WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Oscars: Producer Gets Revenge During Best Documentary Short Acceptance Speech

Posted: March 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Oscars: Producer Gets Revenge During Best Documentary Short Acceptance SpeechSubmit Comment
During the Academy Awards on Sunday, the most uncomfortable moment of the night came during the Best Documentary Short category when producer Elinor Burkett wrestled the microphone away from director/producer Roger Ross Williams in a Kanye West-type moment. But what really happened?

After the awards show, Burkett explained that she and the director had a difference of opinion over the direction of "Music by Prudence" that resulted in lawsuit (settled out of court). After that, Williams was invited to lots of Hollywood events, but never passed on the invitation to her. So she wasn't going to let him take all the credit during the Oscars.

"The movie was my idea. I live in Zimbabwe. Roger had never even heard of Zimbabwe before I told him about this," she said. "And then, as I'm sure you saw, when we won, he raced up there to accept the award. And his mother took her cane and blocked me. So I couldn't get up there very fast."

Williams defended his stance by saying: "Only one person is allowed to accept the award. I was the director, and she was removed from the project nearly a year ago, but she was able to still qualify as a producer on the project, and be an official nominee. But she was very angry -- she actually removed herself from the project because she wanted more creative control."

He continued: "I own the film. She has no claim whatsoever. She has nothing to do with the movie. She just ambushed me. I was sort of in shock. I had a speech prepared."

Williams was then asked if his mother tried to block Burkett with her cane. "My mother got up to hug me. And my mother is 87 years old. She was excited," he explained.

Watch the video of the acceptance speech below, which clearly shows Williams running to accept his award. He was definitely worried that Burkett might try to get revenge. And she did, embarrassing both of them and taking credit for a film she had very little to do with.

Acceptance Speech:


Source: Salon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 7:43:26 PM

What a bitch. Way to ruin the greatest moment in that guy 's life.
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 7:44:31 PM

she looks like a crazy bit*h.
She removed her self from the project, cause she didnt have enough controll(meaning she didnt do sh*t) but now wants the credit?

get fu*ked, i hate people trying to get credit for stuff they didnt do!
masKritic writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 7:50:31 PM

f*cking Bitch i'll kill her
AYT BALL writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:00:35 PM

lol Beeeeatch!
OneTime writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:03:33 PM

stupid c*nt...by the way..whoever said to google "blue waffle" i gotta say thanks...i have gotten alll my friends with it :)
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:07:22 PM

Now Zimbabwe, I'ma let you finish, but Burkett has the floppiest labias of all time.

Stupid whore.
c-prime writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:20:08 PM

Ha ha. Well, just to be different, I'll call her a "stank ass ho".

That clip is rich. You can clearly see the guy was racing to get to the mic while that bovine is struggling to squeeze through the aisle. I love how fast he shakes that guy's hand on the way to the stage.

This dumb broad shouldn't be the only one to shoulder the blame though. The announcer did make the error of calling them both out.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:21:12 PM

FAT LITTLE TURD! dumb f*cking piece of sh*t c*nt! if i where that guy who seemed like he was going to make a good speech, and c*nty wrested the microphone from me, i'd toss her whale body off the thing and pray her f*cking neck breaks!

otis writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 9:03:00 PM

I have no idea wtf she just said, but hey- at least Prudence was pointed out. So in its entirety, this is the transcript of Williams' speech sans crazybitch: "Oh my god. This is amazing. Uh...two years ago when I got on an airplane and went to Zimbabwe I never imagined [in my] wildest dreams that I'd end up here. This is so exciting. This is so exciting. (awkward laugh) So...exciting. And Prudence--who is here, who is back there tonight. Prudence is here tonight. This is for-"

Ah, sigh, this is a classic right up there with the Halle Berry and Tom Hanks ones.
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 9:22:42 PM

tom hanks/halle berry ? what happened?
the_chosen_one writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 9:33:03 PM

Instead of his mother trying to block the aisle with her cane, she should have bashed that c*nt in the mouth
otis writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 10:22:16 PM

Oh I just named two of the most emotional speeches in recent years: Halle Berry winning for Monster's Ball and Tom Hanks for Philadelphia. And now: the Williams/c*ntbucket hybrid.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 10:31:01 PM

I like Halle a lot. A bit less when she felt the need to play the black card during her acceptance speech. The best way to get rid of racism is to ignore it. She may be proud she's unique, black and won the Oscar... but she's ignoring her white heritage too (same as everyone seems to forget Obama was raised by his white mother). I don't think Halle won it because she was black (it was because of that f*cking HAWT rockin' scene of her wanted a little Angelina-smelling Billy-Bob's Bob inside of her!). I love you Halle... but leave the color/ed thing on the table for the hillbillies to fight over.

As for this intrusive bitch on stage at the Oscars... she should have gotten a c*nt punt for that stunt.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 10:34:53 PM

she's speaking in gibberish
secondbest writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 11:23:08 PM

So that's who the crazy bitch was. That doesn't justify what she did. So there was a difference of opinion. Boo-f*cking-hoo.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:00:56 AM

"The best way to get rid of racism is to ignore it."

Someone gets it! I always say I'm colorblind. I don't see race I just see people. I get a lot of sh*t for that mindset though.

Dr. Acula writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 12:03:02 AM

What a stupid bitch. What she needs to control is her appetite.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 1:22:47 AM

Hopefully she'll get banned from the Oscar's for a while like The Hurt Locke's Producer did this year.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 1:26:00 AM

I do now understand why there's starvation in Africa.
bacci40 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 1:28:01 AM

anyone think they got together and planned this?

if nothing had happened, no one wouldve given sh*t one about their stupid little film

now, everyone is talking about it

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:37:36 AM

@bacci - I don't even know their film... just the event that happened on stage.
gobolog writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:41:20 AM

Tron Legacy trailer

http://www.program-glitch-esc.net/
gobolog writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:42:34 AM

better quality than the bootleg one.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:51:25 AM

That 'lady' is lucky that guy was the gentleman he was. He could have head-butt the bitch.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 3:10:41 AM

Firstly, why wasn't she in a kitchen!
secondly, security at the oscars must suck, take note stalkers of the stars

thirdly, if you remove yourself from a project, then you have no credit towards it. The only way you can get some credit is if the people who work on the project decide to recognize you, obviously she wasn't, and so she should have shut up and not ruined this mans moment of happiness
AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 4:21:33 AM

lol! i watched it again last night, you do see his mother blocking her in the background, good on her!!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:11:36 AM

when i saw that i was confused during the entire thing, at the end of the show i was still thinking: WTF??
Stuntastic writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 10:34:03 AM

@Ranger: LMAO!!! c*nt Punt!!! I now have a new term in my vocabulary. Many thanks my friend. U also bring up a good point on the race thing with Halle, but it's not really her fault it's society's. Any actor or performer that has any speck of black blood in them is viewed as black. For instance Alicia Keys (have u seen the new video, LAWD have mercy!!!) and Mariah Carey are good examples of this as well as u mentioning Obama. They are mixed, but society views them as black I guess from the golden era of the slave days and the KKK when being with a black person was taboo.
Ranger writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:25:59 PM

@Skippy - if she had so little to do with that movie... how the f*ck did she even get a ticket to go?! That seat could have been filled with a hot piece of ass (probably related to Anna Kendrick (or the like).

@Stunt - what... it's still not taboo to hang with black folk?! (see... I still got it!). As for c*nt Punt... you're more than welcome my friend. It comes in handy sometimes (like COC/DDD's dead mom's *sshole).
Bigcheese writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:38:57 PM

God what a bitch. Seriously doing that isnt just rude, its low.
manichispanic writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:49:28 PM

whats up with googling blue waffle?
AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:26:09 PM

DONT!!......i was just a little sick in my mouth from thinking about it
encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 8:50:43 PM

@mani-if you like emotional scarring go ahead and Google it ...
Jamall316 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 9:13:30 PM

Fat bitch. Go to krispy kreme and get over it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved