WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"24" Series May Continue on NBC. Is the Movie Again On Hold?

Posted: March 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"24" Series May Continue on NBC. Is the Movie Again On Hold?Submit Comment
It was recently revealed that 20th Century Fox has been considering cancelling "24" TV series after its eighth season due to declining ratings and rising costs. Now comes word from Entertainment Weekly that NBC has already approached the studio to pick it up for several more seasons.

For years show executives have been claiming that they would love to make a "24" feature film, but not while the series was still on the air. As soon as Fox announced the the cancellation, it also hired writer Billy Ray (State of Play, Flightplan) to pen the script for the movie.

Now that NBC may continue "24" on its network, this likely means that the film may once again be on hold. Stay tuned.

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 7:41:54 AM

YEAH!!! FIRST!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:00:38 AM

NOOOOO!!!! This ain't The Office. NBC has no idea what its doing with action dramas. Look no further than Heroes for proof of that. Just make the movie and let Kiefer move on with his life. He's gots to get back to making major motion pictures (that dont suck like Mirrors) again.
lost_addict writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:43:11 AM

the 8th season of '24' has horrible new characters...dana walsh???Hastings??Cole Ortiz??Who the f*ck are these pussies???

where's tony almeida,david palmer,bill buchanan,mike novak etc. etc. these characters made the show together with jack...now all you got is some pussies running ctu and the white house...
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:44:45 AM

this show was great (mark how i used the word "was") seriously this show has gotten silly, enough already, im with SAC with this one - move on NBC. i woulda thought Kiefer could know when to say nay
nope.com writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:48:16 AM

might as well cancel it now if it's going to NBC

How did Heroes, Trauma, Mercy, Tonight Show with Coco, Jay Leno Show, My own Worst Enemy, My Name is Earl, the entire Winter Olympics work out for you NBC?
tcu21 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:05:14 AM

@nope

Winter Olympics actually had pretty good ratings, especially for the crumbling NBC.

They aren't really wanting to take the show for it's quality, they're taking it because even with "declining viewers" it has still averaged over 10 million viewers this season, which is sure something NBC could use right now. Specifically to lead into a new show, sayyyyy JJ Abrams new spy series?

Also, although the show may never return to its former glory I still enjoy the show weekly. I do hate Katie Sackhoff's story, but Jack Bauer never ceases to be bad ass and him threatening to kill a terrorist's mother more than makes for a good episode.
trailertrash writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:23:19 AM

The problem with the last couple of seasons of 24 is that Jack has hardly been in it, and you have had a lot of new characters and story lines that you dont really care about, You just want to see Jack get into and get out of impossibe situation and kick the crap out of someone for 1 hr a week it's that simple.. season 1-5 10/10
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:33:48 AM

trash, i think you hit the nail on the head. f*ck political correctness - i want to see jack torture these sorry meat sack terrorists again!
oh the good ol days
SACdaddy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:34:55 AM

Ehh, I'm a few episodes behind. The Walsh bullsh*t is killing me, and Freddie Prinze Jr. acts like he had a stroke recently. Bubba is the worst actor on TV (what happened?) and CTU might as well be a singles bar. I'm stupified by this uber-universe of Big Brother type surveillance the show exists in now, but what can you expect from a world where 2 nuclear bombs have gone off in the US. Like TCU said, Jack is the show's saving grace. He always finds a way to butcher some terrorist or talk sh*t to his boss and reminds you why you loved the show in the first place. The one-man army is a tried and true formula for film (Jack Ryan, Bond, Bourne), so just take the next natural step. It sounds like we'll need somebody to replace Damon anyway.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:35:00 AM

and im not sure how heros ratings are, but i LOVE that show
pjmbdm writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:46:54 AM

Trailertrash you're right right right! The show has lost it's grit after the first 5 seasons. Sacdaddy the uber surveillance is kinda killing me too. They know where EVERYONE is, there's no more guessing. I'm still tuning in though cuz Jack is still Jack but the move to NBC would murder this show for good. Needs to go to HBO so we can get some cuss words and boobs. haha
trailertrash writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:13:31 PM

If we all see the problems with the last couple of seasons then it's a worry for the show if the makers themselves can not, maybe some fresh blood behind the scenes is needed after all...
Fettmanuno writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:33:40 PM

I think this show has gone as far as it can go within the limits of television.
They should just wrap up production this season and take an extended hiatus to concentrate on bringing Jack to the big screen before what few fans that are left lose interest entirely.
darthraige writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:35:52 PM

I'll take 3 more seasons.
rabid writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:14:53 PM

yawn... the first season was a decent experiment
WV-Films writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:23:51 PM

Not that this is a huge issue, but if it goes to NC, say goodbye to a Box set when the series is done.
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 5:28:14 PM

The first five seasons are f*cking awesome. Season 6 was just ok. Season 7 was better and now Season 8 is the new Season 6.

I agree with whoever said Jack doesn't have enough screentime and these new characters suck especially Denny, although I do like Cole (mainly b/c I haven't seen Freddie Prinze in a while). I'll stick with this series to the end, but they should end it after this season.

BTW - I'm just waiting for Aaron Pierce to make his appearance and I'll be happy.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 5:48:26 PM

the series is crappy, in the middle of every f*cking season the action stops, and for about 8 or so episodes it's just a bunch of f*cking politics and uninteresting discussions. if i wanted an ass-load of politics, i'd watch re-runs of campaign speeches ...

only thing good about that show was the president and Jack Bower ...
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 6:23:43 PM

@Lost- Tony Almeida is the sh*t, if they decide to kill jack at the end it better be Tony, i don't believe anyone else could kill jack besides Tony
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 6:25:11 PM

btw the new cast does suck but its cool to see they haven't killed Chloe or Renee Walker
Denise Helena writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 6:38:19 PM

I think:
Jack must return bad again, without respecting the laws and rules ...not Grandpa!
They need to put more action, as in the first episodes: kill the daughter or granddaughter, kidnapping, things to make Jack very angry! We want Jack angry, and not calm!
There are errors that could not exist...
where are the scars on Jack's chest?
The jack was very famous, people on the streets talking with him, Season 7, and the Russians did not recognize him now? He only using glasses as a disguise?
Anyone can work at UCT? The work guys with national security, but don't worry past with its agents?
Jack in the beginning of this season took a beating from a bully but did not have any marks?

But ... just make it more bad, bad and bad we like that! And Kiefer is a God!

I'd rather see Kiefer doing 24 on TV than in bad movies in the cinema!
thedotsays writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 6:43:47 PM

You know, for a show that reuses the exact same premise year after year, 24 still gets it done. Sure these last few seasons have fallen short of the former glory but show me another show that can say they've followed the same blueprint and still deliver.
To go to NBC would be suicide. NBC would absolutely piss all over the show. Sure it's all about writing but NBC will find a way to put their sh*t stamp on 24 and screw it up. That's why shows either bail or can't stay on NBC.. Southland anyone???

Just let this go to the big screen and let Jack go up against a terrorist version of him how pushes him to the edge and over. Or somethingt to go out with a bang.
But no NBC. They suck balls.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:05:39 PM

I stopped watching the 8th season of 24, primarli because it was on a channel i don't have at my house (australia is backward with this sh*t, it is those dam drop bears f*cking around with our cable)

Other than that i was dissapointed with this season, i hated the side story with the chick who plays Starbuck.

@Lost-Addict, hate to tell you man but Bill buchannn died in the last season, sacrificed himself to save Jack and the President. And i hope pearce is still alive!

@Vlad the Impalar
I dig the pci you use man, very Gary Oldman!
m2msucks writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 12:05:46 AM

Jack Bauer kicks more ass in 24 hours than you do in a lifetime.
tcu21 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:31:42 AM

In my opinion the one truly bad season was season 6, this season has just been inconsistent and really the only bad story line is freaking Katie Sackhoff's. Last season was pretty bad ass, someone mention Bill Buchanan dying, something I'd rank as a top "24" moment. Although I can honestly say I'd be more interested in a movie than another season at this point.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 2:22:55 AM

NBC will start it and cancel before it gets half way through.

NBC SUCKS
SACdaddy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:12:40 AM

@TCU: Good call on Bill's death. What a badass way to go out! I put it right up there with Sean Austin's act of heroism and Jack execution of Nina Meyers. And you're right, 24's formula is getting stale but is still delivering better than most show's its age or younger. A move to NBC would kill any edge the show has though. It gets away with a lot because Fox encourages it. NBC will just dial down the violence and soften it up (probably lose the torture), which might as well be castration.

A 2 hr feature film solves a lot of issues the show has now. It can focus the plot and action better around Jack and would have little time for the usual office politics and sexual jousting that goes on at CTU. They would have no choice but to bring the major "surviving" cast member back, which may allow them to finally resolve the issue between Jack and Tony. And just maybe, they can finally allow Jack to hook up with a bitch that doesn't end up on a slab or in a mental institution.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved