WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Liev Schreiber to Play the Boxer Who Inspired Rocky

Posted: March 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Liev Schreiber to Play the Boxer Who Inspired RockySubmit Comment
MTV News had the chance to speak with Liev Schreiber (X-Men Origins: Wolverine) who revealed that he's working on a biopic about Chuck Wepner, the boxer who was Sylvester Stallone's inspiration for Rocky Balboa.

"There's a guy named Chuck Wepner, the Bayonne Bleeder. He's the guy that 'Rocky' was based on," Schreiber said. "He went 15 rounds with [Muhammad] Ali in 1974 and it's this wonderful story of what happened to that guy as a result of his rise to fame."

Wepner was a heavyweight boxer from Bayonne, New Jersey. He won 35 out of 51 fights during his career, 17 of which were knockouts. In 1975, Wepner challenged Ali for the Heavyweight title. He ultimately lost, but managed to send Ali to the mat in the ninth round. The following year, Wepner went on to fight professional wrestler Andre the Giant.

Schreiber said that director Jeff Feuerzeig (The Devil and Daniel Johnston) will helm the new film. "That's the next thing I'd like to do," the actor added. "It's just a remarkable, hilarious film and I hope we get to make it."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 5:22:32 AM

just reboot Rocky Liev, all you have to do is paralyze the right side of your face and take massive amounts of HGH
stevethemoviehater writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 5:26:57 AM

I like how one of the very last words of this article is "hilarious" to just confuse the sh*t out of us
@nchorman writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 5:31:26 AM

this guys is a fantastic actor,lets hope he gets a couple of more roles...his version of victor creed was pretty amazing...though a little farfetched
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 6:35:42 AM

"It's just a remarkable, hilarious film..."

I think he was referring to Rocky 4.
Peter Parker writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 7:26:57 AM

Liev Schreiber couldn't play Tetris on retard mode, let alone an inspiring figure...
CCBlev writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 7:43:54 AM

@ricky
thats funny, I know alot of people's favorite rocky movie is #4, but after training and competing in boxing for a long time, Rocky 4 is so over the top and unrealistic, I dunno what Stallone was smoking with that one o well coulda been worse coulda been Rocky 5
barley_cat writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 7:54:56 AM

He's always been Cotton Weary to me!
Eben1277 writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 9:31:43 AM

Liev Schreiber is awesome in The Hurricane, one of the best boxing movies ever, even though it's not really a boxing movie.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 10:37:27 AM

@CC: Good call. It could of been 5.
VDODSON writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 11:45:14 AM

Best boxing movie is Cinderall Man, Gladiator is at a close second which starred the oscar winnner Cuba Gooding jr. Leiv was great as Sabretooth, it was the only redeeming factor of that sh*theap called Wolverine Origins.
CCBlev writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 11:53:17 AM

@vdodson
Cinderalla Man, was pretty awesome they really took the Depression era and portrayed it well, and Russell Crowe as Braddock was very well done, coulda dont without that c*nt Zellwegger or however you spell it though
johndillinger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:10:34 PM

@Peter Parker

Do you like Phil Collins? I've been a big Genesis fan ever since the release of their 1980 album, Duke. Before that, I really didn't understand any of their work. Too artsy, too intellectual. It was on Duke where Phil Collins' presence became more apparent. I think Invisible Touch was the group's undisputed masterpiece. It's an epic meditation on intangibility. At the same time, it deepens and enriches the meaning of the preceding three albums. Christy, take off your robe. Listen to the brilliant ensemble playing of Banks, Collins and Rutherford. You can practically hear every nuance of every instrument. Sabrina, remove your dress. In terms of lyrical craftsmanship, the sheer songwriting, this album hits a new peak of professionalism. Sabrina, why don't you, uh, dance a little. Take the lyrics to Land of Confusion. In this song, Phil Collins addresses the problems of abusive political authority. In Too Deep is the most moving pop song of the 1980s, about monogamy and commitment. The song is extremely uplifting. Their lyrics are as positive and affirmative as anything I've heard in rock. Christy, get down on your knees so Sabrina can see your *sshole. Phil Collins' solo career seems to be more commercial and therefore more satisfying, in a narrower way. Especially songs like In the Air Tonight and Against All Odds. Sabrina, don't just stare at it, eat it. But I also think Phil Collins works best within the confines of the group, than as a solo artist, and I stress the word artist. This is Sussudio, a great, great song, a personal favorite.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 1:44:15 PM

^So...you like Phil Collins?
Tizzle writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 1:59:04 PM

Thanks Bateman
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 2:31:22 PM

Que the killing of Jared Leto.
AshTrey writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 2:41:20 PM

AGAIN WTF... A MOVIE ABOUT A BOXER WHO HIT MUHAMMAD ALI, LOST A LOT OF FIGHTS, AND WHO WAS ALREADY BASED ON LIKE 6 MOVIES. HOLLYWOOD NEEDS SOME NEW IDEAS ASAP!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 3:05:02 PM

@Barley- i agree, but he was pretty good as Sabertooth
SACdaddy writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 3:43:14 PM

yawn
Kurskij writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:06:22 PM

chreiber said that director Jeff Feuerzeig will helm the new film.

Here's what Jeff had to say about his new project:

"Schreiber actor Victor Creed gut!O JA!Hitler volkswagen panzer general movie gut machen. Box".

^ Don't know why I wrote this bullsh*t.

I guess that's cause Feuerzeig sounds like that thing that's cpmpletely destroy DOC's ass one funny day.
barley_cat writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:31:59 PM

@Encore, he was good as Sabertooth yer, it's all about diversity, if you can play a paedo/suspected serial killer, then make sure you can also play a physcotic mutant wolf.
Or you simply won't make it in Hollywood!
barley_cat writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:32:27 PM

Shame about the badger attached to his face though...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:43:07 PM

i think he looks okay with the beard ...
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 6:01:16 PM

f*ck this.
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 6:05:55 PM

This guy makes me want to punch babies while they are still in the womb.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:06:00 PM

Who needs a reason to do that?
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:06:50 PM

Thursday night is: 'Punch Pregnant Women in the Belly 4 A FREE Beer Night!' at our local Pub.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:07:17 PM

Do it on Friday night and get a FREE basket of wings!
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:09:08 PM

Ques: what's red and green and has 12 eyes?

Answer: 6 babies in a garbage bag out behind the Abortion Clinic.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:18:04 PM

LOL!
Peter Parker writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:35:45 PM

@ johndillinger:

Loved the "American Psycho" reference!
Made me want to watch the movie again.
Good stuff.

Let me repay the gesture with another great monologue, one of my personal favorites:

So you see, way back then, uh, Sicilians were like, uh, wops from Northern Italy. Ah, they all had blonde hair and blue eyes, but, uh, well, then the Moors moved in there, and uh, well, they changed the whole country. They did so much f*ckin' with Sicilian women, huh? That they changed the whole bloodline forever. That's why blonde hair and blue eyes became black hair and dark skin. You know, it's absolutely amazing to me to think that to this day, hundreds of years later, that, uh, that Sicilians still carry that n*gger gene. Now this...
No, I'm, no, I'm quoting... history. It's written. It's a fact, it's written.
Your ancestors are n*ggers. Uh-huh.
Hey. Yeah. And, and your great-great-great-great grandmother f*cked a n*gger, ho, ho, yeah, and she had a half-n*gger kid... now, if that's a fact, tell me, am I lying? 'Cause you, you're part eggplant.

Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 10:48:11 PM

I thought a stroke-surviving Rottweiler inspired Stallone for Rocky.

Eh - yo - eh - yo!
VDODSON writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 2:27:01 AM

True Romance- is in my all time top ten.
masht7 writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 3:23:30 AM

Interesting, Liev as a boxer. He is one hell of an actor so this should be alright.
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 10:03:53 AM

@ barley- He will always be Cotton to me too, classic.

@ dillinger, how many times did you watch the movie to get all that?...Pycho
barley_cat writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 12:41:10 PM

Lol just reading this headline made me watch Scream last night - guilty pleasure.

Ranger: What's worse than ten babies pinned to one tree?

One baby pinned to ten trees!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved