WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Closing Robert Zemeckis' Special Effects Company

Posted: March 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Closing Robert ZemeckisSubmit Comment
Walt Disney Studios has announced that it will close operations at Robert Zemeckis' special effects company ImageMovers Digital (IMD) by January of 2011, after production is completed on "Mars Needs Moms."

"Bob and the entire IMD team successfully built a state of the art studio and produced an amazing film, 'A Christmas Carol,' at a time when the dynamics of the industry are rapidly changing," said Alan Bergman, President of The Walt Disney Studios. "But, given today's economic realities, we need to find alternative ways to bring creative content to audiences and IMD no longer fits into our business model."

"I'm incredibly proud of the talented team that we assembled at IMD and the fantastic work they have accomplished," said Zemeckis. "Their pride and dedication to making quality movies is evident in everything we have produced."

Disney is hoping to create a new long-term production deal with Zemeckis and his IMD partners, which will include the continued development of the "Yellow Submarine" project.

Source: Disney


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 9:03:22 AM

*sniffles* aw shucks, it's like a dream come true!
shayhiri writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 9:12:21 AM

The moment I saw Carol I knew Zemeckis was doomed.

Stupid sod. Should have learned from Cameron.

It's evolution, baby. :)
lost_addict writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 9:24:52 AM

maybe now he'll stop making f*cking cartoons and go back to make kick ass movies like 'back to the future' and 'contact'
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 11:12:05 AM

oh wow that sucks. and they made such good movies like ... and ... well .... er ....
ah f*ck it, good riddance
gobolog writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 1:26:08 PM

I always love it when studios give out these statements and it's just bull from beginning to end. This is what they were really thinking.

"Basically Robert Zemekis has given us a bunch of films that would have cost half as much if he had done them with live action and every single one of them has flopped spectacularly at the box office and have been at an "OK" level in filmmaking quality. We lost a bucket load of money and we will probably black list Zemekis until he makes something that earns over four hundred million dollars worldwide and doesn't reek of mediocrity. However if it's awful but still makes money then of course we'll give him a chance to crawl back."
m5dmb28 writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 2:53:41 PM

@lost_addict
couldn't agree more. polar express was really cool and should have left it at that. BBTF, contact, and roger rabbit were his best works. here's hoping!
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 4:34:15 PM

I figured these cheap Bastards at Disney were saving enough on the Captain America lead role pay scale to keep a company like this open.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 6:00:40 PM

i don't like most Disney movies so i don't really care.
bacci40 writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 6:55:20 PM

like the sf bay area didnt need more bad economic news

not only are these 450 jobs gone, but its gonna impact all the support industries in the area

f*ck disney
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 7:01:14 PM

I'll do my part and rape Snow White (right in the f*cking ass!)!
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 7:11:21 PM

I'd pay $3500. to do that.
blafusel writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:47:29 AM

gobolog - carol made $323 mio dollars worldwide so far. the production budget is listed at ~$200. how is that a monumental failure? i'm not saying disney didn't make much money with the outfit, obviously there are more costs than just he production costs, but still... it's not like it didn't make good money. remember a couple of years back when breaking $100 mio was considered successful? here we have a first-time project from a brand new studio making $323 and everybody thinks it's a failure.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:49:58 AM

f*ck. When I read this headline I was hoping this would mean the "Yellow Submarine" project was off.
gobolog writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 5:15:25 PM

To blafusel

Film studios only get about forty percent of the Domestic box office gross and even less of a percentage from the foreign markets. If it stays at 323 million then it will only get back between 120 - 150 million against a 200 million dollar budget. This does not include the cost of publicity and marketing for the film which can vary but for a film of this cost it would probably be well over 20 million.
thedudeman69 writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:50:53 PM

Ha. Basically they are saying, "Dude, your films underpeform too much." "so we are closing your company, k thnx bye"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved