WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller
Apr 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson's "Hercules" TV Spot, From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West" TV Spot
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for "22 Jump Street," with Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill
Apr 14th, 2014
Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters
Apr 14th, 2014
James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Doesn't Like Last Two "Terminator" Films, Says T-800 Would Beat Alien Queen and Na'vi in Battle
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses "True Lies 2" and "Prometheus"
Apr 13th, 2014
Will Spider-Man Appear in "Sinister Six" Spin-Off?
Apr 12th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Apr 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Evans Up for "Captain America," John Krasinski is Out

Posted: March 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Evans Up for "Captain America," John Krasinski is OutSubmit Comment
Marvel needs to finally tell us who will play the lead role in "Captain America," because I'm going crazy trying to crack this one. First the studio confirmed that there are only three actors in the running, including John Krasinski ("The Office"), Chace Crawford ("Gossip Girl"), and Mike Vogel (Cloverfield).

Then Dane Cook revealed that he is being considered as well. And finally, FoxNews said that Marvel has already chosen Krasinski for the part and has actually been using him to read lines with actresses auditioning for the female lead.

Now Deadline and THR are reporting that Marvel has decided against Krasinksi and Crawford. Instead, the studio has expanded its search and the new list includes Chris Evans (Fantastic Four), Garrett Hedlund (Tron Legacy, Troy, Death Sentence), Wilson Bethel ("The Young and the Restless") and Vogel.

I'm betting that Hedlund will get the role. The actor was on Marvel's original list, but wasn't able to make the audition. Since he's getting another chance, we can only assume that the studio is more than interested in him.

Hedlund is also the youngest and the tallest out of the four men, being 25 years old and 6'2 feet tall.

In related news, Krasinski is now in negotiations to star in the romantic comedy "Something Borrowed," which will begin shooting this spring.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Deadline, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 160 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:49:14 AM

okay, i think Chris would be a good Capt. Better than the other guys.
Taco writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:49:46 AM

BTW.........First.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:57:01 AM

"BTW.........First"

- Want a f*cking prize?
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:57:11 AM

Fox News was wrong? In what world? Oh right. The same world.

Post about Tarantino wanting to do a romantic comedy next.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:57:32 AM

Want a taco?
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:01:30 AM

"Want a taco?" - LMFAO!
rocketman writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:36:19 AM

Nice,hope this is true because the other guys didn't inspire confidence,you can loose Chris Evans though.
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:36:35 AM

Now that's Captain America right there!!
Ari Gold writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:42:00 AM

You guys all say that Cap was young, Garrett Hedlund is the pick! He even has that superhero jaw. Most importantly this guy can act. I said this in the last Captain America post here, he is a character actor that hasn't been type cast. Check him out!

And at 6'2' with some juice this guy can get big!
eddie499 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:09:15 AM

I like Garrett Hedlund for this, but like other comments on previous threads, the primary concern is the director. Anybody but Johnston, please. You figure with the reviews an poor performance of Wolfman, they'd can him, but I suppose not. Maybe we'll get lucky and fine out that he's already been fired and execs just forgot to tell him. Fat chance, but it'd be funny as well as satisfying.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:15:33 AM

Rainn Wilson for sure.

As you may have guest, I have stopped caring. Regardless who is picked we still have not-so-mighty Joe still at the helm.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:18:59 AM

Okay, I have to defend Johnston here. Yes, The Wolfman sucked. No denying that. But I still think he's a really good filmmaker. Need proof? Watch October Sky and The Rocketeer. Two excellent movies. Also enjoyed Jumanji and Jurassic Park III, while not up to par with the first one, was still enjoyable nonetheless.
Wallace writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:24:12 AM

Didn't Hedlund play Achilles' kind of gay cousin in Troy?
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:27:55 AM

@ilovemovies82

Yeaaaaah, but... well, youlovemovies.
drshakalou writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:33:29 AM

hmmmmmmmm tacos.
drshakalou writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:34:02 AM

btw, this casting is getting sh*ttier and sh*ttier.
lost_addict writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:49:49 AM

all of these actors are kids.captain america is a man.a big one.
eddie499 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:50:33 AM

@ ilive - I'll agree with you that The Rocketeer and October Sky are wholly watchable, but even his better movies aren't much more than popcorn flicks. Even though this is a comic book movie and, by old standards, should be just a popcorn flick, but the genre has been elevated beyond that. The concern most have is for the character. While his films are watchable, they don't reach the level of characterization needed to do Captain America justice. He's just not the guy for this. Just my opinion. I hope I'm wrong.
BDeck writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:00:52 AM

i say we have coc and vin hold their breath intill marvel casts somebody.

even if those twats had micheal phelps lungs they would die.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:01:06 AM

@ilovemovies82: Im just referring to his comments regarding how he views CA plus also we have to consider that this really is a massive character in the Marvel world and this guy has not made anything 'good' in the last 10 years.

As a visual spectacle I have no doubt in his abilities but beyond that...

ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:30:23 AM

In Urelated news, Gary Coleman has signed on to play the part of Cap's Shield.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:34:21 AM

@ ACTIONFIGURE:

Your avatar is cracking me the f*ck up!
Too funny...
Sonic writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:54:24 AM

I say Chris is the best choose.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:55:32 AM

Chuck Norris!
rocketman writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:19:00 AM

Chuck Norris is 70 f*cking years old today?
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:30:26 AM

@ rocketman:

Gawd damn! You're right, he is!
defiant1 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:39:01 AM

i dunno, i'm betting Rick Moranis comes out of retirement to scoop this role up.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:39:04 AM

I think maybe Chris Evans£¬ but just for the look I¡®d with fourth person in the pics£¬ that man has got a jawline¡£@Ari if that happens to be the man you're talking about then I applogise¡£
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:44:32 AM

Hedlund and Evans is actors I can trust in. Evans is a quite high-profile actor, but haven't really struck out yet as a leading man, so he could take the deal. Hedlund is an up-and-coming actor and will probably be aftersought after Tron, so he can anchor a movie-franchise. And both these actors can probably match RDJ.
boiler tk writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:06:27 AM

I still say Ben Browder from Farscape. Don't go with a young CA. If it was a slightly older CA we can avoid horrid ideas like EMO CA (like Spider-Man 3).
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:08:23 AM

Renner for Cap in 2010...Marvel get wise. If you're taking your sweet ass time anyway, don't you wanna get it right?
nope.com writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:17:39 AM

Of those 4 I'd say Hedlund or Evans
nope.com writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:18:21 AM

don't really give a sh*t that Evans was Johnny Storm, nobody gave more than 2 sh*ts about those films.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:19:03 AM

....and on another note, Corey Haim....he DEED!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:19:32 AM

I can see it now "honey I shrunk captain america"
coldplayesence writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:21:00 AM

CHRIS. EVANS. Is. A. f*ckING WALKING JOKE!!!!!!! Michelle Rodriguez for cap America. There's my opinion.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:39:18 AM

I agree with Taco, Chris Evans isn't one of those f*cking gucci underwear models where their physique is very intangible, this guy looks like he could pull it off with flying colours.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:41:44 AM

I don't know Hedlump (lol) very well but couldn't he just be another risky pick like the director. He was absolutely TERRIBLE in Four Brothers and who knows what will happen with Tron. He was decent in Death Sentence but was naturally overshadowed by The Bacon. RDJ is going to eat him alive in the Avengers movie! Sounds like Marvel is taking another sh*t in the wood, although I am slightly impressed that they shot down the Office jabroni.

Evans would be my choice. He was one of the few decent things about the Fantastic Four and has held his own with much bigger stars like Keanu Reeves and Jason Stathom. Plus, isn't he just a Ryan Reynolds clone? If RR is getting cast for all of these superhero films, why not this guy.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:51:33 AM

@Peter Parker-Thanks brother. Loslag is always good for a laugh, isnt she? She aint good for much else.
Lt. Mike Harrigan writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:52:24 AM

*Yawns*

This is getting really tedious!

Hedlund is the best of the four though...
darthraige writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:55:21 AM

After Evans' performance in Fantastic Four, you would think the studio would want someone better.
makingcircles writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:04:15 AM

Hedlund.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:15:12 AM

James Dean.
Kid_A writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:37:37 AM

Just - stop - this - Captain America - news! GRrrrrrr!
NatG83 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:56:35 AM

I don't think it's fair to judge anybody by the Fantastic 4 movies.

Evans did a good job in Street Kings. He was also, in my opinion, the only good thing about the movie Push
Montana writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:03:47 AM

Hedlund is so effing hot...... i would.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:07:37 AM

Guys, C. Nolan is talking about Batman 3 and the next Superman

Link:

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Christopher-Nolan-Talks-Superman-And-Batman-3-For-The-First-Time-17482.html
rocketman writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:08:21 AM

?PP i thought he was about late 50's or roundabouts,f*cking 70?
Montana writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:08:37 AM

oh and a definite JOG ON to Chris Evans.....he is ggggasssh.
Kurskij writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:10:59 AM

f*ck yeah, noe we''re talking
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:11:06 AM

"i'm betting Rick Moranis comes out of retirement to scoop this role up."

hahahahahahah damn where the f*ck is that guy at, I guess he's waiting for Little Giants 2
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:17:00 AM

@ rocketman:

Oh yeah! And even at 70, he would STILL be capable of drinking 10 kegs of beer for breakfast, taking the gold at the Olympics in all the events aaaaand impregnate 240 women...

... all in one day!

Some people say he died 20 years ago. Death just never got the guts to tell him.

Chuck Norris beat Halo 3 on legendary with a guitar hero controller.

Chuck Norris can do a wheelie on a unicycle.

Chuck Norris is the reason that Waldo is hiding.

Chuck Norris makes onions cry.
BigUnit writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:27:37 AM

i could actually see Chris Evans or Garrett Hedlund
triggax writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:32:57 AM

Hey what about Corey Haim? He'd make a great cap..... Oh... wait.. hes dead.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:37:07 AM

@Montana: I don't know if I want to hug or punch your avatar :)
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:04:27 PM

I want to f*ck those teddy bears.
I want to make them j*zz pretty f*cking rainbows.
They're so f*cking cute!
ChadRo writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:12:16 PM

Uh...That's great Taco! Here's your popsicle, now get back to class.
G Monkey 1987 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:14:58 PM

Maybe marvel wants somebody to be RDJ's punching bag in the Avenger movie. Cap and Ironman arent BFF's so the tension between the two should be there.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:23:28 PM

@Trig: Too bad he died directly after the Oscars. Now he'll have to wait a whole year for his memoriam
goat1202 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:23:54 PM

Chuck Norris would be awesome as C.A.

Every time Chuck Norris smiles, someone dies. Unless of course he smiles while roundhouse kicking someone in the face, then two people die.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:25:34 PM

@Trig: Holy sh*t Haim's dead?!?! You know what that means? More cocaine for the rest of us!!!

Just kidding, that really is sad....I guess.
goat1202 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:29:25 PM

Corey Haim Dead = No License To Drive 2, that f*cking blows
goat1202 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:31:43 PM

speaking of blowing c*ck for $$ to pay for AIDS meds, where's Vin69? He's due for his daily verbal raping right about now
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:36:54 PM

I say vogel or evens hands down
mmacny1 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:04:54 PM

Chris Evans hands down. or Hedlund. But definitely not that pretty boy on the end there, he looks more like Miss America than Captain America
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:34:18 PM

Chuck Norris killed the man in the moon because no one looks down on Chuck Norris.
goat1202 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:44:26 PM

Chuck Norris counted to infinity. Twice.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:48:33 PM

tough choice for a character...i'd say expand the list of choices and have them audition in costumes like they did with the green lantern...bradley cooper should go for captain america since he didn't get green lantern...but that's just my opinion
goat1202 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:48:50 PM

Chuck Norris is currently suing NBC, claiming "Law & Order" are trademarked names for his left and right legs.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:05:06 PM

@Taco - save that 'first' sh*t for Perez' site you stupid c*nt. 'FIRST' - being anonymous on a public blog site... is that your best contribution to the world, you dumb sh*t?

As for Evans... better than those tested to date. He didn't suck in The Fantastic Four movies... the movies sucked.

October Sky... GREAT movie (yes, great). But a 'popcorn flick' like someone else said. I don't know (believe) Johnston is a 'Saving Pvt. Ryan' Director... yet.

All great posts.

@AF - great avatar!

@PP & Goat - I'd say God Bless Chuck Norris... but I think it's the other way around.

VinDouche and COClessDDD - holding their breath 'til this is cast... best idea I've heard all week (next to I suggesting one try a career in suicide).
Bigcheese writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:12:46 PM

I think he is the best choice by far.
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:15:49 PM

Chris Evans could be good, but I dunno. I think it could work if they did John Krasinski (Steve Rogers) turned into John Hamm (Captain America). Granted they aren't blond though.
James.Speed writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:20:20 PM

I would have been fine with Chris Pine, who was reported like 1 and a half weeks ago. Since then, we've had like 15 guys rumored. I'm kinda not caring anymore. I only know Chris Evans out of this group, and would be an interesting Cap I guess. We at least know he works well in a superhero ensemble movie, so The Avngers won't be a problem.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:21:08 PM

I'm getting the feeling that the delay has nothing to do with filling the role of Cap and more with finding a replacement director.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:22:29 PM

@Johnny - I too have thought using 2 Actors (pre and post serum) is the only way to go.

As for blonde hair... that's a dye job (die job in COC's dead mother's case), that's easy (like it was for her when her brain popped).
moosebuddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:23:04 PM

start the buzz get this guy in for a read
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2227414/
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:24:14 PM

@HideousSecretion - from your words to God's eyes!

I'll bet (and really hoping) you're right!

This is WAY OVER Joe's head!

And Joe has less to do with casting than some realize. It's being casting by the same people that did it for 'Crash'

rabid writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:24:39 PM

Another load of BS. Marvel never confirmed that list, it was just a rag rumor. There are alot more actors in the running than what you see here, and no Krasinski is not out as of this morning... Not that it matters. He won't get the role.
Chris Evans for real?? I don't think so. The guy is funny, but he has no commanding presence.
rabid writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:28:49 PM

btw, I actually could see Krasinski working really well in the role, I just don't think Marvel has the balls to cast him.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:36:31 PM

@rabid - with his height at 6' 3" and he's lanky... I don't know. CA is HUGE! He has fought The Hulk. Now height is less of an issue.

I've seen the trick... well, watch the end of Iron Man again, when Stark is reading the newspaper before doing that final press conference. When he walks up to Pepper, he's shorter than she. Next camera cut (as she fixes his tie) he's taller. I've seen that (in person) before... laying down plywood for the shorter actors to walk on.

But 6' 3" begins to rival Thor's height and dwarfs Tony's height. Plus he's a bone rack.

There's a lot more to consider here than just acting. There's the 'cosmetics' as well.

But we'll see.
Kurskij writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:05:43 PM

Cast Hedlund.

He looks good buff - Death Sentence, Friday Night Lights.

Plus he's a charismatic MF (I can't believe I'm saying this about the guy who played Patroclus btw).

He'll hold his own against RDJ and the others.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:10:58 PM

Dam I feel like this role is an a unknown actors time to shine. f*ck people in Hollywood. They look nothing like him. It's sad to say there are unamerican actors who look the part but the actor must be american
triggax writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:11:40 PM

I realize the need to go with someone younger for this... for mass appeal.. but i still would rather see an older more surly bad ass cigar smoking captain america...

My top three pics would be Arnie... John Hamm or this guy, Benjamin Koldyke... http://static.tvfanatic.com/images/gallery/dale-tomasson-picture.jpg

These tween actors with strong jaws will undoubtedly ruin captain america.. It wont be good I can guarantee you that..

I mean granted October Sky was good, but Johnstons track record blows.. His films are usually pretty bad.. mediocre at best...

Im not excited for this really at all.. I am canadian after all and could give a sh*t about captain america.. but with the way this seems to be going its gonna suck sh*t... At least with Thor they got Branagh and with The Green Lantern they've got Campbell... good choices... johnstons gonna ruin this..
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:31:05 PM

@Johnny - if you knew how many actors in Hollywood are not American (like, the full list), you'd be shocked!

Keeping CA 'American' were the movie to suffer is pointless.

Were I to think of the X-Men alone: Cyclops and Storm are the only 2 from the original team that are American.

Captain America is (thx. mainly to the Serum) a: Tony Stark equivalent in brains (learns: conceives/perceives instantly), can fight The Hulk (full-on and survive - and leave The Hulk with a pretty good headache), would weigh in at about 250lbs (is a man, not a boy). Has the senses of Wolverine and his killing instincts and reflexes - heals fast, but not as fast as Wolverine, and is a Leader.

No one even CLOSE to their casting choices meet the above requirements... not even close.

Sorry... we'll have to agree to disagree on this one my friend.

Find the man to play CA, not the nationality.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:37:07 PM

@ ranger, yeah I know there are many unamerican actors in Hollywood. That's the sad part. The unamerican actors are so good they could fool anyone into believing it. Think the actor has to be American due to principal. Don't want other counties thinking how Americans can cast a non-American to portray a charcter that best represents America. Idk, that's just my thoughts
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:39:02 PM

If we did go the non American actor route, I'd say go with Sam worthington. He's good and seems to be in every film that's big
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:47:37 PM

@johnny - good post (thx. for taking my comment in the light in which I intended).

Reading on the IMDB - CA Page about Neil Fifer chiming in to a post someone made for him to play CA. Sure the age (his) is up there, but even having a non-American with a German heritage makes a world of sense.

A CA with a German heritage would get the Europeans (that will pay $'s to see this, thus adding to it's financial success) off the back of the movie believing the Americans aren't making some political, propaganda, flag-waving piece with this movie.

And going with a non-American proves to all that this is an art/actor/comic/went with the man and not the nationality thing.

So (like all stories)... always 2 sides to think about.

I wonder if HideousSecretion above will be proved right... and all this casting delay, smoke-screening (if it's that) isn't a tactic to have Johnston replaced.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:21:38 PM

GARRETT HEDLUND!!!! f*ck Chris Evans
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:32:34 PM

Mike Vogel would be perfect, f*ck you all! So would Hedlund, f*ck the rest of the actors AND f*ck THE REST OF YOU!!!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:32:51 PM

thanks Ranger. you had a good post as well. brought up many good points i never considered.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:43:20 PM

@johnny - thx. for reading.
VN1X writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:49:28 PM

I can't believe you people care for this sh*t. Honestly. Captain America?! Seriously?!

f*cking hell.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:50:49 PM

More than your own life.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:52:30 PM

VN1X - as you get older you may learn that other people like different things. They'll have different tastes in things, different priorities, even different opinions.

Or you may not (learn that). No matter.
Duffman writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:10:17 PM

@ Ranger re:Captain America is (thx. mainly to the Serum) a: Tony Stark equivalent in brains (learns: conceives/perceives instantly), can fight The Hulk (full-on and survive - and leave The Hulk with a pretty good headache), would weigh in at about 250lbs (is a man, not a boy). Has the senses of Wolverine and his killing instincts and reflexes - heals fast, but not as fast as Wolverine, and is a Leader.

If they do go with the man and not the nationality route ranger, the guy that comes to mind is Gerard the dude has nothing but bonified badass roles (except the romantic comedy stuff but who wouldnt take a role where you get to slap jen anistons ass???)but hell he led 300 spartans and owned the role he is more than capable but no matter which route they go half the people are gonna hate the choice anyways
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:16:44 PM

@Duffman - yep... if they go 'non-American' there we'd hear about it.

Gerard is even a better choice then these bone racks they've been considering.

I think they sat on this project too long. Thought it would be 'just another casting gig'... and it's proving to be a LOT tougher than they have expected. And whoever is at the reins of this project, jamming things up here, I'm sure we'll hear about it soon enough when they get 'removed from the project - or, such & such has 'left' the project.

Considering their release date, and filming required, and obvious post-production. All this sh*t should have been taken care of 6 months ago.
Montana writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:20:32 PM

Non American wouldn't be a problem if they chose the right person, just look at Kick- Ass, the lead (Aaron Johnson) is English playing an American.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:23:51 PM

@Montana - yep. Happens all the time (daily) in Hollywood these days.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:28:42 PM

it sucks for Kranskinsi but i'm glad he's out, just not right for the part. and why do they keep adding more people to the list? they should have picked the actor by the 1st, it is now the 10th.

and i still think Vogel is the best out of them all ...
j-man writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:49:15 PM

corey haim found dead
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:52:33 PM

Corey Feldman is next!
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:03:24 PM

Feldman (in a statement):

“I hope the art Corey has left behind will be remembered as the passion of that for which he truly lived.”

What f*cking 'art'?!
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:06:36 PM

a new coroner’s report tells that the “Lost Boys” actor spent his last living moments with his mother (unlike COC whose whoring Mother died on him).

Wow... I didn't know an autopsy could reveal such details.
triggax writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:33:04 PM

@Ranger, Check it out... His artwork makes this even more unsettling.. Its just awful.. the man had a serious lack of any talent... Its unfortunate...

You learn that hes died from an over dose then look at his artwork it adds an entirely new tragic light on the whole situation because of how pathetic the guy is.. was..

Oh and heres his artwork.. http://www.coreyhaim.us/webgallery/artwork/index.html
triggax writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:35:15 PM

http://www.coreyhaim.us/webgallery/artwork/pages/6.html
THIS is my favorite.. It looks like something a retarded zoo animal that was addicted to pain killers would paint with it's "fingers" or "trunk" whether or not it looks like an elephant painted this is yet to be determined.. But it is my fav none the less.. i'd buy it.. so long as it didn't cost more than 3 dollars...
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:38:40 PM

@trig - lol... nice finds!

And I was going to write back commenting that elephant painting was a lot nicer... but you beat me to it.

Those 'paintings' = WTF?!?!?!
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:39:49 PM

Until you found those links... I thought the 'art' Feldman was talking about was Haim's 'acting.'

Sweet Jesus... that sh*t is terrible (interpretative or not... IT SUCKS!)!

GIST writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:42:55 PM

@Ranger

Corey Feldman is next for what? Next actor up for the lead to play Michael Jackson in an MJ biopic?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMYoUVrkFYE

Oscar-worthy performance I'm telling you.

SCUBA STEVE writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:43:14 PM

I was kinda hoping they pick corey haim... oh well =/...
triggax writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:45:56 PM

I've made my decision on Captain America.

Chiwotel Ejiofor.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 6:51:12 PM

@GIST - lol. Feldman isn't white enough to be Michael Jackson.

Feldman has always reminded me of the creepy killer in Dirty Harry (Andrew Robinson). Someone you'd see on a park bench at a playground sitting next to VinDandy.
GIST writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:10:31 PM

@Ranger

HAHAHA! Couldn't agree with you more. & as for Cobra's boss, that's what Corey Feldman is going to look like in...tomorrow.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:11:44 PM

I say either vogal or evens for the role the other too just don't look like they would fit
bale01289 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:16:12 PM

I know that anything that had to do with Haim in the past 15yrs has been total crap, BUT you gotta admit, he made some awsome movies in late 80's/early 90's! (Lucas, License to Drive, Lost Boys) Peace out, Les! You won't really be missed, due to all your good stuff being on DVD. Lucky for us, I guess.....
BitterPeace910 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:20:26 PM

Jeremy Renner anyone?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:24:16 PM

Renner wouldn't work right, not only is he working on something else i believe but he just doesn't scream (or even whisper) Captain America material to me ...
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:28:37 PM

These 'established' actors (Butler, Renner, etc.) are all good calls...

But they will NOT do CA because of the $300K pay cap and that forced 9 movie 'option' deal... they won't folks. At their level acting is no longer an 'art'... it's a business, their income, career, livelihood.

If all we've been presented with is true: Johnston directing, this pay-scale, they really can't find a CA, Disney is f*cking with Marvel (and vice-verse)... this movie is f*cked.
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:33:01 PM

got this feeling simon cowell is going to do Captain America Idol, all the contestants will have to prove how much they want the role and each week they will each take turns in beating the living crap out of ryan seacrest, randy jackson or paula abdul and the public will vote, this will also help with the films budget so its a win win for them and they can drag it out for another 15 weeks...........
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:34:43 PM

That's not a bad idea actually.
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 7:51:34 PM

ive seen alot worse on the tv..lol
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:01:10 PM

"Mike Vogel would be perfect, f*ck you all! So would Hedlund, f*ck the rest of the actors AND f*ck THE REST OF YOU!!!"

@kid
Where as I respect your opinion on wanting Vogal for the role, are you sure you really wanna go down that road by saying f*ck the rest of you? If you would read the post a lot of people was saying Vogal or someone else from the list (including me). All I'm saying is do you really wanna go there?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:31:05 PM

@ranger,duffman,encore- looks like we are all along the same line, get the person for the part no matter what nationality.

There will be people out there that will be like "no don't give it him he's from..(add country here).." then when a trailer comes out those same people will change their minds and be all like "I knew all along he would be great!!" and never admit what they said in the first place.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:37:56 PM

@dave I'm with you and everyone else screw nationality just get the character right
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:50:47 PM

Hey rang a heads up vindandy is still using your avatar on the batman post bro just letting you know
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:55:52 PM

@skate- good move man, so many on here talking about it hard to keep track on who wants who to be CA.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:04:50 PM

@skate - thx. Bro. He's too stupid to realize that when you copy someone you flatter them.

I'm flattered, and he's stupid.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:05:52 PM

@dave
good point, there are alot of actors that would be a good choice for instants Brian Austin Green, and many others. but out of these three i would say Vogal Hudland(or however you speel it), or evens, the last guy in the photo just looks horrible for the part. its really anyones guess
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:09:35 PM

Unless they're writing it in that CA has AIDS.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:10:38 PM

@ranger
no prob bro, also i wouldnt be too flatterd you dont want dandy trying to sneak up on you in the middle of the night. btw? did you read my post to him about that? and is it a possiblity? because i would love to see that my friend, and to hopfully partake in the festivites at hand
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:12:28 PM

@ranger
lol AIDS....... everbody had AIDS my grandma and my dog oh blue....AIDS...the pope has got it and so do you....i love that movie
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:21:21 PM

yes he is very stupid
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:22:56 PM

@skate yep one of the best movies ever.

Trey & Matt don't get the credit they desrve in their writing.
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:23:01 PM

Macaulay Culkin should revive his career as Captain America. Am I right? Am I right? No? Doesn't matter.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:25:12 PM

I just hope the CA a movie does'nt suck as much as Pearl Harbour and "I miss you".
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:39:36 PM

I'm sorry, Butler? Are you guys f*cking kidding me? He might have the worst American accent known to man! He looks like someone is shoving a hot poker up his ass every time he speaks in these lame American roles he takes. 300 is the only great movie he has done, or did I miss something? He is easily film's biggest disappointment. f*ck him.

Renner would be fine if he wasn't like 5'5".

I've said it before and I'll say it again, USE AN ESTABLISHED STAR! It's really the only thing that makes sense. And dump this young CA bullsh*t. Before the transformation he was a young p*ssy. After he was a more mature badass supersoldier!

My ideal casting choices would be:

Pitt
McConaughey
Pine
Olyphant

They all fit the role almost perfectly, and if these idiots at Marvel didn't insist on a nobody, they could have cast one of them and had the movie filming by now!

I'm constantly surprised that nobody else sees things this way, especially fans that don't have to worry about the film's budget. Call me crazy I guess.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:44:59 PM

@dave
your right, i love south park but it just gets too political for me sometimes...and its like...come on!! get over it!! you know what i mean
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 9:52:29 PM

@skate- that's true, but sometimes when they get an episode right it is gold, even the not so good ones are better than some of the stuff around.
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:03:13 PM

Hers my several picks:
Josh Holloway (Whisper)
Bradley Cooper (All About Steve)
Sam Worthington (Bootmen)
Jensen Ackles (Days Of Our Lives)
Alexander Skarsgard (Zoolander)
Chris Pine (Princess Diaries 2)
Jude Law (LOL)

But out of those guys, Garrett Hedlund and Chris Evans fit better than those other wannabes. And Dane Cook? Give me a break. You will never be in the same league as RDJ, so don't ever mention his name.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:13:38 PM

Jude Law and Sam Worthington? Trueman! Please murder this ^^^ guy.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:31:57 PM

@skate - lol.

@SAC (and others) - the $300k they're offering is what has them looking for a 'lesser known' I bet they'd LOVE to have Brad Pitt or any of the other great suggestions made.

I think these bean counters are shooting themselves in the foot trying to go all Walmart with this project. It's likely to go Lohan on them if they persist on being cheap.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:33:47 PM

Stuttering John Melendez for Captain America!!!!

Dumb F***ing Movie Producers.
Loki writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:38:01 PM

@KID I will rape your mother.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:47:40 PM

@Ranger: I liked your idea a while back of just paying the lead a percentage of the profits. sh*t, Marvel will clean up on other crap like new video games, toys, and cartoons. Going cheap is not the right move. Then again, maybe neither was hiring Joe Johnson.
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:48:55 PM

@SAC

Mconaughey(Fool's Gold)? Olyphant(Hitman)? Really??

Compare them to non Americans Worthington (Biggest Movie Ever Made)and Jude Law (Sherlock Holmes) = No match at all.

Its funny that non Americans suit Cap more than Americans.
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:51:51 PM

Sam Worthington would take the 300k just like that, the more gigs the better, he fears unemployment like he said.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:00:36 PM

@SAC - yep, royalties. No front end $'s for these cheap bastards to lay out.

@KoJay - the $300K is only half of their sh*tty offer. The other half is the 9 movie commitment (whilst by then ANYone playing CA would be offered millions and they'd be stuck with that time-consuming, schedule f*cking contract).
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:08:23 PM

@ Ranger

I know I'm just saying that Worthington doesn't care about money. The more gigs, the better for him as an actor. That's his view.
KoJay writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:10:47 PM

But you are right, 9 movies waste of time and you're only getting that amount, it is sh*tty for an actor.

So an unknown should be cast. Jensen Ackles then.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:15:44 PM

@KoJay: "Sam Worthington would take the 300k just like that, the more gigs the better, he fears unemployment like he said."

LOL!!! You hit the nail right on the head with that one. Hollywood uses Australian and British actors because they come a lot cheaper than guys like Tom Cruise, Will Smith, Brad Pitt, and Clooney. Thats nothing new, look it up. sh*t, when Mel got too expensive we told him to hit the road and start making his own films (which worked out fine for him). Crowe is the only one of you foreigners we shell out the real bucks for, and after Huge Jackass and Christian Balls recently failures we wont have to pay them d*ck anymore either.

Neither Jude Law or Sam Worthington have proven that that can handle an American accent. We all know of Worthington's failures (Term Sal and Avatar) and Jude's best attempt was a heavy hick accent in Cold Mountain. I have know problem with Law's acting as long as its not playing an American pop culture icon.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:19:19 PM

have "no" problem.... my bad lol.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:28:39 PM

@sacdaddy- right about that mate, I've seen lots of movies with British actors in instead of Americans coz they were cheaper.

Tho sometimes these Brits doing the American accent hurst my ears it is awful.
Makidian writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:36:04 PM

I give it 50/50 odds that Johnston f*cks this and they reboot after the Avenger movie.
masht7 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 12:53:37 AM

Either Mike Vogel or Chris Evans for me.
BrandoFresh writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:04:45 AM

Cast him now please, Marvel. Just get it done. first Joe Johnson lied and told us all he would cast the lead by the 1st of March. It's the 10th! Still no Steve Rogers! Then the guy from the Office was supposedly the favorite. Please stop it with the suspense!
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 1:09:38 AM

@dave yeah that's true. I like family guy they take a more neutral look and balance the banter bettwen the two, where as south park is much much more twoards the liberal. Not that I don't like south park its just a little too heavy on politics sometimes, but I will agree with you that most episodes are gold
jdl107 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 2:54:14 AM

Garrett Hedlund, best pick by far.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 3:13:55 AM

@skate- cheers, I like Family Guy too, but my favourite is (I knw I'm going to get shot down for this) King Of The Hill, but at least South Park take risks with storys.
KaloVisor writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 2:49:04 PM

Hedlund looks perfect for CA. I hope it's him
darkraven28 writes:
on March 11th, 2010 at 7:55:38 PM

Does Chris Evans have to do everything? Jesus Christ.
deepnshit writes:
on March 12th, 2010 at 5:32:37 AM

they should make a movie called "Captain Erectus" and instead shield a Hero would use big ass pink dildo to "punish" bad guys.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Chris Evans Says He Almost Turned Down "Captain America" Because of "Fantastic Four"

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved