WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dane Cook Being Considered for "Captain America"

Posted: March 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dane Cook Being Considered for "Captain America"Submit Comment
I'm not sure what's going on with the "Captain America" casting. Marvel has already confirmed the list of actors they are considering for the lead role, but we're still getting other people revealing that they auditioned and still waiting for the results.

One of these people is Dane Cook. He just updated his Twitter account with the following message: "I'm minus 7% body fat now, bones replaced w/lightweight scandium alloy! Had to get shredded (pictured) for Captain America audition and standup tour."

And it doesn't sound like he's joking, because when a fan asked if he is really going to audition, Cook replied: "I did already. They might be going young. I say go RDJr route - give me the part!"

What's strange is that we initially received a list of about six actors who are being considered to play Captain America. Since then a bunch of them have heard that they did not get the part. So if they got a "no thank you" response, how come Cook hasn't yet?

Maybe he didn't audition for the lead. But that's not likely since he mentioned going the RDJr route, referring to Robert Downey Jr being hired for "Iron Man."

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:13:32 AM

Better choice than chace Crawford. But seriously, he ain't cap material. He's not serious enough. I'm sure whoever they pick will be sh*t anyways
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:39:24 AM

Idk johny if he be serious he might be able to pull it off
Kurskij writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:20:33 AM

dane... I'm in better shape than you are. And I'm not in CA shape.

Plus your face looks like it was driven over by a pave train.
Kurskij writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:22:25 AM

Captain Compost maybe?

or this role already went to DOC?
johnny_boy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:57:25 AM

@ skatemaster.... You're right in a way. I just don't feel he has the acting chops. I view him as the poor mans Ryan Reynolds, except a little more funny. If he could improve himself I wouldn't mind him being CA. He wouldn't be top choice but for the most part wouldn't mind.
Ari Gold writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:10:59 AM

He is the poor mans Ryan Reynolds. In my opinion, isn't anywhere near as funny as him either.

Ryans busy being every other character in the comic book world let's settle for this guy.

I saw that list of actors for CA, and they mentioned Garret Hedlund. He can act and blend into a role real good, just like he did in Death Sentence, I didn't even recognise him. Give him time to hit the juice, get massive and give him an old school hair cut. He'd kill it.
lost_addict writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:35:37 AM

only actor i can see as captain america is gerrard butler and i don't give a f*ck that he is not american.
rocketman writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 7:54:53 AM

Who?
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:06:25 AM

This comedian turned actor does NOT disserve to be considered for the role of such a great comic book character. Maybe he could play like d*ck grayson or maybe even the riddler if a huge role is given to him but f*cking bad choice for CA. Plus...if they want him. I'm sure Ryan Reynolds is a better choice than him. Too bad he's actually a good actor and is too booked up rite now.
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:09:20 AM

And they should be considering Gerrard Butler for captain america.. he was amazing in every role he's been in...especially law abiding citizen
atn5022 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:19:47 AM

i actually liked dane cook in Mr Brooks and Dan in real life, but i dont think he's cap am material. i say bring back captain awesome!!
VDODSON writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:25:10 AM

@Ari- your right mate, an old school hair cut would seal the deal for him. There is no way in hell Gerard Butler could play the part. I like the guy, he's a quality actor BUT the role must go to an american.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:29:15 AM

For the love of God, no! His comedy isn't even good anymore, let alone his acting.
boiler tk writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:35:03 AM

Ben Browder from Farscape and the end of SG1.
nope.com writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:44:05 AM

i dont even wanna hear the Michael Keaton comparisons.. first of all Keaton was actually funny and two, he did films that actually showed he can act unlike... this scrawny unfunny untalented hack.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:10:35 AM

He was decent in Mr Brooks, but he doesn't have the acting chops for a project this big.

Still think Ben Foster would be the best choice. I know he's small, but that could be fixed with cameras. Because he got skills to pull this off.

I recently saw Legion, and it struck me, that maybe Kevin Durand could play the Cap?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:42:33 AM

Maybe as Bucky...and if they kill him off in the first 10 minutes.
GIST writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:58:34 AM

Eww!
Awful choice, doesn't this unfunny man, need to get some money back from a brother-in-law. Who supposedly swindled it from him? Same way Cook does his stand up bit, by stealing material from Louis C.K.
I'm sorry, but this man falls under the same category of "Douche" with Ashton Kutcher. These two should 69 eachother in a fire pit.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:59:38 AM

vom
rabid writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:53:35 AM

hahahaha what a load of bullsh*t. I doubt they'd even let Dane Cook into tryouts. They are taking this movie seriously.
PirateDave128 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:19:45 PM

If Marvel were going to take the RObert Downey Jr route then they would hire someone who could act....not Dane Cook. This is pure bullsh*t, if I were an executive at Marvel who saw Dane Cook was down for an audition I would cry my outs out with laughter, before eventually tellnig him to f*ck off
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:21:09 PM

Make Renner Cap...nuff said.
borat writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:22:58 PM

i think the dump i took last night should also be considered then
darthraige writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:25:13 PM

Stick to comedy you f*cker.
Starkiller9900 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:35:24 PM

if Dane Cook is Captain America I'll be on suicide watch...
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:02:39 PM

but captain america doesnt shout random words and run around like a moron. Die
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:10:37 PM

Watched about 10 minutes of Dane Cook's show in Boston... about as funny as Stiller was at the Oscars.

Ben Browder or Gerard Butler... way better choices than we've heard up 'til now.

But... IF Marvel is serious about that $300K pay, and 9 movie deal the actor must sign... they won't get anyone with a career on the go.

@Ari - you're right... Dane Cook is the poor man's Ryan Reynolds.

I have a nobody in mind (no COC or VinDandy... neither of you). His initials are B.R... but I'll sit back and see how this goes does.

Principal shooting is only a short time away. Either Joe Johnston is smoke-screening all of us and things are already a go, and they're managing to keep things a secret, or he's 9 days off his 'must pick the actor to play CA by Mar. 1st' spiel.
ChadRo writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:12:20 PM

Yeah I think Ben Browder could do it with a blonde hair dye and about 40 lbs of muscle. Gerard Butler in 300 shape would be decent as well.
goat1202 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:27:13 PM

Really, Dane? So what is Captain America gonna have a big orgy and f*ck everything with two legs a la Good Luck Chuck? f*ck Hollywood theses days, 3D/Remakes/Reboots, these guys are making people like Vin69 look like rocket scientists
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:32:27 PM

@goat - Vin69 - NICE upgrade... lol.

If they're serious about that $300K pay cap, and the forced 9 movie option... they have eliminated a LOT of excellent potentials for this movie.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 3:22:09 PM

@Lizard Gerard butler sucks in every movie he's in. He is the exact same guy in each of them. f*ck why can't Ryan reynolds play all comic book characters. And Dane was pretty good at being serious in mr. Brooks
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 3:50:38 PM

But... Butt-ler knows what the inside of Aniston's butt feels like, so kudos to him.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 4:03:13 PM

Still better than McConagay.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 4:49:54 PM

eh, looks better then some, however can't really tell with the hat on and without a close-up pic. but yeah he looks alright ... not in a gay way like @ddd thinks he's alright ..
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 4:51:43 PM

Smoke screen sounds about right what with the internet and SPOILER ALERTS!!!! Realesing falls info is the perfect way to keep things secret(especially for a film like this) so its not too far fetched thank you ranger for sharing that statement
SofaKing writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 4:57:12 PM

Dane Cook was awesome when I saw him live before he was ever in any movies but sorry dude your no Captain America.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:15:24 PM

Ben Foster is a great choice. Dane Cook? Come on now. And to think i bought "My best friends girl" on Blu-ray! Yuck, canīt even get rid of it.
vwkombi writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:18:22 PM

So Captain America has to be played by an American. But everyones ok with Thor being played by an Australian, Mad Max being played by an Englishman and an Arabian prince being played by an American?

I say Gerald Butler. I would rather see a non-American bring some credability to the role than an American who butchers it.
Matiax writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:52:42 PM

"Captain America audition"?
Still making auditions?

I'd go with Sam Worthington. He is building some badass reputation. But he's british...
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:16:12 PM

@vw - well said. Find the perfect guy to play CA. Who the hell cares of his nationality?! MOST of the X-men weren't played by Americans (don't remember if they were in the comic or not). And yes, I've considered CA being an 'iconic American figure'... so what? Find the right guy (if they're even still looking).
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:30:20 PM

Lean is great Dane (and respectable work with your training). But CA isn't lean... he's a monster. A killing machine... the Ultimate Soldier. Does Hollywood have ANYone that fits this build... yet they're looking for youth... yet they're looking to only pay $300K + the 9 movie FORCED contract (which eliminates a TON of experiences, bankable stars), yet they're looking for an 'unknown'... yet they're testing (supposedly) 'known' actors.

So either we're being lead down a path of bullsh*t and deceived...

Or they don't know what the f*ck they're doing (which I hope isn't likely).

There's isn't a 3rd. choice I can see.

Yet... if they are moving on this already, keeping secrets is almost impossible these days.

So... WTF?!?!?!
barley_cat writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:40:05 PM

I love Dane Cook- to look at, but for Captain America?!

It's just a way to get a new audience other than comic book fans - girls!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:47:40 PM

NO Dane No!!!, not really clued up on CA so can't comment on who it should be, I just hope it is a good actor and ends up a good film.
Jamall316 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:07:47 PM

No.
sdpepper writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:48:25 PM

I actually like Dane Cook when he is doing comedy. I agree with johnny_boy that there is no way he would be serious enough.
sdpepper writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 11:49:37 PM

@lost_addict Gerald Butler would be great if he would lose the accent
vwkombi writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:00:14 AM

What's the difference between a Dane Cook comedy show and a childs funeral?

I laughed at the funeral.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:17:02 AM

LOL!
drgonz0 writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 2:55:21 AM

@ACTIONFIGURE Your right...Renner is the only choice.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 3:26:29 AM

Dane Cook should be cast to play a cook.
He was born for that.

And he looks f*cking gay in that picture. Not COC gay, but still, very, very, veeeery gay.
Kindlegolas writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 11:52:25 AM

I honest to God would prefer Rob Pattinson over this piece of sh*t comedian
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 10:36:02 PM

My only question is why Dane Cook hasn't been gang raped in prison by now ?

Oh. Dane Cook = Poleshiner.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved