WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Lars and the Real Girl" Helmer to Remake "Fright Night"

Posted: March 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Lars and the Real Girl" Helmer to Remake "Fright Night"Submit Comment
DreamWorks first announced their "Fright Night" remake almost a year ago. Since then writer/producer Marti Noxon ("Mad Men," "Buffy Vampire Slayer") has been hired to pen the script. And now, LA Times has learned which director will likely bring the film to the big screen.

After considering three helmers, the paper says that the studio is now in final negotiations with Craig Gillespie, the man behind the 2007 comedies "Lars and the Real Girl" and "Mr. Woodcock."

The original "Fright Night," written and directed by Tom Holland in 1985, was a horror comedy about a teenager who discovers that his neighbors are vampires. The new version will keep the comedy/horror tone while modernizing the effects.

Original "Fright Night" Trailer:


Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 5:02:23 AM

grrrrrrr leave it the f*ck alone! its a classic!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 5:20:44 AM

At ayt ball.... That's the reason y they r remaking it cuz it was such a classic. There is no more room for talent and originality. That's why we get remakes and 3d films with whack storylines
Peter Parker writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 6:32:35 AM

Fright Night... sounds like COC's evening with grandpa.
Vin12 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 7:20:02 AM

GOOD ONE PETEY...
Kurskij writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 7:39:28 AM

The original is an awesome classic trash with some of the most amazing special effects since "The Thing".

That freaking werewolf that moved like a semi-paralyzed monkey...
Kurskij writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 7:41:56 AM

Why the hell not, make it. The Crazies were pretty solid, Dawn of the Dead was almost better than the original.

Just keep the humour intact - don't make another Scary Movie out of it.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 8:11:16 AM

Lol @ pp
Digital Desperado writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 8:25:56 AM

I could probably whip up some witty repartee about the overabundance of remakes...but, honestly, whatīs the point?Hollywood will keep making them as long as they make BO money... So itīs up to us to change that by supporting original films and tanking all this stupid remakes/reboots.
Goober3000 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 9:42:10 AM

can anybody tell me what movie this is that im thinking of? From what I remember it involves a guy alone in a house and his son goes missing I guess turns out the son is in his bathroom mirror I think? Then they get chased by a rambo lookin skeleton. I saw that when I was 4 so.....yea any help?
oklahomaer writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 10:04:01 AM

@goober It sounds like you may be thinking of a 1986 movie called house. it has William Katt from :The greatest american hero. here is a link http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0091223/
AYT BALL writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 10:04:01 AM

HOUSE part one, awesome movie!!
Rush66 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 11:59:06 AM

"The new version will keep the comedy/horror tone while modernizing the effects." - That's another way of saying it will suck.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 12:02:15 PM

I donīt support a Remake. Nice trailer, but they also showing the end. Goofy, jerks editors!!!!
CCBlev writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 12:05:57 PM

The Vampires face in the background, that's not a vampire, that's Lohans Vag coming to eat the house.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 12:21:32 PM

Long live Jerry Dandridge and Peter Vincent, the Great Vampire Hunter!!!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 2:06:56 PM

"GOOD ONE PETEY..."

- Vindy, you f*cking venereal infection, you need to start being nice to COC, he'd love that kind of attention from your faggoty little ass.

And congratulations for using Ranger's avatar, that move was worthy of a f*cking master!
The originality, the cunningness, the power... what a great move!
And it only took you about 3 months to think of something like that!
What a f*cking genius!

You and COC will get along so nicely around here. I see children in your future.
Goober3000 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 3:48:26 PM

holy crap thats the movie thanks alot oklahomer iv been trying to figure out what that movie was for years.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 3:57:43 PM

Lars and the Real Girl was great, and Woodc*ck had some funny moments. While I despise remakes this one may actually be decent. I'll only go see it if the poster is as good or better than the original though. Iconic poster art.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 4:03:04 PM

that trailer was sh*t ....haven't seen the actual film though, however i failed to see the comedy.

Vin-i know it will take you months to figure this out but here it goes





-----------------YOUR A c*nt------------------
encoreyourface writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 4:03:24 PM

sh*t .... your=you're
SACdaddy writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 5:19:12 PM

This is getting boring. From now on WP just notify me about the 80s classics that aren't being remade and sh*tted on. Until then I'll just assume that Hwood is going down the list and won't be done until they've covered everything from the Breakfast Club to Rocky 4. I heard they've already notified Hemsworth that he will be reprising the Ivan Draggo role. I'm sure they're all over Led*ck to be the next Ferris Bueller.

BTW, this Fright Night remake stinks of PG-13 gayness.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 8:44:45 PM

Kurskij- never saw the original crazies so can't comment but have to disagree with you on Dawn Of The Dead the original is and always will be the best.

but back on topic, liked Lars and the Real Girl and Mr Woodc*ck was ok so maybe this will work, but I do love the original such a classic.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 8:59:19 PM

i thought both the Dawn of the Dead's were great, can't really decide on which is better ...
Eben1277 writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 2:12:44 AM

Ninja Werewolves would be some unstoppable sh*t... but Viking Werewolves would kill Ninja Werewolves, Samurai Vampires and Pirate Ninja Wendigo's COMBINED.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 2:13:46 AM

Don't know if I ever saw House, but The Gate (Gateway??) was some wild sh*t. The gate to hell was in the back yard or something like that.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 11:35:12 PM

Eben1277- Yeah I sort of remember that movie crazy sh*t but bloody good.

encoreyourface- I seen both as well but prefer original, it had more of a comment on what was going on socially, while remake was more of a horror movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved