WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher, James Cameron, Zack Snyder Confirmed to Direct "Heavy Metal"

Posted: March 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Fincher, James Cameron, Zack Snyder Confirmed to Direct "Heavy Metal"Submit Comment
Some of the biggest filmmakers in Hollywood have been talking about a remake of "Heavy Metal" for several years now. It was first set up two years ago at Paramount Pictures, but was eventually dropped.

Deadline is now reporting that David Fincher is shopping a more appealing version, and has both James Cameron (Avatar) and Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) signed on to direct a segment of the film. Fincher is also directing one. And the entire thing will be in 3D.

"Heavy Metal" is inspired by the '70s science fiction fantasy magazine, which previously was the basis for a 1981 film and a 2000 sequel. This version will consist of eight or nine individual animated segments, each by a different director, all of them infused with the spirit of the erotic and violent storylines that defined the magazine.

The project is now is search of financing and distribution.

1981 "Heavy Metal" Trailer:


Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pomme writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:28:15 PM

happy to see them to become again badass!
masht7 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:34:02 PM

Please pick Zack Snyder. I've never been interested in Fincher's work and Cameron is losing his touch.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:36:30 PM

i gotta say i wasn't expecting a whole lot but that trailer was f*cking awesome!

i'm getting pumped for this!
TheHundreds writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:42:13 PM

erotic AND violent you say? I'm in
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:44:21 PM

although i didn't really like Avatar, Cameron's earlier work was fantastic, Aliens, Terminator,etc.

i have faith in this ... want to see the new trailer ...
SeWerin writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:58:02 PM

f*ck yeah! Heavy Metal - one of the best examples of using drugs in 80s!
wonderBOY writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:10:13 PM

what about guillermo del toro he was on the list last time.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:08:57 PM

"erotic AND violent" --- sounds like first date sh*t with Zoe Saldana.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:13:23 PM

interesting fact about Zoe Saldana .... i'd f*ck her.
ifakos writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:30:01 PM

They should include Tarantino!
eddie499 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:39:53 PM

The original is one of my favorite animated films. The soundtrack has been a staple of my CD and mp3 players for over a decade. Hopefully this one will integrate the music as well as that one.

I'll see this.
Kurskij writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:25:01 PM

It's about as good as it gets.

Erotic and violent...

ahhh... deutsche kindergarten im 1939...

Wait, what?!
Rosalie writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:42:22 PM

Trey Parker and Matt Stone gave an excellent homage to "Heavy Metal" in South Park's 2008 "Major Boobage" episode.
chiefone writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:51:45 PM

"erotic AND violent" --- sounds like first date sh*t with Zoe Saldana"

Hahahahahahahahhaahaha

sooo funny
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:53:03 PM

@Rosalie- good call
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 1:31:36 AM

Just as I'm writing my blog post about 3D WE HAVE ANOTHER FILM ANNOUNCED TO BE COMING IN 3D. Anyone have a tally of how many that is so far? I mean christ almighty it's like every day its a new 3D film coming down the pipe.
rabid writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 4:08:14 AM

hell yes. Snyder is perfect for that job.
Affliction writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 12:01:32 PM

Smurfs will be in 3D. ----Sarcasm
captnhowdy writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 1:21:39 PM

lets hope they have a killer soundtrack since metal music plays a huge part in these animations.

i think david fincher is the right man for this i remember reading a interview where he said that during the time that he was writing fight club he had the "downward spiral" by nine inch nails in constant rotation, and that it played a huge part in the influence of that said film.
Aingx writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 6:37:06 PM

Yes!! So glad this is official
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 11:03:36 PM

heavy metal kicked f*cking ass
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 14th, 2010 at 12:10:29 PM

If they can make it as good as the original and not let the censors push them around, then I'm in.
TeemSelami writes:
on March 15th, 2010 at 5:10:45 PM

I would love another heavy metal movie. I do not want another heavy metal 2000 so be careful

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved