WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Talks "Batman 3" and "Superman" Reboot

Posted: March 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Talks "Batman 3" and "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
LA Times caught up with director Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight), who said that there is already a "fantastic" story for the third Batman film and confirmed that he will be involved in the "Superman" reboot.

Apparently Nolan and writer David Goyer were working on ideas for "Batman 3" when "Superman" discussions started. "He basically told me, 'I have this thought about how you would approach Superman,'" Nolan recalled. "I immediately got it, loved it and thought: That is a way of approaching the story I've never seen before that makes it incredibly exciting. I wanted to get [wife Emma Thomas] and I involved in shepherding the project right away and getting it to the studio and getting it going in an exciting way."

Goyer and brother Jonathan Nolan are now finishing up the script for "Batman 3," which will be the last installment in the franchise. "Without getting into specifics, the key thing that makes the third film a great possibility for us is that we want to finish our story," Nolan said. "And in viewing it as the finishing of a story rather than infinitely blowing up the balloon and expanding the story."

He added that the key surviving characters from the first two films and the actors who play them will be back. This could mean that The Joker will not return. Nolan added that another villain won't be appearing in the franchise. "It won't be Mr. Freeze," he said.

And just because Nolan is working on both Batman and Superman films, he has no plans to have the characters appear in each others films. "Each serves to the internal logic of the story. They have nothing to do with each other," he said.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:41:45 PM

Batman 3 sounds like it's moving forward slowly , good call on mr freeze he's nearly killed batman (movies) once before......
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:42:09 PM

And I thought the article about "DinoShark" was the best news today.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:45:35 PM

Who survived the 1st film apart from Gordon?

Im glad they are ending this on 3 films. Go out of a high for sure. I hope they look into adapting Frank Millars The Dark Knight Returns afterwards.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:53:41 PM

good no Mr. Freeze ... don't think we've fully recovered yet ...

i guess no fourth Batman,huh?
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:55:46 PM

Hey WP Staff, how come every time i post a link, you all do it in the next half of the day? I don't even get a thank you for the news sources:(

Lol i'm just screwing with ya'll (although that would be appreciated)
ian_918 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:59:51 PM

This is definetly a good idea. Although i will be bummed to see batman go, Nolan will blow everyones minds with it no doubt about it. As for superman, This is exciting news. Nolan is the king at comic book-to-movies and he never disappoints.
Salvador writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:15:20 PM

@ian_918

That's what I think.

Well done Christopher. :)
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:15:51 PM

I'm wondering if that means two face is returning? He said there won't be another new villian, so its a posibility. On the other hand it could be scarecrow.....he is alive after all
jdDiedforyou writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:19:54 PM

at least he knows when to end a sotry instead of continuely making more an more sequels to the same character.
Vin12 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:28:33 PM

chris nolan should do the star trek sequel if jj doesn't. How cool would that be, producer Abrams and director nolan... epic...
CCBlev writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:36:14 PM

This is gonna be great! The only thing though, even though Nolan says there won't be a 4th one there will be a 4th one. Too much money to be made in this franchise to end it on 3, of course Nolan will bow out, but they'll find someone to replace him and Bale if necessary. 3 great ones yes, but after that time for this series to go downhill fast, I bet Schumacher's getting all excited about this.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:40:14 PM

Three is good enough. But this is good news. So he is directing right? I'm not sure if I've heard an official announcement on this. But no joker is a good thing. Leave him be, but would love to see riddler. But I don't know who else would work clayface is too out there like killer croc
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:48:37 PM

@dandy you son of a bitch don't you need to go ff*ck your dad up the ass till it bleeds crimson? Oh and btw you r pats loving fruitcake you better change your avatar before ranger cuts your beating heart out....you kniw what don't change it I wannsa see ranger kill you...and ill help
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:50:37 PM

as tony the tiger would say "grrrrrrreat!!!"
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:53:26 PM

@dave
Lol hell yeah brother this is gonna be great
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:58:57 PM

@skate-cheers.

tell you guys what after Dark Knight, Inception, Superman & Dark Knight Returns Nolan is going to be able to write his own cheque on movies and call all the shots & the studios won't be able to say no.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:02:32 PM

@dave
and cheers to you my friend. and on another note i would have to agree with you nolan right now is king and no one can touch him, but lets see where this goes.....aka its gonna be f*ckING SWEET!!!!
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:19:59 PM

Hope they would do an appropriate cross over.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:38:26 PM

@KoJay- but the look of what Nolan said there probly won't be, unless some1 else does it a few years after Dark Knight Returns.
wonderBOY writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:33:01 PM

Nolan said. "And in viewing it as the finishing of a story rather than infinitely blowing up the balloon and expanding the story."

batman is so gonna die in the 3rd one
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:39:49 PM

This guy is great. Total genius. Glad to hear mr freeze ain't in it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:03:05 PM

@woderboy- don't think he will die per say but it does sound like something will happen to Batman.

Maybe he will retire then they will do a fourth movie years from nowas an old man and they are trying to get him out of retirement and a new Batman arrives.

WV-Films writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:31:15 PM

"the key surviving characters from the first two films and the actors who play them will be back. This could mean that The Joker will not return. Nolan added that another villain won't be appearing in the franchise"

OK honestly, I've read this now 3 times, and I don't know what this means. Could someone explain it to me?
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:40:55 PM

I hate to inject as little negativity here but Nolan really has a lot working against with Batman 3. Third films are always tough especially when you have to replace your meal ticket from the second film. The first film that focused mostly around Bale didn't even make $300 mill. He alone wont be able to make up the void that the Joker character leaves behind. TDK may have raised the bar too high for even Nolan to reach unless he get's REAL creative with the next villain. It may be tough to do that and develope Inception and a decent Superman reboot. I'm just saying the odds are kind of stacked against him. I hope he's the Superman most of you think he is.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 12:01:48 AM

Show a lot of tits... it'll work.
WV-Films writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 12:07:07 AM

No Ranger! Bat-nips is what killed the 90's ones!
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:11:06 AM

Tweek - tweek - tweek...
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:15:03 AM

No no no bat-nips was the straw that broke the camels back
BrandoFresh writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:20:10 AM

Awwww, I guess this means no Deathstroke or Deadshot, or Clayface, or Bane (maybe for the better), or Riddler. Still, it's Chris Nolan. It WILL be the best Batman film yet. So no worries. As for Superman, I can't wait to see what they're planning to do with his story.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:20:25 AM

Did someone say we were gonna see a lot of tits!!!! Let me at em!! Where they at!!!
masht7 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:37:51 AM

Get Joseph Gordan-Levitt as The Riddler and I have faith in this project. Just happy that Mr. Freeze isn't in the movie. I'm going to miss Nolan's Batman after the third one comes out.
takai writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:46:48 AM

Personally, I really hope they bring Joker back. If they are really going to finish the franchise with this film, they have to.

And before anyone goes into a Heath DEADger rage, let me explain my reasoning.

See, when Heath was interviewed about his role, he constantly noted that he was trying to completely detach himself from the character. When you were looking up at that screen, he didn't want you to see him playing the Joker, he wanted you to see the Joker, come to life.

So, in reality, wouldn't bringing the Joker back be doing a huge honor to Heath? I think so, but some might think the opposite.

And really, Heath spent months locked away in a hotel room, creating the Joker's character for TDK. All his replacement has to do is copy that. It's certainly not impossible, considering there are plenty of people on YouTube that can do it perfectly.

Even so, I'm not sure who I would want to take his place.

The only name that comes to mind is Crispin Glover. That man is amazing at playing weird characters.

Who knows. We'll see.
Vin12 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:52:59 AM

f*ckin jgl no wonder why hollywood tells us fanboys to go scratch
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 2:24:39 AM

Hey WP Staff thankz for deleteing my soul sexy comments yea f*cking wankers.
what ever happened to ur own point of view? this proves it, u bastards dont give a f*ck about the forum, u never cared about me, or the baby
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 2:34:30 AM

LOL! Priceless.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 3:00:46 AM

No matter who is the villian, whoever Nolan gets will be great in the role, and if the studio say no we don't want him he can just say "hmhm Momento, Batman Begins, Dark Knight, Inception, I'm doing Superman reboot"
cue studio licking his arse.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 3:59:38 AM

So Ra's pulling strings while 2Face consolidates gangland power in Gotham? Sounds great.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 6:19:04 AM

@Takai: I too think that Crispin would make an awesome Joker, but the problem is that Heath Ledger's Joker have become a popcultural monster. He has become to big of an icon too replace. I think the audience would have some issues accepting a new Joker. I don't say it can't be done, but it'll be hard.

Personally I rather see Crispin do the Riddler (which is kind of Joker-esque) or maybe let Cillian Murphy's Scarecrow finally step forward as the main villain.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 11:15:27 AM

Is interesting how this things are working out!!!!

The way the Nolan talked about "the surviving key characters from the first two" it tells me, the film will focus more in a psychological way. It will have something to do about the bounaries of good and evil. Characters who had feel this one during the first two films will take in some way sides about what to do of Gotham.Some of then will make justice on their on and some will make of this a benefit for personal matters. I donīt think a third villain will be good idea for the Installment. It will be to gimmck or kinky or in other way stupid.

You see, at the conclusion of TDK, people was scare and running for their lives in Gotham... You donīt see in a way about this an opportunity for the inclusion of a new villain. There was not a concept in the moment for integration of a new character. It was only chaos.....

The mess that the Joker do in TDK, I donīt think could equal or overpass with another villain...

Nolan what is looking with the third Batman, is something more of redemption, forgiveness and in a way the right justice for a character like Batman in all this time!!!!
SofaKing writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 11:40:33 AM

I was hoping for a new villain personally. I like Eckhart as Two Face but he certainly won't be as fun to watch as the Joker was. Maybe this is a good thing because I felt the last movie made Batman look kind of like a bitch, the Joker handled his ass for the first 2 hours. I forget who mentioned it but maybe it will just be more about gangs or something. There has got to be a decent character they can add to the mix even if it is a small character... A love interest? Catwoman? Poison Ivy?
warlord writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 2:17:04 PM

have a superman cameo
rabid writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 7:00:46 PM

As great as Dark Knight was, Batman moves too slow. The fight scenes should look more like Ninja Assassin than like Rocky.
I'd like to see the Penguin in part 3. He's an arms dealer, so maybe he gets his legs blown off at the knees, hence the waddle. And hopefully we'll get to see Harvey alive somewhere in a secret rehab.
darkraven28 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 8:09:54 PM

You know what this means right? Scarecrow and Two Face will be back and will team up. That's the only thing that makes sense based on those comments. Plus, it better explains why Scarecrow was in TDK in the first place because his one scene felt like padding anyway. But, here's the thing. Writing around the Joker is going to be a HUGE issue because that was the biggest reason why TDK worked. Heath Ledger blew everyone off the screen in that film and there has to be some sort of acknowledgement of the results of the Joker's actions in part 3.
rabid writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 9:10:03 PM

Joker's dealt with easily. He and Bats can have a chat through an Arkham cell door. They could actually use real footage of Ledger's face through a thin window and hire a soundalike to do the voice.
rabid writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 9:13:19 PM

It would be cool to see the Calculator alive, but all burned up from the Joker's burning moneypit. Maybe he's one of the two returning villains.
Fire Marshall Bill writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 9:59:51 PM

I'd kinda like Batman 4...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 12:12:58 AM

@rabid- that's what my mates and me were talking about after the movie, have Batman chatting to Joker in the Asylum at least it will explain no Joker in movie, eventhough I heard Joker was going to me the main villian in Batman3.
bloodgear writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 8:34:26 AM

Two-Face [They only ever said Dent was dead] and Scarecrow, and possibly Ra's.
To be honest, I doubt they'll do Ra's because they're keeping the whole thing within reality at the moment. Two-Face is easily done, they just need to show in the trailer that he wasn't dead afterall, make it directly follow on from TDK. Hell, they could link Two-Face and Ra's with the Lazarus pit, but they won't do that.

The Riddler's one of the few that would fit easily into Nolan's world.
Spedattack writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:47:00 PM

I think he should bring in Harley Quinn as one of the villains because...IDK shes the Joker's girlfriend and the story would add up better that way

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved