WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Police Academy" Films to be Rebooted

Posted: March 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Police Academy" Films to be RebootedSubmit Comment
New Line Cinema is looking to reboot the "Police Academy" franchise. Original producer Paul Maslansky is back for the new iteration, which has no writer or director attached.

"Academy" was a seven-film lowbrow comedy series from Warner Bros that saw a city throw open the doors of its police force to any recruit, much to the chagrin of its serious officers. The misfit officers band together and, of course, save the city.

The first film, released in 1984, starred Steve Guttenberg as Mahoney, a repeat offender who is forced to enter the academy and emerges as the group's leader. Other notable characters included Moses Hightower (Bubba Smith), gun-crazy Tackleberry (David Graf), mousy Hooks (Marion Ramsey) and sound effects-spewing Larvell Jones (Michael Winslow).

Bobcat Goldthwait joined the cast for the second movie in 1985. The series, which included Kim Cattrall and Sharon Stone as romantic leads, ended with the 1994's "Mission to Moscow." All told, the franchise took in about $240 million worldwide and inspired a pair of TV series.

"It's going to be very worthwhile to the people who remember it and to those who saw it on TV," Maslansky said. "It's going to be a new class. We hope to discover new talent and season it with great comedians. It'll be anything but another movie with a numeral next to it. And we'll most probably retain the wonderful musical theme."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:04:13 AM

Love the 1st movie the rest should be just be booted out of sight....
Arlo11 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:06:21 AM

weird, i was actually talking to a friend the other about all the reboots and remakes and made a joke about them bringing back PA :P
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:13:40 AM

is reboot word of the day today ???
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:22:53 AM

no joke anymore... ;)
The Real Joker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:35:58 AM

Can be nice, if they don't go to far with it.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:06:35 AM

Some how I knew this was coming. am not surprised at all.

I stopped laughing after the 3rd one when the jokes started to repeat itself.

The first is one of the best comedies ever.
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:08:41 AM

And here I was thinking Hollywood had no more good ideas. My faith renewed!
VDODSON writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:12:53 AM

I am all for this, only if they bring Sweetchuck back. I loved that little bastard.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:25:36 AM

The last three movies of the "Police Academy" series were almost unwatchable.

Maybe it was because I was very young when I saw the first ones that I found them to be funny, and then they lost their charm as I got older.

Nevertheless, the physical humor that categorized the series started to get really annoying when all they had to offer was that, and that alone.

Their comedy never improved, it actually got worse and even Michael Winslow's vocal sound effects became annoying at one point.

I have no idea why anyone would consider rebooting this series.

... wait, I take that back. Money seems to justify Maslansky's decision. (sigh)
darthraige writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:02:11 AM

GO TO f*ckING HELL HOLLYWOOD, YOU REBOOTING MOTHER f*ckERS!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:25:15 AM

WTF! I just got done with an angry post about the Pet Sematary reboot, now this. Is it really that hard for Hwood to find a new idea? Have Seth Rogen and Jud Ap run out of material from high school to film? I really don't have as much of a problem with them reduing PA (most of those films were crap) but it wouldn't hurt to throw in an original idea every now and then between reboots.

If they must remake this, they should get Dave Chapelle and his team of writers to do it. Pair these guys with the Will Ferrell and Danny McBride crew or Adam Sandler's group and you may have something worth watching.
ChadRo writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:05:43 AM

I thought this was art imitating life? I swear Bobcat Goldwaithe pulled me over last week!
Jawsfan writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:09:05 AM

I just re-booted my breakfast after hearing this crud monkey of a story. All this series spawned was the awful mediocre careers of Steve Guttenberg & Michael Winslow. Maybe it'll star terrrible acts like Dane Cook & Sinbad with Uwe Boll or Brett Ratner to direct. Uh oh time to reboot again.
lost_addict writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:46:44 AM

wow,look at kim catrall,so beautiful and natural at that photo before she turned to the dark side and the disgusting sex of the city franchise
rocketman writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:53:53 AM

off topic...
HOLLYWOOD,look at the top storys to the left on this page,notice how 6 of them are all f*cking remakes YOU LAZY TWATS.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:55:02 AM

It's called age *sshole. She's like 50 now! Still looks OK to be that old.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:56:41 AM

Reboot/Remakes...

Hollywood has been doing this things all the time for a few decades now. Nothing new at all.

Paul Rudd would be perfect to play Mahoney.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:57:26 AM

these things*
ChadRo writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:07:14 PM

Kim Cattrall looked natural with a sock stuffed in her mouth in Porkies!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:16:45 PM

Why does Steve Guttenberg look like he had a stroke down one side of his face?
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:24:32 PM

remake my d*ck plz
Peter Parker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:25:40 PM

"Why does Steve Guttenberg look like he had a stroke down one side of his face?"

... because Cattrall looks like she had her hand inside Guttenberg's pants.
Salvador writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:36:19 PM

Yes, I remember the old version as a good one.

The new is going to be sh...!

Remakes and 3D films? Damn Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:04:39 PM

@PP - lol.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:30:39 PM

Set the standard for EVERY group affiliation comedy going forward. No everywhere you turn, you see Police Academy's blueprint be it TV shows, movies etc.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:50:21 PM

Definitely for the best. Those films, from what I've read besides the first one, have been abominations to cinema. It's time to get new blood. I'd love to see some of the comedians that do Howard Stern's roasts get a shot. Who wouldn't love to see Bob Levy cuss up a storm?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 2:04:11 PM

LOL How bad is a franchise when you take Steve Guttenberg out of the equation and it fails?!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 2:38:27 PM

LOL Bunny! OK here's the box office take for the series 1-7. Mahoney left after Citizens On Patrol (part 4):

$81 mill (not bad in 1984)
$55 mill
$43 mill
$28 mill (bye bye Steve G.)
$19 mill (last film for Hooks)
$127,000 (Wow!!!)

So technically, the loss of Guttenberg didn't even compare to the loss of Lt. Hooks or the drop off that occurred when everybody came back for Part 2, lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 2:45:01 PM

Sorry guys left out part 6 City Under Siege which was the las t film Hooks was in. It made $11 mill.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:02:11 PM

eh ... never saw the original .. is it any good?
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 5:11:55 PM

@darthraige

agree with the remakes f*ck HOLLYCRAP f*cking morons!
Johnnyb writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 5:22:41 PM

Pet Sematary, Honey I shrunk... and now Police Academy!!!! How about this Hollywood, why donīt you reboot my life or remade it and see how perfect is your version than mine, you ass!!!!!
ashhamari writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 5:33:09 PM

i m just waiting for rebooted oscar..hope this time they wont make any mistake.....
blinkbomber writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 7:45:39 PM

winslow was the sh*t! checked out some of his guitar solo stuff on youtube, the dude is nuts! but as for PA... liked the first, missed the rest. oh but nice call on Paul Rudd, Ricky.
Rogue17 writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:58:28 PM

This sounds like a decision made on a Friday really close to five o'clock. I'd like to reboot the execs in the balls over and over again!
Mudders writes:
on March 10th, 2010 at 1:02:44 AM

the first couple were good but the rest sucked...turn the reboot into a trilogy and STOP right there

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved