WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Precious" Director Working on Civil Rights Film with Hugh Jackman

Posted: March 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Precious" Director Working on Civil Rights Film with Hugh JackmanSubmit Comment
Lee Daniels' "Precious" film is up for six Oscars this Sunday, but he is not getting ready for the awards show, he is instead hard at work on "Selma," a civil rights movie starring Hugh Jackman.

"I had to do a lot of homework on the script, and I spent a lot of time writing," Daniels told USA Today. "I feel like I'm caught up a little bit with that. I have to really start casting the movie because we're shooting it soon (in May). The only person I've nailed in for sure is Hugh Jackman."

"Selma" chronicles the place where segregation in the South was at its worst, leading to a march that ended in violence, forcing a famous statement by President Lyndon B. Johnson that ultimately led to the signing of the Civil Rights Act.

Back in January it was reported that Robert De Niro was on board to play Alabama Governor George Wallace. Since Daniels didn't mention him that could mean that De Niro has abandoned the project or is still negotiations.

Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 6:48:23 AM

I refuse to watch Precious, the actress in the movie looks like King Kongs wife.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:02:24 AM

I've heard plenty of nasty things about precious like a scene where mo nique is playing with herself, a scene only COC would drool over. So f*ck watching that movie. Only way I would if Mariah Carey were to have a nude scene in it
SACdaddy writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 7:47:06 AM

Its a tough film to watch all around, but it still deserves all the praise it gets.

Selma is a good story to tell, but I have to say I'm just a little disappointed. The minute I read a "civil rights film starring Hugh Jackman" I thought Quigley Down Under 2 :-)
tcu21 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:40:31 AM

I have yet to see Precious but I can tell you already what I'm not impressed with: the story.
Sure it's sad, tragic, but anyone can make something sad and tragic. Write a character and have everything bad happen to them in this case the girl in the movie is pregnant with her 2nd child (by her father), abused by her mother, overweight, made fun of at school, and reads at a 2nd grade level. Boom, tear jerker, but it's got as much originality as Avatar.

I guess the book it was based off really deserves this criticism, but I'll give to both.
c-prime writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:10:09 AM

"I refuse to watch Precious, the actress in the movie looks like King Kongs wife."

You're a saint, VDODSON.
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:16:58 AM

I was not a fan of Precious. I thought it was an absurd, emotionally manipulative melodrama, full of tasteless "cinephile" tricks (there's one completely out-of-place reference to Two Women) and cliches (like a gorgeous, light-skinned savior teacher swooping in to rescue our protagonist Dangerous Minds-style), concluding with an equally manipulative upbeat ending.

But...the two central performances from Gabourey Sidibe and Mo'Nique are pretty damn good. I won't complain at all if they win Oscars this Sunday.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:40:09 AM

"Precious" was this year's most flagrant case of Oscar bait.
Not a terrible movie, though.

Nevertheless, I found it almost too unbearable to watch, with an elephant as the leading actress.

Call me shallow, but I'd rather see someone like... uh, I don't know, Megan Fox, playing Gabourey Sidibe's part.

... and that was my Twilight Zone moment of the day.


jeffw1978 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 12:23:14 PM

So this is a movie about large black land whales being harrased. Sounds like COC and his supposed wife on a saturday night.
GIST writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 1:55:47 PM

@SACdaddy

It was a tough film to watch, but the performances were great by both Mo'Nique & Gabourey Sidibe.
I haven't read 'Push' but I never knew that it was written in Precious' point of view as a dyslexic and uneducated teenager. All I scanned through were grammar errors and spelling mistakes.
Reminded me of my essay on Canadian History in 10th grade. All I wrote was "Hoo gifts a phoc!"
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 2:37:43 PM

King Kong's wife? no, more like Dandy's wife AFTER he figured out he was a fag. now that's a scary thought ...
Kurskij writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 3:07:04 PM

@VDODSON

You're insulting the monkey! He had pretty decent taste in women.

If he had this babe as his wife, he'd most likely shoot himself. Or got drugged to death.
ChadRo writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 3:14:44 PM

Did he just say he nailed Hugh Jackman? I thought he gave that crap up with the song and dance routine?
SACdaddy writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 3:31:39 PM

@GIST: LOL!!!

In another weak year for female roles, only Mo'Nique and Meryl Streep's performances stand out. Streep's up for something every year, so Mo will get it. She deserves it. James Coburn got the Oscar in 97 for basically playing the same type of bitter, abusive parental figure in Affliction.
AshTrey writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 4:49:23 PM

YO PRECIOUS WAS TERRIBLE.. IT REALLY WAS. THE MOVIE JUST ENDS AND I HATE TO SAY IT ITS REALLY NOT THAT INTERESTING JUST SAD. I THINK ITS OVERRATED A LIL... BUT I COULD SEE HUGH BEING A SOUTHERN RACIST.


WHY NOT? IF THEY HAVE A GREAT CAST... I CAN SEE IT HAVING POTENTIAL.
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:23:05 AM

@ SACdaddy: They may have played similar characters, but James Coburn didn't give HALF the performance that Mo'Nique did. If he wasn't a film legend getting his "career honor," Ed Harris would've won that year in a walk.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved