WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"1408" Writer to Adapt Stephen King's "Pet Sematary"

Posted: March 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"1408" Writer to Adapt Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Matthew Greenberg (Reign of Fire, Halloween: H20, Mimic), who wrote the Stephen King adaptation "1408," is moving on to another King property, "Pet Sematary." Lorenzo di Bonaventura recently boarded as producer on the long-gestating project, which is set up at Paramount.

Published in 1983, King's tale centered on a family that trades the city life for the country life in Maine, then discovers that they have moved near a pet cemetery that rests on an ancient burial ground. When the husband's toddler son is killed in an auto accident, the father takes the boy's body to the cemetery, where it is resurrected in demonic form.

Paramount brought the book to life in 1989, with a feature version adapted by King that starred Dale Midkiff, Denise Crosby and Fred Gwynne. At one point, George Clooney was circling the new film.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BDeck writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:44:41 AM

I f*cking love the original. Its been one of my favs since I was like 5. Scared the sh*t outta me when I was little.

I swear to god there is nothing creepier then a little kid that wants to kill you
nmneid writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 7:46:01 AM

Didn't these people watch the movie?

"Sometimes...dead is betta."

AKA, DON'T REBOOT. THE ORIGINAL IS JUST FINE.
Fact: They will never find another actor to do Jud Crandall better than Fred Gwynne.
telur writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:50:06 AM

Edward Furlong will be cameo
The Real Joker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:50:53 AM

You Dont want go down that rawd.
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:52:14 AM

I hope the guy adapting this takes from the film and not the novel. Pet Sematary is easily one of the worst books I have ever read next to "Jaws", which is, oddly, my favorite movie.

"Sometimes...tha movie is betta"
Peter Parker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:02:39 AM

Pet Sematary, or, as COC's mother calls it, home.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:53:30 AM

WHY!!! God this really pisses me off!!! The amount of regurgitated sh*t Hwood is reaching epic proportions. The town is completely out of ideas and is getting lazier by the minute. Pet Sematary is yet another classic that needs no retelling, but that won't stop Hwood from trying to rape it for another dollar. f*ck YOU HWOOD, YOU f*ckING SUCK!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:57:25 AM

@i3: I read that book when I was a teen and it scared the sh*t out of me. Its far more gruesome than the film. It ain't Shakepeare but it is a great horror novel imo.
barley_cat writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:03:17 AM

~I agree SAC, The thing is, reading a horror ensures that all the horror and gore, although probed, is left to your own imagination, so no film is ever going to scare you as much as the book it's trying to success!

Like Dreamcatcher! WTF happened there?!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:41:23 AM

No sh*t, Dreamcatcher was TERRIBLE!!!
mattcl23 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:53:29 PM

the only movie that gave me nightmares when i was little.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:14:23 PM

the first pet semtary sucked, the main character was f*cking retarded ...after a failed ressurection, he would jsut ressurect ANOTHER person!

and yes, Dreamcatcher sucked ...
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 4:22:58 PM

@SAc The book seemed like a huge build up that went on far too long and under delivered imo. Best I recall, nothing significant happened in terms of real suspense/terror whatever until about 40 pages remained.I *hated* it.

"The Shining" (novel) on the other hand....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:56:28 PM

I didn't care much for the novel either, but I had the misfortune to read after seeing the movie.
bacci40 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 4:34:08 AM



m-o-o-n spells STOP MAKING REMAKES YOU c*ckSUCKERS
bacci40 writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 4:35:07 AM

best thing about the original was the ramones singing the closing song
rabid writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:55:03 PM

The original glossed over the Wendigo spirit too much. I'd down with a remake so long as they explore more of the native mythology King used in the nnovel.
rabid writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:57:53 PM

The scariest part of the original film is seeing Denise Crosby's creepy sister with meningitis screaming her head off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved