WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Ritchie to Direct King Arthur Film

Posted: March 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Ritchie to Direct King Arthur FilmSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is developing a King Arthur project with "Sherlock Holmes" helmer Guy Ritchie attached to direct and "Trainspotting" writer John Hodge (The Beach, The Seeker) is working on the script with Ritchie.

Project aims to be a re-imagining of the legend of Arthur, believed to have been a 6th century king who defended Britain against Saxon invaders. Key source material will be Thomas Mallory's "Le Morte d'Arthur," published in 1485 as a compilation of French and English tales.

Warner Bros attached Ritchie last fall to direct "Lobo," the live-action adaptation of the DC Comics drama about an alien bounty hunter, before "Sherlock Holmes" became a hit. Ritchie also directed "Rocknrolla" and is attached to "The Siege of Malta" and "The Gamekeeper."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:12:36 AM

arthur better get gay with his knights in this one, or else im out
Wallace writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:22:13 AM

Too soon in my opinion. Besides, medieval movies are barely successfull. So let's see what Scott does with Robin Hood first.
NatG83 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:53:05 AM

I'm with Wallace. The King Arthur story is more stale than, dare I say it, vampire movies.
shayhiri writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:16:25 AM

They're aiming to do what they did with Holmes, so more power to them.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:44:00 AM

If they going for the same style as in Holmes this will suck. The expression "I'll go medieval on your ass" doesn't come from nothing. The medieval times were brutal, but somehow everytime a movie concentrating on these times gets out, they tend to romantisize (= gay it up. COC know what I mean) it.
Salvador writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:46:32 AM

To be honest, I liked the last 'King Arthur' despite its failures.

But I don't think Ritchie is the right guy to direct this new version.

Do you imagine Arthur and Lancerote fighting each other in slow-motion?
Salvador writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:47:10 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare

I agree.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:15:51 PM

@FN: How soon we forget that Guy Ritchie is really an R rated director. I just hope he hasn't forgotten too.

King Arthur was an abomination. It had a great premise but completely f*cked it up with Uwe Bollish cheesy action and Kira "the stick figure" Knightley. Going back to the Le Morte material that every other film has been based on is a good start. Getting a real director like Ritchie is another good move. If they really want to make it perfect they'll allow Ritchie to go back to his true R rated nature so he can deliver another gem.

@Sal: What the hell is wrong with Ritchie's slo mo scenes? Its well done and never gets overused a each film. Its a perfect contrast to Ritchie's fast paced shooting style which in turn make it unique to him as a director. If properly used it should be fine for an Arthur v Lancelot duel.

@Wallace: "Too soon"? It couldn't happen fast enough! I can't wait to wash my memory clean of the abortion that was King Arthur. "Medieval movies are barely successful" When they are good films they are wildly successful. Costner's Robin Hood and Ledger's Knight's Tale made tons at the BO, and Crowe's RH will kill too when it come out.
captnhowdy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:56:16 PM

This guy ritchie seems to be keeping busy since his divorce with madonna.

keep it real with "Excalibur"
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:24:51 PM

@SAC: I agree with the slo-mo shots (those in Sherlock Holmes were great). I also agree with Guy being a R-director. However, he is also a director that aims for attitude. All his films have this c*ckiness over them (I haven't seen Swept Away, but I thin we all ignore that), which worked fine in Sherlock Holmes, but I fear will not translate well to a medieval piece. I would like to be proven wrong though.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:01:36 PM

like the picture in the article.



but unless there is plenty of incest, or it as lots of action i'm out.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:41:19 PM

as=has ...
Salvador writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:30:38 PM

@SACdaddy:

I see your point. But "Le Morte d'Arthur" is too complex to be adapted to the screen in the same style Ritchie uses in his movies. "Excalibur" is so far the best movie ever about King Arthur and his knights.

This project should be handed to Ridley Scott instead.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:01:19 PM

@captnhowdy- good call my friend.

not many people knw about that one, it is frikin brilliant, everyone go check it out, it's got everyhting blood, guts, rape, incest everything a normal femily should be.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:30:43 PM

@Sal: Ridley is the directing the new Robin Hood movie.
Aaron writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 3:42:42 PM

Dear Guy Ritche,

I seem to remember a bit of text on the credit scroll of one of your recent movies that read "To be continued with The Real Rock'nRolla"

What. The. f*ck?
darkraven28 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 8:15:38 PM

Um, do we need another Arthur movie? After all, this article even shows the logo from the Bruckheimer/Fuqua version. Can't they at least wait ten years before another reboot/remake/I'm out of f*cking ideas let's rip off that flick on TBS version? Come on!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved