WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hurt Locker" Sued by Bomb Squad Technician

Posted: March 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hurt Locker" Sued by Bomb Squad TechnicianSubmit Comment
LA Times is reporting that the producers of "The Hurt Locker" are being dragged to court by Sgt Jeffrey Sarver who claims that characters in the movie are not fictional, but based on him and his three-man team of bomb squad technicians.

Sarver alleges that virtually all of the situations portrayed in the film were occurrences involving him that were observed and documented by Mark Boal, who followed Saver around for 30 days back in 2004 in order to write a Playboy article. Boal then used that article as a jumping-off point for the film's screenplay.

Boal says that the charges are baseless. "I think Sarver is a brave soldier and a good guy," he said. "Like a lot of soldiers, he identifies with the film, but the character I wrote is fictional. The film is a work of fiction inspired by many people's stories. I talked to easily over 100 soldiers during my research."

Sarver is seeking compensation for using his life story and the term "The Hurt Locker," which he says he coined.

Click here to read our "The Hurt Locker" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:21:49 PM

LEAVE THE HURT LOCKER ALOOOOOOONE!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:27:12 PM

who cares ... this guy probably just wants a piece of the fame ... douche.
Aingx writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:27:23 PM

I myself being military; I'd say the Sgt just wants free cash because Army/Marines doesn't get paid for sh*t....
blinkbomber writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:32:43 PM

lol, i thought that was Jeremy Renier or whatever... but i get your point!
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:43:08 PM

This will last a whole 5 minutes in court (EVEN if it get's past the lawyer's 'discovery' day across a board room table from one-another). Careful Jeffrey... you're looking for a counter-suit Bro... and I don't think you have the pockets for it. And HOW LONG has this movie been out and you're only bitching about this now?

Go suck on a pin-less grenade.
SofaKing writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:38:23 PM

Ah, the American dream, hump the leg or sue the sh*t out of someone who is successful. Personally, I am just waiting for someone I know to "make it" so I can get mines.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:10:51 PM

That isn't Sgt Jeffrey Sarver in the picture!?

And seriously, buy that man a new mobile phone.
CCBlev writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:14:42 PM

Yea whatever Douche, go back to working at Taco Bell with Dandy you j*zzstain.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:43:55 PM

First of all, it is Master Sergeant Sharver that's suing The Hurt Locker. Second, NO EOD team has ever gotten into some bullsh*t Sniper battle in Iraq. Trust me, I've done 3 tours there, and EOD doesn't just run around by themselves, with no security or support.
tcu21 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:07:39 PM

Mark Boal: I talked to easily over 100 soldiers during my research.

Did you actually listen to any of them?
Example of what happened?

Boal: So you guys are also trained sharpshooters right?
EOD: Actually no, we're more like engineers.
Boal: I'm just gonna put "yes".
EOD: That's not what I said.
Boal: Oh! Did I also hear that you guys wander around by yourself and are free to drink and do whatever you want?
EOD: Noooo.
Boal: We'll say yes.

Also I feel like this claim may have a little weight, only because the guy claims he coined the term 'the hurt locker' and they never bother to explain that term in the film. But it's just as likely he's full of it.
tcu21 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:10:07 PM

Damn I omitted part of Boal's conversation

Boal: Also if say a Master Sergeant's subordinate punched him in the face, nothing would come of that right?
EOD: Actually that'd be a very serious offense and the soldier could be subject to court martial for it.
Boal: Well, I think that's all I need to make this movie!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:11:50 PM

If it makes him feel any better, the smurfs got their story ripped off too and used for a certain film by James Cameron
tcu21 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:27:03 PM

@johnny_boy

Maybe now the producers for Dances with Wolves, Fern Gully, the Last Samurai, and the Smurfs will team up and sue James Cameron haha.
OneTime writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:48:27 PM

only in FAT lazy america
Eben1277 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 11:05:03 PM

If it turns out he's telling the truth, I hope he gets his cut. If he's not, then I hope he doesn't. Pretty bland post, I know, I'm beat.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 11:06:08 PM

There's a bumper sticker and t-shirt.
tcu21 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 11:27:41 PM

@OneTime:

Your feelings towards the Sergeant in question may be negative, but I don't know that I'd count an EOD tech as part of "fat and lazy America" although it is still alive and well.
OneTime writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:14:18 AM

im refering to sueing someone over somethin so ridiculous...to get rich quick...that only happens in america...where people are too fat and lazy to work for a living and earn a dollar...
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:20:10 AM

The smear campaign against The Hurt Locker is now just getting hilarious. First it's not an accurate representation of the military or the Iraq War. Now it's so close to reality that some soldier wants his cut.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:31:34 AM

All I know is that Kenneth Branagh followed me around for 3 months, so if anything about Thor reminds me of my life I will sue the sh*t out of him.
GIST writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:02:24 AM

Ha, Ha & Ha.
It's funny because any one of us can be suing anybody for this movie. You know what? I am going to sue Quentin Tarantino for I.B. because the Jew Bear is actually based on one of my fellow comrades. Go sucadik! (Suck a d*ck is one word because Boel should suck it fast and make the white stuff burst all over his face)
lawman writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:46:22 AM

I heard the term "Hurt Locker" when I was 20. I am 30 now!
lawman writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:49:49 AM

And GATESOFHAUSER is correct. I work with a guy who was EOD. He tells us stories all the time and he is ALWAYS with a security detsail. He didnt even carry a rifle on him, maybe in the vehicle, but the he just carried a side arm. He once stole a John Deere front end loader and drove it around for a few weeks though.
Kasi writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 2:05:47 PM

Sarver did not coin the phrase "Hurt Locker". I first heard it in 1993 in the movie Demolition Man (Sly Stallone/Sandra Bullock).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved