WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Blockbuster Bringing Back Late Fees

Posted: March 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Blockbuster Bringing Back Late FeesSubmit Comment
While Netflix and Redbox are constantly looking for new ways to attract customers and deliver content, Blockbuster is going back to its old ways by bringing back the late fees.

Beginning March 1st, customers will be able to rent new releases for $4.99 for five days (was previously seven days), and then be charged $1 for every day the DVD/Blu-ray is not returned. This will go on for a maximum of 10 days.

"The cool thing about it is that theoretically you could return a movie up to a year later and only be charged that $10," said a local Blockbuster store employee, when asked about the changed policy.

Redbox has a similar policy. The company charges $1 per day of rental for up to 25 days. After that, the rental is considered a purchase. Netflix, meanwhile, doesn't charge late fees, which was one of the reasons for its success.

"This is not a late fee. This is an additional daily rate," said Blockbuster spokesperson Michelle Metzger. "And if the customer is choosing to keep out a movie past the due date, then they are going to charged [accordingly]. If you keep a rental car out an extra day, the rental car company has to charge you."

Source: Home Media Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 118 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Lowryder writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 6:34:33 PM

eh i dont care, i download all my movies online free
OneTime writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 7:00:34 PM

i didnt know people rented still...
@nchorman writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 7:20:34 PM

who the hell goes to blockbuster ????
who the hell rents ??????????????????
WHO THE HELL CARES???????????????????
lol
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 7:31:30 PM

"...return a movie up to a year later and only be charged that $10," said a local Blockbuster store employee, when asked about the changed policy.

That employee is now stocking shelves at Walmart - 'it's a step up for my career!' he said.
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 7:34:29 PM

On another note... Blockbuster just put another nail in their coffin.
c-prime writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 8:41:46 PM

"It's a step up for my career!"

Ha ha. I've worked at Walmart, Ranger. Nobody would ever say that...

...unless, of course, their former career revolved around sucking c*ck on bent knees. In which case, it'd be true both literally and metaphorically. (I hear D.O.C. manages a store in San Diego.)
encoreyourface writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 9:25:01 PM

@Ranger-agreed, i used to always go to Blockbuster, but Hollywood Video is better ...

Blockbuster is dying ... matter of time now ...

pnkntndr writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 10:25:24 PM

Funny thing is that after the ten days they charge your credit card for the purchase of the product. After you return it, the money magically appears on your card again!
dddarne writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 10:39:20 PM

It looks to me like Blockbuster is going out of business this year for sure now. Hollywood video is actually in worse shape than blockbuster but this wont be the case for long. Why would I pay $5 to rent a movie for 5 days when I could get a netflix subscription for the price of two rentals and stream endless movie to my PS3 or PC and rent unlimited movies through the mail? Hell I could even wait a month or two and buy the movie at Walmart for $10.
Valis writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 10:51:55 PM

This is not accurate.
"Beginning March 1st, customers will be able to rent new releases for $4.99 for five days (was previously seven days), and then be charged $1 for every day the DVD/Blu-ray is not returned."

The price is $5 even. Before, brand new releases were 2-day rentals with a grace period. Now, all rentals are 5 days, new and old.

"The cool thing about it is that theoretically you could return a movie up to a year later and only be charged that $10"

No. You have a total of 45 days with the movie. After that, it's yours to keep and pay for, end of story. First 5 days - $5. Then $1/day for 10 days, then it sells to your credit card. When it sells, you have 10 days to return it, get the refund, and pay the $10 in additional daily rates. If you return it 11-30 days after the due date, you get store credit for what was charged, and pay the $10 ADR.
Kurskij writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 11:48:00 PM

$4.99 for 5 days?!?!

This calls for a little axe murderer-style conversation.

Here, those prices for renting would kill any company. And half of their DVD's wouldn't be returned.



aidbal22 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:46:38 AM

really how hard is it to get your movies back in time. be responsible and return your movies, they are not yours to keep for as long as you want!!!
Goober3000 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:06:20 AM

Are they also bringing back the $1 rewind fee?
nope.com writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:13:54 AM

lol people still rent movies in physical form

freakin stone age sh*t
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:39:26 AM

@Valis, your completely right. Dunno if your a current employee but you said it perfectly. Personally, I agree with the decision. It'll help get more copies into the store as well as helping customers who are always bitching about movies not being there. Your paying 5 bucks upfront for those five days. Its not that big of a difference to redbox if your a redbox user. Most people keep out their redbox rentals about 4-5 days anyway. For whatever odd reason, myself included to be honest, people like to physically have a movie in their hands when they rent it. I do believe though that Blockbuster is definitely dying, along with the deceased (or dying) Hollywood Video. BB completely ran them out of my local Ft. Lauderdale area, even Miami as far as I know. Netflix has the best deal. I use Netflix, I pay $11 a month to have unlimited 1 at a time physical rents plus the unlimited hours of instant viewing which have a vast array of movies and tv in high def. You can bitch all ya want about it being a dumb decision but their trying to stay afloat but yeah, it won't help. And btw A LOT of people still rent from the store. Not as much as like 2 years ago, but quite a lot. Moving on to better ventures soon though. And if you are a person who rents movies, don't give the f*cking employees a hard time about it. It ain't our f*cking choice to rent movies this way...
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:41:44 AM

Oh, and f*cking right on aidbal22. I don't get how people can be so irreponsible. You rent the f*cking movie, bring the f*cking thing back when its due. It wasn't that hard before 2 day rental or not. Recently a customer told my store manager that they couldn't return a movie because they went out of town after they rented. My bosses immediate response without thinking? "Why didn't you just bring it back before you left then?"....People are DUMB.
rabid writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:50:16 AM

I can't even remember the last time I walked into a video store
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 8:41:07 AM

f*ck BLOCKBUSTER!!! They have no idea what they are doing. I rented two movies from them years ago, and forgot about them until months later. they began demanding 100$ per movie. I lied and said i returned them. they said they were doing inventory the NEXT day (what a coincidence) and they would check. They found ONE but not the other. Since I had them BOTH in my hand when they called to tell me I still had ONE, I just laughed and hng up. I NEVER returned them and still have Stir of Echos, and Ichi the Killer on VHS in their neat little BLOCK BUSTER CASES! It NEVER went on my Credit Report, Never went to collections, and I have since became a member 3 TIMES since then. FAGS!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:12:52 AM

@fade: I totally agree. Not only did a couple of peolpe i know get mugged at a Redbox, but I also amass all the late fees with RB as I would if I rented at BB. Plus don't you hate getting trapped behind the old lady that doesn't know how to use the f*cking RB?

I'm also really bad about returning Netflix or maximizing my monthly dollar with them. Netflix basically forces you to use their service or you're just throwing money away. I'll go months without renting something through NF and be $30 in the hole. Plus waiting an extra month for new releases that BB already has is bullsh*t! My girl always ends up bringing something over from BB that I've had qued for weeks on NF. Those instant movie on NF are a bunch of bullsh*t too. Most of the time its nothing you want to watch or something you can see on premium cable. And they don't have videogames!!!

I've matured (LOL!) enough to get a movie back in 5 days which is basically the same price at both RB and BB. The only difference is at one place I have a ton to choose from and, more importantly, to browse through (sometimes a movie display box goes a long way), and at the other place I could end up being mugged or beating the sh*t out of some senior citizen who doesn't know how to use the f*cking machine. In a perfect world everything would be available On Demand through your cable service at home, but until then I think I'll stick with BB as long as they're still in business.

On a side note, you can't run into hot bitches primed and ready to curl up to a DVD at Netflix. The "have you seen this" routine might be the one of the easiest icebreakers in a playa's game baby! Try doin that at a RB while the girl's boyfriend is sitting in the car right behind you planning your murder.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:21:27 AM

SAC>>>> f*ck me man, is red box really that serious of a risk? I have never been to one. What city are you in that you might need to flee on foot from a Red Box? I had no idea.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:07:11 AM

You're a cop you should know best. My friends actually got hit up late one night outside of a closed McDonald's trying to use a RB. Jackers just wait until you show up with your credit card and boom, you're a victim.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:30:35 AM

SAC>>>> Im in NYC, havent seen any RB specific incidents. Damn! As far as the McDonalds goes, yeah, I know all about those (late night eateries in general) are good pinch points. Mybe its because of what I do but I can see that sh*t coming. Im a Fed so we see more than just city crime. Myself and my partner stopped a gas station/conveniece store robbery in NJ. We both saw it coming a mile off. The guys were so obvious but when we interviewed the clerk after he said he had no idea it was about to go down. I guess complacency is the culprit. SAC, you defintiyl sound like you keep your eyes open. You should have a talk with your McDonalds friend! LOL
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:38:20 AM

I really dont see why people defend blockbuster. It seems like they change their pricing strategy every other month or so. I dont rent movies at blockbuster because they change to often. At least at hollywod video, redbox and netflix are consistant. I dont blame them for charging late fee's, its only logical to since everyone but netflix charges late fees.
For those of you worried about getting robbed at a red box maybe you should move out of the ghetto. Its not redbox's fault you choose to renmt movies at 2 AM in the middle of the hood. Maybe the people that are concerned should try renting from a redbox that is in a walmart or grocery store.
Finally for the people that claim people keep redbox rentals for 5 days anyways, I dont understand why you would keep the movie for so long unless you rent a couple. If I rent a movie its because I want to watch it, not because I want to watch it in a couple days. When I rent a movie I generally go home and watch it that night.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 12:05:51 PM

dddarne>>>We could always just watch the movie through the walls of your glass house! Shut your lips!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 1:00:28 PM

@ddd - Jesus man... give up on the Hanc*ck trivia test already. You're looking like Rainman!
pnkntndr writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 1:03:04 PM

I've never had a problem with Netflix. All you have to do is put the new release in your queue before it comes out and usually it lands in your mailbox thee day it comes out
Rich k writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 1:37:42 PM

I rent VHS from blockbuster all the time...
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:19:26 PM

Lawman dont be mad at me for being right. Most people get robbed because of where they are at they are at the wrong place at the wrong time, which is usually is in the hood and/or ghetto. I will say I have been to several redboxes here in town some in good parts of town and some in the bad parts of town and Ive never seen a person looking at my trying to steal my credit card. If your worried about people in your neighborhood jacking you order the movies online. On a Tuesday when movies I want to see come out I preorder it online and just go pick it up and I dont need my credit card, you just have to input your email address and you'll get your movie.
Blockbuster wont let you reserve a movie online like the redbox does
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:23:39 PM

Ranger you didnt do any better on your Rocky Balboa trivia, your just a hater because Im ranked in the top 100 and you havent broke the 1000th place yet.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:40:55 PM

Hey douche bag.

I was drunk when I watched Rocky Balboa. And have only done 4 surveys (total) on this site. I don't make taking surveys on this site my life work retard. What are you shooting for, winning a free bicycle, twat?

Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:42:33 PM

LOL... just read the remainder of your post.

I'm a hater towards you because you're ANONYMOUSLY in the top 100 in the surveys on a FREE public blog site?!?!?!?

Bwwwahahahahahahahahahahaaaaa!!!
That made my day... thank you!

And it's 'you're' (as in 'you are'), not 'your' you f*cking simpleton.
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:46:49 PM

Im a simpleton, havent you ever heard the phase about people that use curse words and their IQ?
About quizes being my life work, I havent takena quiz in about 5 months genious.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:49:43 PM

Profanity and IQ's huh?

I retired before I was 40. What's your financial program genius?

Save your cereal box theories for your little brother. He's the only one you know (also genetically inferior) that will believe the sh*t your trowel.

So what's your excuse for tanking the Hanc*ck quiz 3 times (minimum) Mr. High (non-profane) IQ?

LOL!!!
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:50:54 PM

RANGER>>>>> Should I tell him youre the wrong hombre to f with or do you want me to just leave it alone?
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:51:09 PM

4/6, 5/6, 6/6... LOL!

Maybe you should take it 4 more times (min.)... the, possibly you'll nail it.

Moron.

Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:51:36 PM

@Lawman - he's just another WP pinata.

Game on!

lol
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 2:54:33 PM

Another over-indulged (by his parents), lied to example of a failed parental system convincing Jr. that his opinion matters, and will continue to make his pointless points.

I KNOW my opinions don't matter... but I'm ok with that. Some just can't believe it's also true of them.

@DDD - shut up and go take the Hanc*ck quiz again. Clearly you could use the practice (better yet... why don't you watch the movie first?).
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:02:00 PM

Ranger if you were so smart youd know it was three different quizes for the same movie. Look it up next time before you speak, because you look like an ass. Even though thats hard to do. As far as you being retired before you were 40, being brain dead and getting disability or social security doesnt count
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:03:20 PM

Lawman just because some 12 year old curses on the internet doesnt make him the wrong person to mess with.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:07:23 PM

being brain dead and getting disability or social security doesnt count


Wow... you ARE clever.

Zzzzz...

So - 3 different quiz's... AND YOU SUCKED AT ALL 3?!?!? Keep going for the point buddy. You don't want to lose that 'Top 100' anonymous position you're holding on a public, blog site.

LOL.

Keep it up, tough, anonymous guy over the internet. I'm locking my windows and doors now.
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:13:43 PM

When is blockbuster going to get it or fall as a company, when!? Morons over there. With their assets they should have won this rental thing at the start but noooo suit greed and incompetence is a bitch.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:14:21 PM

RANGER>>>>> Retired under 40? Ausralian right? Tell him your on the DOLE baby!!!!! BOOYAH!
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:14:23 PM

Ranger you still havent said anything to prove you have any intellegence once so ever. If I was you Id back down and close my doors and windows too.
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:15:25 PM

The problem with blockbuster is they have people like ranger and lawman running the company
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:22:33 PM

Ranger you still havent said anything to prove you have any intellegence once so ever. If I was you Id back down and close my doors and windows too.

"Once so ever"? - what? I thought it was 'What so ever'.

"if I was you"- Really? Sounds like you may have grown up in the "we get robbed at red box" neighborhoods after all!

As far as running BlockBuster, nah. I work for my money. When a Twat like yourself gets robbed at a rebbox, I am the one who catches the houligan!

P.S. You are a Horse Vagina!

Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:23:15 PM

@ddd - man, did your parents ever fail in raising you. Get this boy. No one has to prove themselves to you, ever. YOU have to prove yourself to the world, you lazy f*ck!

@Lawman - nope... not a Aussie.

@DDD - like your talk of RedBox, the neighborhoods they're in. Look limited life, poor boy, the highest real estate got in my city was $400K for a bachelor condo (under 500 sq. ft.). You don't make enough in a year to pay the operating costs on my car for the summer. So you just keep your eyes on your Hanc*ck quiz's, and your Top 100 standing on this site in that area, and other people's language... and you'll do just fine with your assumptions of how the world spins.

But leave a note after your give yourself the David Carradine treatment for the one that finds your body to post on here letting us know (after all you believe in fails you)... I could use the laugh on that day.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:24:26 PM

@ddd - nice home movie loser!

http://2guys1horse.com/
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:25:33 PM

So Lawman, after our shift today at Blockbuster, let's go for a beer, it's on DDD.

His self-righteous check just came in the mail.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 3:39:49 PM

intellegence should intelligence.

You know what they say about people's IQ's that can't spell, don't you retard?

LOL!
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:01:48 PM

Sorry Ranger, for some reason I thought you were Aussie. You in the U.S.?

And DDD is still a Horse Vagina!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:37:45 PM

He is.

And C U in email.
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:54:46 PM

Ranger and Lawman are the the worst kindof loser a person could ever be. Here on a movie site pretending to be something they are not. Ranger pretending he has all kinds of money, next he'll start claiming he is Bill Gates and lawman pretending to be a cop in NYC. He probably thinks he is John McClane or something. Next he'll start claiming he's from Detroit so he can claim to be Axle Foley.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:56:13 PM




Zzzzz...


Wow. You're really dull.



Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:57:10 PM

How are those Hanc*ck quiz re-takes going for you Corky?
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 4:58:13 PM

Well, I am a Fed, so I cant be John Mclane, and I am White so that shoots Axle Foley in the foot! Why would I pretend to be a Fed? Its not like I am claiming I am a Secret Agent (that wouldnt be so secret). A millionaire play boy astronaut cowboy would be nice!

P.S. You are STILL a horse vagina!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:03:45 PM

And Lawman couldn't be the 'millionaire, playboy astronaut, cowboy' because I am.

lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:11:49 PM

RANGER>>>>> f*ck! So my lie is out!!!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:15:27 PM

No worry buddy. No where near the lie that DDD is living actually being proud of being a 'Top 100' quiz taker (in quantity apparently considering his scores on the Hanc*ck tests) on a public, blog site - anonymously.

Wow... could his parents be any more proud?!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:27:18 PM

Bet he's the same loser-type that posts: 'FIRST!' on site threads.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:29:02 PM

Seems like he may be a Horse Vagina!
dddarne writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:29:37 PM

You guys must have a studder, you consistantly say the same things over and over. For the record lawman on the internet you can claim to be anything you want. Look at your butt-buddy Ranger, claiming to have retired when he was 40.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:31:12 PM

@DDD - double - dipsh*t - douche bag - sorry... which of us just re-posts the same thing over and over... COC? Look into a mirror, and that loser will tell you.

Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:36:31 PM

studder = stutter, idiot!

f*ck... go read a book or something.
lawman writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:38:41 PM

DDD>>>> I dont give a sh*t if you beleive me or not. Not my concern. The gold sheild that hangs around my neck and the one in my wallet that has kept me traffic ticket free for 5 years is all the proof i need. If your on here in a few months, a member, ARIGOLD is coming from Australia and I will be giving him the grand tour of NYC. We will see what he says when he posts! If the job sounds cool its a lie? Because there could not possibly be a fed that comes on this site? A guy retiring at 40 not possible, not on here? People get rich, it happens. When you dont have to work what the f*ck would YOU do?
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 5:39:37 PM

@DDD - PS: you're a f*cking, embarrASSing retard. Go tell your parents (somebody should) when they get out of jail.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 6:52:10 PM

DDD-your a fagot, nobody here likes you.

Ranger-if you don't mind my asking how exactly did you retire before 40?

Lamman-i have no reason to believe you aren't a cop.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 6:52:26 PM

your=you're
gotsghostrider writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 7:39:57 PM

i think DDD is the bastard child of COC and the only reason i still use Block Buster is becuz i can go in exchange my new release movie for a video game or other movie then be on my way without a care in the world
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 8:54:42 PM

@DDD - Lawman is a Fed (who knew plenty of British Agents on one post alone!)... and learn that no one give a sh*t what you believe.

@encore - fail question. Always worked (a LOT). Was always into different things (legally). Worked since I was a teenager. But the real $'s came in real estate (that's why I chimed in so much during Nick Cage's troubles). But not 'exotic' single family real estate... but multi-family stuff. Started small. Did most of the renovations myself (but found - via trial and error - great Trades to do the stuff I didn't want to - or couldn't do: roofer, plumber and electrician for major stuff, painter, etc. Didn't flip real estate... kept it all. Sold most of it a few years back (before this down turn). That's were most of it came from. Invested some in a company I knew really well (and liked... obviously). 6 months later they were bought out (every share in the world) by Britain's 'First Internet Billionaire' - so that worked out well.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:01:36 PM

@eoncore - so, have your fingers in a lot of pies. Know when to cut something out that isn't working (including relationships - you cant' either fix people nor have them exactly as you'd like - like DDD would have). Don't worry what the person (in life) is doing, keep your head down and sticks with what works. Don't try to 'keep up with the Jones's' - that buy flash now pay later sh*t on credit is one thing crippling the world right now. And follow passion(s) you have. You'd mind a lot less working 100 hours a week if it's something you love, than 40 hours a week at something you hate. Take responsibility and never blame others.

And that's about it (I think).
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:05:01 PM

Ranger-thanks for answering my question, very interesting.


(lol ... before i post this the post count is 69 ... uh huh huh ...)
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:08:04 PM

Edit note: 'Don't worry what the person NEXT TO YOU (in life) is doing'

I was invited to the Premiere of Todd McFarlane's SPAWN. After the show (I was thrilled Martin Sheen was in it.. he actually ASKED to be in it... I'm a HUGE fan of his always... but The West Wing is a must watch!), the media was around. And out of the whole crowd, Todd's dad pointed to me and said out loud: 'This is the guy that said Todd would make it!' (as Todd gave me some drawings of Spawn back in... oi.... '82 I think it was - I still have them). I've know a lot of successful people in my life (almost 15 years ago Todd's Toy Co. was making $75mil. a year), and I've never been jealous of anyone.

I just do my own thing.



Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:08:21 PM

69... nice!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:08:58 PM

@Ranger-good advice, thanks man. i actually used it once before when i cut off my relationship with DOC's dead mom. just wasn't working ... didn't really get the feeling she was getting the pleasure i was when we where f*ckin' ...
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:11:05 PM

That almost makes me feel bad for f*cking her to death before you got to plunder her.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:14:45 PM

i don't want to sound rude or anything, and i mean any disrespect but i sort of find it hard to believe you know Todd McFarlane without any proof(i'm not really saying you don't know him, but i don't want to just believe everything you say blindly you know?) .. same goes with @Shay going on and on about how amazing a writer he is ...
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:16:54 PM

I could tell you how I know... hmmm... but that would give up more of who I am...

Let me think on that one.

No disrespect at all Bro, so don't worry there.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:20:58 PM

Yeah... there's not way I could tell you without giving up who I am... how I know his family etc.

I don't think you misunderstood me. I didn't make Todd go into comics. He's unstoppable. YEARS ago his Dad knew I was in comics (collecting, and other stuff... no, not IN the biz)... but his Dad said, 'Hey... my son draws comics... would you like to see his work?' I said sure. Then Todd and I met, he brought his portfolio... and my chin dropped. Back then Marvel was only taking on 3 new artists a year. His work was LIGHT YEARS ahead of ANYone back then. I simply said to him: 'Oh... you're gonna make it!' But it was surely his own drive that did it. He's a juggernaut, and tough and shrewd businessman, and one of the hardest workers people would ever meet.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:23:35 PM

thanks.

and it's okay you don't really HAVE to give any proof, i won't hold it against you if you don't or anything like that.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:25:35 PM

I know you won't.

Suffice it to say, I didn't know you knew who he was. If I wanted to lie about someone I know I would have made up a even more recognizable name... like, ' Oh, Charlie Sheen... yeah, we used to snort together...' - but no, don't know Charlie (but a big fan of 2.5 Men and anything his Dad is in).
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:29:42 PM

@Ranger-that's pretty much what i figured you meant, and if that's the case it's not so far fetched that you knew him unless you say something like "oh, i gave him some pointers on how to draw" or "i pushed him into becoming an artist" if that where the case i would think you where lying.

and like i said, if you don't to give proof that's cool.

let's just say i'm pretty confident you probably met him and leave at that ok?

encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:32:16 PM

also i knew him through McFarlane Toys and that game he made "McFarlane's Evil Prophecy"
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:33:50 PM

Yep.

And you're right. Nobody tells Todd what to do. That is a man with a vision, and like I say... he is unstoppable. He's a guy that envisioned a destiny and made it.

The daughter in the movie 'Cyan' is named after his real-life daughter. Cyan... one of the 4 colors used in full color 'process' printing. A bit of trivia for you (although I don't think it's a secret).

Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:34:45 PM

Never knew of the Prophecy game.

And his toys are amazing. His artists work out of an office he has in New Jersey.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:41:13 PM

well the "Prophecy" game was considered one of the biggest flops in gaming history. it only sold around 300 copies in the US i think. i only know because a friend of mine said he played it ...
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:46:51 PM

Ouch! That is a flop!!! Oh... his dad called up last summer, and we had lunch together. And his dad gave me (wait... checking)... Spawn 'Origins Collection - Volume 1' - looks like his first 6 issues of Spawn reprinted. 2 books of an Artist he's partnered with: 'The Art of Greg Capullo' and a Hot Wheels 'Spawn Mobile' still in the package. So that was pretty generous.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:50:52 PM

cool. now if only i could be friends with Stan Lee!!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 9:53:24 PM

Stan the Man is a guy I really want to meet before he passes.

I'm such a fan of the guy! And I'm glad he's alive to see his ideas come to life!

I knew Iron Man (and super hero's in general), was going to be a HUGE movie even 25 years ago. I also said back then we didn't have the technology to make it.

Oh... I saw Christopher Reeve fly as Superman in person... but can't say more on that either. But I was collecting comics back then. So to see Hollywood put BIG $'s behind comics FINALLY was a huge thrill!

Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:00:04 PM

Ranger can I ask if you've ever appeared in a movie or if your "secret identity" is famous? If you are, I am honored to read all your comments(I hope i didn't sound like a kiss-ass)
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:05:18 PM

Hi Eli...

Yes... but not much you may have seen (even if I give up more Alex our Moderator on here could figure it out... lol).

No, I'm not famous...

But maybe an appearance on a US Supercar TV show (German production... not many knew that... but it looked American), maybe a Victory Motorcycle commercial... maybe a German TV series (I was dubbed). Just fun stuff. It gets me out of the house... lol.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:06:12 PM

WHOOPS! NO... I didn't mean your question was 'kiss-ass' but YES you were right I've been in stuff, but no, not famous.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:07:16 PM

But if they're reading this thread right now, I did personally invite Seagal and his Manager to review our Seagal topic yesterday... lol.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:11:05 PM

damn it, if i wasn't young i would very much like to meet the guy, who has brought thousands of laughs to all of us ( not the haters like: C.O.C., DDD, Vindy, etc.), personally. That would be epic! Lol, but i guess you dream big when your young, right?

*picks up shot glass filled with Crown Royal*

Here's to Ranger!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:21:33 PM

Thx. Eli.

Oh... man, could I tell you a horror story with Crown Royal (some other time - but it involved a private suite in an arena at an NHL game and a 26er of CR... nuff said).

I appreciate your comment/compliment Eli, I do... thank you.

But indulge me further...

Most people I've met in life set their sights too low (I have myself from time-to-time). There's hardly a thing one can accomplish if they want to.

I keep in my life people or images of those I admire. I have on my office wall: a letter from Donald Trump, a picture of Buzz Aldrin and I, and Dr. John DeMartini (of 'The Secret' DVD), and others together.

Cut loose deadwood in your life, dream BIG! Don't let ANYONE, EVER tell you, you can't do something.

If you guys enjoy the arts like movies... check out 'Community Theater' in your area. I was invited to 'Leader of the Pack' once (community theater in my city) as my friend was in it. It was the last show so thus I was also invited to the wrap party (also the last show is usually the best, as you really get to see the best performances from these people). At the wrap party, the other actors asked how I knew my friend (that was in it). I told them I was in a 'few things'... and these young, committed actors formed a semi-circle of chair around me as they were fascinated (admired) with what I had done. I told them, THEY were the acting heroes! I said... 'look at the commitment you guys put in! WEEKS of rehearsal for a short run of maybe 2 weeks of shows, and making time for all those rehearsals AND then the shows along with their everyday life'... AMAZING! I told them I was just 'an acting whore!' I only go if they pay me. They're live on stage... they can't make mistakes. I get extra takes if need be. They're amazing people. I hope if you folks have community theater in your area you'll consider going. Ticket prices are exceptionally fair. There's nothing like a live performance. And to see that kind of commitment these days for NO money, and the heart they pour into their craft is just amazing. Go, you'll have fun... trust me.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:27:09 PM

$5 says it's the same pitbull, retarded, argumentative twat I've silenced in the Blockbuster thread.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:27:26 PM

Whoops... wrong thread....
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:30:33 PM

Ranger, thanks for the advice. It really means alot to me even if we dont talk that much. You, SACDaddy, and Peter Parker, are pretty much the most epic of all the users, IMO. Getting any comments like that from the Big 3 is always appreciated (again, don't mean to sound like a kiss-ass)
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:33:28 PM

@Eli - there's a big difference between respect and kiss-ass. No worries my friend. Glad you and encore asked. The old band 'The Payolas' (don't worry... I'm probably the only one that's heard of them) have a lyric in a song, it basically says 'Here's the world... go and show it what you can do!'

That always stuck with me.

Make everyday count buddy!
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:35:37 PM

Oh, and remember:

You were only put on this Earth to impress one person... yourself (no one else)!
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:35:59 PM

lol those that few lines brought a tear to my eye
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:36:55 PM

Nice. I have that song in my player (when I go out into the garage for a cigar)... I should look up the title to that song.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:38:57 PM

Well... it's in there somewhere... lol.

http://lyrics.wikia.com/Payola$
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:41:46 PM

Well... that link sucked. They want someone ELSE to enter their lyrics!

Anyway... a list of their songs.

I have their albums:
No Stranger to Danger.
Hammer on a Drum.
Between a Rock and a Hyde Place.

All great lyrics.

Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:49:20 PM

wow... those are some classic beats. Pretty old school but it just feels natural, i like that. Once again, thanks
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:53:41 PM

Hey... glad you found them!
Peter Parker writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:54:53 PM

@ Eli:

I appreciate your words and I'm glad to know you enjoy the comments.

Cheers.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:58:52 PM

Hasting Street is a good song of theirs. Hastings is a street in Vancouver.

OK... I like all their songs.

HEY... think I found it.

'Here's the World!' --- good song.

There's one about the guy rolling over a girl in the morning, booking outta there... and she hoping he'll call. I smile every time I hear that song (I've done just that a few hundred times... lol).

Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:59:30 PM

He start to smile and rolls her over,
Another number in the book...

Well... you'd have to hear it.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:01:30 PM

"There's one about the guy rolling over a girl in the morning, booking outta there... and she hoping he'll call. I smile every time I hear that song (I've done just that a few hundred times... lol)"


Funniest thing I've heard all day LMFAO
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:02:34 PM

'Sorry if you've been mislead...
But I'd rather you than a lonely bed.

Disappearing in thin air...
She starts to smile and combs her hair...

I hope he calls on Friday night...
I've nothing planned and he's alright...'



Yep...lol... memories...
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:04:27 PM

@Eli - you know when you watch a movie, then they'll fade/fuzz out to what appears to be a corny memory the actor is recalling?

As you get older... that's exactly how it happens. Damn funny too!

I live in a big city... and a LOT of buildings hold memories for me... so do songs (oh yeah... when I heard that, I was poking what's her name...).
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:04:48 PM

lonely = empty
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:07:23 PM

If my posts haven't given enough away of my personality...

Imagine Charlie Harper's character on 2 and a Half Men. I don't live with my brother, or in Malibu, and I rarely drink. But the personality is exactly the same, as is the history with women. I swear... I go into a place like a restaurant, public gathers, seminar... even a paintball arena... and I'm looking around for Ex's! Well... by ex's I mean ex-pokes.... not wives.
Eli_1994 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:09:16 PM

lol i guess i'll be looking forward to those moments, they sound fun
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:13:56 PM

Yep...

Until they tell you they're sleeping with their step dad.

Or they propose to you (while they're poking the equivalent to a Governor of a state), with roses and a card. But when you break up with them they try suing your for $300K because they're going bankrupt... thus they smash up their car driving drunk to show up at your house to beg for forgiveness...

Or they're on Prozak... forget to take it and flip out on you in a parking lot...

Or when you find a syringe in their dresser (hoping they're on heroine because it's better than the alternative)... asking them what it's for and they admit to having suicidal thoughts...

etc.

etc.

That gets a lot whacky.

But they're fun to f*ck though.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:17:41 PM

Whoops...

I meant 'Making Love to them'

Making love... something women do while we f*ck 'em.

Annnyyywho... yeah, give The Payola$ a listen. Good stuff (bit 'o wisdom in their words).
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 11:27:45 PM

All joking aside... I treat any woman I go out with very well (and no, not with money) and with a LOT of respect. I stick around until the crazy as bat sh*t starts... then I'm outta there!

ALL women reading this with unresolved molestation/rape issues (and even if you only think such things are wrong but can't remember... go to a hypnotist) get to counseling (but don't lie to them just to say you went), and GET YOUR sh*t FIXED!!!!
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 12:19:00 AM

"Never said I love you." - The Payolas is the song.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved