WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" and "Sucker Punch" Being Converted to 3D

Posted: March 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" and "Sucker Punch" Being Converted to 3DSubmit Comment
James Cameron has been very vocal about Warner Bros' approach to developing 3D movies. While he believes that best quality comes from shooting with 3D cameras, the studio would rather film with standard cameras and then convert the films to 3D in post-production. This not only saves money, but makes it easier for the director to do his job.

And now that Warners is converting their "Clash of the Titans" remake, the studio has also decided to drop a few more million dollars to convert "Green Lantern" and Zack Snyder's "Sucker Punch" as well.

Director Martin Campbell recently said that he hasn't discussed going 3D with the studio, which means that it will be done in post-production. And "Sucker Punch" has already wrapped filming, so that will be done in post-production as well.

Source: BoxOfficeMojo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:20:30 PM

I really want to see something other then words for both of these movies... especially green lantern... i wanna see how Reynolds looks!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:28:29 PM

real f*ckin' shocker right there ...

Green Lantern looks awesome though.
Aingx writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:30:40 PM

GODDAMNIT!!!! I'm sick of this 3D bullsh*t. My eyes are already bad enough as it is. And have you ever tried to COMFORTABLY wear the 3D glasses over your prescription pair? Annoying.....

Maybe start putting 3D 'screens' over the movie screen itself??
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:41:40 PM

i never even watch things in 3D, i don't want to give up my money to pollute these directors minds even further into to thinking 3D is a good idea ... also visuals are secondary to me ...
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:47:20 PM

@encore - sorry folks... I'm one of fans of 3D. Although I sympathize with you Aingz, no, I have not had to wear prescription glasses under the 3D ones... yes that would suck (maybe they'll make glasses to accommodate glass-wearing viewers soon).

But Green Lantern will be KICK ASS in 3D.

Also... I've seen stuff on TV with Avatar in 2D... yeah, it loses any 'magic' it had in 2D.

To the poster above of they developing 3D without the glasses altogether... I'm in! I'd love to see a 3D movie not needing the glasses!!!

But Green Lantern and 3D is a fab. idea!
pomme writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:06:10 PM

totally unoriginal idea!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:09:20 PM

@Ranger-i'm not really saying it's bad to like 3D, but i can't stand it personally,and i think it's not a good idea. and like i said ... if you can deliver a great story the visuals aren't to important to me.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:31:19 PM

@encore - I agree. But as many movies these days have stories that suck... great visuals can't hurt (kind of like liver needing butter and onions... and a nice Chianti... hvvv - hvvv - hvvv).
SofaKing writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:44:41 PM

As an aspiring graphic artist I am excited about the 3D hype going on because that means more jobs. Apparently it take a small army of graphic designers to go though frame by frame and convert it to 3d if it isn't filmed with the Avatar type equipment. As a movie fan... I dunno.
eddie499 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:58:33 PM

I thought the 3D thing was pretty pointless until I saw Avatar in the Imax and while I thought it had story issues, the 3D aspect was an amazing touch. When not used as a gimmick, but as a story/viewing experience enhancement it's a viable tool. Green Lantern would be amazing in 3D. Being immersed in the environment of Oa would be one of this nerd's dreams come true. I'll pay the extra cash for the Green Lantern 3D experience.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:01:40 PM

The thing that people forget is that we have a choice.

Its going to be shown in 3D and 2D so who cares?

I really find it a waste of time that these articles come out. Most future blockbusters will be released in two versions and it will not affect me if i want to see the movie at all.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:10:03 PM

"great visuals can't hurt"

agreed. of course the better the visuals it will enhance the movie experience,but with good visuals AND good story ... sir, there you have yourself a film.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:11:02 PM

"The thing that people forget is that we have a choice.

Its going to be shown in 3D and 2D so who cares?"

i was thinking on similar lines, it's not like we're being forced to pay extra cash ...
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:12:57 PM

@Ricky - great point... the 2D and 3D choice exists.

3D is tailor-made for Green Lantern!

outofshadow writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 9:17:32 PM

this is bullsh*t! if u want to do 3d then shoot it in 3d if not then leave it alone
johnny_boy writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:14:57 PM

(sigh) I remember back in the day when 3d was a once and a while thing and when it came out, most of the time it was for the right movie. Now its getting ridiculous.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:42:10 AM

Frankly I'm surprised the director didn't plan on shooting GL in 3D from the beginning. The material is tailor made for 3D, so why not shoot it with the effect in mind. Adding the 3D later gives it more of a gimmicky feel and puts so much more creative control in the hands of the producer and not the director. That scares me a little.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:17:35 AM

Now this is the problem with 3D. Directors shoots the movie with regular 2D in mind and afterwards the studio decide to convert it to 3D for that extra cash. If you want too have a 3D-movie, shoot it with Cameron's new fancy cameras. Yes, that would be more expensive, but I think it has proven itself money well spent.
masht7 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 2:09:52 AM

COCheads! One Snyder 3D film is enough, I was looking forward to seeing Sucker Punch. But Green Latern is fine with me.
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:00:02 AM

would be nice to see JAWS 3D come back out again ;)
GIST writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 3:04:50 AM

I still want 6D. So you can feel the wrath of hairs piercing the back of the neck.
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 4:04:50 AM

I would agree with all of you I'm so tired of 3-d....for some movies, it works, but for most films its a swing and a miss...my question is wheb ate they gonna pull there d*cks outa dandys ass realize we don't want any more 3-d films.

@Anigx
Its a lot better if you have contacts(there worth the money)
But I feel your pain bro
skatemaster62 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 4:15:24 AM

@Johnny_boy & encore
I agree with you both 3-d is just getting way over played, and its starting to lose it appeal to me. I mean if the story is good and visuals ate good then yes do the 3-d treatment. But if one of those is off then your just wqsting money
Aingx writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 6:13:59 AM

@Ranger - Thanks for the sympathy, it truly is the most uncomfortable thing imaginable.

@Encore - I totally agree; I REFUSE to give a dime to any of those *ssholes.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 8:45:04 AM

FOR f*ck SAKE!!! again
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 1:01:54 PM

f*cking a....post preduction 3d is the worst idea ever for gl....granted I will see this movie...but not just for the 3d but cuz its the f*cking green lanturn....just slap an image of his ring on a poster and tell me when its coming out and I'm sure every1 will see it. And 3d without glasses is the best idea I've heard so far....maybe they could make 3d better like that
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 4:39:45 PM

@Aingx - I imagine being held down against your will whilst COC's dad ass-rapes you (as a picture of his dead mom looks on) would be even more uncomfortable, but you're welcome.
The Real Joker writes:
on March 7th, 2010 at 8:04:14 AM

I hate hollywood...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved