WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hurt Locker" Producer Banned from Oscars

Posted: March 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hurt Locker" Producer Banned from OscarsSubmit Comment
We recently reported that "The Hurt Locker" producer Nicolas Chartier violated an Academy Awards rule that bans "direct promotional communications with members."

Chartier sent out emails urging voters to support "The Hurt Locker" instead of "a $500 million film. When the Academy learned of his emails, they promised that Chartier would be disciplined. He could face public censure, not be allowed to attend the ceremony, or even have "The Hurt Locker" removed from contention.

The Academy has now made its decision and Chartier will no longer be allowed to attend Sunday's ceremony. The producer will still receive an Oscar if "The Hurt Locker" ends up winning in the Best Picture category.

Source: NY Mag

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 8:23:39 AM

Sucks for this guy, especially if it wins BP. They usually award that to the producer, LOL.
bill the butcher writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:21:36 AM

avatar was very good but THE HURT LOCKER is a classic if alfred hitchc*ck made an iraq film it would have been like that real suspense hitchc*ck killed off janet leigh in PSYCHO and it was a real shock kathryn bigelow killed off guy pearce and ralph fiennes you could never guess what would happen next in this film. sam worthington is a soldier who makes friends with a tribe who he thought were savages...
what a f*cking rip off
the same story as dances with wolves...
sam worthington kevin costner
zoe saldanda mary mcdonnell
indians navi

tcu21 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:46:58 AM

There was nothing special about The Hurt Locker. Decent film, but totally inaccurate for a film that wants itself to be considered the best movie made about the war in Iraq.

If there was any justice the competition for Best Picture would not be so close between The Hurt Locker and Avatar, neither should even be seriously considered.

In all honesty it should be Inglourious Basterds vs. District 9. My argument:

The Academy likes to say they look for a number of things:

Box Office Draw
Critical Acclaim
Original Story
Great Performances

Inglourious Basterds:
320 million worldwide
Numerous critical accolades and awards including the SAG Award for Best Cast
Brutal Jewish Nazi killers who assassinate Hitler=Original
Christoph Waltz. Enough said. Actually no, Brad Pitt, Melanie Laurent, and Diane Kruger.

District 9:
204 million worldwide on a 30 million dollar budget!
90% of critics gave it positive reviews!
An alien story in which aliens aren't here for peace or war, just lost and abused. Great social commentary.
Sharlto Copley in his first feature film and Neil Blomkamp directing his first feature film. Both masterful.

I could pick apart The Hurt Locker and Avatar but I don't want to take up anymore space than I already have. In any case, people will look back at this year and agree on one thing: The voters got it wrong.
OneTime writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:49:16 AM

i duno what the big deal with this movie is...its predictable...its good..but not great..and it wont win
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:54:41 AM

This is an appropriate punishment, I think. He still has a chance to be rewarded for his contributions to the film but is shut out from accepting it on stage.

@ tcu21: I don't understand people who thrash The Hurt Locker because it's not a 100% accurate portrayal of the military. Have you ever seen a war movie that didn't have innaccuracies? I thought so, so why suddenly act like such a nit-picking historian now?

And it's considered the best movie about the Iraq War...because it is. What, you prefer Lions for Lambs?
tcu21 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:07:44 AM

Yeah, but nowadays saying the best movie made about the war in Iraq is like praising Dear John because it's the best movie adapted from a Nicholas Sparks novel. It's not a very strong genre and shouldn't reward it for being the best of the worst movies.

As for accurate war movies, Das Boot, Gods and Generals/Gettysburg, I'm gonna throw Band of Brothers as historically accurate entertainment (counterpart to Generation Kill), Thirteen Days, the opening to Saving Private Ryan (the rest was fictitious so that doesn't completely count). The list goes on, but the point is directors today opt out of accuracy for entertainment purposes and the movies quality suffers because of it.
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 1:07:43 PM

You are incorrect about the accuracy of the films you listed. Thirteen Days makes several changes to what actually happened, especially the contributions of Kenny O'Donnell and the conduct of Kennedy's military adivsors. Das Boot takes plenty of historical and technical liberties, which were even criticized by the author of the book upon which the film was based. Interesting that you would mention Generation Kill, since I recently attended a lecture by Nathaniel Fick, who was not shy about correcting some of the misrepresentations of that miniseries. And did you really just mention Gods and Generals, one of the worst movies ever made?

But perhaps most telling is your statement that the inaccuracies in Saving Private Ryan "don't count" because that was a fictitious story. Well, so is The Hurt Locker, so again I ask, why the double standard? Shouldn't directors have the right to invoke artistic license for the sake of dramatic effect? Since this is, by your own admission, the best and most accurate cinematic depiction of the Iraq War, shouldn't this film be applauded instead of nitpicked even if you don't necessarily believe it's the best film of 2009?

I completely disagree with you that the "quality of films suffer" because directors opt out of accuracy for entertainment, especially since people only seem to apply that reasoning to their particular area of expertise. You can take literally hundreds of celebrated films rooted in fact and point out inaccuracies, but that doesn't mean they're bad films. The Hurt Locker is not intended to be a doc*mentary, it is a narrative feature film, and an impeccably made one at that.
tcu21 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:00:12 PM

I actually meant that everything except for the beginning can't be really evaluated because it's all fiction. The storming of Omaha beach was an incredibly representation of historical accuracy. The other movies I referred to were endorsed by historians.

I'm not saying the Hurt Locker was a bad film, but it's not a classic and it definitely doesn't deserve the Best Picture award, neither does Avatar, but I'd still give it to Avatar over the Hurt Locker.

The point is a good film could be made without sacrificing accuracy. It wasn't even sacrificed for artistic sake(which I do approve of).

To conclude, I approve of taking away some accuracy for artistic sake, Hurt Locker wasn't a bad film (definitely not the best though), and even if The Hurt Locker were 100% accurate, Inglourious Basterds and District 9 would still be better films.
SamuelClayton writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:35:18 PM

I'm sure there are quite a few historians who liked Das Boot and Thirteen Days, but I guarantee you they would point out a laundry list of alterations to historical fact if you asked them. Then there's also the issue of experts and veterans who praise The Hurt Locker, like Henry Engelhardt. My point is that you are not going to find a movie based on war or the military or any sort of real event without finding inaccuracies and experts on its subject who will pick it apart, and as far as I'm concerned that should not be factored in to evaluating its artistic merit.

On the actual quality of The Hurt Locker, I guess you and I will just have to agree to disagree. I find the film to be the best of 2009 by far, and displays masterful filmmaking technique, acting, and narrative. District 9 is exciting and very well-acted by Sharlto Copley, but botches its own (frankly unnecessary) doc*mentary conceit halfway through and has an unsettling mean streak against black Africans, despite asserting itself as a condemnation of Apartheid. Inglourious Basterds has an admirable audacity in rewriting WWII in the form of a pulp revenge fantasy, but blows it with its totally uneven narrative construction and juvenile overkill of its "Jewish revenge" theme. And Avatar is so embarrasingly literal-minded in not only its preachy message but also its tacky, gaudy-looking sci-fi setting that it was almost impossible for me to be inspired or even impressed by it, despite Jim Cameron's naked attempts to constantly remind me of how awed I should be by the whole thing.

The Hurt Locker is suffering an unfortunate backlash right now, but I firmly believe that time will vindicate it, and if it wins Best Picture this weekend it will be one of the few that actually deserves it.
tcu21 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:40:21 PM

Agree to disagree, I at least thank you for making a smart, respectful argument.

But I am forced to throw in one more shout out to Inglourious Basterds. Even if they don't win, they have arguably the best performance in movies this year: Christoph Waltz. Only competition in my opinion is someone who didn't even get nominated, Sam Rockwell in "Moon". Outstanding.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:01:29 PM

Well James just wrapped this up. Chartier you f*cking idiot. People always undo themselves man. Now I have to look at James' c*cky ass on stage for 3 minutes because you know they won't turn the music up on his ass.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:09:00 PM

that's what you get you Nicolas Chartier you dumb c*nt .... if you knew it was against the rules shouldn't have done it ... damn idiot ...
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:17:32 PM

As Napoleon once said: "He le deserved it, le stupide c*nte!"
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:42:41 PM

@Samual - re: Das Boot and Thirteen Days - good examples, and great movies.

I hope this event with the Producer from The Hurt Locker does take (what now maybe a relaxed position in Hollywood) professionalism up a notch. You can praise your own project without it having to be at the expense of another.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 12:48:26 AM

they should bad the piece of sh*t rip off avatar.
pnkntndr writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 12:56:43 AM


I was counting the seconds it would take to kill Ralph Fiennes. So predictable after they knocked off Guy Pierce in the first scene!

I agree with TCU. I felt that it really wasn't special. My buddy's cousin was home on leave from Iraq so I decided to ask him about it. He said it was bullsh*t. His unit does that line of work. The only thing close to accurate were the bomb devices and Jeremy Renner's character. It seems most of the troops are a lot like him in the "I don't give a f*ck/going in guns a blazin'" attitude.

How long would Spc. Owen be attached to that unit after his f*ck up caused the death of another soldier? I don't think too long. If he can't pull the trigger he's just bait
tcu21 writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 10:23:20 PM

I know this thread is a couple days old and if anyone is still reading this I forgot to mention a couple other historically accurate war movies:

Letters from Iwo Jima
Tora! Tora! Tora!

Also Pearl Harbor...

Haha, kidding.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved