WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

HBO's "Rome" Heading to Theaters, Already Has Script

Posted: March 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
HBOSubmit Comment
After much talk, Entertainment Weekly has confirmed with several sources that HBO's short-lived "Rome" series is headed for the big screen. Creator Bruno Heller has already finished the script.

Series stars Kevin McKidd (Lucius Vorenus) and Ray Stevenson (Titus Pullo) will likely sign onto the movie, which picks up in Germany four years after the series ended. The next step is to find a director and a studio, since HBO Films won't be involved.

"Rome" aired from 2005-07 and took place during Ancient Rome, beginning with Caesar's invasion of Gaul and continuing with the rise of the first Emperor Augustus. The series centered on soldiers Pullo and Vorenus, who appeared to die at the end of the series.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:55:23 AM

Who the hell is going to go see this? I loved the series but I can't see this being a hit with the general movie going populace. maybe they'll dumb it down to appeal to tweens and Ed hardy wearing douche bags.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:32:35 AM

The series centered o Pullo and Vorenus. With Vorenus dead whats the show gonna be about?

It wont be the same, it'll feel like a rip off.
VDODSON writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:44:20 AM

Soap Mctavish?
VDODSON writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:45:20 AM

Thirteen!! Thirteen!! Best part of the series. Great show, but I am unsure on how they're going to make this a solid movie.
asylum writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:47:37 AM

Vorenus didn't die at the end. You can kind of make an argument that he didn't, but HBO left it open in case they brought back the series for another season or a movie.

As long as the same writers are involved, I think this can be great. It was the best show on television when it was on in my opinion. Mckidd and Stevenson played well off of each other.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:50:12 AM

Great! Not only was this one of the best miniseries I've ever seen, but it also has so much more it could tell. They were entering one of the greatest periods in Roman history when the show ended. If you haven't seen the show, netfilx it NOW. It has by far, the best gladiator scene ever filmed in it. Ray Stevenson and Kevin McKidd were badass, and the scenes with Cleopatra are, in a word, amazing! It might be the perfect series. This is fantastic news!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:35:25 AM

@Vdodson: They may have to fudge the years a little for the movie, but about 11 years into Octavian's rule he tried to take over all of Germany. He was pretty successful but eventually was stopped cold at the Rhine in one of the most important defeats in Roman history. This could be good territory for the film to cover and to reintroduce our main 2 characters (who may have escaped death only to re-enlist is the legion). Octavian's successor Tiberius arises from this campaign which may be interesting if you surround him with Pullo and Vorenus. That would make 3 emperors that they would have worked for during their unique stories.

The only problem with the timing is the fact that Octavian lived for so long and is hardly ever challenged by rebellion or conspiracy. He was an extremely popular and influencial ruler for more than 50 years! Where's the fun in that?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:20:16 PM

never seen, doubt i'd watch it ...
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 4:27:53 PM

@encore: Its full of sex, brutal violence, political corruption, back stabbing, animal sacrifice, and incest. You should probably stay away.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 4:53:07 PM

@SAC: stay away? i do those things every Friday night!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:42:39 PM

I loved the series, but I have a hard time seeing this work as a feature.

SAC, you had some good suggestions, but I'm still doubtfull.
blinkbomber writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 7:47:06 PM

this is the best news i've heard in a minute!

hope the next one is even better!!!

... waiting...

nope. damn.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:25:35 PM

Good show, I'll catch this in theaters.
bacci40 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 4:29:15 AM

dont care if no one else goes...ill be the first in line

the best show ever about the roman empire
nzfilmmaker writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 7:07:52 AM

loved the show. cant wait for the movie.
WV-Films writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:10:40 PM

This is great. However I have no idea how they're going to bring back Vorenus.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 9:47:13 PM

I still haven't seen second season, but i know what happens, from what i have heard it is kinda implied that Veronus dies, but it is never seen. so hopefully McKidd makes an appearenace, this was definatly one of the best shows on tv

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved