WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mel Gibson Says Viking Film May Be His Last

Posted: March 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mel Gibson Says Viking Film May Be His LastSubmit Comment
It was recently revealed that Mel Gibson has signed on Leonardo DiCaprio for his epic Viking film which he will direct from a script by "The Departed" screenplay writer William Monahan.

Gibson now tells LA Times that this is the project that he has been wanting to make since he was a little kid, and it might mean the end of his helming career, which has included such films as "Braveheart" and "The Passion of the Christ."

"It was the first movie I ever thought about making," Gibson said. "I saw it in my mind back when I was teenager. Seriously, it's the first movie I wanted to make. And I think it will be the last film I direct. It's the thing I have been going toward, in a way, since I was young, and I think when it's done I may be finished."

He went on to talk about the new film, stating: "We're [working] on the script right now. When I was 16, learning about the history of the English language, I became fascinated with Vikings. And I imagined what they would sound like, how would they talk and that's what I will be going for in this film. There's never been a good Viking film, not that I've seen. I think I have found the right way to get into it. The real problem is making those guys sympathetic. They were monsters."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 6:36:24 AM

I agree with Mel here, if there's a good Viking movie out there I haven't seen it. Although there's one by the Bronson-director featuring Mads Mikkelsen that looks pretty neat, but it haven't premiered yet.

"The real problem is making those guys sympathetic. They were monsters."

- Oh, you make me blush Mel
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:40:23 AM

thank god its the last, now if only we can make mel OD ... mu ha ha ha ha ha
lost_addict writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:40:40 AM

didn't he retire 8 years ago?
SACdaddy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:48:34 AM

I'm starting to get a little worried about Mel. His drinking problem seems to be getting worse with age and now it sounds like he may be starting to lose his motivation. I don't want to see him end up as some eccentric drunken recluse trapped in his castle in Malibu like Daniel Plainview. I don't want to hear about him roaming the streets of LA in his PJs babbling about aliens like Shelly Duvall. He needs to get off the sauce and get inspired again before its too late and he's RIP like Haim and Murphy.
BigUnit writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:00:58 AM

you want to see a good viking film, watch Outlander! really under rated movie, im not saying its like the best movie ever but jsut under rated and very entertaining
rocketman writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:28:06 AM

Monsters? No different than any other Western race,not invincible either.Cool as f*ck though.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:37:39 AM

@BigUnit: I agree that Outlander was entertaining, but I don't count that as a "real" Viking movie. I want something more down the line as Gladiator and Braveheart.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:43:23 AM

He's banging a hot russian chick. Now I don't wonder why he'd want to retire to do that 24/7 has well had preach in his church every Sunday.

Hell, I thing I'll join up.
rocketman writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:43:52 AM

You can't beat The Vikings with Kirk Douglas,cheesy as hell but i love that film.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:06:30 AM

Eric the Viking with Tim Robbins was pretty good, but that was a comedy. I thought Outlander was ok too, but there really haven't been any great Viking movies. That Kirk Douglas movie was lame. Mel will do it right, he's crazy enough. I could see this being his little wet dream.
BuuMonster writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 11:52:35 AM

Mel is just prepping for his new name and career. Mel The Jew Hunter!
Fettmanuno writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:08:23 PM

I think if anyone can pull off a helluva good viking movie, Mel could based upon his body of work as a director. Adding DiCaprio to the mix (if as a viking) however could prove to be a casting misfire, in my opinion.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:47:15 PM

Yeah, I don't see DiCaprio as a viking either. He's good, but he ain't no viking. They need a scruffy looking actor with true brute force.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:03:20 PM

@vlad
im with you bro down with the jew hater
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:04:01 PM

with all the sh*t he said about jews did he ever realize that christ was a jew?? what an idiot
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:04:04 PM

Has anyone seen the movie Pathfinder? I'm not sure but, I think there were some Vikings in that movie. When I saw the preview to that movie, the movie looked pretty sick (as in badass), but idk if I saw the whole movie.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:14:23 PM

@alex
heres an aritcle from superherohype.com you should check out bro

http://www.superherohype.com/news/hulknews.php?id=9154
Krendel writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:21:45 PM

what about Abelix And Vikings? epic VIKING cartoon
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:21:53 PM

@skate - I read it... Norton doesn't say much (anything actually).
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:24:08 PM

@skate - re: Gibson - and Jesus the Jew. 'Religious people' like Mel have some of the greatest double douche standards of all people. A lot of 'spiritual' people claim to be better at things... but I've dated a bunch of them and they were full of crap too.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:31:11 PM

@ranger look at this way the article is about his realationship with marvel improving witch can lead to more good hulk movies...but thats speculation.........now on to the subject at hand...ive known so much bull sh*t and doubles standards that religous f*ckholes put on the tables that i could sh*t for weeks...its all crap brother
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 2:41:16 PM

"A lot of 'spiritual' people claim to be better at things... but I've dated a bunch of them and they were full of crap too."

AIN'T THAT THE f*ckING TRUTH! I'm in that debacle now myself.

Mel's the man, I hope he continues to at least act in films, I enjoyed Edge of Darkness for what it was.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 3:12:45 PM

I just don't like religon cramed down my f*cking throat
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 3:17:18 PM

There's an easy: Lohan, c*ck, throat-ramming joke to be made here... but I won't.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 3:20:55 PM

http://www.j*zzhut.com/videos/this-went-a-little-far-180380.html
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 3:27:17 PM

That looks like Lohan in church right there (f*cking unicorn hugger!).
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 5:12:41 PM

ranger that cant be lohan that chick was tottally f*ckable
encoreyourface writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 5:44:15 PM

"There's never been a good Viking film, not that I've seen"

BURN!!!!
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 6:26:30 PM

Mel Gibson is a genius
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 7:17:31 PM

@skate - LOL!
vwkombi writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 7:18:30 PM

The Vikings (1958) - I havn't seen this film for many years, but i do remember it being completely awesome.

Erik the Viking (1989) - This film is a comedy, but it's really quite good.

So there Mel, two good viking films (3 if you count Outlander, though that's not much of a viking film).
Rodan writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 7:19:33 PM

I haven't seen this Viking movie cuz I can't get a hold of it but I hear it's pretty good. I get the feeling it didn't age too well though.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0087432/

The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:07:44 PM

Make the Viking film in old Scandanavian language, that would be cool! It will be like Apocalypto and Passion, speaking in the language of the time
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:56:31 PM

You're giving a LOT of credit that the viewing audience can read (subtitles) for one. And 2 are willing to do so. They're a lazy lot... lol.
Vega writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 8:57:21 PM

Pathfinder was fairly crappy movie. The only good Viking movie I can think of is The 13th Warrior.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 9:23:19 PM

Is that Mels: 'Thanks for the Oscars Jews!' picture?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:20:56 PM

Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 3:20:55 PM

http://www.j*zzhut.com/videos/this-went-a-little-far-180380.html


-------------------------------
Oh jeebus. I don't have the words to describe what I saw.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:57:14 PM

I suspect that'll look like Lohan's Honeymoon.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 10:58:33 PM

'Dear... would you like to open the Champagne?'

'Sure Sweetness... can I f*ck your throat until you're brain-dead first?!'

Mmmmm... (giggle)... ok...
Momo writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:02:06 AM

"And I think it will be the last film I direct"
I believe that about as much as I believed Jay Z the last time he said he was gonna retire, or as much as I believed Snoop Dog the 20th time he quit pot.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 6:52:56 AM

13th Warrior is the motherf*ckin tits man. Bulvai (sp?) kicks serious ass. Pathfinder was not too terrible, it just sucked based on how awesome it could have been, but wasn't.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 7:08:16 AM

Ranger that link is tremendous
Jensama writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:26:50 AM

There's these books by a swedish author that would be awesome if made into movies... Although, for now, the books only exists in swedish. Translated a wikipage. Title's off though - should be "The Valhalla Saga", also the english is a bit wacky since the weird google translate. Wouldve been cool

ttp://translate.google.com/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=sv&ie=UTF-8&layout=1&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fsv.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FFreja_-_Sagan_om_Valhalla%23Freja_-_Sagan_om_Valhalla_.282002.29&sl=sv&tl=en
SACdaddy writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:41:05 AM

@Eben: For once I have to disagree with you. 13 Warrior was f*cking HORRIBLE. It was the perfect example of a film not coming close to living up to its book. The bad guys were such unbelievable pussies in that film that the whole Viking thing was completely wasted.

Leo is a little skinny and babyfaced for a Viking film, but then again Mel (5'9" 180lbs) wasn't exactly huge in Braveheart. His sword was bigger than him, but that sure didn't stop him from splitting some medieval wigs and bathing in English blood. All Leo needs is a battle axe and 20 lbs of Gangs of NY chub and he should fit right in. He's already a pretty Scandinavian looking guy.
No Censure writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 9:25:28 AM

MEL GIBSON DIDNT "RECENTLY" TALK TO "THE LOS ANGELES TIME" AND HE NEVER SAID THAT THIS WAS HIS LAST MOVIE..
HE MADE THAT INTERVIEW BACK IN JANUARY, THE 23 OF JANUARY, AND THE PICTURES ARE FROM THAT DAY TOO.
WHAT HE SAID HE SAID IT IN JANUARY, AND NOBODY REACTED, SO I AM A BIT SURPRISED THAT ALL THE SUDDEN, AN OLD ARTICLE MAKE THE FRONT PAGE 2 MONTHS LATER, BY TAKING OUT HALF OF ONE SENTENCE AND SINGLEING IT OUT AS BEING A NEW STATEMENT MADE BY THE ACTOR DIRECTOR MEL GIBSON.

ITS A FAKE, SORRY GUYS BUT MEL GIBSON DIDNT GAVE ANY INTERVIEWS RECENTLY, WHERE HE STATED THAT HE WAS DONE WORKING.
THAT ARTICLE FROM LA TIME IS TYPICAL OF WHAT WE USUALY SEE TABLOIDS DO: TAKE OLD ARTICLES FROM VARIOUS PLACES, CUT IT OFF IN PIECES, AND MAKE A COLLAGE OF THE PARTS, AND HAVE IT LOOK LIKE THEY GOT AN EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW, NEW, WITH NEW STUFF IN IT..

USUALY IT IS THE DAILY MAIL AND THE TELEGRAPH THAT DOES THAT KIND OF THINGS.
NOTICE THAT THE LA TIME DOS NOT SAY WHEN THEY MADE THAT INTERVIEW, AND HAVE IT SOUND A BIT LIKE IF IT WAS DOEN THE DAY BEFORE, BUT IF YOU READ IT RIGHT, THEY ACTUALY SAY THAT IT WAS DONE WAY BACK. AS SOMETHING THE JOURNALIST THAT WROTE IT RECALL, NOT SOMETHING HE JUST DID.

WHAT I RECALL HIM SAYING IN THAT INTERVIEW, AND IN MANY OTHERS PREVIOUS TO THAT ONE FROM JANUARY AND AFTER IT, IS THAT HE WAS BACK ON TRACK AND LIKE DIRECTING MORE THAN ACTING, AND WAS DEFINITLY BACK IN BOTH FIELDS.

ANYTHING ELSE IS BOGUS.

HE NEVER STATED IN THE ORIGINAL INTERVIEW, THAT IT WAS HE LAST MOVIE.
THIS WAS MADE UP.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 1:23:03 PM

@Eben - lol... thx. Bro.
johnthemon writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 8:01:52 PM

they don't make enough Viking movies
Wallace writes:
on March 16th, 2010 at 2:18:44 PM

Braveheart is epic
BigMex11 writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 1:25:38 PM

Eli - I saw pathfinder and it was fantastic - I think thats the first movie that shows the vikings they way I think they would be. If you dont think theres a good viking movie check out pathfinder, its a top notch action flick

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved