WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Wants John Krasinski as "Captain America"

Posted: March 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Wants John Krasinski as "Captain America"Submit Comment
The last time we checked, the lead role in "Captain America" is between John Krasinski ("The Office"), Chace Crawford ("Gossip Girl"), and Mike Vogel (Cloverfield). That's if you don't count Dane Cook, who apparently auditioned for the part.

Now, FoxNews is reporting that Krasinski is Marvel's favorite and the only way he can lose the role is if he drops out or screws up somehow. "John has read 4 times and is doing screen tests," the site states. "He has screen tested 2 times so far. It's very likely that he will be the new Captain America. He is a favorite among the key decision makers and has been asked to come back for more this week."

FoxNews goes on to say that Marvel is not considering any other actors at this point. In fact, the studio has had Krasinski read lines with multiple actresses who are auditioning for the female roles in the movie.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: FoxNews


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 145 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Wallace writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:37:04 PM

I don't get it. What is it about him? After all, he's just the guy from the Office.
burman writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:37:54 PM

John who?
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:38:08 PM

And he was my last choice of the 3 on that short list they provided earlier.
trailertrash writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:39:47 PM

This is becoming the who shot JR of movie casting......
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:41:14 PM

@trailer - exactly.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:47:03 PM

damn ... i just don't see him as Captain America material, but if nobody thought RDJ could do Tony Stark who was also picked by Marvel, then i still have a little faith ...
Blank x2 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:50:03 PM

This is a terrible idea. Terrible.
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:54:06 PM

Not a terrible idea, Krasinski is a fine actor, he doesn't look like a blonde haired pretty boy like other actors, I feel that he will be able to go from the gawky wannabe soldier that Captain America really was to the actual Captain America (with some time spent at the gym of course).

Like Encore said, no one had faith in RDJ and Edward Norton looked like a weird pick for the Hulk (look how small he is!) but Marvel usually makes the right choices.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:01:08 PM

tcu-i hate to be one one of those 'has to be just like the comics' douches but i hope they do something with his hair, it's black and Rogers is blond ... it just doesn't fit CA look-wise.
gcerda88 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:05:41 PM

I can't imagine him doing an action role. Then again I haven't seen him in one.
lost_addict writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:06:30 PM

G A Y
SofaKing writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:07:05 PM

Ryan Reynolds got jacked, Will Smith got Jacked, even Ed Norton got jacked and lost it all again after American History X so who knows maybe he will eventually look the part. I always had faith in RDJr I knew he was gonna be an awesome Tony Stark.
barley_cat writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:12:38 PM

Will they just make a f*cking descicion already?! At this point in time I don't f*cking care who plays him anymore, just stick a mask on any old nobody and call him famous!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:17:30 PM

It figures. f*cking Hollywood. (shaking my head)

Unless this c*cksucker pulls a Michael Keaton and comes hard for this role, this may go down as the worst castings in film history. Will somebody get Will Smith back in the picture please! If they're gonna completely miscast the character, they might as well let him try to save the movie with his talent and star power. Its better than getting this total puff from an increasingly boring show to play one of the most iconic characters in American pop culture history. I hope somebody please drops a plane on Marvel Studios before they insult us all with this bullsh*t?
moseshatesyou writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:18:39 PM

I like him on "The Office" but can't picture him as Captain America.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:23:01 PM

I don't knowe about him his face looks too round for CA but then again it might work...will see
Ronald Regan writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:28:34 PM

I'd like to see this, hell if I could I pick him as my running mate.

In Fact...

Regan, Krasinski 2012.

It's officially on.
Kid_A writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:42:35 PM

Uh... why don't they decide on it secretly and reveal the result completely? Sick of reading about CA everyday on here - there should be more interesting news.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:49:28 PM

Fox News? Really Alex?
UnNameable_One writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:09:09 PM

For some strange reazon, every time i look at his picture, all i see is Quagmire from Family Guy.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:10:25 PM

@ tcu:

"no one had faith in RDJ and Edward Norton looked like a weird pick for the Hulk"

- Not true. I saw RDJ's potential to portray a credible and charismatic Tony Stark since the day they announced him. A lot of other people did too.

Norton was the studio's attempt at bringing some credibility to the part, since the script was clearly deficient in many aspects and the movie, as a whole, was aiming to be a simple action blockbuster. Norton would supposedly balance things off.
Needless to say, the formula didn't work as well as planned.

Krasinski can play a nice guy, the next door neighbor, the goofy average man that ends up getting the girl in chick flics...

... BUT NOT CAPTAIN AMERICA!!!!

For f*ck sakes! CA needs to be someone that oozes self-confidence, he's a leader, a bad-ass soldier, a brilliant strategist, a fighter...

... and Krasinski looks nothing like that!

I really hope this is just a rumor. Considering it's coming from Foxnews, I'm not giving it much importance.
Bonzaitri writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:11:54 PM

I think Krasinski will do well if he gets the job. The thing to worry about on this film is Joe Johnston.
SofaKing writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:13:23 PM

@Spooky- Haha I didn't even realize the source, all this conjecture for nothing.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:17:37 PM

@PP - couldn't have said it better myself (and I too had a lot of faith in RDJ as Stark). And you CA / John concerns are certainly valid.

Here is what the Leader of The Avengers is supposed to look like:

http://www.sideshowtoy.com/?page_id=4489&sku=71611FLEX&utm_source=search0109

Anyone going to that page, click on 'Gallery.'

Now... anyone can get romantic, supportive, etc. of John K. all they want. BUT... does ANYone (excl. COC/DDD, VinDipsh*t, etc.) see ANY resemblance between this actor and Captain America (other than he's perfect for the 98lb. pre-Super-Serum Captain)?!

Just asking...

encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:25:48 PM

Ranger i agree (uh-oh i agreed with you, i must be trying to kiss your ass like Vin/COC keep singing) he looks nothing like Captain America should, he needs a completely different face, not ... square enough. and like i said before he needs a different hair color.

i have strong doubts in him, but like i said again i still have some faith in Marvel ...
eddie499 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:30:27 PM

I'm definitely skeptical on this one. I don't doubt his acting chops. Something just doesn't seem to fit.

I could see him playing a more capricious hero along the lines of Wally West's version of the Flash, but I just don't see him for Captain America. For the sake of the canon of the character and, most notably, the fans, I really hope they see something that I don't.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:31:57 PM

Well... dying his hair is no problem. I just don't see this guy (or any others they've shortlisted) to (EVER) have CA's build.

Maybe a padded suit like John Wesley Shipp wore in TV's 'The Flash!' He was still built like a brick sh*thouse... the suit only added more. With the short shooting schedule of this (involved story) for CA... this John K, better be willing to juice-up with the 'roids... otherwise he's looking to be in the gym for the next 6 months to a year AT LEAST to get to CA's build.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:33:14 PM

@eddie - well said. Funny I was typing 'The Flash!' as you mentioned him.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:35:52 PM

"otherwise he's looking to be in the gym for the next 6 months to a year AT LEAST to get to CA's build."

it's the Toby Maguire way ...

eddie499 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:38:19 PM

@ ranger - thanks, man. I always try to get something meaningful out here. Have to use that education somehow.
moosebuddy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:41:46 PM

they are looking for this unknown american
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2227414/
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:44:11 PM

...as Bucky.

And this Canadian for Captain America:
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1292175/

LOL!
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:48:13 PM

@Wallace

Hey, he is not JUST the guy from the Office. He directed Brief Interviews With Hideou-aw f*ck it this isn't helping at all.
CCBlev writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:52:27 PM

I agree with Bonzaitri, I'm more worried about Johnston directing this.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:55:03 PM

Yes, Johnston does not seem to give a f*ck about Captain America.
MattC903 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:55:06 PM

yes.
Jamall316 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:57:02 PM

NO!
G Monkey 1987 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:09:11 PM

horrible pick. i like the office but dont mess up cap with a relative unknown . hopefully marvel knows something we dont.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:19:11 PM

@G Monkey - for the $300K they're offering (and that sh*tting 9-movie 'option' - which is NO option - it's a take it or leave it 'option'), they're not going to get any Actor's of substance (unless that $300K thing is a joke as well and (again) we're being bullsh*tted).
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:29:23 PM

I was just reminded...

Ugh!

Disney owns Marvel... right?

And this cluster-f*ck sh*t I said I hoped wouldn't happen (and that Marvel would be run as a separate entity from Disney - but with bigger budgets) - appears to be happening.

Man... out of all the Marvel movies they couldn't f*ck up... if Captain America. The HUB of The Avengers. Their Leader. Icon around the world... etc.

Who knows?
Blank x2 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:33:19 PM

Edward Norton and RDJ's acting are so much better than Chuck's, it isn't even funny. Their acting made the choices okay. I could start on jokes for this, but quite frankly, I'm too upset to try. This movie could have been good, but this kind of casting and the director of JP3 and Wolfman (Sorry, SAC...it wasn't good. At all.) just kind of leaves it with no hope. Hopefully I'm wrong, but I don't think I will be.

This guy as Cpt. America? REALLY?

Might as well have cast Will Smith.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:33:49 PM

If they cast Miley Cyrus as Captain America, I'm going on a f*ckING KILLING SPREE!!!!!
HankTheTurtle writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:36:55 PM

f*ck it. I like him.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:37:16 PM

@Blank - don't forget Jumanji.

OMG! I just looked up JJ's Directing Resume...

Does ANY one else realize he's only directed 11 movies in the past 21 f*cking years?!?!?!?!

And before his 2010 'Wolfman' (box office flip) he hadn't directed ANYTHING in 6 years?!?!?!

Oh... this project is so f*cked!
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:38:59 PM

flip = flop.
Last Acting Hero writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:39:07 PM

I cannot believe this. First that gaylord RR decides he wants to ruin predator, and now they want this guy to be Cap. Hollywood...f*ck you! I can't believe these tragedies are happening during my life.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:43:27 PM

It might work, I will wait for trailers/poster, like I said on Dane Cook thread don't knw enuf of CA back story to really comment.
KalVicious writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:48:15 PM

Mike Vogel would be better, I think. :(
Last Acting Hero writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:50:03 PM

@davethephotoguy

You don't have to know about the back story. Just look at pictures of how Captain America should look like. Then look at John K. He doesn't even have a superhero jaw line! For f*cks sake look at his nose! That is not the nose of a superhero!
G Monkey 1987 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:53:51 PM

@ranger - thats true . its the perfect part for the " nobody " actor.

if they cast this guy they mite as well cast Joel McHale as Red Skull lol
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:54:00 PM

@Dave - Last Acting Hero is right. But I'd give John K. (only) a bit more latitude as I know the movies with their magic have done wonder (short Stallone as a World Heavyweight Boxer, Wolverine is supposed to be about 5'1" and we accepted Jackman - etc.). But check my links above (Sideshow Collectibles) - and try to imagine John K. with the CA build?

And I only learned today what a limited resume the Director has.

I'm a little... concerned.

Even not knowing a the back story... CA is too important in the Marvel Universe. All the other characters are fine as a stand-alone figure. But CA is 'THE hub' that joins everyone together.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:55:36 PM

@G Monkey - this keeps up and they'll cast Gary Coleman as the Red Skull... you just watch!

This could end up being the 'High School Musical' of Marvel Super Hero movies... ick!
aioros writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:01:50 PM

I think that from all the other options, he's the best choice, looking back at the other movies from marvel, they don┬┤t go for the pretty boy actors but actually actors that can act!. I have a good feeling about this.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:07:20 PM

@Ranger

i hope you dont mind but i quoted your comment about what CA should look like (since everyone is pretty much bashing on this guy) on other sites.

Pretty much everyone is agreeing with you too.
masht7 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:09:37 PM

One word: pricks.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:10:46 PM

GUYS! GUYS! John K. is out of the casting entirely! Holy crap there is a God! Here's the link:

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Krasinski-Will-Not-Be-Cap-But-Chris-Evans-May-17474.html

I'm much more satisfied with this guy than then poor excuse, John K.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:11:14 PM

@mash - LOL.

@Eli - u bet my friend.

@aioros - may I know the brand of felt pens you've been sniffing? I'd like to give them a go.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:14:38 PM

@Eli - great find!

And in case anyone thinks I'm not happy with ANY choice for CA... Chris Evans is the BEST they've come up with so far (by far!).

They guy is already in shape... so bulking up would be easy for him.

Nice!
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:14:41 PM

@PP

Yes, some people had faith in Downey Jr. but for the most part the reaction was, "Wha?"
And now looking back we say we should have had faith because he's a good actor even if he doesn't fit the superhero profile.
I think the same can be said about Krasinski, sure he doesn't have the typical superhero looks or persona, but he's a good enough actor to adapt into that. It's just so hard for us to imagine him as a superhero because of his role on the Office and really that is unfair to him because any actors deserves more than to be typecast. He was great in Away We Go, great dramatic performance, I have faith in his range and plus...

He's in the Handsome Mens' Club haha.

But I do understand where you're coming from, but like I said before Marvel does a pretty good job of casting their superheros. Really the only question mark I can think of is Ben Affleck as Daredevil, some may say Bana as the Hulk, but it was the script and direction that sunk that movie, not Bana.
@nchorman writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:16:14 PM

i dont get it...CA is the brick and mortar of the avengers...and they wana f*ck him up...this guy is a fantastic actor..but the only role iv seen him in is playing a gawky office worker who occasionally looks at the camera from time to time...i just dont see him as CA...CA is the perfection of the human body...thats wat the serum did to him...fcuk i just dont see it
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:17:57 PM

In all honesty it's hard for me to think of someone who'd be perfect for the role. Jon Hamm, if he were younger would be perfect. Really Krasinski would not be my first choice, but out of those three I'd prefer him.

@Eli: Although the news may be true it's just as likely that the source at Fox News has the facts. I'm not buying anything until a press release comes out from Marvel.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:18:53 PM

@ Ranger

Thanks. Just remember there's plenty of other movie news websites out there, but never forget to be faithful to the ol' WP
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:19:21 PM

And all this talk about him not being bulk, I look to go back to RDJr. That dude got f*cking in shape for Iron Man, if he can do it at 40, Krasinski can do it at 29.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:21:01 PM

@tcu - I've never seen the office so I can't typecast John K in any role. He's just not CA. Here and now, or in the future. Check out my links above (sideshow collectibles) as to what CA is supposed to look like (real or imagined).

As for Affleck or Bana... I think they were fine in their movies... just their movies sucked. I don't think it had much to do with either of them.

Same as the article Eli just found for us. The Author is blaming Evans or bad FF movies?! Is he on CRACK?! Evans (and what's her names ass) were the only two good things about those movies.

If John K is out... I'm happy. If Evans is being considered... I'm happy(ier).

Joe Johnston's resume still scares the hell out of me though.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:23:10 PM

@tcu - RDJ has done a GREAT job with Iron Man. He was fit/lean for IM 1... he's NOT a bodybuilder that CA needs to be. IM has his suit. CA has his brawn (both have superior minds).

John K. at 6' 3" and lankey... if he stuck his tongue out he'd look like a zipper.
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:25:48 PM

I agree, Marvel really screwed the director pooch. What's his resume got the worst of the Jurassic Park movies and The Wolfman bomb?

I'm not gonna lie though, growing up The Pagemaster totally rocked the sh*t haha.

Even if it's not Krasinski I trust Marvel to make the right call based on previous decisions, which we all should because their resume is pretty clean.
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:27:07 PM

I'm watching my recorded episode of Chuck and wondering WTF happened to Ryan McPartlin?
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:28:05 PM

Yeah... Ryan disappeared from all chatter, didn't he?
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:30:24 PM

Honestly he's just like Vogel except a decent amount of inches taller and in better shape (he plays a guy who's obsessed with working out on Chuck).
Guess he couldn't make a good acting impression on the producers/studio
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:32:19 PM

@tcu - I read he had 4 readings at min. So John K. almost had it.

They should have just put Jon Favreau in charge of this movie... started this way back when... with a $200mil. budget and quit all this f*cking around.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:43:10 PM

I honestly think that Sam Worthington would be a fit choice for Captain America. Didn't we accept High Jackman as Wolverine, even though he's Australian? And his performance pretty much saved T4, right? No homo or anything, but he has the chin, facial structure, the serious soldier look,and i bet he could bulk up really fast. He's already expressed interest, but then again he's Canadian.

Just my 2 cents...
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:44:17 PM

oh sh*t

High = Hugh
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:46:14 PM

@Eli - I have no problem with Sam. People think he should be American (I don't think it matters). Sam's not Canadian though (again, doesn't matter).

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0941777/
tcu21 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:47:35 PM

@Eli

I very much agree, but the outcry would be very very large. Wolverine isn't really an American icon like CA is. I, personally, wouldn't have a problem with it, but i don't know that a foreign actor would even want to considering the backlash and criticism they'd face from their own countrymen. It's sad but even in today's world people would be resistant to a foreign born actor playing the iconic Captain America.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:48:38 PM

Google: 'Captain America Movie Posters' - there's some amazing 'non-official' artwork pieces out there.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_GVUpFsG-_aA/SYA49yaD4XI/AAAAAAAAIu4/UGw1x35LGBc/s400/Captain_America_Poster_1_by_NineteenPSG.jpg
lost_addict writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:49:54 PM

spartacus has cancer !

http://eztv.it/tvnews/4929/spartacus-has-cancer/
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:51:01 PM

http://www.movieposterdb.com/posters/08_06/2009/458339/l_458339_8020a2ac.jpg
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:52:23 PM

http://fc03.deviantart.net/fs50/f/2009/335/a/4/Captain_America_Movie_Poster_by_Facelift_Persona.jpg
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:54:06 PM

RE: Spartacus - Cancer...

Best Wishes Andy!

Kick that cancer in the ass!

Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:54:47 PM

Andy would have made a better CA than other choices mentioned.
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:57:19 PM

John's jowls are simply too prominent.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:58:01 PM

@ Ranger

The last pic link that you posted says its a Michael Bay film, lol! I could see him overlooking the explosions,but that's mainly it.
nope.com writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:01:54 PM

Jim Halpert is NOT Captain America, if anything he's Caps' lapdog
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:07:11 PM

Thanx for not bashing me too much guys, I all get where your coming from, as all you guys can understand there will be some people who accept a non american playing CA they have such a blinkerd view, just give it to the best actor regardless where he is from as long as he gives of the persona of a great leader and someone who the whole of the Marvel Universe can get behind, just want to say that although I am a fan of all these superheroes but I am not an avid comic book collector so am not fully clued up on origins and back stories on alot of these guys.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:10:29 PM

@Dave - you'll notice we only bash those on here that draw 'first blood' with 'personal' attacks (you're no where near that type). After that... it's 'gloves off!' lol.


DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:10:40 PM

cannot accept a non american*damn we need an edit button*
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:13:52 PM

@Dave - I've suggested that 'edit' button as well (many have). But agree with WP about not having it (or needing it). Why? Because the douche-bags on here that start the fights would go back and edit their posts, then we'd have a he-said, douche-bag said kind of a thing going back and forth on here.

I just make corrective posts like you do.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:15:03 PM

@ranger cheers mate, don't think personal insults are clever (unless someone draws firstblood (we knw who they are)) I will chastise a movie or story if it is a load of twoddle tho.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:15:09 PM

Really┐? Jim Halpert as Captain America!!!! How about Michael Scott in Superman reboot and Dwight as Robin in the next Batman!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:16:59 PM

@ranger guess so about the edit button, but it is a lttle annoying when you put a post up and then when you go back to read it and well..... you knw.
lokopr writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:26:09 PM

the guy from The Hurt Locker would have been the perfect choice for CA but nothing is perfect!...i dont get why people dont like this guy cause of the black hair but they DO like jon ham who has also black hair??? but still im with most of you who doesnt see him as CA, maybe Ant Man but no CA!!
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:53:50 PM

i don't know why, but every time i see this photo i see Sam W. as Captain America
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:54:19 PM

lol i forgot it

http://srwp.screenrant.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/avengers-thor-captain-america-iron-man.jpg
the_chosen_one writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:12:17 AM

f*ck the haters....wait this one out, the ONLY reason that CA will possibly bomb, is that dumb-f*ck director
G Monkey 1987 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:28:39 AM

It almost feels as if Marvel is pulling everyones chain. Different sources telling different media outlets about the casting updates. I'm just waiting for MSNBC to break the news .... " Sean Penn to play Captian America " lol
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:45:26 AM

So this comes from FOX NEWS, WHEN THE f*ck IS FOX NEWS A VALID SOURCE OF INFORMATION
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 12:53:49 AM

I just found a piece of the Captain America script...

RED SKULL
The Nazis will rule ze world!

CAPTAIN AMERICA rolls eyes while looking at camera.
jb82 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:13:20 AM

Seriously Marvel? Seriously!? John Krasinski IS SO WRONG for Captain America! And to me it's different than RDJ or Heath in their respective parts that were met with some criticism early on. SO much of Cap is being a badass plain and simple and the ability to lead and be taken seriously as some one the Avengers would listen to...and his looks! John Krasinski is too damn goofy looking to play this part. I don't see where Marvel looks at him and sees anything remotely Captain America about him! I am honestly baffled. He win the part because he was the tallest to audition? Just picture the bottom half of his goofy looking face in Cap's mask! This is gonna be a nightmare. I had hoped so much that, this of all Marvel movies, that I would NOT be disappointed with the casting as Cap is my fav, but I gotta tell you Krasinski is honestly the last guy of all the actors mentioned that I wanted to see cast. This is a sad day and it'll be even worse if he gets this part. LOL
blinkbomber writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:15:27 AM

well, i like him as CA. he's got the height, can buff up and dye his hair.

he's a good actor, and not just as Jim Halpert.

i thought Brief Interviews was pretty good.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:29:50 AM

99 comments but a bitch ain't one. lol I just had to do that
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:38:45 AM

@ Eli:

Thanks for the Chris Evans article link.
I'm pretty sure Evans won't land the part either, but at least that article gave me some peace of mind. I just hope it checks out!

Krasinski looks like Bozo with that nose.
He's definitely not Captain America material. Like I said before, good guy, decent actor and all, but just not right for this.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:39:44 AM

@ tcu:

"that is unfair to him because any actors deserves more than to be typecast."

- Agreed. But actors are also chosen in light of their characteristics in order to adequately fit the part, especially when they're supposed to play characters with very distinguishing qualities.

I believe Krasinski is a decent actor and he may have the talent act his way out of typecasting. However, that's different from having the traits that would represent a convincing Captain America on screen, and I strongly believe Krasinski doesn't have that.

Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:40:11 AM

@ HideousSecretion:

"CAPTAIN AMERICA rolls eyes while looking at camera"

- LOL!!!!
Powderedtoastman writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:53:05 AM

All I can do is echo everyone's anger and disappointment in this casting. I pray this is only a rumor.

I just may have to extend my Michael Bay/Megan Fox boycott to include Marvel if they ruin Cap.

There are THOUSANDS of actors out there. And they settle on this guy? Really? He is anything but Steve Rogers. The guy never even comes off as confident--a basic quality and characteristic of Cap. UGH.
rocketman writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:55:13 AM

Nice,way to shoot yourself in the foot Marvel.Wonder if Disney have anything to do with this or are Marvel ruining their franchise all on their own.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:57:34 AM

I'm glad everyone is so confident in their opinion on this casting. I mean, you know... because you guys saw all of the auditions.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:02:01 AM

No, but did you see the one of us raping your Mother?
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:11:37 AM

"because you guys saw all of the auditions."

- I'm glad you used sarcasm to express your opinion, because we all know that wrong casting choices never happen, right?

I'm also sure you were present at all auditions, and after seeing Krasinski's brilliant performances, you can sure speak on his behalf, right?

I can't speak for the others, but I've seen most of Krasinski's work so far, and my opinion is based on that.
Also, regardless of his acting performance, the guy looks nothing like Steve Rogers. NOTHING! To some level, I'd say that's important too, right?

And, in case you're wondering what I mean by "looks nothing like Steve Rogers", the following link should explain it quite effectively:

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c199/zeejay25/john-krasinski-mens-health-03.jpg

What a tank, uh?
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:13:23 AM

Yeah I missed that audition. Dam my slow driving
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:13:42 AM

Is that an ad for AIDS (VinDandy, will you answer that one?)?
johnny_boy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:14:48 AM

Well said, Peter, as always
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:16:16 AM

@thomas - look up pics of John K, then scroll up to my 'sideshow collectibles' links on Captain America's build. There... done.

Yeah, I'm shallow and all discriminating against a pencil-neck for Marvel even allowing him to audition. But CA is a pretty particular build. As is Thor. IM has a suit to hide in, and The Hulk is done with CG.

So yeah... I think John K. as a choice sucks farts out of COC/DDD's dead Mother's *sshole.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:17:27 AM

Thanks, johnny.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:27:48 AM

@PP - yep... you save me some typing some days.

Thank you.

Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:29:33 AM

Although... one more bad casting story like this and I'm going to call 'bullsh*t' on Marvel. We're getting BS'd and they're already into things and have their pick. No one could/would (intentionally) make this many bad casting calls (unless... you've only made 11 movies in 22 years, and your latest one is a box office flop, and that was your last movie in 6 years!)!
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:37:20 AM

I said the same thing some time ago, rabid said it too.
They may just be playing the suspense game at this point, which is actually a very common move in big productions such as this one. Keeps people on their toes, and that's what they want.

Also, it really doesn't make much sense for them being so far behind in this particular aspect, since Joe Johnston has said it himself that they were ready to start shooting the movie.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:50:56 AM

Guys, calm down. Yes, bad casting choices happen. But if he beat out 7 other guys (not beat off) then so be it. And good for him.

I would say Marvel knows what they're doing, but then again Johnston is still attached. Either way, my point was that fanboys generally don't know what they're talking about. Remember when Ledger was cast as Joker? People went apesh*t at first.

Hey, someone much worse could be cast.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:58:44 AM

Besides, he's now rumored to be out.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:13:57 AM

"fanboys generally don't know what they're talking about"

- Actually, fanboys are usually the ones who know exactly what they are talking about, down to the smallest details. They get too defensive, yes, but they know their stuff.

I believe this isn't a case of fanboys going apesh*t, though.
In this case, it comes down to fitting the part, looking good in the suit, if you will.

Krasinski could go on steroids and intense weightlifting for 6 months and he STILL would NOT have the physical frame to look like a super soldier.

Playing The Joker, as hard as it may have been, meant acting like a psychotic criminal mastermind.
Although the original character has some specific defining physical traits, those weren't the most important aspects when considering an actor for that part. The actor's performance was.

That said, to pick an actor to play Captain America, other aspects come into play. The guy really needs to have an imposing presence.
Krasinski looks like a whimp.
Don't get me wrong, I like him as an actor, but I don't want to see him as CA.

"Hey, someone much worse could be cast."

- Agreed. I'm sure Eliza Dushku would love to get her hands on it, if she could.

"Besides, he's now rumored to be out."

- Hallelujah!
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:19:45 AM

@thomas - you're a good sport for one thing.

Do consider: Joe Johnston's filming successes (or lack thereof), and the types of movies he's done (he's no Brian Singer - whom doesn't need my defending because I liked Supes Returns (most things about it), and X1 and X2).

Also consider that Marvel now (for the first time in history) is owned by Disney.

Who knows how many fingers are in this pie f*cking things up?

And I'm glad COC/DDD's mom is dead.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:21:03 AM

@ranger- just checked out the link, wow that man is buff, I can see what you mean the man is built like a brick sh*thouse, so I'm just going to say this to everyone "rule me out of who is goingt o be CA I havn't got a clue" haha
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:39:09 AM

Everyone superherohype.com has an article about possible actors playing cap and it puts krisinski out of the running
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:45:47 AM

Both Heat Vision and Deadline New York have received an update on who Marvel Studios is looking at now for the coveted role. According to them, Wilson Bethel (HBO's "Generation Kill," "The Young and the Restless"), Mike Vogel (Cloverfield), Chris Evans ("Fantastic Four" movies) and Garrett Hedlund (upcoming Tron Legacy) are reading for the role, have tested or have received test offers.

this a portion of what they are saying on superherohype.com
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:48:04 AM

I don't know anything about him... but Vogel's name has come up more than once. I wonder...

lost_addict writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:49:46 AM

gary coleman
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:52:00 AM

I already thought of Coleman... but to play the Red Skull, or CA's turd, or a log a tank drives over, or a latrine.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:53:49 AM

So it might look like Krasinki is out, after looking at the link ranger posted not sure Chris Evans would be good choice, and if the Vogel guy is the one in Cloverfield that played the main man trying to save is gf then no, in Cloverfield he just was a little to weedy, but of course I could be wrong.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:55:44 AM

Coleman is going to play CA codpeice, depending on who CA is will determine if it is a big part.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:56:12 AM

@Dave - you're more right about Vogel than I am. I haven't seen him in anything.
mcrain88 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:56:27 AM

Maybe its me being a huge office fan, but I think he will make a good Captain America... He looks like he could fit the part of a WW2 soldier, and if I remember correctly the movie is gonna be based in WW2 time-frame. I have faith in this one.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:57:05 AM

Garrett Hedlund... meh, I've heard of worse.

A little unexpected, but still, better than Krasinski.

And COC's mother is auditioning for spunkbucket #2.
Her son will play spunkbucket #1.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:01:29 AM

Garret Hedlund would kill this role. Just give him time to hit the juice, I've been saying this for ages. Watch Death Sentence, he's not recognisable. Just give him an old school proper hair cut too.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:03:19 AM

@ranger- I just looked at IMDB at who Vogel is it might work, if anyone remembers the movie Cloverfield he played the main characters brother and his gf was the (not sure if I am right about the race) black lady. Her name is Jessica Lucas really beautifull girl.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:11:08 AM

Just looked at Mike Vogel's profile it says he was runner up for Kirk in Star Trek, don't knw wether you guys think that's a good or bad thing but it could work, he is a relative unknown, he's not been in anything I knw of other than Cloverfield.

I knw some people a moaning about the money and movie deal but with CA being such an iconic character all actors should be beating down the door for this role.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:13:37 AM

sh*t. Shiiiiiiiiiit. I had a pretty long response typed up. I lost it when I hit submit, because of the goddamn work wifi. This really sucks. I don't have the energy to do that again. Seriously, f*ck.

Good points all around though.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:18:59 AM

@Dave - established actors would be laughing at this 'offer' from Marvel. As each move made would undoubtedly beef-up their resume, thus they would have to turn down better paying roles to come back for that fixed-pay, 9 movie deal. I (personally) would care less about the 'status' of a role (ESPECIALLY if it ties you up like that 9 movie deal would), and go for the pay (which this gig isn't offering). It's a good/bad deal if you know what I mean.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:20:47 AM

@ thomas deadison:

LOL! Happens to all of us every now and then.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:24:30 AM

@ranger I completely understand, yes they would have to turn down more lucrative roles to do the 9 pic deal but can you imagine if you're given the part and nail it so good that no other actor could play the role in your liftime, I mean come on you are going to be CAPTIAIN AMERICA!!!!.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:25:14 AM

I can't believe soo many you guys are ignoring Garrett Hedlund. He is by far the best actor on this list.. He's a character actor who hasn't allowed himself to be type casted into a specific genre. Troy, Four Brothers, Death Sentence were all sick movies that he was in. He even has a title role in that Tron movie coming out.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:30:31 AM

@ari gold- I had a look at him and he looks too young nto me, but of course it is easier to make someone look older with make up, but he is going to lead The Avengers so he has to have the biggest balls there, but I will say this can't remember Troy that well coz the movie sucked to me,whilst with Four Brothers & Death Sentance havn't got round to seeing them.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:32:10 AM

thought it was a strange choice at first but the more i think about it the more i think he could be a good choice, and speaking as a Brit, Cap America has never really floated my boat, think id watch him though....meh
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 4:34:10 AM

@ Ari:

You have a point. Hedlund could be an interesting choice.
Infinitely better than Krasinski!
Ari Gold writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 5:21:18 AM

@Dave
Check out Death Sentence. You won't be able to pick him, especially if you've seen Four Brothers and Troy.

@PP
He's got that superhero jaw line to man!

Pam Beezley writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:42:46 AM

Thats my husband! Way to go Jim, leave me right after we have a baby to go film a movie. You bastard! I'm leaving you for Creed
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 8:52:45 AM

@SAC, you know what? Keaton was my point. When I first heard Keaton would be playing Batman, I felt the same way as I do about Krasinki playing Cap. S because of Keaton, and Keaton alone, I will reserve my disdain and give him a chance. ONE chance though. I will expect the worst but hope for the best out of this but I swear to all that is holy, he mugs to the camera one time.......one EFFIN' time and I will find him and cut his nuts off with a pair of nail clippers.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved