WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Says "Precious" Should Have Been in 3D

Posted: March 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Says "Precious" Should Have Been in 3DSubmit Comment
Ever since "Avatar" became the highest grossing film of all time, 3D has become a tool that most filmmakers want to use. But is 3D only for sci-fi, horror, animated, and action films?

"We see in depth, for the most part. We go to the theater — it's in depth. Why couldn't a film like 'Precious' be in 3-D? It should be," said Martin Scorsese, adding: "I'd love to do one."

Some directors like Jason Reitman and Michael Bay are completely against using the technology in their films, calling it a gimmick. But critic Roget Ebert makes a good point. He first called 3D "a waste of a perfectly good dimension," but then cleared up his statement by saying that he is only against movies that hurl 3D objects at the audience, later giving "Avatar" a good review for its use of the technology.

Scorsese believes that it's "natural that we'd be going in that direction," and Bay is already the first to take back his anti-3D statements. He recently announced that "Transformers 3" may be in 3D.

Question: Should 3D be used in dramas like "Precious" and "An Education," or should the technology be saved for big sci-fi action films?

Source: AP


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 6:34:05 AM

Sure, I just wont watch it.
shayhiri writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:00:19 AM

Yeah, the main character in Precious is VERY much 3D.
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:07:32 AM

No, he didn't say it should have been in 3-D, he said " Why couldn't a film like 'Precious' be in 3-D" which is a question of the style of film making not being pigeonholed to a particular genre.
tcu21 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:28:08 AM

For big sci-fi films, yes. But for character pieces, the performances of the actors and actresses should be enough to immerse me in the film. I expected better from Scorsese after all his brilliant character driven movies.

Hah! Michael Bay. Enough said.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:34:38 AM

"Precious" in 3D? Jeeeeeesus!

... as if the fat bitch from the movie didn't look fat enough already!
Gabourey Sidibe makes hippopotamuses look like their on a diet!

That girl's so fat that she wouldn't fit in 3D!

That girl's so fat that Kirstie Alley orbits around her!
SeWerin writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:38:53 AM

A Serious Man in 3D - waste of your f***** time AND money!
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:14:22 AM

hahaha your gonna need big 3D glasses to watch Precious
Johnnyb writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:20:32 AM

I donīt think it would work in other kind of films than is not other than scifi, action and horror. And my point is that this genre bring in particular a different universe that in real world doesnīt happens. 3 D what particulary does, is to bring us to that place, to feel that we are part of that universe, like we are other characters in the film. And to say this, is like living the film in real life, that is the reason it would work in those cases, cause the genre. Involve us in a world that for us is real but we know is notl!!!!

You donīt want to see The Hours, American Beauty or Gran Torino in 3 D or youŋ? In all of this cases this kind on genre what moves the film is the plot and characters, not their world. 3 D in this cases would make seeing the film as a live play without a particular universe that we havenīt seeing in our world. That is my case why 3 d will no adjust to that genre. Is because the world surrounded by this characters.
ProfMovies writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 12:14:30 PM

3D is a method the studios are using to "ghetto-ize" the industry, separating the "haves" from the "have nots".
The digital purveyors are so out of touch with equipment costs, most of the independent theater owners can not afford to even go digital, much less 3D!

The biggest culprit here is the studios not demanding the digital equipment sellers get a firm grip on reality and start making deals with even those who are not well-heeled!

The huge chain theaters are overjoyed there is finally a way to combat the often-superior indy operators, and do a Wal-Mart on them to close their doors!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 12:57:28 PM

Of all the movies Scorsese could have used for example, he choosed Precious.

Scorsese is a funny motherf*cker.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:10:26 PM

so we can see her fat spill up on us? no thanks.

they might as well put in 4D so when the bitch queefs in kills everybody in the theater.
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:15:24 PM

Is there anyone in the whole big world who gives a f*ck about what Jason Reitman thinks?

He's the most overrated thing to come out of Hollywood since...

I wanted to say Diablo Cody, but they've somehow managed to work together...
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:16:44 PM

Sorry, Alex, here's an answer:

It should, and someday it will be, but as for now save it for popcorn.

Precious in 3D? Back on cocain, Mr.Scorsese?
AshTrey writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:11:22 PM

I WOULD LITERALLY HAVE VOMITTED ALL OVER MYSELF. NO ON WANTS THAT.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:51:52 PM

i understand that 3D is fad that's supposed to bring us a visual confirmation of what we saw in the future displays of back to the future part 2...but it's really beyond annoying now...i guess that's probably why i stopped going to the theaters unless a really REALLY good film appealed to me...3D should only be used for films that make it useful...and there's RARELY any films that make it useful in the first place...'Who Framed Roger Rabbit' is more of a better movie that should have been in 3D vs 'Precious'...geez, there's only one way to put the S in Stupidity hollywood
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 3:45:06 PM

They gotta nail down the tech before they go all out with this sh*t. 3d glasses just aren't gonna cut it if you want to make every movie 3d. Though I do agree with Scorsese that its only natural that films would evolve from 2d to 3d, too many people get headaches and whatnot.

@Kurskij- I'd agree with you on Diablo Cody, except her Showtime series "United States of Tara" is great. But maybe thats just because of Toni Collette's acting.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 12:32:42 AM

Marty, I love ya. You are one of the greatest filmmakers of all time. But: NO! Movies like precious should absolutely NOT be in 3D. Leave 3D for big event pictures.
masht7 writes:
on March 5th, 2010 at 2:08:10 AM

I'm being serious, is that Danny DeVito in the front seat in the picture?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved