WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugo Weaving is Red Skull in "Captain America"

Posted: March 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugo Weaving is Red Skull in "Captain America"Submit Comment
Director Joe Johnston has already revealed that Red Skull will be the villain in "The First Avenger: Captain America." And now, Marvel Studios is in negotiations with Hugo Weaving (The Matrix) to play the role. If the deal happens, Weaving will re-team with Johnston, with whom he worked on "The Wolfman" remake.

In the comics, Red Skull has been Captain America's archenemy since 1941, when he engaged in espionage and sabotage as Hitler's right-hand man. In his final battle with the superhero, he was buried under the rubble of a bombed building but as would occur later with Captain America fell into a state of suspended animation. Both were revived in modern times.

The dealmaking with Weaving is in a delicate stage that will play out in the next day or so. Marvel is known for asking their actors to take major pay cuts and to sign on for multi-movie commitments. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 69 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:41:44 AM

if not Hugo Weaving, we still have Mark Strong
deepnshit writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:44:03 AM

bring it, Hugo!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:44:34 AM

It is inevitable...
trailertrash writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:59:38 AM

I'm not up on C.A, but i like hugo , so this is a good thing right ...
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:59:41 AM

definitely approve of hugo
Peter Parker writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 6:15:29 AM

Very interesting choice!
I hope Weaving lands this part.

Just to clarify some of the information in the article, there were actually 3 Red Skulls throughout the comic's history.
They were John Maxon, Johann Schmidt, who is frequently referred to as the true Red Skull, and Albert Malik.

John Maxon later turned out to be and American double-agent/spy working for Schmidt.

Johann Schmidt was a German official of the Third Reich, directly recruited by Hitler.

Albert Malik was the founder of a criminal organization, he assumed the identity of the Red Skull, pretending to be the original, but was actually working for the Soviets.

Malik was later killed at Schmidt's orders, after Schmidt was resurrected by Arnim Zola.

Zola obtained DNA samples of the original Captain America, created a clone of his body and then transplanted Schmidt's brain into the new clone, creating the modern Red Skull.

I'm assuming Johann Schmidt will be the Red Skull we'll see in the movie.


... and COC is gay, and Vindy likes him that way! (what a poet I am today!)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 6:16:27 AM

Hugo will be an excellent villain, even though I'm not that familiar with the Red Skull.

Marvel is still c*nts though. Stop chasing pennies with pay-cuts. Pay up and put in an effort to make it good, it'll pay-off.
Aingx writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 6:31:39 AM

Niiiiiiiiiiiice
lost_addict writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 6:47:41 AM

Captain Anderson...eh..I mean America...
Ari Gold writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:26:18 AM

@PP

That's full on man. Lol, I have no knowledge of any comics, I've never seen a comic shop in Aus like in the simpsons. So I'm grateful for any background kowledge I read prior to the movies. Comic movies seem to be the massive thing, so I might buy some off eBay. Maybe Deadpool cause I'm a fan of Ryan Reynolds, any certain series I should look into? Advice appreciated.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:27:24 AM

Hugo is the sh*t! I can hang with this choice..."the jew hunter" was my first choice but the Hugo was next...All the best, Hugo.
TheStig writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:35:30 AM

GREAT choice.

Ari:
Lots of classics out there...can't go wrong with Spidey, Silver Surfer, Capt. Am., and lots of others...although I am way more into Marvel comics than DC so others would be better for input there.
VDODSON writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:40:10 AM

This is the first good news about this damn movie. Hugo Weaving steals the screen in most movies he's in.
SofaKing writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:43:02 AM

Its just gonna be his voice on a CGI head so thats cool.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:46:43 AM

@VDOD - Like the I Love the Nightlife video?? LOL. HOMO.
eddie499 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:59:28 AM

First good news about this movie in a while. All they need to do now is pick a good CA and get Johnston's head out of his ass. Hopefully Weaving takes it.

@PP - Nice Red Skull history synopsis. Spoken from a true fan. I have to agree with you. Schmidt is the only version of Red Skull who should be portrayed.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:25:48 AM

Well they got one thing right. Now stop d*cking around with the lead and let's get this show on the road.
VDODSON writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:30:07 AM

@Last Action Hero- the f*ck you talking about dipsh*t.
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:43:29 AM

This is really starting to look good, Johnston better not f*ck this up.
@pp
When vin and coc plan to get married I wonder if we'll all get an invite to the wedding?
avaela writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:05:25 AM

I <3 Hugo
avaela writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:05:37 AM

I <3 Hugo
Blank x2 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:14:27 AM

Hopefully him reuniting with Johnston will be better than The Wolfman. What a big f*ckin' disappointment that was.
Matiax writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:16:37 AM

Great!

Good info PP.
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:26:53 AM

thats one sexy f*cker ;L....
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:31:46 AM

deepnsh*t
i love ur avatar
would like to see more of it around here ;)
NatG83 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:02:49 AM

Wow. Awesome.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:08:43 AM

Excellent news. Weaving would be great. Waltz would be too but he's a recent Oscar winner so he'd probably laugh his ass off at the offer.
rabid writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:42:34 AM

Someone still has to play Hitler. It would have been nice to see Weaving in that role.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 11:59:24 AM

Great picture by the way...either he's got gas or he's gonna bob his head as "what is love?" plays in the background.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 12:59:09 PM

Finally doing something right on this film. Now cast the right CA and we'll be in business
Fettmanuno writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 1:13:58 PM

Weaving in the role is a piece of brilliant casting--and perhaps wishful thinking due to Marvels' notorious movie contracts.
I'll believe the part is his when he confirms it.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 1:30:06 PM

So who is todays choice for Cap?

Stallone?
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 1:56:12 PM

Hell yeah!!!! Finaly some good news on this project can't wait
rabid writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 1:59:17 PM

Busey
LastActionHero writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 2:08:51 PM

@VDOD - Look up the music video for I Love the Nightlife, you will never look at Hugo the same again. Oh, and I wasn't calling you a homo I was talking about him. I shouldn't type when I'm half asleep.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 2:16:58 PM

@Busey - LOL! NO make-up required!

@Blank - didn't see Wolfman... won't rent or buy it. May grab it on the movie channel one day. Thx. to post on here I gather how much it sucks (I trust this group of critics than I do 'the Pros').

@PP - I'm impressed. I suspect most of that Red Skull changeover stuff happened after my days in comics. Nice knowledge... much-o appreciat-o!

@Freudian - re: Marvel chasing pennies... exactly. Know I see why they went bankrupt all those many years ago. Even though this is a 'different division' of Marvel... this clusterf*ck of a movie called Captain America smells of The Green Hornet shenanigans.

@AF - 'the Jew Hunter'?! You mean Hitler? He's dead Bro.

As for Hugo! Best news this movie could have. He's the sh*t! He's the man! No better choice could be had!

There's a (small) rumor, that Wolfman's failure may have Marvel seeking a new director. It's ONLY a rumor. So if it doesn't happen, I don't want to hear the 'I told ya so!' from the wet fart, lurking, copy-cat, twaddles on here (in short... french my crack sweat!).
Starkiller9900 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 2:38:45 PM

Ranger-agreed man, same with Peter Parker, and it's not like Weaving hasn't already done a movie where you never see his face, don't know your guys opinion on V for Vendetta but that sh*t was badass and Weaving's voice f*cking made the flick. Also he does Megatron in the Transformers flicks so he's got no beef with just voicing sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 2:46:30 PM

@Starkiller - Weaving to me (and others I suspect) is as well-like as Liam Neeson. Even after being in The Matrix and Lord of the Rings Trilogies, V for Vendetta, etc. He'll still go back to Aussieland and do a small independent film. This guy just likes to act.

He's the sh*t!

And I honestly can't think of a better actor to play The Red Skull (Haim is gone, Coleman is busy getting bailed out of jail by his fan, and getting abused by his wife... so those choices are out).
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 2:47:14 PM

if Hugo is Red skull i may actually be pumped to watch this movie.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:11:19 PM

Exactly. Because Joe Johnston sure isn't doing it for me.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:23:03 PM

Cool! he looks like a great Red Skull, now where the hell is Cap!?!?!

however, again not trying to sound like those people who bitch about it being just like the comics all the time, but the Red Skull isn't much older then Cap, maybe around 5 years older ...

this guy looks about 40. i'm still cool with it but i do appreciate authenticity more.
CCBlev writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:26:39 PM

I've gotten like a soft boner with this movie so far, the thought of Weaving in it gets me hard and then the thought of Johnston directing it softens it up a bit, its kinda like a first date, she turns me on and then the dumb bitch turns me off thne later she turns me back on when she grabs my crotch.
ilovebatman writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:46:09 PM

Encore-"i'm sure there are lots of eggs in his bowels just waitng to hatch brilliant but f*cking annoying franchises"-LOL

f*ck James Fameron. I feel guilty actually loving the Terminator movies(mainly first 2) just bc he helmed them.
ilovebatman writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:46:41 PM

WHOA! WRONG THREAD! don't know how that happened.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:49:02 PM

I hear dandy is into necrophilia. I wonder if him seeing a walking talking red skull will get him aroused
ilovebatman writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:52:23 PM

@johnny boy, no it won't. You see, the red skull has eyes filling the sockets, therefore no fun for dandy Mcfag.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 3:56:38 PM

Lol
Blank x2 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:00:01 PM

@ Ranger

It's sad, too, because I REALLY thought the Wolfman had potential. Everything they could have f*cked up in that movie they did. The ONLY thing I really like about it was the way he looked in wolf form. Other than that, it was pretty pathetic.

I would definitely recommend waiting for it to come on movie channels.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:02:18 PM

@ranger
I agree bro. Death to lurkers!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:03:31 PM

@ranger
I agree bro. Death to lurkers!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:04:46 PM

Sorry for the double post
Bigcheese writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:11:15 PM

He was the best thing about wolfman, lets hope he isnt the best thing about Cap (I mean that in a good way).
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:18:07 PM

@Ranger-I thought Hitler was the Jew Huntress?
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 4:38:24 PM

That's right!

And COC's dead mom had the red skull after I f*cked it!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:04:47 PM

yeah this guy a great villain in the Matrix series, he would be great as Red Skull.

good choice Marvel, good choice ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:16:42 PM

'guy a great'= 'guy was a great'
TheHundreds writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:05:53 PM

yes!! great casting
masht7 writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:38:10 PM

At least there is something good about this project so far.
sdpepper writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 7:39:00 PM

Hugo Weaving is an excellent choice for me.

Now all we need is an excellent choice for Captain America!!!!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:36:47 PM

I was kinda hoping Mark Strong had gotten the role but Hugo is good too.
nope.com writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:00:13 PM

good choice.. now if they just fire the sh*t director
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 9:00:51 PM

From your words to God's eyes!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:25:19 PM

@dope- damn you, you got there first, I was going to say that.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 10:25:48 PM

sorry @nope
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 3:18:41 AM

hugo weaving is an excellent choice...only thing i didn't like about 'the matrix revolutions' was that neo didn't fight all those other agent smiths...at least, that's what everyone was led to believe in the trailers...oh well
Sonic writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 9:27:50 AM

RS: Goodbye mr Rogers

CA: My name is Captain America
bacci40 writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 6:53:28 PM

very good casting choice

Electro Rock writes:
on March 13th, 2010 at 11:02:14 PM

Awesome.



Oh,hey yall.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 17th, 2010 at 7:43:54 PM

Now THIS is some good stuff.
Hope he gets the part. I think he could really pull off The Skull.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved