WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Oscars: Art Direction Winner's Survival Speech Explained

Posted: March 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Oscars: Art Direction WinnerSubmit Comment
When Rick Carter, Kim Sinclair and Robert Stromberg accepted their awards for Best Art Direction for "Avatar" during Sunday's Oscar ceremony, Stromberg said something that confused not only the audience by his co-workers as well.

He announced: "You know, 13 years ago, the doctors told me I wasn't going to survive, and I thought that this dream of standing here would never come true. And here we are. I owe this to my amazing wife, Lizz, my two kids Reese and Remy, for supporting me."

Later, Stromberg told reporters backstage that he had never even revealed his illness to his co-workers. "It's a difficult thing for me," he said. "Actually, I haven't even talked about it to these guys, but it's a personal experience, and, yeah, it was a bout with something that was ready to kill me, and it was really bad."

He continued: "Out of that, I told myself that I would spend whatever time I had here doing something, or trying to do something, profound, worthwhile, something else. So from that point to tonight is a journey that I can't explain to anybody. I'm the luckiest guy on the planet. This award, to me, is actually me understanding that I'm alive, and it's very special."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 7:48:52 PM

good on him! well done!
Its people like him that get through serious problems, that have a will to live.
Barney Stinson writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 7:50:14 PM

Whatever he had to deal with, I'm glad that he beat it and that he's still working.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:11:32 PM

good for him i guess .... however on unrelated news (sort of) how come every single article has to do with Oscars? i know that sounds retarded, but the Oscars aren't that amazing ...
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:14:19 PM

slow news day?
and your dp of darth maul just reminded of me what i saw on the news site i always go on.
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/glance/1025045/womans-6cm-horn-baffles-village
encoreyourface writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 8:37:16 PM

what the f*ck was that!?!?
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 9:03:52 PM

i dont know :|.

Its a horn growing from her head.
jealous?
she is more like darth maul then youll ever be! *jokes!*
BigFoot writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 10:22:58 PM

Damn, what the hell is that?
I knew Asians were the devil!
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 10:41:35 PM

Yeah it really looks like a horn!!
Cutaneous horns are made up of keratin the protein found in fingernails and are typically seen in elderly people who have had prolonged exposure to sunlight.

for sure all the asain kids are calling her the devil or something
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 1:13:56 AM

^I'm just going ti throw it out: Porn. Imagine the possibilities for her.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:25:41 AM

lol
n/a writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 1:05:58 PM

I thought everyone would be guessing at what he had.... But the hurn won!
Wallace writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:08:36 PM

Sounds like he had cancer. Glad he made it!
barley_cat writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 6:02:36 PM

Bless him, Good for them, they deserve an oscar for the stunning artwork, It's still a shame that set design isn't a seperate category from Art direction, as there's a lot of difference. But hell, Woo for Avatar!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved