WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Planet of the Apes" Prequel Hires Director, Plus Story Details

Posted: March 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Planet of the Apes" Prequel Hires Director, Plus Story DetailsSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that 20th Century Fox has signed Rupert Wyatt (The Escapist) to direct the "Planet of the Apes" prequel from a script by Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver (The Relic). The film will be based on 1972 "Conquest of the Planet of the Apes."

"Caesar: Rise of the Apes" revolves around a doctor (Will) trying to cure Alzheimers, a disease that afflicts his father. He's working with monkeys to create a benign virus that can get into brain tissue and restore functionality. After his research is shut down he's left with just one chimp, the child of his most promising subject. Young Caesar is incredibly intelligent for an ape, and over time he continues to mutate and evolve, looking less like a chimp and moving on from sign language to actual speech. Eventually Caesar ends up leading an army of apes in an uprising just as a catastrophe strikes mankind.

Chud says that the script opens with poachers capturing apes in the wild. In "Conquest of the Planet of the Apes" Caesar led primitive apes in an uprising against man, and the biggest battle took place on a bridge. In the remake the same thing happens, except this time the bridge is the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco.

Source: Deadline, Chud


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sdpepper writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:30:47 PM

I am so psyched up for this.

I am a huge fan of all of the original 'Apes' movies!!!

Just be true to the original movies and for God's sake, don't ruin it like Tim Burton's remake did.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:31:10 PM

.... no comment ....
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:16:25 PM

Does anyone remember how amazingly awesome the mark wahlberg planet of the apes was???


Oh wait, I lie
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:24:46 PM

@jerry - lol. You beat me to it!

@sd - Yes... the original were the best (specifically the FIRST of the originals). Heston was 'THE Man!'

First (that's all the counts for me) PotA.
Soylent Green.
The Omega Man.
The 10 Commandments.
Ben-Hur.

Great stuff!

encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:32:04 PM

Ranger-loved Soylent Green! a great movie ...
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:46:26 PM

@encore - I know you're younger, but it's great you took it in and enjoyed it. Sure it looks dated. But movies back then were all about the story. Heston was sure cranking out the spooky sh*t back then.
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:48:12 PM

never seen soylent green, have to check that out, oh and this will be in 3D too.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:49:50 PM

Thanks Ranger, and i wish movies nowadays where more about story, all this "flash no substance" crap is not my taste.

i also enjoyed the original King Kong, classic ...
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:54:22 PM

@ranger
yea they were, over the summer I had to go toan Opthmologist to eyes checks so I can fight and the waiting room had an old 40's movie playing and my god was the acting and story far superior than what it was today, it really blew my mind.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:57:23 PM

Have you seen 'The Dirty Dozen'?

As for the oldies... I like 'em all: Peck & Mitchum (probably two of the best voices in the Biz), Brando, Dean, Stewart, Eastwood, Wayne (Rio Bravo (co-starring Angie d*ckison...Mmmmm!), The Cowboys), Fonda, Plummer, Olivier, Sutherland (although he's done some/and played in some whacky sh*t).

Back when 'classic good looks' wasn't necessary to reach fame (real fame... no this transient 'fame' sh*t going on today). Bogart and Edward G. Robinson weren't classically 'good-looking' men.

Too many to list.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:59:51 PM

And when watching the old movies... check out how long the scenes were. I don't know how Jimmy Stewart his lines from Mr. Smith goes to Washington... amazing. They all were.

Watch an episode of 'Friends' on TV. They'll each have 2 lines (3 tops) before cutting to the next scene. A kitten (with ADD) could learn that few lines.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:06:25 PM

...Stewart memorized his lines...

Oi!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:07:07 PM

interesting fact about old movies, in the movie 'The Public Enemy'(which was also a great movie) James Cagney's partner in crime and best freind Matt Doyle (played by Edward Woods) is a relative of mine, (great great uncle i believe)

and encase anybody wants to stalk me, no we do not have the same last names so don't waste your breath ...

not trying to gloat but i always found that interesting ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:08:41 PM

also Woods was supposed to play lead role as Tom Powers but they decided to go with Cagney ...
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:10:16 PM

That's a neat bit of trivia.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:11:54 PM

thanks i always thought so myself.
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:12:50 PM

@encore
well sh*t, that was how I planned on spending my Saturay night, stalking you, now I have to change plans, o well Charlize Theron is single, I'll stalk her instead.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:13:18 PM

Get in line.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:15:56 PM

@CC-lol, doesn't matter if their single to me, as long they have some sort of hole on their body worth penetrating I'M IN!!

... they have to be female of course ...
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:18:29 PM

Female (and human) is still a must for me.

Body heat is optional.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:21:30 PM

"Body heat is optional."

LOL!!!
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:21:32 PM

It ain't the paparazzi sitting on her front lawn shes gonna hafta worry about, its the double teamage sneak attack from Ranger and I she has to worry about, I'll even take sloppy seconds with her.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:25:31 PM

if you guys just leave me a arm or (preferably) a leg ... i'm cool.
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:26:10 PM

"Body heat is optional"
Nice! Quote of the day right there.
@encore
Amen to that, marriage doesnt mean anything anymore in 2010. I get hit on and have a chance to hook up with more married women than I do single women.
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:28:31 PM

@enocre
Charlize has such long sexy legs, that 2 men can share em at the smae time and need not worry about touching each other.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:29:20 PM

"marriage doesnt mean anything anymore in 2010"

well if the planet is supposed to explode or Avatar 2 comes in 2012, who cares about marriage

SEX ORGIES FOR EVERYONE!!
SofaKing writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:54:41 PM

In Pulp Fiction, that scene with Travolta and Samuel L. in the hall way before going in and wrecking sh*t is like a 3 or 4 minute scene with no breaks and its awesome.

"Guns don't kill people, Apes with guns kill people!"

-Heston(NRA Representative
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 12:07:26 AM

@encoreyourface - I heard that abot Public Enemy as well, what some people don't is that Cagney preferd doin musicals and hated doing the gangster stuff but did it bcoz of the money being offerd also he owned a farm and spent most of his time there.

now back on to subject- Theron could be comatose I still would, and guys if she has a hand free I'm calling it now.

@ranger- what about female looking??
there are some nice ladyboys out there.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 12:42:46 AM

I got $50 that says this never gets made.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 2:53:06 AM

*****SPOILER*****

SOYLENT GREEN IS PEOPLE!!!!!!!! ARGH!!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 2:54:58 AM

@ Ranger
Soylent Green.
The Omega Man.
The 10 Commandments.
Ben-Hur.

All of these are classic's, Have you seen Vincent Price's The Last Man on Earth which is based also based on Richard Mathersons novel (which he didn't like the move or price) , but thought it was ok and the will smiths I am Legend really missed a trick to be a really good movie i always thought Arnie should have made that film back in the late 80's....

rabid writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 4:07:29 AM

The Planet of the Apes prequels were the best part of that whole series. This could be interesting.
trailertrash writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 4:23:30 AM

*movie not move ,too much soylent green this morning
The Real Joker writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 5:19:08 AM

would have wanted a sequel to Tim burtons Planet of the apes. See the world with apes in present time. But the original with Charlton Heston is the greatest.
Fettmanuno writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 12:19:51 PM

This is so unnecessary. Everything old is new again.
Stop !@#$ing with the classics Hollywood and start greenlighting some ORIGINAL screenplays for !@#$ sake. Geez! Enough already!
What's next? A 'Muppet's Take Manhattan' reboot?
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 4:34:58 PM

Don't give 'em any ideas.
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 4:36:34 PM

@Dave - close... but still diggin' the woman (some of the bitchier ones in my back yard!).

@trailer - no, haven't seen that one (didn't even know about it). I'll check it out.

... Soylent Green (comments... lol).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved