WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scott Porter is NOT "Captain America," Three Actors Remain

Posted: March 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scott Porter is NOT "Captain America," Three Actors RemainSubmit Comment
Two weeks ago, Marvel announced a list of seven actors who are in the running to star in "The First Avenger: Captain America." Since then, the list was narrowed down to five actors.

Then yesterday, Michael Cassidy ("Smallville") revealed via his Twitter account: "No Captain America for me." And now, Scott Porter ("Friday Night Lights") also announced that he didn't get the part. "Ain't Cap. Thank you all for the prayers though, I appreciate them all so very much," he said on his Facebook page.

This leaves just three actors who could end up getting the role. They are John Krasinski ("The Office"), Chace Crawford ("Gossip Girl"), and Mike Vogel (Cloverfield). Check out their photos below and stay tuned as more are dropped.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Facebook


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 78 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:35:52 PM

Mike Vogel would be best choice ... Krasinski is a pretty good actor i guess but i don't see him as Cap at all ...
masKritic writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:40:06 PM

Chace Crawford is a f*cking joke. I like John Krasinski more than Vogel in general but for me Krasinski will always be Jim.
nope.com writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:49:05 PM

Jim Halpert can NOT be Captain America

Krasinski has a goofy look to him as well

Vogel would be the "best choice" here I guess

The fans aren't the winners here that's for sure. Go kill yourself Joe Johnston.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:57:05 PM

lol
realgirl76 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:11:58 PM

Of the three, Vogel all the way. He's the most do-able, Cap wise and for some bowchickawahwah.
SofaKing writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:21:21 PM

I actually just watched Cloverfield about a week ago (don't ask me why). That guy would would be a good choice I think. The other 2 don't work for me.
lost_addict writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:25:06 PM

if captain America is suppose to be gay then anyone of these 3 fits...
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:28:20 PM

@nope - lol.

@lost - that's been my thought since this list was released.
AshTrey writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:28:29 PM

wait what happened to the dude from four brothers. If its only down to these three then it better be the guy from Cloverfield. If Jim (from the Office) is in this it will be completely unrealistic or believable.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:30:08 PM

I said it years ago, that Thor and CA would going to be tough movies to make. But these choices... ugh! Any of these guys could play CA at the 98lb. weakling thing... but to go on to lead The Avengers: Iron Man, The Hulk, Thor and others... are you kidding me?!
chrisc20002003 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:30:28 PM

Remember when Nolan cast Heath Ledger as The Joker, and everyone said it would be a disaster? Give these guys a chance....oops, I forgot about Joe Johnston.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:31:20 PM

it seems Mike Vogel is everybody's pick in this site so far ...
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:37:22 PM

@chrisc - lol... exactly re: Joe.

But I was one of the few THRILLED with the Ledger casting in The Dark Knight. I do give these people a chance. Then when they f*ck it up like Coleman or Loslag... I'm on their useless ass like a fat kid on a Smartie!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:40:29 PM

LOL!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:45:33 PM

heh heh ... imagine Coleman as Batman(Blackman?) what a f*cking disaster ...
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:47:26 PM

Coleman as TurdMan!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:51:18 PM

Coleman already IS Turdman!
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:51:57 PM

True dat.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:52:19 PM

both identities are exactly the same ... one small,squishy, dried up turd!
blinkbomber writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:55:34 PM

no way in hell its crawford, so it's gotta be between krasinski or vogel.

i enjoy both actors, but i actually like krasinski for this. i can't believe how many people want to just typecast him as Jim Halpert and don't want to see an actor try something new.

but oh well. can't say i'm excited for anything CA related just yet.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:25:46 PM

@SofaKing
agreed... i can seriously see it being Mike Vogel
Kurskij writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:31:05 PM

I see some faces... but where are ze ballz?

Captain America must be one charismatic MF.

So, as Ranger and lots of other guys said many times, are you f*cking kidding?

Robert Downey Jr. is Iron Man, ya know, you need a guy with big brass ones to at least match him,
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:32:52 PM

Yep.

And Thor thus far is a wild card. If it comes out as good as Iron Man has... Joe J. has his work even MORE cut out for himself.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:00:26 PM

I know (or I think I do) John Krasinski doesn't have a chance of landing this role.

Nevertheless, knowing what a weird, f*cked up place Hollywood can be, I can't wait for some official press release to come out, saying that he's out of the race. I need that peace of mind.

I've seen Krasinski in several talk shows and he looks like a nice guy, he's a funny dude and all, but definitely not Captain America material.
He wouldn't even make a convincing Bucky, let alone Captain America!

He's too goofy and dorky to play a character that oozes confidence, leadership and strength.

Mike Vogel is 5'10, so it would be a bit of a stretch to make him work on screen, especially standing next to Chris Hemsworth's Thor.

But then again, Chace Crawford is only 6', so he wouldn't really take care of that problem either.

If these three are the actual finalists, I really have no idea what Johnston is thinking. None of them has particularly exceptional acting skills and, to me, they all seem to lack some key qualities a good Captain America should have.

I'm hoping this is just one more rumor to add to the countless list and that other actors are also being considered.
And I wouldn't be surprised if the choice had already been made, with the studio trying now to hold their cards against their chest to build up the suspense.
Aingx writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:02:11 PM

I'm with encore....Go Vogel!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:05:13 PM

Mike vogel looks more the part and definitely a better choice than the other two. I say make kraSinski bucky, CA's bitch and chace Crawford can jump off a bridge
wonderBOY writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:05:47 PM

John Krasinski should get it. when you watch office you can see it in his eyes its killing him that he is still in that show
Ronsauce writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:17:11 PM

"if captain America is suppose to be gay then anyone of these 3 fits..." f*ck that. Stupid homophobe. However, they are all terrible choices for Cap. Sure Cap is supposed to actually be pretty young, but they really need to go older to get that experienced, confident leadership quality embodied by Cap.
Lined Paper writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:24:10 PM

sh*t man.. Parker hit it right on the nose there. All of these dudes lack a very key quality of Cap. I`m a HUGE Captain American fan specifically and I can`t see any of these guy in the suit. Cap is a tough ass man of action and exerts leadership and confidence (just exactly as you said) And I don`t think I will be able to see any of them as Steve Rogers.
For my pick if I had to pick one would be Vogel. I like Krasinski better as an actor.. but I have to agree with the others being a fan of The Office..he`ll always be Jim.
But it might be good for him to stretch his acting legs.
But my pick is Vogel. f*ck Chace Crawford. If JJ casts him I`ll f*ckin hunt him down and kill the sh*t out of him.
Lined Paper writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:25:57 PM

sh*t. I wrote Captain American lol.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:42:34 PM

To be honest with you I think its gonna be mark vogel
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:11:09 AM

crafford looks to young, and krasinski looks too jewish to be The Cap, Vogel looks perfect. i dont get why eeryone here is bashing this film before they've seen a f*cking trailer, still, poster, or whatever. i HIGHLY doubt marvel is just gonna Captain America over to a guy that doesnt know the comics of the chacter and just say "here you go, have fun with it" especially a tent pole like captain america. you can bet your ass there gonna watch it closley and make changes so its done right....come on people have a little faith
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:40:59 AM

@skate - tryin' to Bro (have faith)... tryin'!

I have ALL the faith in the world for Ridley Scott's 'Alien' prequel... way more than what CA is looking like. The crappy pay, missed deadline to pick CA, shooting starts shortly, bringing in The Invaders into the story (which WILL be GREAT if done well), his origin, WWII, freeze/thaw, etc. And giving a believable LEADER for The Avengers...

And you don't think we should be nervous?!
victor arroyo writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:56:52 AM

NONE!!!!!! GOD DAMN IT!


Paul Walker it's my pick.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 1:19:47 AM

@ranger
I agree with you on some of those statements, but something about this directer makes me question weather or not he's being truthfull. He's let to much info out to be trust worthy. I would think marvel would want there directors tight lipped. Like marvel did with john f on iron man 2
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 1:24:03 AM

I never said you shouldn't be nervous, all I said is its a bit pre-mature to say this is gonna blow
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 1:25:14 AM

You're right on both counts.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 1:36:42 AM

I don't think he missed the deadline I think we have are CA but they haven't realesed a name and for all we know he could have been picked a while ago but was told to keep his mouth zipped, I just don't think marvel would just f*ck around when comes to the Cap. My guess is JJ is playing coy with a hint of cat and mouse
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 1:41:58 AM

I hope so. But these people are stalked all the time in a business full of people playing secret, secret, I got a secret!

Pretty hard (nay impossible) to keep much under wraps these days. But kudos to him if this turns out great.
tcu21 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 2:19:44 AM

A lot of people said that Robert Downey Jr. wouldn't make a good Iron Man and Ed Norton wouldn't fit the role of the Incredible Hulk. If John Krasinski is cast I have full faith, he has good range which he has shown in The Office and in Away We Go. I have no problem with Mike Vogel, I just don't think he really looks the part.
rocketman writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 3:24:48 AM

No real men left in America?* Whats wih the metrosexual ponces?




(cept you guys obviously)
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 3:54:09 AM

After all this build up bet it turns out to be will smith !!!! lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 5:19:12 AM

What happened to Patrick Flueger? He would at least be a better choice than Chace Crawford.

And although I still think no one of these guys should get the part, I'm still on Team Krasinski. I haven't seen The Office, which may help in this case, but I do feel like he's got the best acting chops. Vogel wouldn't be a bad choice (in this line-up), but I don't see him act up to Downey Jr.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:23:54 AM

well correct me if i am wrong, but isn't the Cap at first some nerdy weakling dude.

Krasinski will fit the role

Vogal dude will be good

f*ck the other dude though
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:30:47 AM

threesome?
Zalmor29 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 7:24:32 AM

If any of these guys are going to be Captain America Iam not got to watch this movie
masht7 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 9:19:40 AM

Krashinski is a bit comical looking for my likeing, if that makes any sense.

Crawford looks like a friggin puss, so i'll go with Vogel.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 9:22:09 AM

Again, Who?

If this Office slub gets the role Marvel should be targeted for destruction by the US governtment. I'm still debating if they should use a cruise missle so we all can see the fly by cam as the it goes straight up Joe Johnson's ass, or just use one of the nukes so they can vaporize Marvel Studios and maybe the rest of Hollywood with it.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 9:28:30 AM

You know what, now Will Smith isn't looking like such a bad idea. sh*t, I'd rather see Jackie Chan get the part than any of these faggots. Actually calling these dorks "fags" is an insult to c*cksuckers all over the world. Sorry Dandy, Vin, COC, etc.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 9:39:39 AM

I'd love to see krasinski actually. Too many of you are type casting him. He has range and I wouldn't doubt he'd tone up for the role. I personally thought they should have had Chris pine from the beginning.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 9:50:02 AM

I was one of the few posters on here that backed Matthew McConaughey for the CA part. Looking at the final choices now, does anyone think any of these puffs would be a better choice?

Of course, that was a rhetorical question. Not only can MM act circles around these amateurs, but even at 41 yo he probably could kick the sh*t out of every last one of them. I just saw Reign of Fire a couple days ago and watched him whip Christian Bale like a stepchild. Why the f*ck wouldn't he work as CA? f*ck this movie if this is all we've got for the lead!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 10:04:48 AM

Lohan without makeup is a dead lock for Red Skull.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 10:06:33 AM

Jensen Ackles should be Cap...he won't...Well, we can hope DC get its it rite and cast him as Flash.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 11:51:03 AM

My favourites to CA would've been Ben Foster and Timothy Olyphant. Foster might be a bit too small and Olyphant a bit too old, but I wouldn't had cared and neither would the audience outside the CA's fanbase. Both of these actor's would've kicked these guys asses and been able to match Downey Jr.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:19:09 PM

And the Captain America´s role goes to...
gotsghostrider writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 3:31:32 PM

Vogel definatly Krasinski would ruin the movie
Streetlight115 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 4:45:27 PM

I Think John Krasinski is a good actor, but i dont think i could take him seriously being captain america. Vogel seems like he would best fit the part
Kurskij writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 5:28:45 PM

... and Ryan Reynolds gets the gig.

Why him again, you ask?

And why the f*ck not I say.

I still hope it's some kind of a colossal smokerscreen, and some other dude, unknown and awesome will get the role.

Crawford - don't know the dude, maybe he's a pacino-level actor, but captain america? Cast Zac Efron they look like sisters!

Vogel looks fine, but is too young. Hewsworth will destroy him (you know that when a dude is involved in a bar fight BEFORE he is a celebrity - he's an awesome dude. Plus coming back to continue ripping you opponents ass after you were pulled back by three guards - Mel Gibson would be proud).

Krasinski is a good actor, but those ears... Captain Am will fly like Dumbo or what? His helmet will look like a hammerhead?
scp8244@aol.com writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:10:21 PM

As much as I like John Kravinske; he'll always be the awesome Jim Halpert. Not Cap. Vogels got my vote.
Eben1277 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:11:28 PM

Krasinski is super funny looking, I couldn't take him seriously as CA. I'm with SAC on this one.
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:40:02 PM

His helmet will look like a hammerhead? --- lol.
GIST writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:40:49 PM

All three actors look like they should model for Gucci or Prada, some high-end european clothing line.
Krasinski looks like he should be in a dysfunctional erectile ad.
The victim who suffered and prevailed.
scp8244@aol.com writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:40:58 PM

Krasinksi could pull it off. He'd actually need to act, but- he could do it.
TheHundreds writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 6:49:44 PM

krasinski is the only one i respect...if he can actually gain the weight for this role i feel like itd work out
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 10:08:34 PM

It doesn't matter who plays Cap'n cause Joe Johnston is gonna direct it and it is gonna suck ass.
MattC903 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 12:34:09 AM

almost positive its gonna be chase.
Ranger writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 3:28:02 AM

I've had that same thought.
Vin12 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 7:28:24 AM

I'm curious why my buddy ranger thinks these guys are gay did they come of the closet?
dremancome writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 11:10:31 AM

Any one of these dipsh*ts would f*cking suck. I like Krasinski in the Office, but his face is goofy as f*ck. Having him play the Cap would be like when Affleck and his stupid face played Daredevil.

Chace Crawford is a bitch and the other chump looks like he couldn't punch his way out of a wet paper bag.

This movie will no doubt = sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 1:38:48 PM

@Vindandy - I don't really care if any of these guys suck c*ck like you do.

I think they all suck because the Super Soldier Serum turns Steve Rogers from a boy into a man (something you'll never know) - a killing machine, with superior intelligence, strength, senses, healing abilities, etc. It's turn him into a man that can lead The Avengers.

Do you feel ANY of these choices can play Captain American to the status he deserves?

I hope that answers your question moron. And if the closet reference was your attempt at being clever... don't. You don't have the wits dummy.
Ranger writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 1:43:50 PM

American = America (of course).
Ranger writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 1:48:24 PM

Justin Hartley (Green Arrow of Smallville) is a better choice than any of the guys they have ever named.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 9:04:08 PM

hmmm ... he would make a pretty good CA ...
Ranger writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 10:06:03 PM

Yep.

He's already blonde. Has Super Hero experience... and actually makes one believe he could lead a team of superheroes. Not like the other tarts on this list.
makingcircles writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 3:32:41 PM

Mike Vogel hands down.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 9:30:10 PM

God, I know I'm gonna get sh*t for this, but I think they should look at Matt Damon.
Until the Bourne movies I wouldn't have said it, but since then...
Green Zone looks good so far. But I may be wrong.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 10:38:39 PM

Good call. But they say (don't know if we're being BS'd here)... they're only paying $300K to the actor that will play CA. We could be getting bullsh*tted... if not, that's lunch money to Matt.
Duffman writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:59:44 PM

I might get sh*t on for this but...What about chris evans? I know he was already the human torch but that is gettin rebooted and a lot of people see him as a comical guy (especially since he did not another teen movie) but he did a helluva job in sunshine and proved to me he can act but the only thing I might have concern with him is, like ranger said, can he LEAD the avengers?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved