WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott's "Alien" Prequel to be Filmed in 3D

Posted: March 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley ScottSubmit Comment
ShadowLocked caught up with "Star Wars" and "Alien" art-director Roger Christian to talk about working with Ridley Scott on the upcoming "Alien" prequel, which may end up becoming a new trilogy.

"Ridley's doing the next 'Alien' in 3D," confirmed Christian. "Ridley told me some of his ideas. He has a very clear understanding of where this should go. They kind of stopped dead one of the greatest horror franchises there's ever been, and it had legs to go on. So I'm hoping he'll revive another three. The world certainly wants it, and the fans want it."

Back in October, Scott spoke to Empire magazine about the new film. He said: "It's a brand new box of tricks. We know what the road map is, and the screenplay is now being put on paper. The prequel will be a while ago. It's very difficult to put a year on 'Alien,' but [for example] if 'Alien' was towards the end of this century, then the prequel story will take place thirty years prior."

Source: ShadowLocked


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:04:21 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
jdDiedforyou writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:13:36 AM

oh for f*cking christ!! enough of this 3d BULLsh*t!!!...I'm sick and tired of every f*cking movie going into stupid 3d!!!
lost_addict writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:15:21 AM

smurfs 3d
Sev writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:29:23 AM

A Ridley Scott Alien Prequel in 3D...YES PLEASE!!
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:10:53 AM

sounds good to me , Ridley doesn't do too much wrong as far as i'm concerned....
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:17:58 AM

And crapfest continues!
AYT BALL writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:43:05 AM

FOR f*ck SAKE!!!
The Real Joker writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:52:03 AM

I will piss on his grave!!! RRRRAAAGEE!
Dre-EL writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:17:31 AM

There was a story on WP about 3D hurting your eyes.
Guess nobody read it or gives ash*t.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:42:01 AM

^^^ Who needs to read an article to know that 3D hurts your eyes?

I was jazzed to see Ridley come back to the franchise, but I don't gett the 3D aspect of it. Unless he plans on creating a whole new world like Pandora, what's the point? Aliens jumping out of the walls is already scary enough without the gimmicks.
CCBlev writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:50:28 AM

In a related story- Hollywood plans to remake every movie in history and turn them into 3D masterpieces.
A_2001_fullmetal jaket writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:33:09 AM

seriously this is going to be sh*t! Althought it's the same director as the first, I feel it should be left just like the star wars trilogy. Other he's going to wreck the entire franchise with these movie. Espically IN 3D
SaulSilver writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 10:43:17 AM

There aren't enough 3d theaters to accomodate all these 3d movies coming out. Theyre going to have to build more. do they not realize this?
billofill writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:07:45 AM

Ironically Ridley was talking about making this with James Cameron 7 years ago before that sh*t AVP series came out.
Popcorn101 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 11:54:56 AM

you can watch this is regular 2d if you like, please stop bitching about 3d b.s., it is going to happen regardless if you do not like it. hell, i bet all of you will still watch it in 3d, they dont care about how much you bitch, the care about the money...and that is what they will be getting.

on topic-i think this will be cool in 3d, especially with the mini-alien mouth thing coming out at you.

ok bye!
warlord writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:14:48 PM

even if ridley's is behind it its a bad idea
Salvador writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:15:12 PM

Now every film has to be made in 3D?

C'mon, Ridley is better than that.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:15:22 PM

I pointed the same thing out the other day. Why should it bother you, me or anyone else that this gets made to 3D?

Like Popcorn said above, 2D is still available.

Its not even newsworthy anymore. At some point EVERY film may get released into the cinemas in 2 versions.

Im not too fussed about Alien much. I think the AvP franchise left a sour taste in my mouth.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:33:54 PM

3 f*cking D... can't wait for this trend to end. My guess is when those plastic glasses spread some horrid disease like lice, flesh eating bacteria, whatever. Because if we wait for Hollywood to get a clue it will be a long f*cking while.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:02:02 PM

The 3D glasses will end up causing us all to be crossed eyed like Steve Martins invention in 'The Jerk'.

I would so love that to happen.
CCBlev writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:39:55 PM

@hideous
the 3D trend will end but not before the 4D trend heats up
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:44:27 PM

This was all good until they slapped the 3D bitch-stick to it. I have been dying for someone to rescue this franchise from the bastardization it has endured for the last few films. The Aliens were always to me just horrifying but with the last films (baby aliens, aliens vs preds) they've become a damn joke that's not even haha funny.
Going to a prequel and exploring the Alien world would be great, F'ing 3D though????? I'd rather sleep with COC for all that!! (Strictly used to express my disgust lol)
Vlahka writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:10:15 PM

3D would work very well for this film. I can imagine he's got some amazing ideas sized up for dark areas and alien vision etc.

Besides, all 3D movies come with a 2D version. So for those who hate 3D there isnt a problem.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:12:46 PM

i just don't want to see a host of different species in this one

no human/xenomorph hybrids (like the baby thing in the fourth in the fourth instalment)

no predator/xenomorph hybrids

not a bunch of varient xenomophs ...

just have the queen,warriors,the iconic face-huggers and a decent story. *sigh* ... probably asking to much for a film nowadays ....

we'll probably end up getting taco/xenomorph hybrid ....

MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:49:11 PM

Hmm, so Ridley Scott abandons Sci-fi for twenty years, sees Cameron's tech and gets excited enough to go back to his first iconic franchise, and you guys still got sh*t to bitch about?

3D; Its no different than when 'talkies' first came out; everyone was decrying the 'gimmick' of sound, that it would destroy the 'art of film' by adding a new dimension to it. Yeah, at first sync-sound film didn't work perfectly, but with time it was perfected and became the norm.

And just like you, all those critics were utterly blind to the potential of the new technology. Even as visionary directors like Ridley Scott and Peter Jackson grow excited over the prospects of 3d, the doubting relentlessly continues. WTF man?
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:56:22 PM

Folks... it's Ridley Scott.

Bladerunner.
Gladiator.
Blackhawk Down.

Cut this man a bit of slack. He's the sh*t!

And these space flicks... Green Lantern, Aliens, in 3D. I'm all over that.

I don't know the long term effects of 3D to the eyes. I suspect some of the discomfort (for those few) is their brain adjusting to a new visual media (even though we already see the rest of the world in projected (reflected light) 3D.

But... it's RIDLEY SCOTT! lol. I'll give this guy a chance.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 5:51:00 PM

How come is everyone is hating on the AVP movies? The first one was pretty cool (action wise), but i can understand the hate on AVP: Requiem.

Damn that was horrible! As soon as i saw that hand alien thing TRY to scare us(audience) by popping out i left the theater and got my money back.

Im just wondering, why the hate on the first one?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 7:04:03 PM

@Eli-i liked the first AVP as well, except the two Predators in the beginning where pussies, each killed by ONE xenomorph each? please. even without their laser-canons, that's pretty lamed for a highly trained, alien hunter.

And Requiem was pretty sh*tty ...

masht7 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 7:06:47 PM

16D would be good wouldn't it?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 7:07:41 PM

The keyword here is "filmed in". There won't be any post-production convertion, it'll be shot in 3D. And hate it or not, this is the next logical technical step.

So as long as they shoot with 3D-cameras as God (Cameron) intended, it'll be fine and push the limits of the film media forward.
gambino7 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:07:18 PM

Can't Wait
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:42:43 PM

@Eli - my only disappointment with AVP was the battle between the two species was on too small of a scale. They held back (making the movie). The battle should have been EPIC... Braveheart battle scene epic. Thousands on each side... laying waste to one-another.

Running around inside a pyramid... added to a big f*cking deal (not) to me.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 9:43:18 PM

And Requiem I didn't even bother to burn the electricity to watch it.
rabid writes:
on March 6th, 2010 at 12:51:50 PM

sounds great! Aliens is the perfect franchise for 3D FX. Make it happen!
masht7 writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 4:12:57 AM

Not 3D fan, but imagine small alien mouth tounge (whatever it was) coming out of the screen. Not a bad idea but I could survive without 3D.
shine2rust writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 2:54:36 PM

I'm excited and worried about this at the same time. On the one hand, it's Ridley Scott! On the other hand, this could be AvP all over again... in 3D.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2010 at 6:11:57 PM

'imagine small alien mouth tongue (whatever it was) coming out' --- like COC's dead Mom's clit I suppose.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved