger did Bo-Rhap with Freddie on the big screen.

Great arrangement they had. Rodgers being in Queen brought my attention to his existence (never followed 'Bad Company' at all), and it kept Queen present and touring... and fans like me got to see them (albeit sans Freddie).

So it was win-win... win for all!
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 3:23:09 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RnrXiaPVeHY

Nuff said on Freddie's vocals and Brian's guitar playing.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 8:22:43 PM

@ranger- cheers man, good to speak to someone who apreciates good music and guitar playing, can't see youtube here but am aware of Freddies vocals and May's guitar work, May is not apreciated as much as it should be, Bad Company I knw of them coz that is the rock music I like (ie 70's) again under apreciated group and man. And Queen fans apreciate him for what he is doing.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved